Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Sierra West Jewelers

Additional Locations

Phone: (801) 226-6006 Fax: (801) 224-5527 View Additional Phone Numbers 1344 S 800 E Ste 1, Orem, UT 84097 View Additional Email Addresses http://www.sierra-west.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Sierra West Jewelers meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that affect the rating for Sierra West Jewelers include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Sierra West Jewelers
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: February 01, 1994 Business started: 11/01/1979 Business started locally: 11/01/1979 Business incorporated 07/02/1999 in UT
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Richard Timothy Branscomb, President Mr. John B Bowen, Vice President Ms. Beckie T Branscomb, Vice President Mr. Tom Rogers, CFO
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Mr. John B Bowen, Vice President
Principal: Mr. Richard Timothy Branscomb, President
Business Category

Jewelers - Retail


Additional Locations

  • 10600 S State St

    Sandy, UT 84070

  • 1344 S 800 E Ste 1

    Orem, UT 84097 (801) 966-9662 (801) 521-0900 (801) 266-4747 (800) 411-8067 (801) 226-6006

  • 34 W 7200 S

    Midvale, UT 84047

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

10/22/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Purchased a diamond from Sierra West Jeweler and received a cubic zirconia (CZ). On June, 19th 2013 I purchased an engagement ring and a separate diamond from the Sierra West Jewelers store in Midvale. The sales person and manager I was dealing with was **** ******** The ring and diamond remained with **** so the diamond could be set into the ring. I picked up the ring with the stone mounted on June 21st. A few days later, after presenting it to my fiancée, we took it back to be re-sized. Three days later, after the sizing, the ring was delivered back to me, again by ****. **** indicated an appraisal would be sent out soon. I wanted the appraisal to get an insurance quote. I grew concerned when after contacting **** about the appraisal, no less than four times, I still had no appraisal. At last, she said she had one at the Midvale store. Upon picking it up, I found it was an unsigned and typed on plain paper with no mention of Sierra West. **** told me it wasn't valid unless signed. She said the signed one would follow. Concerned Sierra West might be hiding something; I decided to get the stone authenticated by ******* *******, Certified Appraiser for O.C Tanner in Salt Lake City. ******* took the ring and brought it back several minutes later. To my dismay, she told me it was not a diamond and likely a CZ. Frustrated and angry, I set off for the Midvale store to bring this to their attention. I was greeted at the store by ***** who said that ****, whom I talked to the prior week, no longer worked there. She referred me to *****, who took over for ****. ***** was apologetic about the appraisal. When I confronted him with proof I had purchased a diamond and in fact received a CZ, he said he would take care if it. He commented he wasn't that surprised and indicated things were a mess at that store and there was a reason **** did not work there anymore. After a quick test, he confirmed it was a CZ and wrote up a slip to get an equivalent diamond to replace it. He said I could retain the ring while he looked but might take a few days to find a match. I felt good about the transaction. He went into his office with the ring. During that time ***** reiterated things were a mess and other customer appraisals were found. A short time later, ***** reappeared with the ring and noted that it looked like the points had been "re-topped" and that it didn't look like their work. I noted that, it was what was delivered to me by ****. The next week, I called ***** and he wanted me to bring the ring in to have the original diamond installer inspect it to see if it was their work. I felt that if it was his work or not, wasn't relevant. It was the ring that was delivered to me and if the stone had been switched, it was done before it was in my possession. I told him it sounds like they have an internal problem they should be investigating. After discussing this with my wife, we have decided Sierra West is trying to shrug their responsibility to make this right and get us what we paid for. I've talked to ***** twice and have not yet received a commitment to have the problem fixed. I filed this complaint with the hope they would get serious and stand behind their reputation and product and fix this unfortunate problem.

Desired Settlement: Sierra West Jewelers needs to: Expeditiously acquire a diamond of equal or better quality than the one purchased in every spec (Cut, Clarity, Color and Carat): Carat: .30 or larger. Color: f, e or d Clarity: Vs2 or better. Cut: Good or better, Round brilliant cut. Allow me to review the diamond before the ring with the CZ is dropped off for replacement. After replacement and delivery back to me, the diamond specs will be verified by O.C. Tanner's appraiser ******* *******. In addition, issue a cash refund of $200 dollars to pay for the additional appraisal, inconvenience, frustration and disappointment caused by Sierra West Jewelers.

Business Response: Final Consumer Response /* (2000, 6, 2013/10/22) */ Dear BBB of Utah, Sierra West Jewelers contacted me about this complaint on Friday, Oct. 18th. They promptly, professionally and courteously fixed the problem in a satisfactory manner. I would purchase from Sierra West Jewelers again in the future. As far as I am concerned, you can close this complaint out. Best regards, ****


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Sierra West Jewelers
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)