Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Hosting Services, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that affect the rating for Hosting Services, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 6 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

6 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 4 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 2
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 3
Total Closed Complaints 6

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on Hosting Services, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: January 18, 2002 Business started: 03/30/1998 Business started locally: 03/30/1998 Business incorporated 12/18/2007 in DE
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Adam Croshaw, Quality Assurance Manager Mr. Jeff Hunsaker, President/COO Mr. Mark Solocinski, Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Adam Croshaw, Quality Assurance Manager
Business Category

Internet - Web Hosting Web Design

Alternate Business Names
100tb.com Aff.biz Anhosting.com MidPhase.com Resell.biz VPS.net WestHost.com

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Hosting Services, Inc. has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 517 W 100 N Ste 225

    Providence, UT 84332 (888) 395-0752 (435) 755-3433 (800) 222-2165 (435) 787-7101 (866) 643-7427 (877) 829-2788 (435) 213-2498 (877) 826-6890 (435) 213-2491 (877) 829-2779 +866-MIDPHASE

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

9/27/2016 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have a photo business with a website that is being hosted at WestHost. I have been using WestHost for four years in a monthly billing cycle. In July of this year, I contacted WestHost requesting cancellation of my web hosting service. My rate of service was $50.00 per month and billed monthly to my credit card. In response, WestHost offered me a yearly service at a 60% discounted rate. After thinking about this I agreed to take WestHost discounted offer on August 6, 2016. I was told by the representative that they would like to keep my business and would offer me a 60% off rate to my hosting. My rate of $50.00 per month rate would go to a yearly rate and then be discounted by 60% leaving me with a $260.00 fee to pay now in order to get the discount. I agreed to the rate change. No where was I given any information regarding "yearly" service agreements or even given the choice to agree to terms about yearly billing service. My credit card was billed and I was emailed an invoice. After one month of this service, I called Westhost back to request a cancellation of my hosting service. I agreed to pay for the one month of hosting used with the request to receive a refund for the remaining months of hosting. WestHost refused to refund me any money and stated that I could cancel my service, however, no refunds would be issued. WestHost claimed that I agreed to the terms of service for the yearly cloud hosting that I was offered. However, nowhere in my invoice, chat with the representative who offered this discount was any of this information indicated to me. My monthly billing style became a yearly billing style and WestHost claim that I agreed to these terms are invalid. Nowhere in my yearly billing offer, payment or conversation was I given the opportunity to know and understand the terms regarding the cancellation of services. WestHost claims that when I initially signed up for their service back in 2012, I was made know of early cancellation policies. However, my 2012 until August 6, 2016, agreements have been month to month.

Desired Settlement: I simply would like a refund for the remaining months of hosting. I would like to cancel my service with WestHost and pay for the one month of hosting I have used. A refund

Business Response:

I'd be happy to issue a pro-rated refund to Mr. ********* once a verified cancellation request has been submitted. The reason I've decided to issue a pro-rated refund is because WestHost has built a business on taking care of their clients and we will continue to do business this way.

After reviewing our correspondence with Mr. ********* I feel that we were very transparent in moving his account from a month to month billing cycle to a yearly billing cycle. We offered Mr. ********* a yearly billing cycle so the discount we offered him would go even further than applying the discount to a month to month billing cycle. We did not make changes to Mr. *********'s account until he confirmed that he wanted us to charge him for the entire year. After Mr. *********'s confirmation of charging him for the entire year, we sent an additional correspondence verifiing the changes we had made. We did not receive any notice from Mr. ********* that this is not what he wanted done. The invoice also clearly states that the service begins Aug/06/2016 and ends Aug/06/2017.

In order for me to apply a pro-rated refund to Mr. ********* credit card Mr. ********* needs to submit a cancellation according to the instructions we sent Sep/07/2016 2:33:59PM.

I've subscribed to the cancellation correspondence sent on Sep/07/2016 2:33:59PM and will receive notice as soon as Mr. ********* provides the verified cancellation request. Once I receive all necessary information and verification for the cancellation, I will process the cancellation and apply a pro-rated refund to Mr. ********'s credit card.

Please let me know if there are any questions or concerns, happy to help anyway I can.

Adam

1/16/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
1/16/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I am outraged. I had a cloud-based web hosting set-up with WestHost. Because of issues with another vendor, I turned to WestHost to help. I awarded them a job to build two managed hosted servers for my business. With a major launch only days away, I was nervous. They assured me that everything would be OK. Everything was NOT OK! They completely botched the transfer from the cloud environment, completely ******** up our website when it was loaded to the new server. Specifically, they transferred PHP and DNS information from the old cloud environment to the new managed host, which are completely different places! As a result, any information we tried to push to the new servers got sent to the old cloud server instead, rendering us unable to bring our site online. The exact same thing happened with a second server we requested, because we transferred over the settings from the first server, complete with the faulty information. I was only allowed to speak to Level 2 support, who had absolutely no idea what they were doing. When I had a trusted expert view the server, he saw a number of troubling problems that the West Host team should have easily caught. The problem became increasingly worse until I could not get into either server at all, getting time-out errors. I ended up having to go to *********, who did a flawless job of getting the exact same code online in about 2 hours. Not ONE issue! I called WestHost and told them to cancel the server order as it was a complete failure. Soon after the call I received an invoice for $580 for one-month's worth of hosting! I called the company and spoke to a senior customer service rep, who was unbelievably arrogant, rude, and lacking in business sense. I told them to refund my money and they staunchly REFUSED. She was unbelievably arrogant, thickheaded, rude, and lacking in any sense of business smarts. I told her I would complain to the BBB and she said, "Fine. Go ahead" And so I am. WestHost has done almost irreparable harm to my busines. Two days of incompetence, ignorance, and lack of caring. And for that, I'm charged $580!!! I have contested the charge with my credit card company and will haunt the CEO with phone calls until I tell him/her personally what a horrible experience I had with the company. DO NOT use WestHost under any circumstance. Why go through the pain I suffered when there are so many more competent, ethical, and humble companies

Desired Settlement: Plain and simple, I want a refund and an apology from WestHost for their incompetence, lack of humility, greed, and stupidity. For the price of $580, they now have someone who will litter chats, review sites, and other sites with a story of how horrible they treated me. I am shocked by their lack of humility and ethics. They STOLE $580 from my company for two days of miserable service and technical incompetence. Shame on you, WestHost!

Business Response: Hello *****,


Hope you are having a great day and had a wonderful holiday season. I have called and left a message with my direct line, ###-###-####. I'd love to speak with you about your BBB complaint and make sure all appropriate measures are taken to resolve any of the concerns you have.

I'll try to again on Monday.

Adam Cr*****
Sr. Client Service Manager
WestHost

1/10/2016 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Resell.biz switched from free privacy protection to paid privacy protection without confirmation that clients agreed to be charged for a paid service. My paid domains are not set to auto-renew, so why would paid privacy protection? I did not authorize the four privacy protection transactions. Therefore, Resell.biz fraudulently withdrew funds from my account. They also did not email me to tell me about the purchases like is done with domain purchases.

Desired Settlement: Resell.biz should credit me back for the four privacy protection transactions and change the system to prevent further occurrences. In addition, privacy protection purchase notices should be sent via email like domain purchase notices.

Business Response: Hello ***,


Hope you are doing well and had a wonderful holiday season. I apologize that it has taken so long to reply to your inquiry.

I have replied to "Ticket #******* - Unauthorized Purchase" which is a ticket that references your BBB inquiry. We have credited $6.60 to your account. We do everything we can to be transparent with our customers. I apologize this was not your experience. We will continue to do everything we can to make sure you and all our other clients are taken care of.

Please let me know if there is anything I can do for you.

Adam C******
Sr. Client Service Manager
Resell.biz

Consumer Response:
Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Sincerely,

*** **********

4/30/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Personal information, cancellation and other issues. I ordered hosting service from vps.net on 10 April, 2014. Shortly after, (minutes or hours), I received an email from vps.net stating that I had to provide additional personal information and that my account was on hold until I would provide it. I declined to provide it and informed vps.net of my decision by email. I then ordered web hosting from another company. Since then, vps.net has continued to ask me for additional personal information, and has threatened to charge me money on 15 April, 2014. I again requested cancellation and was told that they won't cancel in response to an email. At this point, maybe I should just take this complaint to law enforcement. I suspect something more than just incompetence is going on here.

Desired Settlement: Cancel my account, do not charge me any amount, and never contact me again.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 8, 2014/04/21) */ The person that submitted this complaint was held up in our order process for additional verification. We do this to protect ourselves and others that may have had their credit or other information stolen. In the identification email we ask for additional ID just like someone at a department store would. We are very polite and respectful of our clients. We do this to ensure we are processing valid orders. Once we heard that this client did no want our services we politely asked if we could be of further assistance because we want to make sure we do all we can for our clients. When he declined and wanted to continue with the cancellation we proceed the cancellation. The client was never charged anything by VPS.NET.

1/23/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On 12/3, 12/20, and 12/31 I attempted to contact VPS.net via email through ******** ***** and ****** addresses and have yet to receive a response. I first noticed on 12/3 that I was being billed approximately $50/month extra. The invoice pointed me to *******@vps.net. Having not received a response, I used the online support tool to alert a representative who gave me a small amount of site-credit but could not give me a refund and she directed me to ****@vps.net

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Refund A cash refund for all billing errors, an explanation as to why emails were ignored, and an apology.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/01/06) */ Contact Name and Title: **** *******, Quality Assurance Manager Contact Phone: X-XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: *******@vps.net I sent the following message to the client and will continue to work with the client through Ticket #XXXXXX - BBB Follow Up. "First, we apologize that you did not receive a response to your inquires. I will ensure that you are taken care of. As I look through your account, I see one ticket that was sent in on Nov/22/2013 from ****************@gmail.com (Ticket ******* - (Free On Demand) - Credit card payment failed). Did you send the other emails from ****************@gmail.com? If you do not see a reply from us in 24 hrs (most of the time we respond to emails within an hour or two) please feel free to call us 24/7 at X-XXX-XXX-XXXX or contact us on Live Chat by going to our home page (vps.net) and clicking on the Live Chat icon at the top right of the home page. We strive to quickly respond to every inquire and if we don't reply it is probably because we did not receive the inquiry or some other anomaly. As far as the refund I am more than happy to look into your request. Can you please give me as much detail regarding the issue as possible? This will help me look into why you were billed something you shouldn't have been, etc. Looking forward to hearing from you." I will update this case as soon as I have more information. **** *******


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

1 Customer Review on Hosting Services, Inc.
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart