Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Rain Retail meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Rain Retail include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Rain Retail
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: March 09, 2009 Business started: 02/15/2006 Business started locally: 02/15/2006 Business incorporated 02/15/2006 in UT
Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mr. Brian King, Manager Milo LeBaron, Owner Sean Roylance, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Brian King, Manager
Customer Contact: Milo LeBaron, Owner
Business Category

Internet - Web Hosting Sewing Instruction Quilting Web Design

Alternate Business Names
iGov Like Sew Like Sew Corporation ONYX Websites LLC
Products & Services

This company provides web site hosting services for municipalities.


Additional Locations

  • 1238 N 750 W Ste 100

    Springville, UT 84663 (801) 471-3355 (801) 203-3390 (877) 909-6699

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

3/31/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Was sold additional services I did not need and no one is taking responsibility to make it right and. This issue started recently when I found out certain things(below), but dates back to September when I was sold by sales rep ***** the $149/month package and was told that included automated social, only feature I was interested in for the additional fee. Sales person did not inform me it was not working yet and therefore did not direct me to the proper package for my needs. Other features listed in higher package we did not need: We do not sell machines-so repair module-not needed, we don't have multiple store-not needed and I don't do serialized inventory-so not needed. How is a new customer supposed to know exactly what is best without proper guidance from the SALES REP of the company I am signing up with? They are supposed to be THE ONE that helps you properly and sign you up for the correct package, not one with a feature not working when that was specifically stated that was the only feature I wanted. Just realized I was paying extra for services I did not need due to MY OWN research, so I downgraded($99/month) or would still be paying for unnecessary features. Was now told I could have always downgraded. Well yes of course, but I did not realize I was paying for unusable services until now! So this statement is irrelevant. Asked a few times for a original signed contract, never heard anything back. Also asked why I would have been sold something I did not need and why I was not directed properly, haven't got a real answer as to why this happened. Asked what comes with the higher package at this point, no real answer. I've asked for a supervisor/owner name, never got it. Asked for some kind of refund for 5 months of paying an extra $50, was told nothing else can be done. SO I am trying to figure out why this is all so wrong and why I was signed up incorrectly to being with. The answers are going around in circles with no definite answers to my questions. I am more than willing to pay for services that I am using, but I also believe in fair business practices and I feel I am owed the extra monies I paid considering I was directed improperly by Like Sew sales rep and no one there is taking responsibility for any mistake. This has not been the only problem: Also had numerous delays from things out of my control and not always prompt customer service replies. Got some compensation ($99-April month free) for my troubles (which took more than one time of asking until someone finally contacted me), lost income and time delays on this situation. Due to these issues, I was unable to be running when I should have and I had to re-do many things in my system since Like Sew is always changing, adding features, working out bug after bug after bug. I have had more troubles with bugs, how can a customer properly set up & run their business with all these troubles? I have been disappointed and wasted alot more time than I should be with this company and this situation and I just want it to be solved fairly. I feel like I have been working to set up my store while they are still working out ALL the bugs and getting their system fully set up, which is very troublesome for my business to function at it's best with all these issues going on. I've also had to figure out some of my own solutions due to lack of support. I do want to say, some things have been good with Like Sew, but I can't believe this situation is not being handled better.

Desired Settlement: $250 for the extra fees I paid for being improperly guided by a Like Sew sales rep. At this point, I just want that even though I think a little something extra for ALL of my other problems and delays due to things out of my control. I could have been running sooner had it not been from bugs and issues on the company's end. I just want this resolved and would happy to get what I feel is fairly owed to me.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 6, 2014/03/12) */ Contact Name and Title: **** ******** Director, Training & Support Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: ***********@likesewwebsites.com After reviewing the situation during the time *** signed up with us, we agree with her that the comments on the part of the sales team strongly indicated that the Social Media part of the system would very soon be up and running. That has not turned out to be the case, and even though we did not intentionally mislead her, she entered into the service agreement with that understanding, and so her placement was incorrect. We have processed her requested refund of **** and have discussed moving forward with her. She is satisfied that she is now correctly placed and our service will meet her ongoing needs. We also discussed the changing nature of our system, which is still under development. Our system will continue to change and improve as we fix bugs and add features that are needed by our users. *** mentioned that the main reason for that part of her statement was because she didn't feel we helped her understand the changes in the system and we didn't take care of her in a timely manner, so we have agreed to work with her as needed to make sure she is up to speed on system changes and improvements as they are released.

3/13/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We purchased software from this company and it was totally misrepresented and does not work the way advertised. Software is POS system for business, can not make returns to customers, banking info transferred to wrong area within banking program, unable to control inventory, website not working. purchased this in October and still not up and running. Using as POS but not really working. Have tried phoning but no one answers or gets back to us. Always given the will do this in the future but not now. The problems just seem to be mounting without resolution to any of them. We were told and sold this as a complete system specifically designed for our type of business.

Desired Settlement: I want it to work. This has caused us a lot of extra manpower and hours put in by employees and ourselves. Still not working, our website is not up and therefore our online shop not working either

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/01/28) */ Contact Name and Title: **** ******** Director, Training & Support Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: ***********@likesewwebsites.com Greetings! ***** purchased our website and point of sale system through our Like Sew Websites division (Onyx Websites is the parent company) and we hope to resolve all of her concerns. *"We purchased software from this company and it was totally misrepresented and does not work the way advertised." - We launched our point of sale system a little over a year ago and it has been in development since then. We are very careful to explain this whenever we consult with a new client, but many times the features that are working properly outshine the few that don't, so it is easy to forget that this product is still in development. We have hired more developers and plan to have all major bugs in the system fixed by the end of March. We are fixing bugs and adding requested system improvements on a weekly basis. *"Software...can not make returns to customers..." - ***** is misinformed on this point; the Returns functionality has worked properly nearly from the beginning (over a year now). We will be happy to educate her on how this or any other function of the system works. We offer unlimited support for life on our services, so any time ***** likes she can schedule a training session. *"...banking info transferred to wrong area within banking program..." - I assume ***** is talking about our QuickBooks Financial utility. This utility was in development when ***** signed up with us, as she was aware, and like our Point of Sale it is not something we are forcing anyone to use. One of our team members, ****** *********** has been trying to contact ***** or ****** for the past three weeks to work with them in setting up that part of the system. During *****'s business hours, her phone rings once and consistently goes to her voice message. ****** can be reached at XXX-XXX-XXXX. *"...unable to control inventory..." - This is another area where ***** just may be uneducated at present. Our inventory functionality has been in place since before she signed up and allows tracking of the cost and quantities of items, the user can also select reorder points and quantities so the system will prompt them if they are ordering from the product's distributor to reorder. Again, I will be happy to demonstrate. *"...website not working. Purchased this in October and still not up and running." - We built *****'s website within two weeks of her signing up (it was up by 11/5/13) and deployed it on one of our own staging domains at that time. The site has been live on that domain since November, and at any time ***** has the option of having us change its domain to *********************** We helped her develop her five main pages and remain at her disposal for any help she might need in loading content on the other pages. We would love to help her work on her site to bring it live onto her own domain. You can see the site that has been up since early November at ************************ *"Have tried phoning but no one answers or gets back to us." - Our support lines are open 8am to 6pm Mountain time, Monday through Friday. We return every voice message left in our system within 24 hours. Our team members, myself included, have spoken with employees from ***** ****** ******* on many occasions to help with questions and concerns, so we are confused about why she would say something like this. If she prefers to not work by phone, she can email us at *******@likesewwebsites.com for a prompt response. The only open ticket she currently has in our support system is the one ****** has been trying to contact her about. *"Always given the(y) will do this in the future but not now. The problems just seem to be mounting without any resolution to any of them." - We have established a development timeline and if we say we will develop a feature, we will. We will not drop items we are currently working on to develop something for a single customer. If ***** and her business partner ****** are not satisfied with the system, we will be happy to give them a full refund. *"We were told and sold this as a complete system specifically designed for our type of business." - We have over 100 customers in her industry using the system. There is room for improvement, and we ask that our customers give us feedback so that we can make the system better. For many of our customers who signed up when the system was new, we offered a substantial discount to reward them for being early adopters. With that said, we have been very upfront with our customers about the fact that they should test the system thoroughly before switching to make sure that it will fit their needs. The fact that ***** is complaining about the limitations shows that this customer did not test, and now expects us to meet unrealistic timelines. *"I want this to work. This has caused us a lot of extra manpower and hours put in by employees and ourselves. Still not working, our website is not up and therefore our online shop is not working either." - We want it to work as well, and most of our clients have been great in providing feedback and waiting patiently as we improve the system. Our development resources aren't unlimited, so the expectations of having every enhancement/bug resolved tomorrow are impossible. Since day one we have told people that if they feel the system isn't ready for them to use, then they do not have to pay for the monthly service and can wait until it is. This has allowed them to take advantage of a substantial discount. For any customer who decides that the system just won't do what they want and do not wish to wait, we offer a full refund happily and thank them for giving us a chance. In closing, it is my sincere wish to help ***** and her team work with our system successfully, and I and the rest of the support team here will be delighted to work with them as needed to make that happen. We love our clients, many of whom have taken a chance on our relatively new point of sale system. Some wish to wait on starting to use it, and others want to start right away with the understanding that there will be limitations and that we will do our best to improve the system as we get feedback. And occasionally we have a client who wants to use our system now and wants it to be perfect. Unfortunately this is not our current reality. Rather than consume our resources with complaints, we would gladly offer such clients a full refund and wish them the best of luck in the future. **** ******* Director, Training & Support Like Sew Websites ***********@likesewwebsites.com direct: XXX-XXX-XXXX toll-free: XXX-XXX-XXXX Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2014/02/04) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) While we are told they are unable to get back to us we have had on,y one messAge left with no additional caller ID from them. I was not told this system was in development at all by anyone, before purchase. I am willing to work with them but would like a specific go to person responsible for responding within a timely manor. We do realize there are time zone issues and also the holidays but do not feel our expectations have been unreasonable. If we could have some responsive reasonably of course to get the most pressing issues resolved, hopefully this can be worked through. We do not feel we really got a discount due to development. Final Business Response /* (4000, 9, 2014/02/20) */ ***** is requesting a direct point of contact for the POS. We can appoint ****** ********** to be this point of contact, with the understanding that she does have other responsibilities and will not be able to drop everything to address issues that come up. Our general support policy is to return all calls and emails within 24 business hours of receipt. If we call a customer back and they do not answer, we will leave a message and wait for them to call us back. Support emails should be sent to *******@likesewwebsites.com where a ticket will be created for the request and tracked. Our help desk has over a 96% satisfaction rating from our customers, so this is the recommended method of getting assistance. We do not assign a point of contact to a customer because if for whatever reason that person is sick or out for the day, and our customer needs assistance, they will be upset that no one is calling them back when they have only reached out to one person. By contacting general support, you have a higher chance of being responded to more quickly. If these terms are acceptable, then we will proceed with the customer.

2/14/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: The web site was poorly constructed and not consistent with advertised sites. My concerns were expressed immediately by email and unresolved. I entered into an agreement with likesewwebsites for a template web site design in September. ***** **** was the contact person. He was helpful and genuine. After 2 weeks I had not heard from like sew so I sent an inquiry. What I received was a hastily constructed very inferior web home page. Immediately I sent emails of concern and dissatisfaction. ******* ***** an account manager rather than a designer had done the work. I felt the work should be halted at that point as work was not up to advertised sites or up to expectations. ***** ******* was contacted. He was rude by phone and not at all interested in providing customer satisfaction. He requested that I send emails to confirm that I had contacted like sew with my concerns. I did so on 11-25-13 after seeing that they had charged the fee of $599 plus two additional charges of $79. He did not acknowledge receipt of these communications and then basically ignored a follow up email that I sent. I think the people at likesew web sites are good and honest people but I have to question the integrity of ** ******** What I expect is a partial refund of the set up fee and the monthly charges to be reversed. I have filed a dispute through the credit card company. Onyx web sites claim to be committed to customer satisfaction. I was interested in a dialog of how the issue could be resolved in a peaceful manner but what I heard on the phone with A ******* was inconsistent with this policy. All he did was criticize me for my objections and claimed that I was at fault in the whole matter and that he was not interested in working with me at all.

Desired Settlement: I would like to speak with someone and talk about a fair resolution to this problem. I will not be using anything that was done because it was not a good representation of my business and even inferior to what I have in Front Page. I was misled into thinking a web site designer would be assisting in the set up in the site and advising me on how it should appear, but I learned that I had to do everything myself. I want to be fair to likesew and to visit with them. If they feel that they are entitled to the full set up fee, I'll just chalk it up to a bad learning experience due to unrealistic expectations. Quilters and quilt businesses in the past have been very trustworthy. Thank you for your concern and giving me this opportunity to express concern over this issue.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 10, 2014/01/27) */ At Like Sew Websites we pride ourselves on providing a quality service at an affordable price, along with top tier service. On 9/23/13 ***** ****** entered into a service agreement with our company to provide her with a template website design of her choice. She opted for template XXXXXX from among our selection of templates (http://www.likesewwebsites.com/general-template-designs.htm). Please see the files and documents relating to this case, including our full email correspondence and a redacted copy of *****'s service agreement, in the link at the bottom of this response. Her account manager, ******* ****** moved over the basic pages of her website as a free service (***** opted not to pay for full website migration when completing her service agreement with her salesman, ***** ****, in September, a service we do at $25 per hour). ******* also had the template adjusted to accommodate the header style of *****'s existing site logo since ***** did not provide us with an alternate logo, and charged ***** nothing for the graphic adjustment. She completed this work and had a fully functional template website built on Oct. 8th, roughly two weeks after the contract date of 9/23. It was apparent from the start of our communication that she was wanting more than the template design itself and expected us to provide custom design service (a service that costs $1000 more than our template package) for free. She also expressed dissatisfaction with the logo we had brought over from her old website and seemed to expect us to do a custom logo design for her for free as well (this service by itself is $400). ******* ***** informed her that those services were not free and asked if she wanted us to do that for her. ***** felt that what she had paid already should have covered those services as well. When she decided she wanted to cancel on Nov. 25th of 2013, **** ******* began working with her. She insisted that she had notified us by email of her intent to cancel the month before, but the emails she forwarded did not contain such notice; they just expressed dissatisfaction with the site (mainly with her own logo). According to company policy, **** ******* refused the refund of the setup fee. Our policy is that the setup fee is non-refundable in any situation where we have already completed the work listed in the agreement. There are rare cases where we may opt to refund it if the work hasn't been done, but in *****'s case, the work had been completed for over a month. In early January, **** ******* received a call from ***** ****** and a representative of her bank. In that discussion, ***** reasserted that we did not live up to our end of the service agreement and that she should be able to recover her setup fee. After relating the details of the situation to the bank representative, it was decided that they would not process the chargeback. We did refund two monthly charges that had been erroneously charged to *****'s credit card. We at Like Sew became aware of this complaint to the BBB on January 16th and composed this response and assembled the documentation in the link below. Should ***** ****** decide to move forward with the website, we would be happy to help her as needed, but will require payment for any services that go beyond the basic setup fee. We also remain available to her as needed with our unlimited service and support if she decides to move forward. This basically means we are here to help her with any how-to questions on the system and we're happy to schedule work sessions with her as needed. Documentation of all of these facts is available at the following link: http://siterepository.s3.amazonaws.com/3141/chickadee_charms_dispute_documentation.zip Thank You **** ******* Director of Support and Training Like Sew Websites ***********@likesewwebsites.com Direct Line: XXX-XXX-XXXX Toll-Free: XXX-XXX-XXXX