Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Rasmussen Lawns & Landscape, Inc.

Phone: (801) 466-0303 Fax: (801) 466-5799 3446 S West Temple, Salt Lake City, UT 84115 http://www.rasmussenlandscapes.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Rasmussen Lawns & Landscape, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered the rating for Rasmussen Lawns & Landscape, Inc. include:

  • 9 complaint(s) filed against business

Factors that raised the rating for Rasmussen Lawns & Landscape, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Response to 9 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

9 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 8 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 7
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 9

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Rasmussen Lawns & Landscape, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: October 03, 2003 Business started: 01/01/1973 Business started locally: 01/01/1973 Business incorporated 07/12/2001 in UT
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

DOPL - Professional Licensing
160 E 300 S 4th Fl, Salt Lake City UT 84111
www.dopl.utah.gov
Phone Number: (801) 530-6628

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. David M. Rasmussen, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. David M. Rasmussen, Owner
Business Category

Landscape Architects Landscape Contractors Lawn Maintenance Fertilizers

Alternate Business Names
Rasmussen Landscapes

Additional Locations

  • 3446 S West Temple

    Salt Lake City, UT 84115 (801) 466-0303

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

1/23/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
1/7/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
12/26/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Rasmussen overcharged me for a spring cleaning in June. The company lacks proper communication and management skills to resolve the issue. I hired Rasmussen for my spring clean up in May 2014. I was told it would cost around $100. As they were my normal lawn service company at the time, I believed this to be an accurate estimate. A crew arrived on June 3rd for the spring cleaning. They were ill equipped for the job with no ladders, tree trimmers, mowers, or even hand tools. One man tried to mow my lawn with a weed whacker. Their cell phones did not work in Emigration Canyon, so after an hour of trying to call for assistance, and when I complained (only one person spoke a little English), they left without accomplishing anything. Another crew arrived 2 hours later and mowed, raked, and planted flowers in two barrels. They left branches and debris behind for me to clean up. There were 3 workers and they stayed 2 to 3 hours. I was home the entire time. Due to lack of communication, another crew showed up the next morning. They had not been notified that the job was complete. I sent them away and they drove up canyon. Yet another crew showed up a couple of days later. I sent them away as well. I was not happy with the service but was infuriated when I received a bill on June 30th for 20 hours of labor at $35 an hour! I complained to the office at that time and have made at least twenty calls since. I have talked to numerous people in the office and sent emails. After speaking to several different employees, ******* ****** assured me that my case was "under review". I continued to call the office every two weeks because I was still receiving late fee charges. On October 15, 2014 in an e-mail sent at 3:08 pm from ******* ******* she stated that I now owed $300. I told her that I would consider paying that, but only if the $105 (check #1295 paid 8/13/14) already paid was deducted. I did not feel that I owed $300, but I agreed via email to pay it only because I wanted to keep the peace and resolve this issue. Because ******* ****** never responded after that email, I am no longer willing to pay more than the $105 already paid. I have made repeated phone calls and emails up until today. Rasmussen is completely unresponsive. I have never been late with bills, nor have I had a dispute of any kind with any business or financial institution. I am very disappointed on how Rasmussen has handled this issue. I am an honest customer. I have paid in full for services rendered. I'd like something from Rasmussen in writing stating that I have paid in full and that this case is closed. Thank you, ********* *******

Desired Settlement: I have already paid for the spring clean up services provided by Rasmussen Landscape. They are attempting to overcharge me for services not rendered. I want a statement, in writing, showing no balance due.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 9, 2014/12/08) */ Contact Name and Title: ****** Office Manager Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX ********* ******* I understand your frustration with the communication that has gone on with our office. I do agree that it took entirely too long to get the issue resolved. When clients call in asking about how much our services cost we always quote them $35 per man per hour and that we usually send a crew of 3 and so if they work for 1 hour than that would be $105. I am sorry if that the 105 was the impression that you received of how much the total visit would be. In communication with ******* via email you agreed to pay the $300 minus the $105 that you had already paid. I understand that this was done to keep the peace and resolve the matter. This email was dated on Nov 3rd, you also emailed ******* on Nov 4th asking is she was in the office. On November 3rd and 4th ******* was out of the office, however she did respond on Nov 5th via voice-mail and email. In her email she indicated that she would make herself available for any follow up questions that you might have even if she was in a meeting. We did not hear from after that so left the matter as resolved. We are a family owned business and take customer service very seriously. I have gone ahead and credited your clean up visit to 105 like you have asked. The account still has a balance of 3 lawn cuts for the following dates 9/3 9/16 10/01 after that your services where placed on hold as per your request. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 11, 2014/12/15) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) Thank you for your response. I will not agree to pay anymore unless there is an exact dollar amount owed in writing with specifics of dates of services unpaid. I also require written notice that this matter is closed and I have paid in full. Please check your records. I paid for two lawn cuts on 8/25/14 with check # XXXXXX for $62. I have a receipt, if necessary, from the University of Utah Credit Union. I believe that I kept up with lawn care payments while I was waiting for long periods of time between responses? If not, please let me know and I will take care of it as soon as possible. Thank you, ********* ******* Final Business Response /* (4000, 13, 2014/12/19) */ ********* *******, I have attached a copy of your account statement for this year. The following is an explanation of that statement. I have also attached the two invoices that show the amounts owed and the dates of the services. Also our records show that you placed your account on hold on the 10/09/2014. 1st line = indicates that you had a zero balance from 2013. 2nd line = is the spring clean up that we credited down to 105 (the original issue) 3rd line = lawn cuts from the month of July 4th line = payment for the spring clean up 5th line = payment for lawn cuts in July 6th line = lawn cuts for the month of Aug 7th line = late fee from remaining balance on spring clean up that later was credited down. 8th line = payment for lawn cuts in Aug 9th line = late fee from remaining balance on spring clean up that later was credited down. 10th line = lawn cuts from the month of Sept 11th line = late fee from remaining balance on spring clean up that later was credited down. 12th line = lawn cut from Oct 13th line = credit for all late fees on account. Final Consumer Response /* (2000, 15, 2014/12/24) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) Thank you for sending the billing information. I will agree to pay for the 3 lawn cuts in the total amount of $93 to close this case. This matter is considered closed and paid in full.

12/4/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Billing issued related to miss-managed project was negotiated and resolved in May. Now six months later they are revisiting & requesting more money. In May 2014 Rasmussen mismanaged moving a large rock and made extensive damage to my property. At the time I worked with my account manager to repair my property and reach an agreement on billing for moving the rock. Rasmussen did a mediocre repair job on their dime and waived charges for two unsuccessful attempts to move the rock. I agreed to pay $382 which I did immediately to resolve and close the matter. My account was paid to zero and I received statements from Rasmussen indicating the account was paid current. I believed the issue was closed and resolved at the end of May. Now 6 months later Rasmussen has decided they want another $500 even though we had previously reach and agreement and I paid the account current. The amount in dispute was added to my account in Nov 14 and backdated to May 14. The account manager I worked with to resolve and reach an agreement on billing has left the company. The mismanaged events of May were a total debacle but we reached an agreement and moved on.....so I thought. Now they won't honor that agreement and have failed to give me an explanation of why they desire to reopen a closed issue six months after the fact.

Desired Settlement: Honor our original agreement from May 2014, credit your recently applied charges and move on.

Business Response: Contact Name and Title: ****** Office Manager
Contact Phone: ************
****,
Your account is at 0. I am under the impression that this was resolved the day you called us on 11/11 with our customer service manager. Please let us know if there is anything else that needs to be done.

12/4/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I cancelled my service on 2/28 but they continued service without my permission and refuse to adjust the charges for services in March. On 2/28 I moved and cancelled service. Instead of cancelling, they continued service at my new address without authorization. I called again on 3/25 when I realized what was happening and they said they would take care of it. Then again they showed up at my house and I turned them away. When I got the bill I explained that I did not authorize any service at my new address. They refused to credit any charges before 3/25 because they said their records only showed I called that day. I explained that I had to call on 2/28 because otherwise they would not have even known my new address and that when I called I cancelled. I had a voicemail on 2/28 from ****** at Rasmussen with a quote for my new address and he specifically said to call them if we decide we want to start the service again. I told Rasmussen about this but they still refused to credit the remaining $78.

Desired Settlement: I want the remaining balance on my account removed because I never authorized any service.

Business Response: Contact Name and Title: ****** Office Manager
Contact Phone: ************
*****,
There was some confusion with your account, we have a record of a call in March stating that everything after the $78 dollar charge should be credited. We had credited everything on your account after that charge. I also have a record of your account being placed on hold as per your request while talking it over with your husband, while you decided on 3/25/2014. The quote for your new place was given on 3/3/2014, the service provided was on 3/12/2014. This is where the confusion is. I have credited the remainder of the $78 on your account to 0.

10/30/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: They overbilled me. They told me not to pay the bill but that they would send a new corrected bill. The corrected bill included finance charges. I sent in a contract to Rasmussen on 04/17/14 stating that after the initial work they should come back once per month for 3 man hours ($105) per month. They first showed up for monthly maintenance on 06/19/14. They showed up again on 07/10/14. I did not receive a bill for 06/19/14 until 07/23/14 and was shocked to see the amount was $472.50 when it was supposed to be $105.00. I also expressed concern about the service on 0710/14 because I had not received a bill yet. They told me not to pay the bill because they would send a corrected one. I received a corrected bill for $205 on 08/15/14 followed by another bill for $3.00 in finance charges on 08/31/14. It is not right for them to charge finance charges 15 days after receiving a bill that I was told not to pay. Communication the whole way around has been unprofessional.

Desired Settlement: The $3 finance charge should be removed. That would conclude the account.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 7, 2014/10/28) */ Contact Name and Title: ****** Office Manager Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: *******@rasmussenlandscapes.com ****, I do apologize that you received a finance charge on the account. Our billing system applies finance charges to all invoice past due automatically. In a case like yours where we have indicated not to pay your bill and to wait until you receive an adjusted invoice we always remove the finance charge upon payment of said invoice. I have gone ahead a removed your finance charge. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (2000, 9, 2014/10/30) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)

10/17/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Company sent 2 guys who did not discuss the scope of work or recommended fix and cost to cure then billed $800 for the service. I called Rasmussen and requested that they repair sprinklers to address a couple of brown spots in my lawn. They sent 2 guys out to do the work, I showed them where the issues were and they went to work. They never discussed a proposed fix or estimated cost to cure. I eventually had to go back to work and never heard from anyone else on the project then suddenly received a bill in the mail for $800 on a service that I expected to be $200-$300 and valued at as much. I called the company to raise the issue of them performing such an expensive service on their own without even discussing it with me and they appeared unfazed by their practices and hid behind their service agreement - saying that I signed it and so I had to pay it. I retrieved said service agreement from my files and my written services on the agreement say exactly: "Brown spots in lawn and park strip due to poor coverage of some heads. Repair." The work they performed included much more than work on "some heads" as I specified in my request. They sent a field crew to work and run labor hours over and above what I wanted or would ever have agreed to if they'd had the sense to ask. Request date: 7/18/14 Service date: 7/23/14

Desired Settlement: I am willing to pay 50% of the bill to reflect work that was actually done but not the entire amount of the deceptive service. The company should probably ask a customer before they just run off and perform $800 worth of work on sprinklers.

Business Response: Final Consumer Response /* (2000, 11, 2014/10/17) */ 10-16-2014: I was contacted by ******* with Rasmussen Landscapes and the issue has been resolved satisfactorily.

10/9/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: They didn't show up and claimed they did. The quality control guys was a no-show twice to verify that no work was done. We still receive a bill! I asked them to confirm before showing up and they didn't. I called on a Friday and left a message as I hadn't heard from anyone and mentioned again that I need to be home when they show up. They later claimed that their crew showed up and did the work on Sat morning! This is a false claim as I was outside and didn't see anyone and plus my yard looked exactly like before, I did see a truck by this company coming near my house and turning around and leaving, as they advertise heavily I thought they must be here for someone else. After talking to them, they didn't seem to even consider the possibility that their crew didn't do any work, they said they will send their quality control guy to check and verify that no work was done, as we didnt want them to show up when we are not home, we missed meetings from work to accommodate him and he was a no show, he called and schedules it again and same thing happened he was a no-show!! in the meantime I received a call from their scheduling person that since they failed to notify me ahead of time, they won't bill me (still have the VM), she still didn't admit that they didn't do any work! However, as I was tired of dealing with these people and the fact that she said they won't charge, I left it alone. Now, I receive a bill for $105.00 for no service and all the pain they caused me and all the time I spent over the phone with these guys! These guys are so dishonest, you should read their Yelp and Google reviews, not everyone takes the time to report them to BBB but their practice is based on fraud for all I know. I am disputing the charge as no service was done, and their quality guy failed to show up and verify that. In addition, their scheduling person told me that she won't charge us.

Desired Settlement: remove the $105.00 charges and apologize for their false claims and all the pain and anxiety they caused me and my family!

Business Response: Contact Name and Title: ****** Office Manager
Contact Phone: ************
Dear Client,

We do apologize that your experience has not been a pleasant one. We try to answer all concerns as quickly and timely as possible.

The account has been credited to 0.

Billing received instructions via email to credit account on August 9th, they emailed a response that it was done. Account manager attempted to call client on August 12th as a courtesy to advise that account had been cleared.
Client notified us that in fact the account and not been cleared and the charge was still showing on 9/25/2014, Account manager called back same day to apologize and cleared account same day.

Again, We know that there was some major communications problems with your account and we are very sorry for any stress and/or anxiety that this issue might have caused. We take feedback very seriously have taken internal action to help ensure that this issue does not occur to someone else. We have changed some of our office staff to help in this area.

Thank you for your feed back and hope that this resolves the matter to your satisfaction.

Sincerely
Rasmussen Landscapes

8/8/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Received a bill $341.25 for labor charges for yard clean up.I wasn't notified that I would inquire these charges my bill was agreed to be $26/week. Yard clean up was advertised as part of the regular service for $26 a week. After my first service I noticed I still had pine needles all over the yard. The guys mowed right over them. I call ****** **** and mentioned that the guys forgot to clean up the yard. She said no problem I will have them clean it up next week. No mention of labor charges or that it would require 3 guys at $35/hour for 9.75 hours to accomplish this task. When I noticed the extra charge for $341.25 I called ****** and she was no help. She left me on hold for 20+ minutes and then when I called her back she offered me no help and was extremely rude to the point I cancelled my service. I have never had a customer service rep talk to me in the manner this woman did. I mentioned that she never returns my emails - here response once it's better to call and I shouldnt be complaining. I hung up at this point.

Desired Settlement: I want the $341.25 waived for poor customer service and unethical billing practices.

Business Response: Business' Initial Response /* (1000, 8, 2013/07/23) */ Hi ***** I just spoke with you a few minutes ago regarding a complaint made by *** ********. The complaint has been resolved. I just talked to *** and he said you can call him if you have any questions. Let me know if I can help you with anything else. Thanks, ***** Rasmussen Landscapes ***** *** ****