This business is not BBB accredited.

Oakwood Homes of Utah LLC

Additional Locations

Phone: (801) 677-1600 View Additional Phone Numbers 500 N Market Place Dr Ste 201, Centerville, UT 84014 http://www.henrywalkerhomes.com ! BBB Business Review on Oakwood Homes of Utah LLC is being Updated by BBB !


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Based on BBB files, this business has a BBB Rating of No Rating. The reason is as follows:

  • This business has no rating at this time because BBB file information is being reviewed and/or updated.




Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    250 N Coral Canyon Blvd Ste 200

    Washington, UT 84780 (435) 275-2900 (435) 275-2901

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    500 N Market Place Dr Ste 201

    Centerville, UT 84014 (801) 677-1600

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

10/26/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We started building with Henry walker homes which was purchased by Oakwood homes. In the original contract our house was estimated to be completed around April 2015. During the month of December I was in a car accident in the ISU, Oakwood was contacting my explaining she had to go to the design center and pick colors. When I was released from the hospital 14 days later we attempted to schedule an apt. The next apt they had was in February. We then went to the design center Oakwood had no pricing for any of the upgrades and we were told that a cabinet upgrade was “probably 8k upgrade” and a tile upgrade was “2k”. The next day our email inventory showed the cabinets were a 16k upgrade, and the tile was 6k. We then had to accomplish the design center which again was several weeks out. Henry Walker/Oakwood homes did not submit our permits for 5 months. At that point the city informed Oakwood that the house chosen would not fit on the lot chosen. It then took Oakwood weeks to notify us that it would not fit. (We were the first ones to purchase a house in the new subdivision, and our lot had NO premium), because of the delay instead of having 14 lots to choose from we were limited to 4 all with 6k-12k premiums. Upon choosing our new lot that had a 8k premium which through negotiation was lowered to 2k, we noticed an apparent drainage issues (they had hay ropes set up to stop from flooding the house in the rear) we specifically asked about the back yard due to concerns about the grade of the lot. We were told our back yard would be predominantly flat with a slight slope near the end. With that information we agreed on the lot. Oakwood began construction in May, already 1 month later than the original contract date. We were notified at the preconstruction meeting that the house would be done late July or early August. We then spoke to our realtor that we had already had a vacation planned for the beginning of August (this vacation had been planned for a year, and originally had no bearing on the house). After notifying Oakwood that we would be unable to close until after 17 Aug, They began to rush on our house. This caused many contractors to do poor work. Also without speaking to us Oakwood homes added a 4 foot retaining rock wall two feet away from the perimeter fence. This wall did allow us to tie into the exiting fence and would make roughly 180 sqft of our back yard unusable and a hazard to our children. We had a meeting with the construction manager and explained that was not what was originally discussed. We agreed to remove the rock wall and add sewer draining to our property. They then forced my wife to do a walk through while I was out of town in July. At that time the house was not completed, so the walk through was rescheduled for 31 July (When we would both be back from out of town). Oakwood then pushed us to walk through and close on the same date stating they would charge us for everyday the house was done and we were out of town. We then discovered some writing done by a contractor on our garage wall, this writing was done in Spanish and included cuss words, the construction manager agreed to cover it up in the home. During the walk through on 31 July, we discovered 31 items incorrect to include the rock wall was not lowered nor was the drainage installed; also they only spray painted over the writing in the garage and did not cover it all up. Oakwood at that time agreed to allow us to go on vacation without charging us. We completed a second walk through on 18 Aug and found a few items were not completed, to include the rock wall and drainage. We agreed to close on 18 August with and addendum stating the rock wall and drainage would be fixed within a few weeks. They came on 9 August removed only half the rock wall and did not install the drainage. Also we discovered that they did not remove a plug that did not allow our dishwasher to drain (they did take of this issue).

Desired Settlement: We would like the Wall removed and the drainage installed as agreed upon. We are unable to do anything with the yard until this is completed. Or compensation to have it completed.

5/14/2015 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
7/29/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Shotty craftsmanship and faulty product. I built a Henry Walker home in 2012. Last year, my hardy board started to crack and peel and fall off of my house. Instead of fixing it Henry Walker told me to deal with the manufacturer which I did. The manufacturer issued me a check for $5k and Henry Walker homes started to harass the manufacturer of the hardy board because they issued the refund check to me and not them. We brought up issues of our concrete pitting, and were told by the contractor of Henry Walker it was our fault when it hadn't even snowed yet, and its something we are doing? Our hardwood floors are peaking and pealing, and they are calling it a moisture issue on my part, when I haven't washed my floor in over a year to prevent it from getting worse. There is dirt sinking around my house because their foundation people didn't tap the dirt down around the foundation. I had to pay $5000 to have dirt brought in and tapped. And now because they won't stand behind their floors and blaming me, when 3 OTHER houses in my neighborhood have had their floors replaced by HW, and they too had to complain to higher management. So now I have to pay $10k+ to have my hardwood floors fixed. I will eat the costs of the dirt that is no big deal because I had to put my yard in. But I want a refund on ALL the flooring costs including the upgrade I made at their design center so I can have a better product installed by a company who will stand behind their product. For my floors to be peaking and peeling after less than 2 years to be my fault is asinine.

Desired Settlement: I want all of my hardwood floors replaced or a monetary refund of $20,000, which is what my guesstimate is for the floors and cost of installation.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 7, 2014/05/29) */ Contact Name and Title: **** ***** Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: ****@henrywalkerhomes.com The floor was inspected by a factory trained flooring company and was found to be a moisture related failure. A letter was sent to the ******** on 10/22/13 stating this and gave guidance to them if they did not agree with the inspection. The ******** informed me on 5/28 that they sent a sample of their floor to the manufacturer for another review at their expense. I told them we would look forward to seeing the results of this review. Regarding the siding, we did have the manufacturer address the issue and they were given a full cash settlement, we just asked to have a copy of the agreement for our files, that is NOT harassment! I spoke with Mrs.******* yesterday and confirmed that the siding contractor will meet with them on 5/30 to schedule a resolution to the remaining siding issues. Please contact me if there are any further issues I can help out with. **** ***** Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 9, 2014/06/03) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) Item #1 Mannington Hardwood flooring: Placed a claim with HW fall of 2012 within months of moving into the home. In the building of our home, HW uses a company called Aspire to complete the inside finishes, paint and carpet selection, cabinets, etc. When we met with our representative, both my wife and I were adamant that we wanted hardwood flooring in our kitchen, main bath, and heavy traffic areas. The home we owned at the time was 1950s' 100% hardwood floors. At the recommendation of the rep, we selected a product manufactured by Shaw and was an engineered hardwood floor. We selected this product because it is produced with three to five layers of hardwood, each layer is stacked in a cross-grain configuration and bonded together under heat and pressure. As a result, engineered wood flooring is less likely to be affected by changes in humidity and can be installed in all areas of the home. Once we got back to our home that evening we looked through the photos of our selections and realized that the walnut flooring and the dark walnut cabinets did not complement one another and we opted to change the color of the hardwood floors. Unbeknownst to us, Aspire not only changed the color, but the brand and type of flooring. We have on our floors now a Mannington laminate. It is commonly known that laminates do not have the moisture resistive properties that an engineered hardwood floor has. Laminates are not at all forgiving with moisture and it is not a recommended practice to install laminates on the lower or at grade floors of the home or where there is a chance it will come contact with moisture. It is also noted that laminate floors (Mannington's installations instruction concur) that a glue is used to glue the pieces of laminate together and that the glue creates a moisture seal between the boards. Failure to apply the glue during installation can create several issues during the life of the laminate flooring, but it also creates a potential for moisture problems by allowing surface moisture to seep below the surface of the laminate flooring. I see there are 2 issues with this flooring. First and foremost being that the product we selected based upon our experience and needs was not used during construction. We ended with a product that should never have been used in this application. It is on the wrong level of our house, and it us used in areas of frequent moisture, which a laminate just cannot hold up to. In addition to not getting the correct product when I asked the inspector if they had used glue to glue the boards together, he claimed they did not. He said they don't use glue as this is a floating floor, which contradicts the manufactures website. So even if this was the correct product and was used per its design, it is my opinion that the flooring would still be cupping as there is no glue in the seam to protect the laminate. For what it is worth, this flooring looks horrible and whether HW takes responsibility for it or not, it will have to be removed and replaced. This is in no part due to the negligence of my wife cleaning procedure which they keep claiming is the source of the moisture. We have always followed the manufactures website. As far as a response to **** ******** response to our complaint, the inspector that was sent to our home, as per Mannington was not a properly trained rep. Mannington asked if he used a moisture gauge or inspected the home for water sources, such as pulling out refrigerator and if possible dishwasher. None was found. We are not satisfied that the Aspire representative has the credentials to make this kind of a call nor can he be called unbiased. My first question to **** would be why was a laminate used in this application? Why was a laminate swapped in exchange for an engineered hardwood when we requested a simple color change to a lighter floor? I don't doubt that when used properly a laminate is a fine, cheap, alternative to hardwood, but we were not looking for a cheap alternative. We were looking for a quality floor that could fulfill the needs of a home with pets and small children and be up to the task of a bathroom and kitchen. At this point we have sent examples of the product to the manufacturer at our own cost. It is my opinion that because no glue was used and that this is the wrong product use, this flooring should be replaced by the builder. In a good faith, I would offer to HW a compromise... I accept that it was our responsibility when we moved in to have noticed that this floor was a laminate and not an engineered hardwood, although my knowledge of flooring at the time was not what it is now. I would like to seek reimbursement for the product. I essentially paid HW $6000 in the upgrade from tile/carpet to the hardwood flooring. That amount would allow me to purchase new product and doing the labor myself, allow me to replace the flooring. This is about $5 a square foot, the median range of engineered hardwood flooring from Home Depot. Even if the review from Mannington comes back favorably for HW, that does not rule out that this is the wrong product and that it is not installed per the manufactures instructions. Item #2 CertainTeed Siding: Placed a claim with HW fall of 2013. Henry Walkers response was that we needed to contact the manufacturer and make a claim. HW said that they were not responsible and the warranty was with CertainTeed. CertainTeed sent out a representative and him and I walked the house. HW was unable to attend the meeting, although I scheduled this around them. His findings were that there was indeed a manufactures problem and took responsibility for 248 board pieces or 17.10 squares of product that was attached to the house. However his report also notes that "at the time of inspection, the following conditions were found in the specific areas observed and are representation of the select panels/areas reviewed. The panels reviewed showed evidence of the concern(s) or were specifically pointed out at the inspection: overdriven nailing and siding installed tight to trim/windows." The results were that we signed and received a payout for the above amount of siding. During the walk around the house CertainTeed's inspector pointed out that we would possibly have been eligible for more of the panels to be replaced, but do to the poor installation, he could not take responsibility for all of the failing panels. The nailing of the panels was to deep allowing the panel to pull through and the panel was not given the appropriate gaps at the corners of the windows and doors which caused them to split in half. We then contacted RJL siding as the installing contractor and met them onsite. They took responsibility for the overdriven nailing and the gaping in the corners. They said that they would take care of this as it was covered under their labor warranty. In addition to this warranty work, they gave me a quote to repair/replace the siding that CertainTeed gave us as a settlement. So between the warrantied covered items, and the additional estimate from RJL I would have been made whole. Essentially using the payout from CertainTeed to cover the replacement and painting costs due to RJL on the sections not covered. I want to be clear in this statement that this complaint stems only from the portion not paid for in the settlement by CertainTeed. The remainder of the house excluding the 248 board pieces or 17.10 squares. Also to be clear we were instructed by CertainTeed to keep the details of this settlement confidential as the claim and settlement were between us and the manufacturer and not HW. To sum up as of today, RJL has been on site and have promised to replace/repair to our satisfaction the portions of the house that fall under the warranty covered by the poor installation. The work will be completed this week and we wait to see how it turns out. I will withhold comments on this item until the warranty work is complete. Final Business Response /* (4000, 13, 2014/06/24) */ Contact Name and Title: **** ***** V.P. of Operations Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Per my conversation with Mrs. *******, she had sent to the manufacturer a sample of her floor for a factory review. At this time we are waiting for the results. Best regards, **** ***** Final Consumer Response /* (2530, 29, 2014/07/29) */ I would like to close my complaint. The builder is working with me to get the floors replaced with any flooring of my choosing from their design center, and will work with the manufacturer for reimbursement. Thank you to everyone who is working with me in getting this resolved. Hopefully this is the final solution.

3/10/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Henry Walker after numerous conversations and written warranty requests has ignored or refused to address issues on our home completed Dec 9, 2013. All three toilets in our home have had plugging issues since the day we moved in. The wrong counter top was installed in bathroom 1 ( Verdi Peacock was installed and should have been Veri Tuna) which is in our original contract. In our contract we specified and paid for a bread board to be installed in our kitchen cabinetry and no bread board was installed. An electrical outlet above kitchen cabinets was moved before move in and never completed. The house was never cleaned for our walk thru Dec 2 nor since then by Henry Walker. We had an independent licensed HVAC contractor do an audit of our home and found the thermostat needed to be moved to the center of the house and dampers should be installed to distribute heating and cooling more evenly throughout the house.

Desired Settlement: We would appreciate toilets that function without ongoing plugging issues. We would like the correct counter top to be installed in bathroom one (Verdi Tuna). We would like the bread board that is in our contract and paid for. We like to see the painting of the area above kitchen cabinetry, where electrical outlet was moved. We would like reimbursement for the move of HVAC thermostat and dampers being done today for $575.00. We would like our house cleaned (including windows).

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/02/05) */ Contact Name and Title: ******* ********** Sales Manager Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: ********@henrywalkerhomes.com Thank you for your email. We don't take these complaints lightly, and will continue to make sure that items are handled fairly and per the contract agreed upon by both parties. According to the complaint filed there are six issues that buyers are wanting action on. I will list the six items as it appears in the complaint followed by the actions that Henry Walker Homes has taken. 1- Functioning toilets with ongoing plugging issues: There was a warranty request submitted Jan 20, 2014 by the buyer stating that his toilets were plugging. We use Gerber toilets which are at the top end of a mid-grade toilet, and one that we have never had an issue with. We told the distributor that there was an issue with the toilets, and they went over to investigate. They were not able to duplicate the problem. I assured the buyer in an email Jan 21, 2014 "If it is found that the toilet is not functioning properly, we will gladly replace the malfunctioning parts, or the complete malfunctioning toilet if needs be." We stand by that if there are future issues. 2- Buyer wants correct counter top installed in the bathroom (Verdi Tuna): It was determined that the design center incorrectly recorded the type of granite requested by the buyer. The design center assured us that they will make contact with the buyer and get the right granite installed. 3- Buyer would like the breadboard installed: There has been frequent contact between the cabinet installer and the superintendent to get this installed. The Cabinet installer made contact with the buyer as of Feb 4, 2014 and has made arrangements to get it installed. 4- Painting above the kitchen cabinets where an outlet was moved: As of Feb 4, 2014 the painters have made contact with the buyer and scheduled a time to paint the said area. 5- Reimbursement for HVAC thermostat being moved and dampers installed: The buyer added a casita to his home which comes standard with a bathroom and a High Wall ductless unit to control the temperature. The buyer opted to have the casita bathroom and the High-Wall unit removed, so those costs were backed out of the purchase price and the buyers were never charged for those items. The buyer has requested that we pay $575 for the alteration of his current HVAC to accommodate the casita. As the casita is engineered to have its own unit and the buyer opted out of the unit, we will not reimburse them the costs to retrofit their current HVAC system to include the casita. 6- Buyer Wants their house and windows cleaned: The homes are all professionally cleaned prior to the buyer closing on the home. We will not pay to have their home cleaned two months after occupancy. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2014/02/06) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) Toilets. The plumber who visited us regarding our issue, never put anything in the toilet when he flushed it, so how could the plugging be duplicated? No matter, all three toilets have experienced plugging and numerous times in the master toilet. Ignoring it does not correct our problem. Per the plumber who visited us the toilet is a Gerber Maxwell SE which has a 1.5 inch trap most Gerber's have 2 inch trap. He also said it was the cheapest Gerber toilet they sell. A neighbor one house down from us replaced all of his Gerber toilets himself, as he was so disgusted with the plugging and was so tired of dealing with Henry Walker customer service, that rather than having to deal with them on the issue he pulled them out and replaced them. Is it really too much to expect toilets to function without plugging in a $438,000.00 home? Heating. As I have told Henry Walker before, we never and I repeat never talked about heating at any time during our purchase. When we included the additional living space, we did not want a bathroom in it as the room was to be a gym and didn't feel we needed one and that was the extent of exclusion of anything in the additional living space. At no time did anyone from Henry Walker state anything about heating or cooling being involved in the removal of the bathroom in that space. Never. Ducting however was provided to that room as this indeed is part of our home not a separate living space. The Henry Walker contractor either did not know how to address even heat distribution or if they did, decided to do nothing beyond ducting to address the additional living space. We were forced to address the issue ourselves as Henry Walker refused to work with us so we hired a licensed contractor (** ****** *******)who moved the thermostat and put dampers in, dramatically improving heating throughout the house. There was a 6-8 degree difference between the front of the house and back and it is our problem? It is a fact that heat was not being evenly distributed through the work of Henry Walker's contractor. Through the intervention of ** ****** *******, who understood the engineering of heating distribution they corrected the issue and we now have a home that functions properly. Why do we have to pay and extra $575.00 to another contractor to have even heat distribution throughout our $438,000.00 home? Cleaning. During our walk thru the Henry Walker rep **** ******** suggested and we agreed that cleaning probably would be perhaps best done after the corrective work determined through our walk thru was completed. Those issues have yet to be completed two months later, as cabinetry and counter top work had to be done and windows changed, that would create additional dust and debris. The cleaning never happened. Final Business Response /* (4000, 9, 2014/02/20) */ In response to the toilets: The Gerber brand is a Top brand of toilet, and is used as the preferred toilet in all homes HWH builds. We have never had a warranty request or complaint regarding these toilets. We had a Gerber Representative inspect the toilets after the Home Owner issued a complaint and he found no defects or functional issues. The toilets are covered by a manufacturers warranty, but they have not found any problems with the Toilets. If the Home Owner still desires to replace the Toilets with another style or Brand, the Plumber who purchased and installed will provide it to them at the cost in which he receives it from the distributor. In response to the heating: As mentioned in the previous response, the buyer was never charged for the high wall HVAC unit in the casita (which is recommended). The Home Owner did not work with HWH or the original HVAC company that provided the work on the home to allow them to diagnose the concerns and address them. HWH will issue the Home Owner a check in the amount of $575 as a gesture of customer service. In response to cleaning the home: The home was professionally cleaned prior to the buyer moving in. The builder will not have the home professionally cleaned a second time. Final Consumer Response /* (4200, 11, 2014/03/09) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I would have said yes to the proposed resolution but it stated that I had to be completely satisfied with it and I am not. The heating issue was resolved by ** ****** ******* and I received a check from Henry Walker (which I have not cashed) for the amount of their work to make our heating system functional. It took our complaint to finally get a breadboard and correct counter top in our contract, which are now in place. The corporate response to our toilet issue is just plain is astounding. To have toilets that plug and respond without a resolution is amazing to me. After the Henry Walker proposed resolution of my complaint, we again had plugging problems in the master toilet and I again sent thru a Warranty Request. **** the Super for this project finally sent out a plumber to snake the toilets. The plumber discovered resistance in the trap of each of the three toilets and cleared the obstructions. At this point, we have not had further plugging. The plumber could not identify what the issue was as he did not have camera. So, I accept the offer of Henry Walker for the heating issue and appreciate resolution of our breadboard and counter top (even if it did take a complaint with the BBB to do it) but I will be forever disappointed in the way we were treated by Henry Walker corporate, regarding the heating and toilet issues. So much grief, to get a contracted bread board and counter top, a 575.00 heating fix and to snake our toilets.


Customer Review(s)