Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® - Start With Trust

Are you...?

If yes, click here to learn about BBB Accreditation.

Are you...?

This business is not BBB accredited.

Beehive Broadband

Phone: (435) 837-6000 Fax: (435) 837-6109 View Additional Phone Numbers 2000 Sunset Rd, Lake Point, UT 84074 View Additional Email Addresses http://www.wirelessbeehive.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Beehive Broadband include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Beehive Broadband
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: June 28, 2004 Business started: 09/04/2003 Business started locally: 09/04/2003 Business incorporated 09/04/2003 in UT
Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mr. Wayne McCulley, Owner Mr. Arthur W Brothers, Managing Member Mr. Chuck McCown, Member
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Wayne McCulley, Owner
Business Category

Internet Services Telephone Communications

Alternate Business Names
Wireless Beehive Telecomm Wirelessbeehive.com, LLC
Business Management

Chuck McCown and Wayne McCulley are also listed as principals for Beehive Telephone Company Inc. The BBB has a separate report on Beehive Telephone Company Inc.


Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    2000 Sunset Rd

    Lake Point, UT 84074 (435) 837-6933 (435) 837-4357 (435) 837-6000

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

9/8/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I received a email notification(8/5/14) that my Beehive Broadband bill was available to view. When I looked at it the bill was more than I expected. Upon looking further into the bill it stated that I had an outstanding balance from last month. I thought, how could this be if I was enrolled in AutoPay through the Beehive company and the bill would be paid on the 25th of every month automatically(debited from my bank account information entered on there form online). This is not the first time that I have had problems with there AutoPay program. I have called and have had to leave a messages with the Billing Department concerning this problem, with no one returning my calls. I was finally able to talk with someone but I had to go through the new customer division before anyone would respond to my concerns. When I express my problem, the person(unfortunately I did not get her name) stated that the problem was with my bank(Wells Fargo) and that the reason that the bill was not paid is probably due to "insufficient funds" in my account. That was insulting...if I had insufficient funds the bank would have notified me and charged me a fee for insufficient funds. Also, if my bank had rejected the charge the Beehive Company would have a record of that transaction on there computer file.Today,(8/6/14), I received another email notification stating that my bill had been paid thru AutoPay, but the payment was not for the full amount. Again I tried calling Beehive to straighten this out and had to leave another message with there Billing Department.So far no one has returned any of my calls. I am also committed to a two year contract with this company and if this is how they run there company I feel uncomfortable doing business with them. I need to be aware of bad credit ratings from them because of there glitches in there billing system.My account #XXXXX. I can only print out the emails, it will not allow me to attach it to this form. Product_Or_Service: Satellite Internet Order_Number: customer# XXXXX Account_Number: XXXXXXXX

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Other (requires explanation) The Beehive Company needs to return my calls to settle this ,and, or release me from my contract with no repercussions.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 7, 2014/08/28) */ Contact Name and Title: ****** ********* - Billing Manager Contact Phone: (XXX) XXX XXXX Contact Email: ****************@beehive.net The customer contacted our office after hours on 8/5/2014 and a message was relayed back to our office the morning of 8/6/2014. I personally called and left a message for Mr *** that day. I tried to reach him again on 8/7/2014, and left another message. He called me back later that day and I explained that our third party processing for auto pay did not process a file the previous month and we were unaware of it until 8/5/2014. I advised him the error had been fixed and his payment had processed, and his normal payment for the month would come out on his scheduled date. The customer said that was fine and I advised him any late fees were already taken care of on his account. I also advised Mr. *** that we do not report to the credit agencies on delinquencies unless they are left after the closing of an account, so he would not need to worry about that. Customer has also been informed that he can cancel his account. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 9, 2014/09/05) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) The events of Beehive"s response is inaccurate, and to continue a debate appears to be futile. I have made arrangements to discontinue using there Auto-Pay system and prefer to manually pay. At this point I will continue to use Beehive's service with caution.

7/8/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: VERY slow service. Company will not upgrade its network to improve connection speeds. I have emailed the CEO, ***** and head of marketing, ***** about the horribly slow speeds of our internet connection. The package I pay for says speeds should be "up to 15 Mbps". This NEVER happens. During normal usage hours the speeds are around 1 Mbps. The package I pay for is $59.99 a month and is the "Entertainment Package". Sales staff assured me that i would have no issue streaming videos from netflix or HULU. I have given up watching anything because I would spend 2 hours waiting for a 30 minute show to buffer. I have an FCC *** Knows router that is certified by the FCC to conduct speeds tests several times a day. The results show very poor speeds. I have shared this data with wireless beehive on several occasions over the past year but they have not resolved the issue. Instead they sign up more customers and the service gets even slower. I have even offered to pay more a month and an initial equipment charge to get a faster speed at my home, the idea was "kicked around" and then dismissed. If needed I have a record of all email communications between Wireless Beehive and myself.

Desired Settlement: I would like Wireless Beehive to upgrade it's network so I can at the very least get 10 Mbps during the evening within 30 calendar days. This is still 5 Mbps slower than the "up to 15 Mbps" I pay for but it would be a great start.

Business Response: Business' Initial Response /* (1000, 10, 2013/06/19) */ This customer was served by our Nevada company, not Wireless Beehive.com in Utah. Constant upgrades were being made to all of our wireless network, the Nevada customer base was growing faster in some areas than we could keep up. In many cases the City of Elko slowed our progress when trying to get new sites up and running, In some cases they are not very business friendly. We make it clear in our paperwork that we do not guarantee any level of service and we don't tie customers to a contract, they can leave us at any time if they are not happy. Sometimes despite our best efforts, customers are not happy. On April 1st, we sold some of our wireless internet assets (both Utah and Nevada) to Digis, so that we can focus on our Fiber projects. This includes our customers & sites. We are still the underlying carrier to most sites they are using, but Digis is now supporting the customer. Digis is committed to getting these customers better service in all areas. With the tools they have at their disposal, hopefully these customers will see improved service soon.

7/8/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: The internet speeds are nowhere near what I pay for. At times, the internet is unusable at my house. This is becoming an almost nightly problem. During peak hours of internet usage, our download speeds have been between .4-.75 Mbps. This despite paying for the Residential Premium" plan. Never at any time has the internet tested at the "up to" speed of 10 Mbps. In my view, advertising "up to" speeds is a wast of time, as it is the speed during peak time that most people care about. I have spoken to customer service reps who say that during peak hours they try to keep people at 1-2 Mbps download speeds. But Beehive is failing to deliver here, too. Not only do I rely on the higher speeds I pay for for entertainment purposes, but I also rely on it for my humanitarian work. This work can typically only be done during peak hours. Internet companies are very interesting. They are perhaps the only companies that blame a poor product on their client. I see on countless internet companies' sites that it is hard for them to keep up with consumer demand on internet speed because of Netflix, and other video streaming. But video streaming has been around for years. At what point do these businesses look to themselves for meeting clients needs, rather than placing the blame squarely on the backs of those who pay their wages. With download speeds averaging .4-.75 Mbps download speeds at night, particularly on weekends, it is time that I demand a better product.

Desired Settlement: If I am getting incredibly poor internet speeds, at the very least, I should be paying for the Standard plan, not the Premium plan. It seems crazy that I pay $49.95 each month for internet that does not function when we need it most. Of course I would appreciate applying some of my past bills to future bills to make things right, but more than anything, I want Beehive to make the necessary investments to their infrastructure to provide their clients with the speed of internet they think they are getting. If I could get 2-3 Mbps download speeds during peak usage, I would be happy.

Business Response: Business' Initial Response /* (1000, 12, 2013/06/19) */ This customer was served by our Nevada company, not Wireless Beehive.com in Utah. Constant upgrades were being made to all of our wireless network, the Nevada customer base was growing faster in some areas than we could keep up. In many cases the City of Elko slowed our progress when trying to get new sites up and running, In some cases they are not very business friendly. We make it clear in our paperwork that we do not guarantee any level of service and we don't tie customers to a contract, they can leave us at any time if they are not happy. Sometimes despite our best efforts, customers are not happy. On April 1st, we sold some of our wireless internet assets (both Utah and Nevada) to Digis, so that we can focus on our Fiber projects. This includes our customers & sites. We are still the underlying carrier to most sites they are using, but Digis is now supporting the customer. Digis is committed to getting these customers better service in all areas. With the tools they have at their disposal, hopefully these customers will see improved service soon.