Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Sentinel Security Life Insurance

Additional Locations

Phone: (801) 484-8514 Fax: (801) 484-2459 1405 W 2200 S, Salt Lake City, UT 84119 http://www.sentinellife.org


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Sentinel Security Life Insurance meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Sentinel Security Life Insurance include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 6 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

6 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 5 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 5
Total Closed Complaints 6

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Sentinel Security Life Insurance
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: November 01, 1984 Business started: 05/12/1948 Business started locally: 05/12/1948 Business incorporated 05/12/1948 in UT
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Insurance Department
State Office Building Rm # 3110, Salt Lake City UT 84114
www.insurance.utah.gov
Phone Number: (801) 538-3800

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Earl Tate, President Mr. Dan Acker, Vice President Ms. Jeannie Palmer, Policy Service Manager
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Mr. Dan Acker, Vice President
Principal: Mr. Earl Tate, President
Business Category

Insurance Companies

Alternate Business Names
Sentinel Plan

Additional Locations

  • 1405 W 2200 S

    Salt Lake City, UT 84119 (801) 484-8514

  • PO Box 65478

    Salt Lake City, UT 84165

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

4/22/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
9/15/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My annuity with this organization promises a fixed amount deposited to my bank on the first of each month. The arrangement was made in March '15, to commence deposits on August 1. No money was deposited, despite the promises of two agents that A) it had indeed been sent to my bank, and B) No, it hadn't, but it would be on the very day of our phone conversation. No money was forthcoming, yet again. I phoned several executives of Sentinel Security, including the president, who promised to research the situation and have it clarified that very hour -- with apologies for the inefficiency of his staff. I received yet another call that day from a woman who AGAIN apologized profusely, promising that henceforth there would be no problem with a monthly direct deposit on the first of each month. This is money I'm obligated by law to withdraw each year, and I've chosen monthly deposits. Today is September 2, and, as is the company's "policy", THERE IS NO DEPOSIT IN MY ACCOUNT. I'm not sure about the next procedure, but this report to the BBB is the first in my pursuit of satisfaction. The monthly deposit has already been allocated to my budget for the year.

Desired Settlement: I demand assurance that the funds will be deposited on the first of each month WITHOUT MY HAVING TO CONTACT THE COMPANY ON A CONTINUAL BASIS!!

Business Response: We are sorry for the inconveniences to our annuity holder.  There was a programming issue on our part that did not deal well with the starting, stopping and starting again of the GLWB withdrawal - which we believe has now been solved.  We also failed to clearly communicate that any withdrawal from an annuity takes a minimum of three days due to computer and bank procedures.  We have now resolved the issue with our annuity holder by ordering the withdrawals three days before the deposit is needed in the annuitant's bank account.

All this has been communicated with our annuitant - all payments to date have been made - and we will be following through on 10/1 to make sure that her monthly payment arrives as requested.

Again, our apologies for the inconvenience this has caused.


Consumer Response:  
Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Sincerely,

**** **********

8/15/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
7/21/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
5/15/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
9/13/2013 Billing/Collection Issues

Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Sentinel Security Life Insurance
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)