Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that American Insurance & Investment Corp meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for American Insurance & Investment Corp include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on American Insurance & Investment Corp
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: July 01, 1986 Business started: 06/18/1943 Business started locally: 06/18/1943 Business incorporated 12/30/1957 in UT
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Insurance Department
State Office Building Rm # 3110, Salt Lake City UT 84114
http://www.insurance.utah.gov
Phone Number: (801) 538-3800

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Dave Bradshaw, President Ms. Clenneth Berry, Company Contact
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Ms. Clenneth Berry, Company Contact
Principal: Mr. Dave Bradshaw, President
Business Category

Insurance Companies

Alternate Business Names
American Insurance and Investment

Additional Locations

  • 448 S 400 E

    Salt Lake City, UT 84111 (801) 364-3434 (800) 736-3436

  • PO Box 58489

    Salt Lake City, UT 84158

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

10/8/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: The business and Jim K***** told us that an insurance policy would be the same as our prior policy, even though it was significantly cheaper. They charged our credit card, and then sent us the specific details of the policy. When we received the policy and read it, we immediately cancelled the policy because it did not provide the same level of coverage. They then said they would refund our credit card in a few days. It took over 6 weeks and several emails to get a check, but when the check arrived, it was 37% less than what we paid (even though we cancelled the same day we received the info on the policy). We cancelled the policy on August 4th and just received a partial check on September 28th. They claim the unrefunded portion is for earned premium even though they never mentioned this to us prior to charging our credit card, and the policy was cancelled immediately. They took $247.96 from us for representing a policy as better than it was and then cancelling when we found out the truth about the policy being inferior to the policy we were looking to replace. I have tried to resolve through several emails and a phone call, but Jim K***** has refused to do the right thing.

Desired Settlement: A full refund ASAP. They have continued to push payment and then only sent a partial refund. We cancelled the policy on August 4th

Business Response:

We also feel ******'s frustration, but have acted accordingly in all matters.  

 1.  The first accusation of representation of the new policy being the same as his old policy is incorrect.   The quote provided by our agent Jim K***** was in response to an Allstate agent who requested a quote.  Allstate does not write earthquake.   We provided a NCIP  (national catastrophic insurance company) quote to the all state agent to forward to ******.  We never saw his previous policy nor gave any indication of coverage comparison.  We simply forwarded the quote to the all state agent we do not know if he gave any stipulations.  At this time Jim has not spoken to ******.    Stand alone earthquake polices through the federally backed NCIP program is very standard.  It is true that some insurance companies will add earthquake with lower deductibles if they have the underlying coverage.  We were not asked to provide any other coverage

 2.  ****** requested we bind coverage through the NCIP program.  Which we did.   This policy was bound on August 4th has he mentioned.  On August 7th we received a request to cancel the NCIP policy.   Which we notified NCIP to do.   NCIP told us they would refund the credit card.  We informed ****** of the same. 

3.  Insured sent us an email saying they had not had their credit card refunded.  We contacted NCIP, a different person notified us that NCIP does not refund credit cards for New Business and they would be sending a refund check to American Insurance.  After another inquiry by ****** we contacted NCIP again they had a "glitch" in their refund, at this time we decided to forward our own agency check to the insured.

4.  Check 37% less.  NCIP and other types of insurance require a minimum of 25% earned premium and a policy fee upon binding.  This is a general practice of these types of coverage's to avoid quick writing and canceling around catastrophe's.  The quote forwarded to the Allstate agent lists this requirement at the bottom of the quote.  

5.   ****** informed us that he contacted NCIP directly and convinced them to refund the whole premium instead of just the minimum earned.

We were only acting as the agent, and at no time did we have any of ******'s money in our possession, and we understood his frustration in not getting his refund timely.   We also tried to get NCIP to refund the full amount and they denied that to us.   We are glad ****** was able to convince them of that.  


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on American Insurance & Investment Corp
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)