Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Fibernet Corporation

Additional Locations

Phone: (801) 223-9939 Fax: (801) 223-9937 View Additional Phone Numbers 1155 S 800 E, Orem, UT 84097 View Additional Email Addresses http://www.nethosting.com View Additional Web Addresses


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Fibernet Corporation meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Fibernet Corporation include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Fibernet Corporation
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: March 09, 1998 Business started: 01/01/1995 Business started locally: 01/01/1995 Business incorporated 02/06/1995 in UT
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Lane Livingston, CEO Mr. Lee Livingston, Company Contact
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Lane Livingston, CEO
Business Category

Internet Services Web Design Internet - Web Hosting

Alternate Business Names
Nethosting LLC

Additional Locations

  • 1145 S 800 E Ste 101

    Orem, UT 84097

  • 1155 S 800 E

    Orem, UT 84097 (888) 504-4678 (801) 223-9939 (800) 305-6995

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

11/7/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I put my server in their data center, so that they could manage my server. But when I called for a reboot, they claimed they couldn't find my server I put my server in their data center, so that they could manage my server. But when I called for a reboot, they claimed they couldn't find my server. They had helped me install the server. The server was in the correct position according to their instructions, and hands on installation assistance. Both my project manage **** ******, and the sale rep ******* ******** were their when I installed the server. Originally they gave me the wrong port on the switch, so I called them, and I they came down to correct the miscommunication that was sent in a previous email. When I installed my server, it was the only one on the rack that was "4u" which is 4 server units tall, takes up 4 units on the rack. It was positioned according to their instructions, with their hands on verification that I had installed it correctly just a month or so before I had a problem with the server and asked them to reboot it. Which is part of the contract, they obligated theirselves to reboot my server upon request. I put my server in their data center, because I travel. Some parts of the year I am in Maine, some parts of the year I am in Idaho, and some part of the year I am in California. So I needed someone to manage my server, at the cost of $179 per month. But when they wrote me back several times over a four our period telling me that they couldn't find my server. I got a bit worried, because I couldn't reach my server remotely. And now they are saying "they don't know where it is". So I came straight down from Pocatello Idaho, to Orem Utah, to reboot my own server. The server was still in the same place it was assigned to originally. I have no idea why they couldn't find it. It gave me quite a scare though. Anyway, now that I have removed my server from their facility, they are trying to charge me full price on this contract. Even though they didn't live up to even a basic service level in our agreement. I shouldn't have had to travel 7 hours round trip just to reboot my server, when it was supposed to be in a fully managed environment, and reboots were included in the service that I was signing up for. I see when just doing a google search, that this has been a complaint by many of their customers in the past. They get customers signed up on a pretty tough contract, and then they don't perform good service. When their customers want to leave, Fiber.net makes life difficult for them. Ref; *************************************************************************************************************************************** After trying to arbitrate this with Fiber.net, and having to call repeatedly with no return call back for over a month. Just to learn finally when I do get through to their manager ******, that I am going to be stuck with paying for another 8 months worth of service, despite that I have not had my equipment being hosted at their facility for over a month, and I am caught up. Now that my equipment has been proven to be unsafe there, I can no longer trust them to host my server. Therefore, I am not paying their $1638.20 fees in advanced, for services I will never use. They dropped the ball on this one.

Desired Settlement: I want a $1638.20 refund on this contract, because they failed to provide the professional services that I was paying for. Their dropped the ball, and they should not stick me with a bill for services that they can't or won't provide. I have an email record and I would testify to my claims under oath in court.

Business Response: Contact Name and Title: *. *** **********
Contact Phone: ************
Contact Email: ******@fiber.net
We appreciate the opportunity to respond to Mr. ********'s complaint to the BBB. Although, I hope our track record speaks for itself, Mr. ******** is not satisfied and that is important to us. We want to respond because we not only strive for 100% customer satisfaction but also for 100% of our customers to be satisfied. So what he thinks and feels matters to us regardless of its accuracy. Nothing would please us more than to find a mutually beneficial resolution. (As a clarification of Mr. ********'s complaint he is requesting a "refund on his contract of $********." I am sure he is referring to an amount that he has not paid but has been billed for and we have not received.)

Mr. ******** feels that he had reasonable grounds to cancel his agreement. We respect him and he is entitled to his opinion. However, there was no breach of promised services. His agreement had a term obligation and also had conditions which allowed him to terminate early. He did not exercise those conditions which, unfortunately, put him in default of the agreement. However, if possible, we want a better resolution. We at Fibernet don't believe in "hiding behind our contracts." We have gained our reputation over the last 21 years by working hard, having integrity, seeking knowledge, and delivering results.

Regardless of the contract issue, Fibernet believes and strives for the highest level of quality and customer satisfaction. Therefore Mr. ********'s beliefs, regardless of whether he is wrong or right, drive us to seek a clear and an unbiased understanding of what happened so that we might improve in whatever ways possible. We have thoroughly investigated Mr. ********'s claims. Our investigation has included a review of our written documentation, recorded conversations via telephone, and we have interviewed those individuals named in the complaint (as well as others who had involvement). In summary, we conclude that the largest contributing factor leading to Mr. ********'s actions, both before and after the incident cited by Mr. ********, was poor communication. Although our teams took great effort to try to communicate with Mr. ********, we were unable to communicate effectively in crucial moments in the relationship. Since the incident, we have again tried but been unsuccessful in communicating effectively with Mr. ********. We have made offers to try and find a mutually acceptable solution but Mr. ******** has shown no interest in reconciling. Despite his accusations we still wish to offer him that opportunity and wish to avoid pursuing any collection action against him.

It is extremely unfortunate for both parties that we were unable to communicate effectively with Mr. ******** but hope that through this process with the BBB that a solution might be facilitated.


Consumer Response: I have the emails and all of my calls on my business phone are recorded. If they want to dilute the issue with this claim of "miscommunication", I would be happy to clear this up. The miscommunication that they are claiming, allegedly happened well over a month after I had removed my hardware from their datacenter, long after I filed a complaint about their SLA breach.

They claim they attempted to call the wrong number and then gave up trying to communicate with me (until I called them back several times).

But this failed attempt, and this "miscommunication" only has to do with their follow up of my complaints, and had nothing to do with the original breach of contract when they failed to complete a simple reboot request for me because "they could not find my server".

When they failed to provide their contracted services, they had no problem communicating with me via email. We exchanged 6 emails, and each of their responses stated "we can not find your server".

They caused me to panic, thinking that my server had been stolen from the datacenter, and they caused me to travel for nearly 8 hours to just switch a power switch off and then on. Something that they were contracted to do for me.

Almost every time I have contacted them, and almost all of their replies have been by email and not by phone.

But this issue does not have ANY THING to do with miscommunication.

This issue has to do with them losing track of my server in their datacenter, and not being able to complete their contracted services that I was paying them for.

This mirage of "this was a miscommunication issue" has nothing to do with them losing my server.

Consumer Response: (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
The response from Fiber.net indicates attempts to contact me, and they claimed their attempts to contact me were un-sucessful. In a recorded conversation on my business phone with ****** their manager, he claimed "I tried to call you and you didn't answer". When I asked him if he called the number on my contract he said "I tried the ************ phone number". That is the number to my office in Maine, and we have not used that in a year. The number on my contract, is ************, and that is my cell phone which I carry with my constantly.

****** did say that he did not want to contact me via email, because he thought this was more of a personal matter. But email is the way that I have been communicating with them over this issue, and he had every opportunity to write me an email an tell me "I can not reach you by phone, please contact me" He did not do that.

But that is besides the issue. It is not my fault that they failed to call the correct number (the number on my contract), and it is not my fault that they did not email me.

But that is not the issue. The issue that happened that caused me to not be able to rely on their service, I was in direct contact with their support staff all day via email. We wrote 6 emails back and forth and they continued to tell me over and over that they could not find my server.

First they couldn't find my server, which caused me to drive from Pocatello Idaho to Orem Utah (7 - 8 hours round trip), but then they claimed to be incorrectly calling a number that is not on my contract to talk to me (which was well over a month after they lost my server in their datacenter, and NOT directly related to the incident when they failed to provide their contracted services).

With all of this "miscommunication", it seems to be an internal thing, and nothing to do with me.

How could they lose my server in their datacenter, when in fact they helped me install it?

Then they lose my correct phone number?

And out of negligence, they say they "didn't want to write me an email, because they wanted to have voice communication over this subject, but that they couldn't get through to me because they had the wrong number"?

I reviewed my original contract. My number on there is ************ and not ************ which ****** their manager claimed have mixed up. And my email address was on that contract.

So it is obvious to me that this "miscommunication" claim is just a distraction from the real issue. Which is that they lost my server in their data center, causing me to drive round trip 7-8 hours to do their job for them.

I will accept nothing less than a complete forgiveness of the rest of this bunk contract.

Fiber.net is one of the few datacenters out there that even require a contract. It's not wonder they do. We have been with ********* and ************* in the past when we lived on the East Coast. They never required a contract.
Fiber.net apparently needs a contract, incase they lose someone's server and can't provide good service. Because with a contract, even if the customer leaves, due to a breach of contract (on Fiber.net's part) Fiber.net still feels like it is more worth their time to insist on enforcing a contract that has been breached by them, then it is to keep track of their customer's information. With that much time on their hands, it's no wonder they are losing their customer's servers in their datacenter.

Business Response: Mr. ********, to be clear, we want to find a mutually beneficial solution and you have no valid claim against voiding or invalidating our agreement. If this only boils down to a contract issue for you, we delivered you the contracted service and you have defaulted on your contract. But, we are proposing to find a compromise because we are committed to keeping our customers, even former customers, happy and not make this about the contract. Your insistence that we lost your server is false. Obviously, the keys and access we provided you was for a particular part of our facility and a particular cabinet. Losing it is an impossibility. I recognize that our technicians question made you feel that we did not know where your server was. I was even a bit disappointed in the wording my technician used. I certainly could understand why you thought we lost it. However, what really happened is we have a "remote hands" validation procedure to insure that we only access, power off, or otherwise affect a specific customer's device. You purchased our least cost service in colocation. It is provided in a shared data center cabinet - shared meaning with other clients' equipment in the same cabinet. We are extra careful because of this. Surely you can see that and hopefully could even appreciate that under different circumstances. No one wants to hear that we accidentally rebooted their server because we "thought" it belonged to someone else. We certainly don't want to make that mistake either, especially when we provide the "remote hands" service for free.

I am deeply sorry you feel the way you do. You continue to give me no option other than give you only what you want, which is to relieved of your contractual obligation. That does not seem fair to Fibernet. In fact, I have actually never heard of anyone ever filing a complaint pre-emptively as you has done in this case. To file a complaint before we took any collection or legal action against you seems premature if not odd. To be clear, I assume you are complaining to the BBB because you don't want us to take any collection action. You ended the conversation with us. You threatened us. We are doing are best to work with a difficult situation.

Will you please consider a more reasonable alternative?

Consumer Response: (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I do not accept that your company losing my server, and forcing me to drive through two states to come and reboot it (which is your job, not mine) something that is not a violation of your service agreement.

We will have to go to court over this.

I will never refer any customer to your company.

Bullying me, when I don't even have my equipment at your location, nor are you providing me any services. Yet you still expect me to pay after YOUR company screwed up and LOST my server that was in your datacenter, is UNACCEPTABLE.

Even if you by some legal stretch win this, I will NEVER let this go. You people are syndicalist. That is ever so evident just by doing a google search.

Go search your company in google "Fibernet complaints" you have plenty of dissatisfied customers.

Whether this turns out good or bad, we will be writing about this in our regional newspaper "The Clovis Star".

I hope that you are enjoying this petty little dispute, over a miniscule amount of money.

For me this is about principle. I am not going to pay for services that you are not providing me.

And when I have to travel across two states to do YOUR JOB for you, and reboot my own server. That means you weren't even doing your job when I did have my equipment at your location.

See, this isn't about money. This is about principle. I will NOT pay you for services that you are not even providing.

11/8/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: NetHosting withdrew funds from customer account without authorization. The Verge Group Limited initiated and paid in full a design contract(for RESET REALTY) with Heritage Design. Prior to design finalization or acceptance by Verge heritage went into bankruptcy. Evidently Nethosting assumed the Heritage business for hosting - which we had not contracted for. Nethosting without Verge consent or agreement withdrew funds against the CC provided to Heritage. We have for the past year tried to resolve this matter with a senior executive of Nethosting - mr *** **********. He asked us to consider working with them or one of their affiliates. We informed him that the Reset business never went forward; in fact was aborted shortly after Heritage bankruptcy. Verge cancelled the Credit Card. We did however agree to seek estimates from Nethosting affiliates for an allied business. According to our notes from the telephonic meeting, Nethosting would hold a credit for the full amount owed to Verge pending this agreement. If this did not work out satisfactorily, ********** state "well I suppose I will then just have to refund the monies" or some such words. Later when ********** documented these deliberations, he conveniently omitted these comments. He asked us (Verge) to be fair, but unfortunately this was not reciprocated. We requested information from Nethosting affiliates and never even had the courtesy of a response - from either of the affiliates. When this was taken up with ********** he remained totally condescending abrogating all responsibility and despite repeated requests from Verge, refusing (or being unable) to provide written agreement to withdraw the funds. This matter is unresolved. We have sought legal counsel but the amount involved is only $250. ********** and Nethosting are taking a condescending,non-negotiating and non-reconciliation attitude towards a small company. Despite the small $ value, we regard this matter as one of principle and possibly fraud. We have no need for any service provided by Nethosting or their affiliates.

Desired Settlement: Full refund of the funds illegally withdrawn from the Verge account

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 9, 2013/10/30) */ Contact Name and Title: *** **********, CFO Contact Phone: XXXXXXXXXX Contact Email: ******@fiber.net On behalf of Nethosting, we are sorry we were not able to find a mutually acceptable solution or compromise before his filing to the BBB. Extreme effort was made but we believe that Mr. ******** felt no personal responsibility for his circumstances and therefor would only accept a full refund despite reason or terms and conditions. He has even accused us of illegal activity which is incredibly disappointing given our extreme efforts to not only to protect his interests but those of thousand of people like him. Mr. ******** represents one of over 10,000 hosting accounts which were transitioned from a failing company called Heritage Web Solution. If anything, Mr. ******** was potentially a victim of the circumstances preceding Nethosting's direct involvement. A summary explanation of those circumstances and what generally followed are explained below in the "Background." Following the "Background" are the specific circumstances surrounding his services and interactions with Nethosting prior to demanding a refund of all of his service fees from Nethosting, as documented in our customer tracking system. Those notes show that even after we spoke to him, which was before a single charge was made to the credit card, he neglected to take reasonable action to cancel his services with Nethosting and ignored the additional communications. Background: On March 8, 2011, Nethosting, a wholly owned subsidiary of Fibernet Corp., assumed control of the customers of Heritage Web Solutions. All of Heritage's customer websites were hosted with Nethosting prior to Heritage closing their business. All of Heritage's customer information, including billing information, credit card information and contracts were assigned to Nethosting's parent company Fibernet Corp. Nethosting continued to provide and support all the web hosting services to all the former Heritage clients for free for a period of generally 60-90 days or until cancelled or modified. During this period, Nethosting attempted to contact each of the thousands of the former Heritage clients to not only explain what had happened but also give them a choice to continue hosting with Nethosting or to cancel. If no action was taken, Nethosting would continue to host the Attempts were made via email and phone to contact individuals associated with each account. On May 2, 2011, Ashton, the Manager of Nethosting's Account Management Team spoke to Mr. ******** and at first he told Ashton to cancel the account but then changed his mind and told ****** that he would get back to him, all contact information was verified at that time as well as the options to pay or cancel. His website www.resetrealty.com was being hosted by Nethosting for a monthly service fee of $9.99 charged to his credit card. On a monthly basis a "successful payment" notice was sent via email. On May 13, 2011 the credit card payment declined and a notice was sent via email. On May 15, 2011 a voicemail message was left by ******** ******* indicating the failed payment and advised to call back with his updated information. On May 28, 2013 updated information was received and a "successful payment" notice was sent. Again monthly notices were sent including additional notices sent notifying Mr. ******** that the credit card was going to expire. On March 25, 2013 Adrian and Ashton spoke to Mr. ******** where he demanded a full refund of service fees or approximately $200. Adrian offered Mr. ******** a courtesy refund of 3-months of service fees. Mr. ******** was not satisfied with that offer and the issue was escalated to *** **********. In good faith, *** offered him both a 3-month refund and a 12-month credit of service fees so that Mr. ******** would continue to work with Nethosting. An agreement was made verbally, the refund was given, and the credit applied to the account. As we understand it, Mr. ********, was dissatisfied with the Nethosting Web Design Partner. He then again insisted on a full refund again to which he was told "no." ***Note: this complaint should probably be filed under Nethosting not Fibernet*** Final Consumer Response /* (4200, 15, 2013/11/06) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I spoke with ********** 3 times. It was his word that he asked me to accept in good faith. No service was ever received since Heritage never completed the work nor had a completion sign off from Verge. Verge lost a considerable amount of dollars on this deal. And now we are just expected to accept more. Nethosting has always been tardy in their response timewise as has been proven on BBB's request (3 times) for response to the original complaint. As mentioned previously we have no need, nor desire to work with this company. We have repeatedly requested the signed authorization for withdrawal against our credit card and they have either not been able, or are not prepared to provide the document. If they stand behind what they say is their service commitment, this matter could have been resolved right at the start by either producing the documentation or providing the refund and not a so-called 'credit' for non-existent services. We feel strongly that this total disrespect for a smaller organization needs to be noted and be made publicly available. Final Business Response /* (4000, 17, 2013/11/08) */ Nethosting took over and hosted Mr. ********'s website for about 30 months but was paid for 22 months. We have never sought to be paid for the unpaid months and we have offered to refund him 3 more. Mr. ******** spoke to our team over the phone before we started billing his credit card about two and a half years ago and confirmed at that time that his website was being hosted by Nethosting. We can only assume that Mr. ******** forgot or that he changed his mind. But by the time he contacted us again and requested the cancellation it was unreasonable to request the return of all the service fees. Again we offered him more than we felt was reasonable but he was not satisfied then nor now. It is disappointing that Mr. ******** continues to make accusations of fraud and incompetence against Nethosting and its team. We can only assume that when he refers to "Verge lost a considerable amount of dollars on this deal. And now we are just expected to accept more," that he is referring mostly to his "losses" with Heritage which are unrelated to Nethosting. His total spend with us was $9.99 a month. Combined, we have spent probably as many as 20-30 hours with him because of our commitment to always take care of the customer.