Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Richard's Mfg. Jewelers, Inc.

Phone: (801) 392-9991 202 W 36th St, Ogden, UT 84405 http://www.richardsmfgjewelers.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Richard's Mfg. Jewelers, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that affect the rating for Richard's Mfg. Jewelers, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Richard's Mfg. Jewelers, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: August 07, 2002 Business started: 01/01/1972 Business started locally: 01/01/1972 Business incorporated 12/18/2003 in UT
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Ms. Carolyn Bennett, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Carolyn Bennett, Owner
Business Category

Jewelers - Retail Jewelry Polishing & Plating Jewelry Repair Watches - Service & Repair

Alternate Business Names
Richard's Manufacturing Jewelers

Additional Locations

  • 202 W 36th St

    Ogden, UT 84405 (801) 392-9991

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

1/22/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Battery replacement in deceased father's watch resulted in the numbers/minute markers being washed away in places as something was spilled on it. I left the watch with them on 9/17/14 and took it back to have the numbers and minute marks restored on 9/18/14. After a few weeks I went back to pick it up. The numbers had been replaced but the minute marks were still missing in places. They said they sent the watch to be restored and it would take 4 to 6 weeks. I have not seen the watch since. After 8 weeks they told me the only person able to finish the restoration was having surgery so it would be 2 more weeks. Then I was told the company was closed for a week. Today I was told by ******* that the company would not be open until 1/6/2015. I have called ******* at Richard's weekly and now almost daily. She tells me each time that there is nothing she can do. She says she has left messages that have not been returned. Today she said she emailed them. ******* won't tell me who they sent the watch to so I'm not sure it has even left their store.

Desired Settlement: I want my deceased father's watch back in the same condition it was in before he died September 1, 2014. I want them to ensure the damage they caused will be fixed. I want a firm date that I can pick up the watch. I want an apology from them for making an already difficult time even more difficult. They have never taken any responsibility for this but leave me feeling helpless and like I have annoyed them.

Business Response:

****** **** brought her father's watch to us for a battery.  We had her leave it for a day because the watch repairman was not here at that time.  He changed the battery and decided to clean the case because it was dirty.  As he cleaned the case, the dial got some moisture and some of the markers were gone.  When she came to pick it up she did not like the look of the dial.  So the watch repairman tried to put the marks back on the dial.  She did not like the way it looked.  So we told her that we would send it in to have the dial refinished.  We sent it to a very good company that has always done great quality work and we have worked with them for over thirty years.  They have always taken their time to do a very good quality job.  We told her it would be six to eight weeks for the dial to be refinished.  She came back in eight weeks and we had not received the dial back.  I called and they said that they would have to make a new die for the dial.  I told ****** that and that it would be longer than we thought because of the new die.  ****** came in to check on it or call about it about once a week.  I would call and check when she would inquire about it.  In October they said that the die maker had had an accident and would be going in for surgery the next week so it could not be worked on until he returned from surgery.

For a while ****** called in every day.  She requested to know where we had sent the watch.  I explained to her that we do not give out our sources to our customers.  So she asked that I call daily to ask about the watch.  At this time all I was getting was their message machine either saying that they were closing for the holidays or that I could leave a message and she would return my calls.  I did not receive any calls back. ****** called me on December 30 about the watch.  I called the company and the message machine said that the company would be closed until Jan 6, 2015.  However this time they gave the option to Email them for questions.  So I Emailed them and she said that her husband would be trying to get back to work on January 6. 2015.  And that they would try to get the watch done in two weeks.  That day I also received ******'s complaint so I thought I would find out about the watch before I replied.   I called them today to find out about the watch.  It is not done and will be at least two more weeks.  He has not been able to work for full time and he is trying to get caught up. 

I apologize for this situation.  I have tried to fix it to the best of my ability.  I know that it has not been timely, but due to the physical restrictions of this company, they are trying to get this done.  I apologize that the loss of her father was made more difficult by this problem with his watch.  I hope that this can be resolved by the end of January and that ****** can be happy with the result when it is done. 

Consumer Response:  
Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because: I still want Richard's Mfg Jewelers to give me a firm date that I can have my father's watch back in it's original condition. There is no mention of that in their response. They tell me it's safe but I don't know that! I also had several questions as I read their response to this complaint. ******* says the watch repairman cleaned the case. Nothing on the outside of the watch had been cleaned nor had I asked them to clean it. Also, why didn't they tell me right away that something had happened? I picked up my dad's ring (which had almost been stolen by a live in home healthcare giver on the day he died) at the same time as his watch. I had it sized to fit me. I was crying and I remember ******* looking at the watch and saying "yes it's keeping time" and putting it in the bag. There was no reason for me to check it! It was just a battery change. I wore the watch the day I left it with them so I KNOW it was in the 'before' picture condition that I have attached. I took the watch back to them the next day after giving it to my son who was devastated when he saw the damage. Thankfully he had the before and and I had the after pictures which I have attached! When I took the watch back to Richard's the other woman told me she should have look at it closer, implying it was my fault! ******* says 'I didn't like the way it looked'. I didn't like it, after their first try at restoring it, because only the numbers had been replaced, not the minute marks BETWEEN the numbers. ******* even took out her magnifying glass to double check they were missing! It's obvious with the naked eye. ******* says they sent it to a company that they have worked with for thirty years. The watch is a Junghans watch and the only authorized repair center is Atlantic Time Technicians in Raritan, NJ. This is where I thought my dad's watch had been sent. I took a chance and sent them an email asking about my dad's watch since ******* didn't want to give out her 'sources'. They answered me back immediately asking for more information and pictures but by then I had found out that is not where his watch was sent! I don't know what the "new die" is that she speaks of. ******* says I called or came in to check on the progress weekly, then daily. Why did I have to ask her to call or email them? She should have been calling to update me! I have not contacted her since I filed my complaint but I think about it every day. I wanted to let your system work.

I feel *******'s response is very vague but a good example of what I have been dealing with for the last four months! I want my dad's watch back in the same condition it was in before I left it with them. I want the watch returned immediately if the company they sent it to is unable to finish it before month's end. If the watch is not identical to the 'before' picture, Richard's Mfg Jewelers can then send it AT THEIR EXPENSE to Atlantic Time Technicians to complete the repair since they are the only authorized repair center. I will be happy contact the media (as one of your questions asked when I filed this complaint) and to pay my $75 non-refundable hearing fee for arbitration if it comes to that.

Also, my original complaint case number is ********. I'm not sure why that changed. I would appreciate it if you could let me know.

Sincerely,

****** ****e


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Richard's Mfg. Jewelers, Inc.
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)