Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Dental Select

Phone: (801) 495-3000 Fax: (888) 673-5328 View Additional Phone Numbers 5373 Green St Ste 400, Salt Lake City, UT 84123 http://www.dentalselect.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Dental Select meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Dental Select include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 4 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 3 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 2
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 4

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on Dental Select
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: August 27, 1990 Business started: 08/27/1990 Business started locally: 08/27/1990 Business incorporated 08/27/1990 in UT
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Insurance Department
State Office Building Rm # 3110, Salt Lake City UT 84114
http://www.insurance.utah.gov
Phone Number: (801) 538-3800

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Brent Williams, President/CEO Ms. Birgit Haney, Manager Ms. Angialique Imlay, Company Contact Ms. Suzette Musgrove, COO
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Ms. Suzette Musgrove, COO
Principal: Mr. Brent Williams, President/CEO
Business Category

Insurance - Dental Insurance Companies

Alternate Business Names
Select Benefits Group, Inc.

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Dental Select has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 5373 Green St Ste 400

    Salt Lake City, UT 84123 (800) 999-9789 (801) 495-3000

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

4/9/2016 Billing/Collection Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
10/3/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
8/6/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have filed 2 claims with Dental Select regarding dental services within the past few months - confirmation of fax received - no response, call couldn't find the claim - resent - no response - got someone who said she filed the claim and now a month later no refund that is due me.Last year - same thing and took an act of Congress to get them to acknowledge the claim and process it. Healthcare insurance including dental is paid for and you should be given your refund after deductible - horrible customer service and no systems in place

Desired Settlement: I want my EOB and my claim paid IMMEDIATELY

Business Response: Deborah,

 We apologize for any frustration you have experienced with the processing of your claims.  I have looked into your claims history and this is what I have found  We received your first claim from the provider without the member ID which means the system could not find out to attach  it too.  The claim was denied with an explanation to the provider.  When you personally called we put the information in our system and then processed the claim.  The other claim in your history that we found was a denial on 8/31/2014(denied for needing X-rays).  The provider did not submit the X-rays until 10/09/14 and then Dental Select paid on 10/14/14.
Please know that we are here and do want you to have a positive experience.  If you ever need anything, my email is *******@dentalselect.com
Sincerely,
Suzette

Consumer Response:

 
Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because: none of that information is correct.  You were provided with the right form filled out correctly - I faxed it and it went into an abyss. I called no record of it and had to send it again.   Then I had to follow up again and it took 4 calls total to finally get the claim paid - IT IS RIDICULOUS.  You need to be reported to a regulatory agency - what a mess!

There was never a request for x-rays - whose claim are you looking at? I haven't had x-rays done . 

Sincerely,

Deborah F****

Business Response: Deborah,

Again, I apologize for the frustration you have had with Dental Select. Both of your claims have been processed and paid. 
What can I do to help?  I will give you my direct email if you have any issues in the future.
********@dentalselect.
Sincerely,
Suzette

10/23/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable

Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

1 Customer Review on Dental Select
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart