This business is not BBB accredited.

Morgan Jewelers

Additional Locations

Phone: (801) 328-8511 Fax: (801) 924-1930 View Additional Phone Numbers PO Box 45820, Salt Lake City, UT 84145 View Additional Email Addresses http://www.morganjewelers.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Morgan Jewelers include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Response to 4 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 1
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 4

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Morgan Jewelers
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: February 14, 1990 Business started: 01/01/1914 Business started locally: 01/01/1914
Business Management
Mr. Nate Morgan, President Mr. Jim Van Bree, District Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Nate Morgan, President
Business Category

Jewelers - Retail Jewelry Repair Jewelry Designers

Alternate Business Names
Morgan Management

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    1024 Newgate Mall

    Ogden, UT 84405

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    10450 S State St Ste 2103

    Sandy, UT 84070

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    1086 Layton Hills Mall

    Layton, UT 84041

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    191 W Cache Valley Blvd

    Logan, UT 84321

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    6161 S State St # 265

    Salt Lake City, UT 84107

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    740-4 W Telegraph Rd # D

    Washington, UT 84780

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    J-177 University Mall

    Orem, UT 84058

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    PO Box 45820

    Salt Lake City, UT 84145 (800) 234-0508 (801) 328-8511 (435) 753-3458 (801) 621-5990 (801) 394-0906 (801) 546-3458 (801) 278-8805 (801) 355-3714 (801) 571-7307 (801) 966-3352 (801) 266-0294 (801) 224-1871

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    Valley Fair Mall

    Salt Lake City, UT 84119

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

6/1/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Zack the store manager lied about the diamond ring he sold my fiance and I. I am filling a police report currently for fraud. I wanted to write the bbb to notify other consumers not to trust or purchase from here. When my fiancé called zack when i noticed my diamond had stamp on the top CZ when i got it after they sized it. My fiancé called and Zack proceeded to tell him that it was a bog deal that he did not tell us that the main stons was not real anx that he should have explained it better because only the little diamonds were real. We would have never purchased the ring if we would have known. My fiancé reminded him that he told us it was real. All he said was sprry i should have explained better. That is not am excuse to ruin such a big moment for us. My fiancé is humilated and i am broken hearted by this because it was suppose to be such a special event. Which was ruined by the store manager. You would thinkbthe store manager would have more dignity and intergrity. I do not know how you could sleep at night after that. He only offered to exchange the ring. My fiancé ring was purchased with cash. We put my ring on his credit because we need more credits to buy a house. He would not take it off of hia credot and said all we could do was switch out the ring. Why would we pay for a ring that we were lied to about. Well now we have to pay the ring until the police go further into this. Or it could hurt our credit. So the store manager really fooled us. We are both embarrassed because we do not know much about jewelry amd we trusted this company and they legitimately scammed us.

Desired Settlement: I would like my husband not have the ring on his credit because he was lied to about the product. Also i think zack owes a big apology to us for ruining what was suppose to be special moment.

Business Response:

I am very sorry to hear that there has been a misunderstanding with your purchase. It is not uncommon for jewelry stores to display and sell bridal sets with a CZ center stone. This is done as a means to make rings with larger center stones more affordable. This is especially the case with designer lines which is what was purchased. Our sales staff is fully trained to disclose that these are CZ centers. Also, the description of the ring on the sales receipt does specify that it has a round CZ. We strive to ensure that this is always fully disclosed. However, if you are unhappy with your purchase I can offer 2 possible solutions:

1. You can return the ring to the store where it was purchased for a full refund. We will refund any money paid into it and clear the balance on the account.

2. If you would like to purchase a diamond for the center I would be happy to give a special price consideration.

Please let me know which option you would like to exercise.

 

Jim v******

Vice President

Consumer Response: The receipt I currently hold does not post CZ on it. And the store manager is Tyson S****. I was confusing him with Zack because he has helped me before. The person who actually sold me the ring was Tyson S****. I have been in the store many times and he avoids me. I do not understand why. He could apologize and make it better. But after going in multiple times probably about four. That is why I wrote BBB and called the authorities. I will be going in at 10 today to refund the purchase. Thank you for solving this in a timely matter. 
Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Sincerely,

**** *****

10/21/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Morgan Jewelers calls constantly and harasses customers. They call from a Utah Morgan number once and then from multiple numbers after that. The person on the phone is pushy and wants payment immediately even though payment is not yet due or payment has been already made. The manager states this never would happen yet it happens every month. They also have charged a $40 late fee instead of a $30 as their contract states. When asked for an itemized statement late fees said $30 instead of $40. Yet on bills it claims a $40 late fee. Multiple payments have been made yet they do not show up on bills. They also have 2012 on their bills instead of 2014. No matter how much is paid toward the amount due the remaining balance is always over $400. When asked to explain the reasoning the manager says it is cause we are late every month yet the bill is paid early every month. When got on to pay the bill for September the online system refuses online payments. The online system also does not display remaining balance. Product_Or_Service: Watch

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Other (requires explanation) Debt forgiven or reduced. Proper billing put into place.

Business Response: Contact Name and Title: *** ******* Vice President
Contact Phone: ************
Contact Email: ***@morganjewelers.com
All of our outgoing calls are from a single number not multiple numbers. Our call history for this customer indicates 8 outgoing calls in the month of September with the following results: 9/3/14 left message to call
9/9 called co-signer 1 time said they would call us later 9/9 customer called us and requested a pay history.
9/15 left message to call us
9/17 no answer
9/18 contacted customer they said they would be in to make payment next week...no further calls made.
Calls have only been placed to this customer in months in which payments were missed.
As far as the billing statements are concerned, the late fees that have been charged are only $30 NOT $40 as indicated. The only $40 amount the customer would see on these billing statements are the minimum payment due of $40 and/or the past due amount of $40. The area in which they are seeing a date of 2012 is a "test" section of the billing statement that is not currently in use and it would not indicate any amounts in that section. If the customer would be willing to pay the balance IN FULL by October 31st 2014 I would be willing to accept $****** instead of the current balance owed of $******. If the customer wishes to accept that offer they can call their account manager at ************ ext ***

9/29/2014 Problems with Product/Service
11/1/2013 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: The sales man said my ring would be in and it is not then no phone communications also another sales person refused to give me the contact info. On September 28 purchased a beautybride ring and a men's ring. The sales man was *** ********* He told me that her ring would be in on Oct 2 and mine the same Friday. I came in and got her ring then on Friday when I returned he told me it was not in, and that it would be in on Oct 11. On October 12 I came back in and it still was not in and they had no idea where it was, *** said it should be at corporate and he was calling the VP to go in and get it. He then said he would bring me the ring when he got it. I told him to call me and update me when he has it and to call even if he can't get it. It is now October 13 and he never called, so I called the store and ********* ********* told me the ring was not in, when I expressed my displeasure with the customer service and how my ring was not in and she was not concerned and also said "we are only a little late". Well when it comes to my wedding band a little late is not acceptable and the when I asked for the corporate contact info to file a complaint she told me "no, I can't give that to you". They are not operating a customer friendly business.

Desired Settlement: My ring and a discount for the stress if not knowing if I will have a ring for my wedding.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/10/16) */ Contact Name and Title: **** ****** Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: *****@utah-inter.net We have received the ring and are attempting to deliver the ring in person. The customer has been given a discount of ******* and has told the store staff that he is satisfied with our response.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Morgan Jewelers
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)