Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Hosting Services, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Hosting Services, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 6 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

6 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 3 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 2
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 3
Total Closed Complaints 6

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on Hosting Services, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: January 18, 2002 Business started: 03/30/1998 Business started locally: 03/30/1998 Business incorporated 12/18/2007 in DE
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Adam Croshaw, Quality Assurance Manager Mr. Jeff Hunsaker, President/COO Mr. Mark Solocinski, Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Adam Croshaw, Quality Assurance Manager
Business Category

Internet - Web Hosting Web Design

Alternate Business Names
100tb.com Aff.biz Anhosting.com MidPhase.com Resell.biz VPS.net WestHost.com

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Hosting Services, Inc. has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 517 W 100 N Ste 225

    Providence, UT 84332 (888) 395-0752 (435) 755-3433 (800) 222-2165 (435) 787-7101 (866) 643-7427 (877) 829-2788 (435) 213-2498 (877) 826-6890 (435) 213-2491 (877) 829-2779 +866-MIDPHASE

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

1/16/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
1/16/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I am outraged. I had a cloud-based web hosting set-up with WestHost. Because of issues with another vendor, I turned to WestHost to help. I awarded them a job to build two managed hosted servers for my business. With a major launch only days away, I was nervous. They assured me that everything would be OK. Everything was NOT OK! They completely botched the transfer from the cloud environment, completely ******** up our website when it was loaded to the new server. Specifically, they transferred PHP and DNS information from the old cloud environment to the new managed host, which are completely different places! As a result, any information we tried to push to the new servers got sent to the old cloud server instead, rendering us unable to bring our site online. The exact same thing happened with a second server we requested, because we transferred over the settings from the first server, complete with the faulty information. I was only allowed to speak to Level 2 support, who had absolutely no idea what they were doing. When I had a trusted expert view the server, he saw a number of troubling problems that the West Host team should have easily caught. The problem became increasingly worse until I could not get into either server at all, getting time-out errors. I ended up having to go to *********, who did a flawless job of getting the exact same code online in about 2 hours. Not ONE issue! I called WestHost and told them to cancel the server order as it was a complete failure. Soon after the call I received an invoice for $580 for one-month's worth of hosting! I called the company and spoke to a senior customer service rep, who was unbelievably arrogant, rude, and lacking in business sense. I told them to refund my money and they staunchly REFUSED. She was unbelievably arrogant, thickheaded, rude, and lacking in any sense of business smarts. I told her I would complain to the BBB and she said, "Fine. Go ahead" And so I am. WestHost has done almost irreparable harm to my busines. Two days of incompetence, ignorance, and lack of caring. And for that, I'm charged $580!!! I have contested the charge with my credit card company and will haunt the CEO with phone calls until I tell him/her personally what a horrible experience I had with the company. DO NOT use WestHost under any circumstance. Why go through the pain I suffered when there are so many more competent, ethical, and humble companies

Desired Settlement: Plain and simple, I want a refund and an apology from WestHost for their incompetence, lack of humility, greed, and stupidity. For the price of $580, they now have someone who will litter chats, review sites, and other sites with a story of how horrible they treated me. I am shocked by their lack of humility and ethics. They STOLE $580 from my company for two days of miserable service and technical incompetence. Shame on you, WestHost!

Business Response: Hello *****,


Hope you are having a great day and had a wonderful holiday season. I have called and left a message with my direct line, ###-###-####. I'd love to speak with you about your BBB complaint and make sure all appropriate measures are taken to resolve any of the concerns you have.

I'll try to again on Monday.

Adam Cr*****
Sr. Client Service Manager
WestHost

1/10/2016 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Resell.biz switched from free privacy protection to paid privacy protection without confirmation that clients agreed to be charged for a paid service. My paid domains are not set to auto-renew, so why would paid privacy protection? I did not authorize the four privacy protection transactions. Therefore, Resell.biz fraudulently withdrew funds from my account. They also did not email me to tell me about the purchases like is done with domain purchases.

Desired Settlement: Resell.biz should credit me back for the four privacy protection transactions and change the system to prevent further occurrences. In addition, privacy protection purchase notices should be sent via email like domain purchase notices.

Business Response: Hello ***,


Hope you are doing well and had a wonderful holiday season. I apologize that it has taken so long to reply to your inquiry.

I have replied to "Ticket #******* - Unauthorized Purchase" which is a ticket that references your BBB inquiry. We have credited $6.60 to your account. We do everything we can to be transparent with our customers. I apologize this was not your experience. We will continue to do everything we can to make sure you and all our other clients are taken care of.

Please let me know if there is anything I can do for you.

Adam C******
Sr. Client Service Manager
Resell.biz

Consumer Response:
Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Sincerely,

*** **********

4/30/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Personal information, cancellation and other issues. I ordered hosting service from vps.net on 10 April, 2014. Shortly after, (minutes or hours), I received an email from vps.net stating that I had to provide additional personal information and that my account was on hold until I would provide it. I declined to provide it and informed vps.net of my decision by email. I then ordered web hosting from another company. Since then, vps.net has continued to ask me for additional personal information, and has threatened to charge me money on 15 April, 2014. I again requested cancellation and was told that they won't cancel in response to an email. At this point, maybe I should just take this complaint to law enforcement. I suspect something more than just incompetence is going on here.

Desired Settlement: Cancel my account, do not charge me any amount, and never contact me again.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 8, 2014/04/21) */ The person that submitted this complaint was held up in our order process for additional verification. We do this to protect ourselves and others that may have had their credit or other information stolen. In the identification email we ask for additional ID just like someone at a department store would. We are very polite and respectful of our clients. We do this to ensure we are processing valid orders. Once we heard that this client did no want our services we politely asked if we could be of further assistance because we want to make sure we do all we can for our clients. When he declined and wanted to continue with the cancellation we proceed the cancellation. The client was never charged anything by VPS.NET.

1/23/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On 12/3, 12/20, and 12/31 I attempted to contact VPS.net via email through ******** ***** and ****** addresses and have yet to receive a response. I first noticed on 12/3 that I was being billed approximately $50/month extra. The invoice pointed me to *******@vps.net. Having not received a response, I used the online support tool to alert a representative who gave me a small amount of site-credit but could not give me a refund and she directed me to ****@vps.net

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Refund A cash refund for all billing errors, an explanation as to why emails were ignored, and an apology.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/01/06) */ Contact Name and Title: **** *******, Quality Assurance Manager Contact Phone: X-XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: *******@vps.net I sent the following message to the client and will continue to work with the client through Ticket #XXXXXX - BBB Follow Up. "First, we apologize that you did not receive a response to your inquires. I will ensure that you are taken care of. As I look through your account, I see one ticket that was sent in on Nov/22/2013 from ****************@gmail.com (Ticket ******* - (Free On Demand) - Credit card payment failed). Did you send the other emails from ****************@gmail.com? If you do not see a reply from us in 24 hrs (most of the time we respond to emails within an hour or two) please feel free to call us 24/7 at X-XXX-XXX-XXXX or contact us on Live Chat by going to our home page (vps.net) and clicking on the Live Chat icon at the top right of the home page. We strive to quickly respond to every inquire and if we don't reply it is probably because we did not receive the inquiry or some other anomaly. As far as the refund I am more than happy to look into your request. Can you please give me as much detail regarding the issue as possible? This will help me look into why you were billed something you shouldn't have been, etc. Looking forward to hearing from you." I will update this case as soon as I have more information. **** *******

10/8/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: False advertisement on their website & customer manipulation for an Unmanaged Dedicated Server, which is advertised as a 99.9% uptime guarantee. Purchasing an Unmanaged Dedicated Server is advertised on the westhost.com website with a 99.9% uptime guarantee. This is a false advertisement and they have provided false information to its customer, such as myself, resulting in customer manipulation for purchasing an Unmanaged Dedicated Server. On July 8, 2013 we paid $1,320.00 for an Unmanaged Dedicated Server with the information from the customer representative at the web hosting company westhost.com, stating that by upgrading our web package to an Unmanaged Dedicated Server, our websites would be much more stable than on the Cloud Server hosting package we were currently on and would have the 99.9% uptime guarantee, as listed on their website. We understand that things happen and thus that is why we have waited this long and our patience has grown thin. We have filed numerous tickets with this company and the most recent these past two days has yet to be answered and supported by this company. We have over 50 domain names (websites) under our Unmanaged Dedicated Server account package and all of our websites have been down for the past 2 days now, well over 29 hours and they are still down as I write this. We were completely shocked at how this company has treated its customer base, such as myself, who just wants to get back to business. We were on hold for over 2 hours and 5 minutes and when the line finally answered a message on the phone played: "We're sorry, we're experiencing system problems. We are not able to take your call at this time. Please calling again later." We have never filed a complaint with the BBB and without going on a rant or trying to sound like a complainer, we absolutely can not believe that they would let their customers wait on hold in a queue and when your number was up and you finally get through, you hear a message on the phone like that. Our websites are still down and we have been trying so hard to get in touch with this company through their online support tickets and over the phone and have been unsuccessful. This has affected our business in a major negatively impacting way with our websites going down and staying down for an extended period over two days currently, our loss in customers from our websites and applications, and also it has affected our applications that access data and files from our server, not allowing our users to get the content they have purchased, which has resulted in refunds being issued for the past two days.

Desired Settlement: We are seeking a full refund for the full amount already paid of $1,320.00 for this massive downtime, false advertisement and customer manipulation for this Unmanaged Dedicated Server package (that is falsely advertised on their website - we also have screenshots of their 99.9% uptime guarantee advertisement for verification purposes if needed). We are also seeking compensation for the amount of $2,500.00 for the 125 cell phone minutes that were used and waisted, while we were on hold in their phone queue, just to hear their message on the phone say: "We're sorry, we're experiencing system problems. We are not able to take your call at this time. Please calling again later" and for the enormous amount of stress this has caused me, the migraine I have because of this, but most importantly for the loss of revenue for my businesses on all of our websites and applications that link to our servers and for the loss of customers over this downtime. I want to continue keeping my account and website domains and my Unmanaged Dedicated Server for the duration of my original Unmanaged Dedicated Server package purchase, which is currently for one year and then if I decide to continue after it is set to renew next year, I will pay the amount due at that time to continue with this service package with westhost.com. I do not want to cause problems, but feel the settlement amount of $3,820.00 (listed above) is a fair settlement, avoiding any legal proceedings for this matter.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/09/20) */ Contact Name and Title: **** *******, Quality Assurance Manager Contact Phone: ************** Contact Email: *******@westhost.com Here at WestHost we do everything we can to make sure our clients are taken care of because we understand they keep us in business. We extremely apologize that the client was not able to reach us because we were having problems with our phone system. Unfortunately we had to shut down our phone system in order to fix the problems we experienced. We understand that this caused some problems for some of our clients. We apologize for the problems this caused. We have also received an abnormal amount of volume over the past couple of weeks and are doing everything we can to address our clients as quickly as possible. We have asked our employees to work extra hours and brought in every helping hand possible to make sure our clients are taken care of. As I mentioned before we understand our clients keep us in business and do everything we can to make sure they are taken care of. I have checked into both tickets the client sent regarding the issue the client was experiencing and the issue has been resolved according to the information on these tickets: (Ticket #XXXXXXX, Ticket #XXXXXXX). If there are any unresolved issues the client can reply to those tickets, I have assigned myself to the tickets and will see the response. I am more than happy to make sure the client is taken care of. The client is correct we do advertise 99.9% uptime guarantee on our dedicated servers (http://www.westhost.com/unmanaged-dedicated-servers/). This uptime guarantee is explained in detail here: http://www.westhost.com/policies/sla.html. We do practice what we preach. If our network is down we will credit he client's account up to 100% of the monthly service charge, "In the event that there is network outage*, WestHost will credit the monthly service charge for the following month's service as calculated below (see link above) and as measured 24 hours a day in a calendar month, with the maximum credit not to exceed 100% of the monthly service charge for the affected month." "*Network outage means any outage in which end users are unable to access the client's site, due to a failure in WestHost's network." The outage the client experienced was not a network outage. WestHost's network rarely goes down. As a matter of fact, WestHost is frequently ranked in the top 10 for uptime and reliability by Netcraft (Netcraft is a third party organization that ranks web hosting companies for their uptime and reliability.) The outage the client experienced was specific to their server. Because the server is an unmanaged server the client is responsible to keep the server online. WestHost ensures the network and server hardware is working properly. According the service level agreement (SLA) we have with our dedicated server clients no credits or refund is due. Because we value our clients and want to make sure they are taken care of, I have gone ahead and provided the client with a free month of credit on their account. As I have mentioned we extremely apologize for the problem that the delay in our response and not being able to reach us by phone caused this client. We fixed the phone system and replied to the clients tickets as quickly as possible.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

1 Customer Review on Hosting Services, Inc.
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart