This business is not BBB accredited.

Lush Lawns Landscape & Construction LLC

Phone: (801) 540-2358 1462 W 700 S, Ogden, UT 84404 http://www.ogdenlandscape.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered the rating for Lush Lawns Landscape & Construction LLC include:

  • Failure to respond to 1 complaint(s) filed against business

Factors that raised the rating for Lush Lawns Landscape & Construction LLC include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Lush Lawns Landscape & Construction LLC
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: September 30, 2009 Business started: 03/10/2007 Business started locally: 03/10/2007 Business incorporated 03/10/2007 in UT
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

DOPL - Professional Licensing
160 E 300 S 4th Fl, Salt Lake City UT 84111
www.dopl.utah.gov
Phone Number: (801) 530-6628

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mr. Dustin Stanger, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Dustin Stanger, Owner
Business Category

Landscape Contractors Landscape Designers Concrete Contractors Fence Contractors Water Gardens Fountains & Ponds Lawn & Garden Sprinkler Systems


Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    1462 W 700 S

    Ogden, UT 84404 (801) 540-2358

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

5/25/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: There has been multiple issues with this company. First, all the sod was delivered early which was not discussed with me. It just showed up and I had to call the owner to get an explanation. Due to this we could not lay the sod right away and it rained profusely and the yards were not even prepped making it almost impossible to lay it. If it had come when it was supposed to I could have changed the date it was delivered since the ground was to wet to lay the sod. This caused a slew of issues to include the sod becoming moldy and unusable because it could not be laid in a timely manner due to a few issues later described in this. We also had a lot of pieces that were very poorly cut and only partially useable. There was about half a pallet of sod that could not be used. Secondly, the yard was not graded properly. They left deep tracks in the back yard and side yards and were constantly filled with water and the front yard was not raked properly. My wife and I have had to fill the holes as best we can and rake the yards to prepare it properly for sod which was part of the invoice. Third problem, we have top soil that was not distributed properly. It also seems that we now have worse drainage issues than before the work was done. Every time it rains or I use the sprinklers water pools in areas that it did not before. We also have sprinkler heads that were placed poorly. One is completely sideways when it pops up, and others I have had to adjust the spray direction myself which I was told would be done by them. Our neighbors sprinkler was also damaged and never fixed completely. There was one attempt to repair but when prompting the company to fix it correctly it was not done and my neighbor took care of it himself. There also appears to be damage to the fence on the west side of the yard, it appears that it was heated up and I assume it was from the tractor they used. Overall, it is a bunch of issues that could be easily fixed. I have paid the company in full and since then I have not been able to get anyone out here to correct these specified issues. I had two issues that seem to have been taken care of but have not been able to personally see if there were corrected due to weather conditions. I have tried contacting the owner on several occasions but have only gotten help from the one time I threatened with legal action.

Desired Settlement: I would like the job to be completed and to be done correctly. I will need more sod and I refuse to pay for it since I was not involved with the decision for it to be delivered early. It would also be nice to at least have the one sprinkler head that pops up sideways corrected. The top soil also needs to be distributed correctly to help reduce the issue of water pooling. There also needs to be reimbursement for the neighbors sprinkler since he had to fix it himself.

Business Response:

To whom it may concern,

The customer was made aware that the sod would be there early.  And it was only approximately 12 hours early than what was originally scheduled.  The sod was ordered three weeks in advance, so changing it or pushing the order back would have resulted in waiting another 2-3 weeks.  And even though they brought the sod in the afternoon one day early (April 23, 2015) instead of early in the morning as originally scheduled (April 24, 2015), the homeowner could have started laying the sod.  The homeowner chose to lay their own sod rather than paying us to install it.  They chose not to lay any sod that day (April 24, 2015) and said they had help coming to lay it the next day (April 25th).  It did rain that night and the next morning (April 26th) things were wet.  The homeowner did not install all of the sod on this day (April 26th) either.  He did want us to move some of the pallets around so that they could be laid easier.  He also wanted to have more dirt ordered this day as well to put in the areas that weren't being sodded.  So if there were a few tire tracks it was from him asking us to help him out after it had been prepped.  It then rained again that night (April 26th).  We were out there the following morning (Sunday April 27, 2015) as well and he did have one person show up to help with sod but they did not install any sod.  The customer mentioned how much it rained but he also turned his sprinklers on to water the half of a pallet of sod that had been installed.  He mentioned that he had run the sprinklers, which he did.  I have text messages from him and he also mentions in his complaint that there was some issues with the sprinklers.  However, in the four days since we had it ready, he had laid approximately one pallet of sod.  So if it was raining as bad as he mentioned why would the sprinklers need to be turned on.  If the rain had already made the mud I would think that also running the sprinklers would cause some standing water issues.  The next day (April 28, 2015), he did install approximately two more pallets.  We also went out this day to repair the valve that was leaking.  There was nothing mentioned previously about a sprinkler head that needed to be adjusted.  We also purchased a new sprinkler head and replaced the neighbors sprinkler that was damaged.  He still had not installed all of the sod but yet was still running the sprinklers with all of the rain that we had.  He then contacted us about the valves still leaking and that the neighbors sprinkler was still leaking.  We returned the following day (April 29, 2015).  We went through every valve again and took care of any issues that they could possibly be having.  The sod still had not been installed.  Sod cannot sit on the pallet for a week and still be good especially when it is being rained on and getting sprayed with the sprinklers as well.  The customer then paid us on April 29, 2015 in full.  If the job was not complete, why when I told the homeowner we were finished and wanted to get the remaining balance paid off, did he not mention that the sod was bad? Or that it needed to be graded? Or that his concerns needed to be fixed?  Why if there was so much rain as well as the sprinklers running was there only a small portion of sod that wasn't any good.  Why if it wasn't ready for sod was nothing said while we were there four or five days in a row with equipment?  If it wasn't ready, why did they lay the sod?  The fence was never mentioned and has never been brought up until this complaint.  The facts are that the sod was not laid quickly enough.  We took care of the issues he brought up.  We did go back on two occasions after we were paid.  We took care of the valves and the neighbor had since planted his grass and we tried knocking on their door to ask about going on their newly planted lawn to look at the sprinkler.  They were not home so we did not just go out through their lawn and dig up the sprinkler.  The sprinkler that is supposedly spraying sideways was never brought up until this complaint.  The homeowner was never even charged for moving the dirt around.  We did that as a good gesture.  I have the invoices for the topsoil that was delivered and I have a copy of the invoice that was sent to the homeowner.  He was charged exactly the amount of the topsoil and not a dime was paid for moving the dirt around.  We also mentioned and give a bid on burying all of the rain gutter downspouts.  The homeowner chose not to do this.  As for draining issues, there are big areas that the homeowner chose not to sod.  When you put sod in some areas and not others, the water is naturally going to run to those areas that don't have sod.  Here is what we are willing to do.  We can fix the sprinkler that is spraying sideways.  But it has never been brought to our attention until this complaint.  We will provide a half pallet of sod to the homeowner.  Even though he let the sod sit on the pallet for almost two weeks.  We shouldn't be responsible for the weather as well, but I am willing to pay for a half pallet of sod.  We did purchase a new sprinkler and installed it in the neighbors yard.  I will not reimburse the neighbor for anything else.  As I don't know that it wasn't damaged again when he put his own yard in.  But we had purchased the sprinkler and replaced it.  I have receipts to show this.  We will also take our sod roller over and roll the entire yard if he feels that it is uneven because of the mud, which I have previously mentioned shouldn't have had the sprinklers running if the rain storm was as bad as he mentioned in his complaint.  We have already fixed the issues with the valves.  He contradicts himself every other sentence in his complaint.  He said he can't get a hold of us but then the next sentence he mentioned that we had been out to fix a couple of issues.  I have the text messages that show that we addressed every problem he brought to our attention.  We will now do as I mentioned.  We will provide a half pallet of sod, roll the lawn with a sod roller, and fix the sprinkler that is spraying sideways. 

Thanks again,

Lush Lawns Landscape & Construction LLC 

Consumer Response:  
Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Sincerely,

**** ******

8/7/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Sprinkler system installed in may 2012 does not work as designed. too many heads per valve makes coverage sparse. installed in may 2012. the first year they had to come out and add more heads to correct coverage issues. The extra heads robbed from the rest of the system and created more coverage issues. last year i contacted ******, who said he would come out and look at the problem, but he never showed. this year i have the same issues, and am trying to get them resolved.

Desired Settlement: i just need the system to work and would like a response from ****** on how we can get it fixed