Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Ivory Homes Ltd

Additional Locations

Phone: (801) 747-7000 Fax: (801) 747-7090 970 Woodoak Ln, Salt Lake City, UT 84117 http://www.ivoryhomes.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Ivory Homes Ltd meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Ivory Homes Ltd include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 11 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

11 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 6 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 5
Problems with Product/Service 6
Total Closed Complaints 11

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on Ivory Homes Ltd
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: August 07, 1991 Business started: 01/01/1971 Business started locally: 01/01/1971 Business incorporated 10/30/1986 in UT
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

DOPL - Professional Licensing
160 E 300 S 4th Fl, Salt Lake City UT 84111
http://www.dopl.utah.gov
Phone Number: (801) 530-6628

Type of Entity

Limited Partnership (LP)

Business Management
Ms. Liz Wolfgramm, Warranty Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Liz Wolfgramm, Warranty Manager
Business Category

Home Builders


Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Ivory Homes Ltd has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 1544 Woodland Park Dr Ste 300

    Layton, UT 84041

  • 970 Woodoak Ln

    Salt Lake City, UT 84117 (801) 747-7000

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

6/23/2016 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: More than six months ago I requested help with some bulging shower tiles. Despite the fact that our home was still under Ivory's 1 year warranty our concerns were initially dismissed. With some persistence someone was finally sent out to evaluate the situation only to minimize its significance and to offer nothing more than some caulk. After pursuing the issue further Ivory finally agreed to removing and replacing only the bulging tiles. Of course when they were removed, wet, warped, and moldy underlayment was revealed as well as a punctured shower pan. The now apparent water damage is directly due to the fact that the underlayment was not cut, oriented, or installed to the manufactures specifications. The construction of our shower and tub-surround do not comply with Utah building code which clearly states underlayment must be installed according to the manufacturers specifications. We have had several contractors and even an individual from Ivory's own warranty department express how absolutely appalled they were with the overall construction of our master shower and bath. Every one of them was left completely baffled, pointing out one construction flaw after another. A few of the contractors we invited into our home declined to even give us a bid because they didn't want the trouble of trying to patch this mess back together. Everyone who has taken the time to evaluate our shower and tub-surround agree that it must all be removed and replaced, yes, even our Ivory home warranty representative agreed. So why has this issue continually been brushed under a rug and neglected? Is it the hope that we will just eat the cost of these repairs if this nonsense carries on long enough? It has been well over 6 months since this issue was brought to Ivory's attention and they have yet to determine the extent of damage due to water and mold and offer a reasonable solution. Based on the many professional opinions and bids we have received I am estimating an expense of approximately 12,000. Ivory's proposed solutions: 1. Have the original tile company replace the shower pan and place new tile over the warped and moldy underlayment (which still doesn't meet code) without determining the extent of water and mold damage. 2. A settlement of $1,200 to hire out the repairs. 3. A settlement of $3,300 to hire out repairs, which was retracted when we requested time to collect bids to insure this amount was adequate for the job. (A hard and unfair task since we still don't know the full extent of the water damage.) Ivory is currently ignoring our request for arbitration. Thank you Ms. Liz W******* for this very lovely, and oh so professional Ivory Homes experience!

Desired Settlement: 12,000 for removal of damaged and improperly installed materials and proper installation of master shower and tub to original specifications

Business Response:

Thank you for the opportunity to respond to this claim.  While we dispute many of the facts presented in this compliant, we have been in contact with the ******* numerous times in an attempt to resolve this issue.  Unfortunately, all attempts that we have made to address the *******’ concerns have been rejected. Specifically, we have sent a subcontractor to the *******’ home on multiple occasions to perform the requested repairs, but have been prevented by the homeowners from completing the work. Finally, after these attempts at repair and remediation failed due to the homeowners’ own actions and after initial negotiations broke down, we offered to pay the homeowners the cost of the repairs so that the homeowners could retain control over the project. The amount offered by us far exceeded the amount that we would have paid a subcontractor to perform the repairs as well as the total cost of installing the original tile in the home, but was made as a customer-care effort to resolve the matter in an amicable fashion. As stated previously, all of our efforts and offers have been rejected flat out and therefore the matter remains unresolved.

 

Consumer Response:  
Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:


Even though we have been working with Ivory Homes for over six months on this issue, they still have not recognized the full scope of the existing problem, let alone offered a reasonable resolution.  Following our complaint to the Ivory Homes warranty department that shower tiles were separating from the wall, a subcontractor was sent out to remove and replace the tile. During the removal process, wet moldy underlayment was revealed as well as a punctured shower pan.

The contractor explained to me that he was only authorized by Ivory Homes to replace the tile and was not able to remove the wet moldy underlayment or shower pan without further instruction. The contractor offered to install new tile on the damaged underlayment and I refused this offer as this solution did not resolve the underlying issue, and would have resulted in further damage over time.

Since this time, Ivory Homes has made no effort to determine where the shower construction has failed or to determine the extent of damage due to water and mold. We have learned that the tile underlayment was not installed according to Utah building code. Large gaps, improper orientation and the absence of a vapor barrier in parts of the shower have allowed moisture to penetrate into the underlayment causing it to warp, mold and push tile off the wall.

Ivory Homes most recent offer following our complaint to the Better Business Bureau was the same $3,300 as before with the addition of a required covenant of confidentiality which would prevent us from speaking to anyone about our bad experience or inadequate settlement with Ivory Homes. 

While $3,300 is a sufficient amount to replace the tile, we have obtained bids from several contractors and it is not nearly enough to cover the removal and replacement of the improperly installed tile underlayment, punctured shower pan, and remediate any damage caused by water and mold.

Unless Ivory Homes is willing to hire a reputable contractor to replace the tile and correct the underlying problems that caused them to bulge in the first place, or provide us with enough funds to hire the job out ourselves, we will refuse their offer and maintain our right to speak of this experience.


Sincerely,

***** ******

4/29/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We were under contract to purchase a home through Ivory Homes but continued to get incorrect information and updates regarding the building of the home and the status. Ivory Homes provided a Color Form for this lot which included specific details of the home. The sales agent (Donette W*******) used that form to sell the home. We, as buyers, signed a contract based on those options and upgrades. Since the home was in the early stages of being built that is all we had to go on. On the paperwork given to us by the sales agent The 2050 California Traditional Syracuse model was clearly checked, initialed, and dated on the color form received from the Ivory Homes design center. This model indicated stone on the front of the home; above the garage and up to the windows on the second story. Yet the home was built with a small portion of rock based on a 2050 Traditional model. This rock and elevation was a HUGE selling point for the home. In addition, we brought up a discrepancy with the stairs for months with no initial resolution. The color sheet indicated railing at half walls, as did the builders drawings they are using. Yet the stairs were framed and dry walled with no upgrades. We brought this to the sales agents attention when it was early in the build and nothing was done. We were given a sample of what it should look like yet this looks absolutely nothing like was being built. We also had concerns with the bathtub in the master bathroom. The color form sheet indicated "Optional Grand Master Bath" which shows a Garden Tub. The builders drawings sheet listed Grand Master Bathroom on the Structural Upgrades as well as the spec drawing page "Optional Grand Master Bath" which is drawn with a 36x60 Garden Tub. Yet the bathtub in the house currently is not a Garden Tub. These very issues are why we forced a sit down meeting at Ivory's Lehi, UT design center with the sales agent, Donette W******* and the Area Manager, Dave Z******** on March 9, 2016. During this meeting Dave offered us a full refund of our earnest money ($2000) due to the fact he did not want someone to move in a home they would not be happy with. This offer was never withdrawn or given an expiration date to accept. We waited on accepting this refund to see if Ivory Homes would make good on their contract and fix the issues with the home we were supposed to buy. From the meeting Dave promised resolution on the rock/elevation of the home, the stairs built incorrectly, and the incorrect bath tub in the bathroom. On March 21, 2016 Donette W******* indicated that Ivory Homes would not fix the rock/elevation of the home and would add 1 shutter on a lower level window. She indicated they would not fix or replace the bath tub with the correct bath. And she indicated they would begin on the stairs and try to fix the design problem. After a week of no updates or responses Ivory Homes began fixing a portion of the stairs but nothing remotely close to what was designed. The stairs were supposed to be an open staircase with a half wall at the top. They did provide a half wall but did not open the staircase due to a load bearing wall. This fix to the stairs was still nothing close to what was designed. On April 6, 2016 we sent Ivory Homes a termination of contract letter due to their inability to correct the design errors on the home. We were told that a full refund of our earnest money would be provided (in writing and verbally on numerous occassions). On April 15, 2016 Ivory Homes communicated they would not refund the earnest money due to the fact we didnt accept the offer for a refund at the March 9th meeting; even though this was never communicated as our only chance for a full refund and we were told after this meeting that a full refund was still available. Ivory Homes has been nothing but broken promises and a big bait and switch campaign since the first day. They have been horrible since the beginning of the building and have never once accepted responsibility for their errors. All we asked for was to be released from our contract with a refund of earnest money since we could not come to an agreement on the multiple mistakes with what was promised when we signed the contract and what was actually built.

Desired Settlement: Refund of the $2000 earnest money. This money was provided when we entered into contract with Ivory Homes based on a model and design which they were not able to provide and/or changed without resolution or compensation.

Business Response:

Before receiving this compliant, this issue was resolved with the *******.  While this issue is resolved, it is important to note the home in question was under construction at the time the ******* went under contract.  Several field changes had been made to the home that were not represented in the plans initially shown to the *******. When the discrepancies were brought to our attention, we met with the ******* and explained the changes and offered the option to refund their deposit and cancel the contract if they were unhappy with the changes.  However, they opted to continue through the process.  There has not been “bait and switch” as claimed.  To the contrary, a lot of time and resources were dedicated to customize a home under construction.  We wish the ******* the best of luck in their housing search.            

4/28/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We purchased a spec home that was still under construction, they told us it would be done on February 28th. We requested some changes to be done and they said for that it would be an additional two weeks. After many errors including the wrong tile being put in and very poor work being done that needed to be repaired we weren't able to close until April 15. In our walk through prior to closing there were a lot of major issues. The superintendent said that everything would be fixed in two days. We closed on the house on Friday April 15. We were supposed to be able to get our keys the following Monday, but come to find out they didn't even have a certificate of Occupancy. When we finally got our key we brought a load of things over to begin moving in. The house was completely unlocked garage door open and none of the work from the walk through was done. There was even a light that was completely disassembled. There was blue tape everywhere and the house was filthy. It was nearly impossible to get in touch with anyone. We spoke to the General Manager and he told us it wasn't his job. We finally got high enough up by calling non stop that they sent the upper level superintendent over. They told us everything inside would be fixed the following day. It wasn't. We finally just had to move in because our rental had new tenants coming in. When we turned on the air conditioning insulation blew out of every vent and now we are covered in itchy particles, including my nine month old son. After walking around the house we noticed our feet were filthy and the floors hadn't been cleaned. Also when the workers came to set of the washer and dryer we discovered the door to the laundry room wouldn't close at all. The solution they came up with to fix the duct insulation issue was to stick a shop-vac in the vent and suck it out... The home has many issues. Also prior to closing worker had wrote on our garage wall saying that they didn't make enough money to treat the home with respect. This became apparent when we looked in the toilet and saw someone had been using it without plumbing.

Desired Settlement: Honestly we are so put out by the issues it would take a lot to make it right. I guess just making the home an actual finished product that's what a person would expect of a new home.

Business Response: Several managers have recently been in contact with Mr. and Mrs. ***** in an attempt to address their concerns.  Upon receipt of this BBB complaint, we immediately reached out again to the *****'.  We quickly arranged for a cleaner to come to their home; however, we were directed to not do anything further and to not enter their home, and that they are seeking legal counsel.  Unfortunately, there is nothing further we can do at this time to address the *****' concerns if they will not allow us to complete work.  

Consumer Response:
Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:
Initially when Les the superintendent came in and I showed him the insulation on the floor his solution to this matter was to clean out the vent with a shop-vac. I said no and that the vents needed to be inspected. He just said okay and left. Yes cleaners were scheduled to come but this was only after we made several calls and it was a day after. We did not allow Ivories cleaner because the last few contractors that were sent to clean did a terrible job, in the home we had to do our own clean and sweeper up piles and piles of saw dust and construction debris. At this point my son is having trouble breathing due to the insulation flying around the house. He's nine months old, so yes we are seeking legal counsel. 
Sincerely,

******* *****

10/16/2015 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: As Ivory homes was finishing our home, they cracked the driveway with a small tractor while leveling the grade. They cracked the driveway in two spots. I took pictures of the cracks and sent them to our sales agent Tony who assured me it would be handled under warranty. Tony told me I could not file a warranty claim until we closed on the home. On April 6th 2015 while inspecting the cracks, I noticed two cracks with tractor marks on the driveway which I photographed. You could still see the tracks from the small tractor. Once we closed I filed three claims and was contacted by Tony who handles home warranty issues. Tony was reluctant to do anything, and never made an attempt to fix the driveway. After filing a fourth warranty claim on the driveway I was assigned a new warranty agent who came and looked at the cracks in the driveway. ***** came over to my house a few days later and cut the concrete off at a sharp angle, and left it as an eye sore. I called ***** and they said this was per Ivory Homes request. ***** said they cut off the damaged concrete, and were not doing anything about the other broken piece of concrete. I've spoken with Ivory homes, and they will not fix the damage they did to the drive way. I took several photographs of the damage they caused a month before we closed on the home, and Ivory refuses to honor their warranty. Ivory home claims on their website located at http://www.ivoryhomes.com/?mID=20&tab=2 the following: " We have now enjoyed 90%-plus customer satisfaction for more than a decade. We know that maintaining this level will take a constant effort to improve as our customers continue to raise the bar. We don't mind it. We expect and welcome it. - See more at: http://www.ivoryhomes.com/?mID=20&tab=2#sthash.1YPBfQ44.dpuf " This is a complete lie, as only 1 of the 4 property owners that touch my property lines are happy with the end result of their home and warranty claims( not including me). Ivory seems to be more vindictive when seeking warranty issues, than they are with " maintaining a level that takes a constant effort to improve as our customers continue to raise the bar ". I filed warranty issues on the numbers of the home flying off in a windstorm before we closed ( not taken care of ), unfinished cabinets and loose drawers ( not taken care of) cracked driveway ( made worse, and unsafe for my children and the neighbors when they : fixed " it). I would never refer anyone to go through what we have gone through when building a home and dealing with the builders. They took a wonderful experience for a family, and turned acted like bullies on the playground that will do whatever they want regardless of warranty's or damaged they have caused.

Desired Settlement: FIX THE ITEMS YOU BROKE, and complete warranty claims. Don't half ***** them like an immature child asked to correct an action by a parent.

Business Response: Dear BBB:

Thank you for the opportunity to address these concerns.  A Customer Care Representative and I would like to meet with the homeowner to assess these issues.  Please have him give us several dates and times (between 8:00 am and 4:00 pm Monday through Friday) when he could meet with us and we will be happy to assess his concerns.
Liz W********
Customer Care Manager

Consumer Response:
Better Business Bureau:

Although this is redundant and I am confident Ivory homes will yet again not honor warranty commitments made, and will not fix damage they caused to my property in the post construction phase, I'm willing to give them one last chance.
I'm available on Fridays between 9:00 am and 2:00 pm

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Sincerely,

****** *******

9/17/2015 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We have had a horrific experience with Ivory Homes and the contractor that did our exterior, Elite Customer Exteriors, Inc. The contractor not only used a different material for our exterior trim than what was promised in the real estate agreement (our purchase agreement states that we would get stucco popout trim), but they also installed it incorrectly by failing to prime and paint it according to the manufacturer's instructions (thereby voiding the manufacturer's warranty at the time of installation). They did not prime the boards, did not use the correct type of paint, did not paint all the exposed edges of the boards (the bottoms of the boards are completely unprimed and unpainted), and did not tilt the window sills down to allow water to run off the surface. The result is that we have horrible looking exterior trim that deteriorated rapidly and needed complete replacement by the second year. Both Ivory and Elite claimed that we were outside of the warranty period, and the manufacturer will do nothing because the warranty was voided by improper installation. However we persevered and continued to complain about the problem frequently, so last year they did us the "courtesy" (in their words) of replacing just the window sill boards and then caulking and painting them. This so-called "repair" was done with the lowest quality workmanship possible, and now our windows look even worse than before. The worker who did the "repair" did not even make a reasonable attempt to match the color or lustre of the original paint, so you can easily identify where the newer paint ends and the old paint begins (they refused to paint the entire window frame, however the worker did paint the bottom sections of the adjacent boards so they are a different color on the bottom half than on the top half). You can even see the difference in color and sheen from across the street! He also did not even attempt to smooth out the caulking, so we have hideous fat beads of crooked and bumpy caulking that were allowed to dry that way and simply painted over. This is not a proper way to caulk and increases the susceptibility of the boards to continuing water damage. Since the time of the "repair," the trim has continued to deteriorate and some of our water table trim board (which has never been repaired) is now falling off because it is so warped and swollen by water damage. We expect many more places to start falling off by the end of the next winter. Meanwhile, the window trim boards that were not replaced have continued to swell and crack around the sill boards that were replaced, making the whole "repair" even more worthless than it already was because the surrounding window trim is a water-damaged disaster. Plus the newer sill boards were made of a similar material to the original boards (a low quality engineered wood board, which is not very weather-resistant even if treated properly), and they are beginning to show abnormal deterioration as well after only one year. Most likely they did not follow manufacturer's instructions on those boards either. We are still pursuing the issue with both companies although they refuse to do anything. The same problems are also happening to many of our neighbors in the Garden Park senior community, whose homes were also built by Ivory and the exteriors done by Elite Custom Exteriors. Our neighbors have had even less success than we've had in getting them to correct the shoddy workmanship and inferior/defective materials.

Desired Settlement: We would like all of our exterior trim replaced with the material promised in our real estate agreement (stucco) and installed properly. If they refuse to do stucco, we may be willing to accept fiber cement board, but nothing less than that. The trim should not only be replaced but also caulked and painted in a professional manner, and any damage to the surrounding stucco should be repaired and re-painted in a professional manner. We expect much higher quality work than was done in their last repair attempt. If Elite is unable or unwilling to do this, a different contractor should be enlisted to do the work.

Business Response: Dear Better Business Bureau:

We have met twice with our customer in follow-up.  A scope of work for repairs to be performed has been established.  Scheduling is currently in process.
Liz W********
Customer Care

Consumer Response:  
Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.   Ivory has visited our home twice since the original complaint and they offered to replace all of our exterior trim.  We are very happy with the offer and feel that they are resolving the issue to our satisfaction. at this point.  They are having the work done through a different contractor than the one that originally performed the work (Elite Exteriors) and they have started some of the repairs on a couple of windows and I believe they are waiting for the rest of the necessary supplies to arrive so they can continue with the repairs on the rest of the house.  We are extremely appreciative of what they are doing for us.

Sincerely,

******** ****

8/28/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We recently purchased a brand new home with Ivory homes, before signing anything, they told us warranty is good for a year. We've been moved in for a week, and have had many issues that we're supposed to be fixed after our walk-thru. Nothing was done. Told us that we'd have to contact their warranty dept in order for anything to get taken care of. I've taken those steps, we have a dryer vent out that shouldn't be out, and they tell us that's going to be weeks to fix, and we have leakage through our front door that they tell us, there's nothing they can do, and that the builder that build our home no longer works for Ivory Homes, okay, the builder that built our home no longer works there, there is no one else that they build with? This is bad business and customer service, we spent tons of money on this house, brand new and under warranty and there is nothing they can do?!?! What kind of business do they run?

Desired Settlement: I want them to live up to their warranty standards, fixing what needs to be done because they sold a home that has issues when its brand new and they half their work standards to make it easier and cheaper, I WANT IT FIXED properly!

Business Response:

Dear BBB:

 

Thank you for the opportunity to respond to this complaint.  We are currently working with this homeowner regarding their concerns.  The first contact we received from this homeowner was on August 3, 2015.  They were contacted promptly and work orders were issued.   I contacted the homeowner promptly when I received this complaint (August 10) and the first appointment for repairs is scheduled for later this week.  We will continue to work with them until warrantable work is complete.

 

Liz W********

Customer Care

10/10/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: The door frames and base boards have substantial gaps between them and laminate wood flooring. Neither door frames nor base boards meet the flooring. During construction of our home, we notified our foreman, ***** *****, that there were substantial gaps between the base boards and flooring and the bottom of our door frames and the flooring. We sent him emails with pictures attached to indicate the problems so he would have a better idea of them, since he refused to meet with us so we could show him the problems in person. He proceeded to ignore said emails, never even indicating that he got them. He never responded, nor did he say he would look at our complaints or attempt to fix the problems. We emailed our sales rep, ******* ********, multiple times regarding this problem and never heard back from her either. Over a week went by since we sent the initial email asking them to fix these issues before the final walk through, as we wanted the issue fixed in a timely manner so we could close on the home. The next time we received an email from any Ivory representative, it was to schedule the final walk through. It also said that *****'s manager had walked the house and said that is was fine to do a final walk through. The issues were never addressed and never fixed. We are now being pressured to close on the home with no indication that these problems are going to be fixed. We have been to multiple Ivory model homes and none have the massive gaps between base boards and flooring, nor between the door frames and flooring. We expect the same, if not better, quality of home than the models that Ivory shows to potential buyers. We were told that we would receive a quality home from "Utah's number one home builder", but have been met with nothing but frustration and issues that are not being taken care of, none the less addressed by Ivory's representatives. We have also made it clear that neither of us can do a final walk through during our working hours, as neither of us are allowed to take of work in the middle of the day. Regardless of this, ***** and ******* continue to tell us that they will not work around our schedules and continue to attempt to schedule the walk through in the middle of our working hours. The latest email we received from ***** basically told us that we don't need to do a final walk through and that we can just close on our house. The reason he suggested this is because he knows he has not fixed the massive errors in our home and he is unwilling to face it and take care of the problems. Instead, he still acts as though he never received our emails concerning the problems and continues to say that everything is ok. On every door of the main floor of our home, there is an almost 1/2 gap between the bottom of the door frames and the flooring. In multiple areas of the home there are gaps between the base boards and flooring where we can fit 2-4 quarters underneath. This is inadequate workmanship and we refuse to close on the home until it is taken care of. We need these issues to be pushed beyond *****, up Ivory's latter and get the attention of someone that is willing to take care of customer and make them happy so we do not have to resort to getting our team of attorneys and the media involved, which we have read literally hundreds of accounts where the customers have had to do just that in order to get Ivory's attention and fix their mistakes. The last thing we want is to involve our attorneys and draw this ongoing process out even longer, but if Ivory does not fix the issue up to our standards, we are left with no other choice. They have backed us into a corner and we refuse to be bullied by this corporation more than we already have been. Not a single Ivory representative we have come in contact with has shown an interest in helping us as customers reach satisfaction with our new home. Instead, they make us feel like we are being too picky and high maintenance in asking for Ivory to deliver the quality of home they promise to show as a company and that we have had our hearts set on. It's a shame this company gets away with treating customers like this.

Desired Settlement: In order for us to close on our home, Ivory has to replace every door frame and base board on the main level of our home so that there is not a single gap between base board and flooring, nor between a single door frame and the flooring. If Ivory is unwilling to make the needed fixes to the stated problems, it will result in our attorneys stepping in and taking Ivory to court where they will either be ruled to make said fixes, or we will back out of the contract and receive a full refund of all monies previously paid towards the home. The last thing we want is a legal battle, but as before stated, Ivory Homes has left us no other choice. This is our last attempt at reaching out to Ivory and giving them a chance to fix their mistakes before it becomes a full-fledged legal issue.

Business Response: Contact Name and Title: *** *********, Customer Care Manager
Contact Phone: ************
Contact Email: ***@ivoryhomes.com
We have carefully reviewed these concerns. We have also had subsequent conversations and correspondence with the ********. This is a beautiful, well-built home that meets or exceeds industry standards. We stand ready to have a final walkthrough with the ******** and to have the ******** close on this home, which we have customized to their desires.

8/18/2014 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: NEW HOME FINISHED IN NOVEMBER 2013. MULTIPLE LARGE CRACKS IN EXTERIOR STUCCO. IVORY HOMES REFUSES TO REPAIR. IVORY HOMES IS DRAGGING THEIR FEET. MY ORIGINAL COMPLAINT WAS FILED ON MAY 22, 2014 TO GET MY STUCCO LOOKED AT FOR REPAIR. THE WARRANTY DEPARTMENT STATED THAT IT WAS NORMAL FOR STUCCO TO CRACK AND THEY WOULD FIX IT BUT IT WOULD LOOK WORSE WITH THE PATCH WORK. I WAS CONFRONTED BY SEVERAL NEIGHBORS ABOUT THE CRACKS THERE AFTER AND CALL AN OUTSIDE STUCCO COMPANY TO EVALUATE THE STUCCO AND WAS TOLD THAT IT WOULD CAUSE MAJOR PROBLEMS, MOLD AND LOSS OF STUCCO, IN THE NEXT FEW YEARS. I PUT IN THE SECOND WARRANTY REQUEST ON JUNE 28, 2014 WERE THE WARRANTY GUY AND HIS SUPERVISOR CAME OUT AGAIN TO EVALUATE THE CRACKS. TODAY IS JULY 21, 2014 AND I HAVE NOT RECIEVED A RESOLUTION TO THE PROBLEM. I FEEL THAT IVORY HOMES IS NOT TAKING MY ISSUE SERIOUSLY. I THOUGHT THAT IVORY HOMES, BEING THE NUMBER ONE BUILDER IN UTAH, WOULD PROVIDE BETTER CUSTOMER SERVICE AS WELL AS WORKMANSHIP. EVEN IF I BUILT ONE OF THEIR LESS EXPENSIVE HOUSES.

Desired Settlement: I WOULD LIKE FOR THE PROPER TIME AND CRAFTSMANSHIP TO BE APPLIED WHILE REPAIR THE CRACKS. I WOULD LIKE THE TWO SIDES OF MY HOUSE TO BE COMPLETELY RESTUCCOED TO AVOID THE OBVIOUS LOOK OF A REPAIR.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/08/06) */ Contact Name and Title: *** *********, Customer Care Manager Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: ***@ivoryhomes.com Dear Better Business Bureau: We have extended a discretionary customer courtesy offer directly to our homeowner.

7/1/2014 Guarantee/Warranty Issues
5/20/2014 Problems with Product/Service
4/10/2014 Problems with Product/Service

Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

1 Customer Review on Ivory Homes Ltd
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart