BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
In Utah

BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 04/23/2009

Dental Select

Phone: (801) 495-3000Fax: (888) 673-5328View Additional Phone Numbers5373 Green St Ste 400, Salt Lake CityUT 84123-4740 Send email to Dental Select

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 04/23/2009

BBB has determined that Dental Select meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Dental Select's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 4 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Billing / Collection Issues3
Problems with Product / Service1
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 4

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (4)BBB Closure Definitions
03/25/2013Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Failure to substantiate charges

Complaint: m
dental insurnace ******* **** *****
I have a policy. The payment for the policy is past due. I pay by money order and received no notice of renewal by mail. On 2/16/2013 I received a letter dated 2/13/2013 in the mail that said "your bank/credit card has rejected pre-authorized draft dated 1/14/2013. Your policy is cancelled and to reinstate send payment of 456.00 (regular fee) and a 25.00 reinstatement fee within 30 days. payment of the rejected draft and returned fee must be paid by money or certified check.
I have never given them any financial information, bank or credit card. The letter was dated a day before the draft was supposedly rejected. A mistake honest or otherwise.
Called them at about 9:40 am 2/19/2013. They said they had generated a renewal letter on 12/14/2012(?) and the rejection of the Pre-Authorized draft was a mistake. They simply hadn't received my payment. Why didn't the letter say that?
Had it stated as such, I would have blamed the not receiving the renewal on the Postal service and lived with it. But the letter dated 2/13 shows obvious irregularities and calls into doubt the veracity of their claims.
Best case, they have glitch somewhere in their record keeping. Worst case they are trying to make 25.00 dollars extra or force me into electronic commerce with them.
The irregularities in the letter I received make me doubt the renewal letter was ever sent.
On 2/19/2013 mailed a money order for 481.00 dollars to them.

Initial Business Response
Contact Name and Title: ****** ***** Senior Accountant
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX x ***
Contact Email: *******@dentalselect.com
On December 14, 2012, the renewal notice attached was sent out. This notice is given 60 days before the charges for the new year generate. At that point if payment has not been received the system will try and draft the balance from any banking on file. In this case there was no banking on file which is not an issue. Banking information is not required for an Annual paying member. This action by the system, however, automatically generates that letter received. The member has not been charged the returned item fee and we have initiated a check request to refund the amount paid for it. There is currently a credit on his account. This check should be sent in the next couple of days. We do not report any of this activity to a credit bureau. In the event of non-payment, we simply term the policy.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
While the renewal letter may have been generated in their system, I still dispute the fact that it was ever sent. In any case, I never received it and believe the irregularities in their billing system supports this. I have received a refund check and assurance of my credit being unaffected. Overall, I'm satisfy with Dental Select's response and believe they have acted in good faith to rectify my complaint. Thank you for your efforts, **** *****

03/08/2012Billing / Collection Issues
08/05/2011Billing / Collection Issues
01/13/2012Problems with Product / Service

Industry Comparison| Chart

Insurance - Dental, Insurance Companies

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 08/27/1990Business started: 08/27/1990
Type of Entity

Corporation

Incorporated: August 1990, UT

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Brent Williams (President/CEO)Customer Contact: Ms. Suzette Musgrove (COO)Ms. Birgit Haney (Manager)Ms Angialique Imlay
Business Category

Insurance - Dental, Insurance Companies

Alternate Business Names
Select Benefits Group, Inc.
Industry Tips
Automobile Insurance
Fraudulent Health Insurance a Growing Problem
Travel Insurance - Is it Necessary?
Will Your Auto Insurance Weather the Storm?

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Dental Select

5373 Green St Ste 400

Salt Lake City, UT 84123-4740

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 5373 Green St Ste 400 

    Salt Lake City, UT 84123-4740(801) 495-3000
    (800) 999-9789

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Utah. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Dental Select is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (800) 999-9789
X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including the text of consumer complaints and business responses in BBB Business Reviews on 07/01/2013 for complaints filed on 01/01/2012 and thereafter. This includes all complaints that meet our reporting guidelines and that are filed electronically. We also report on the resolution of the complaint, as determined by BBB.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.