This business is not BBB accredited.

Compass Point Construction LLC

Additional Locations

Phone: (801) 859-9891 120 S Main St, Kaysville, UT 84037


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Compass Point Construction LLC include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 7 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

7 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 4
Problems with Product/Service 3
Total Closed Complaints 7

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Compass Point Construction LLC
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: June 04, 2012 Business started: 04/24/2007 Business started locally: 04/24/2007 Business incorporated 04/24/2007 in UT
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

DOPL - Professional Licensing
160 E 300 S 4th Fl, Salt Lake City UT 84111
http://www.dopl.utah.gov
Phone Number: (801) 530-6628

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Ms. Tami Harris, Owner Mr. Jeff Harris, Owner/Superintendant
Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Tami Harris, Owner
Business Category

Home Builders Construction & Remodeling Services Building Contractors

Alternate Business Names
Compass Point Drywall

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    120 S Main St

    Kaysville, UT 84037 (801) 859-9891

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    PO Box 857

    Kaysville, UT 84037

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

7/7/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Dave M****** and compass point construction is by far thee most crooked person ever from commitments and promises to straight up lying!! I have tried to be nice and respectful but he doesn't deserve an ounce of respect! I am so disappointed in my home I paid an arm and a leg for that I don't even want it! All the outlets are overcut and look horrible, fireplace is leaking gas, back door doesn't open or shut properly, front porch makes a horrible sound if there's even a slight breeze, wrong carpet, banister ballester pattern out of order, wrong garage doors, master bath glass shower leaks and has ruined the trim and baseboard, chipped concrete, rv pad and patio completely cracked everywhere, no reverse osmosis line etc. That's just a few things wrong! DO NOT EVER TRUST THIS COMPANY OR COMPASS POINT CONSTRUCTION very ****** work!

Desired Settlement: Come back and fix everything! We paid for a brand new house not paid for a used house!

Business Response:

Please see the attached photos the home that the homeowner is referencing.  The home can also be viewed at www.spotlighthometours.com/tours/tour.php?tourid=86459 for more detailed pictures.  The homeowner actually did a walk through of the completed home that had gotten certificate of occupancy before they closed and funded the home. If the homeowner was unhappy with the property they did not have to purchase the property and could have walked away.  There were 15 items on a punch list sheet that the homeowner had requested to be fixed.  Currently there are 4 items that are still in the process of getting worked on.  The homeowner writes as if we have not been in contact at all with her in the last month and that is just not true.  Much of the difficulty has been with scheduling work time with the homeowner and the subcontractors to get the issues taken care of.  There have been times that the homeowner is not available to the subcontractors and also subcontractors have stated that they had left messages and she had' t returned them.  That was the case with the subcontractor wanting to get the glass shower door fixed.  The plumbers have already been to the home to take care of the reverse osmosis line.  The homeowner stated that ALL the outlets were overcoat and looked horrible.  There were two on her punch list that required attention and we are aware of the issue and trying to set schedules with the contractors involved.  The carpet that was installed in the home was the carpet that the homeowner had picked as they were able to pick all their finishes and paint colors.  When the carpet was onsite and laid out, it was then she had wanted it changed.  It wasn't a mistake on the part of Compass Point, but a preference issue.  We would have made the change had the homeowner wanted to pay the additional costs to replace it.  Compass Point Construction was not even aware of the fireplace issue until 2 days after we received this complaint when the homeowner sent a request to the warranty email, the homeowner was emailed back that same day with the phone number she needed to get in touch with the HVAC contractor.  The homeowner states that she has been nice and respectful, but we have a difference of opinion on that matter.  We stand behind our products, our suppliers, our subcontractors, and the team of people that make it all possible.  We have had communication through email, our superintendent has been in contact in person and on phone with her even though we feel she is defaming and lying about our company, the people we work with, and what we have provided for her.  

Consumer Response:  
Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:I have not had several calls with voicemails left. I have worked with them on coming to fix items but we work also and can't take time off for there inprefections. Glass shower is still leaking after they fixed it. Yes the superintendent called and were working on getting everything fixed. Carriage style garage doors are what we paid extra for but doesn't come with the hardware, that's what makes them carriage style!!! They did not offer me better carpet even if I paid extra! His words were its ordered and at the house it's to late! The carpet is thee most thing I'm disgusted with its cheaper than cheap!

Sincerely,

**** ********

Business Response:

Again, we are in contact with the homeowner and are working on issues.  Unfortunately, the subcontractors work regular day hours for the most part.  We never stated that building a house is a perfect process, but we are STILL working with the homeowner trying to handle her concerns.  We would be happy to remove her carpet and have it replaced at her expense, but it was not the wrong carpet.  It was the carpet she picked out initially and it was the carpet that she paid for with her home.

What the homeowner requested is that her concerns be addressed.  That is what our company is trying to do.  

5/27/2016 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We purchased this home and contacted both Compass Point and the builder. Compass Point routinely refers us back to the builder who rarely returns the communication or if he does is full of excuses. I have been able to get a couple things fixed but others there is either an excuse or a half ***** fix, and never any follow up from the builder as to whether the fixes were done or meet expectations. I won't list in this complaint some of the things that were taken care of and meet expectations (3 in total). We bought this home with intentions of living here more than a few months, we want quality work that will last. We feel like we paid a quality price, And should receive quality repairs. We signed a contract and put down a payment upon viewing the house and were told we would receive a 10x20 finished room in the basement by the model home agent. Eventually your company ******** on this agreement. Also mentioned in the warranty is that between the 11th and 12th month the superintendent will contact the buyer for a list of outstanding items. This list is meant to be for items which can wait a couple of months for fix, while critical issues are to be addressed immediately. This was never conducted by the superintendent and any contact between him and I was initiated by me. The items of issue are: Window wells are not attached to the house. (There is literally nothing holding them to the foundation and they are pulling away from the house.) Both outdoor hose bibs froze (and that was during a VERY mild winter!). We would like the plumbing adjusted to provide proper drainage. I am told the installed bibs are not meany for use in the winter yet when you review the specs on these they should be. We are also unhappy with the cracking and flaking concrete in our driveway which shows the characteristics of a poor pour. The stucco on the house is substantially cracking Yes, I've been told you can't fix it. But I feel they are excessive enough that I do not believe the backfilling was properly completed. Some areas are already sinking and I can locate several examples of concrete which is closer to 2" than the documented 4". We were told that the builder insisted that those doing the grading of the property do so in the winter which resulted in large ice chunks being part of the fill and once the melted, this is what caused the sinking. As for the stucco, slapping patch on the cracks and not even attempting to match the pattern is unacceptable. Window frames starting to fall out Grading needed caused by the sinking fill I have left off a lot of minor items as I understand minor items are missed and to me they are not a major issue. They are items I can easily fixed. But if I wanted to be picky, I could come up with another 100 items.

Desired Settlement: Items mentioned fixed or a refund equivalent to my costs to repair

Business Response:

Compass Point Construction was the builder of the home at *** ** ****** **** in the ******** *****.  The home had been completed at the time the homeowner purchased the house.  The homeowner states that the model agent told him he would receive a finished room in the basement, but there is no where in the purchase agreement that states that would be included.  What ever transpires or is agreed upon verbally between the model agent (who is not a employee of Compass Point Construction) and the homeowners, is not guaranteed unless it is legally documented in the purchase agreement or addendums of the contract.  The purchase agreement actually states this in provision fourteen.  The builder builds the home based on the contract agreement between the agent and the homeowner and there was no documentation regarding this.

 

 If the homeowner would review his purchase agreement, it states that there was no one-year home warranty purchased with his home.  This information is on page four, provision ten of the contract.  The homeowner states that Compass Point’s warranty says that between the 11th and 12th month that a superintendent would be in touch with the homeowner to get a list from the homeowner of items that need correction.  This has never been the practice of Compass Point Construction and is not how issues are handled currently.  It is also not in the warranty that is provided to any homeowners that have a warranty with Compass Point.  All issues and concerns are supposed to be submitted as soon as it arises and should be submitted in writing.  Although the homeowner did not have a one-year warranty, we did have contact with the homeowner with all of these concerns and did do our best to assist with their concerns.  We did provide fixes with the issues that we felt were our responsibility.   Although the homeowner’s perception is that excuses were made, there were actually valid explanations and reasons as to why Compass Point is not responsible for his concerns. 

 

The builder did meet with the homeowner and discussed these issues in person.  First of all, the homeowner had his own landscaping done on his home.   Sprinklers were installed next to the foundation and window wells of the house.  Grass was butted up to the foundation and the window wells as well.  The sprinklers are heavy grass sprinklers that not only soak the grass when on, but also drain when off which will cause erosion of the dirt below the grass.  It is impossible to not have window wells installed before the home is backfilled.  The window wells are attached to the home. From the sidewalk to the house, the yard slopes towards the house, when it should actually slope from the house to the sidewalk.   When there isn’t proper landscaping grading or drainage on the property, it can cause damage in many areas including places where concrete has been poured do to oversaturation and erosion of dirt. 

 

Final grading of the property is required at the time of final inspection to receive the certificate of occupancy of the home.  If the home is being completed during the winter, then that is when the final grade is required to be done.   It is the responsibility of the homeowner to upkeep the grade of the property once the property has been purchased.  Dirt erodes, that is a guarantee.  If there is anyone to blame for that, it is Mother Nature. 

 

The hose bibs are actually freezeless hose bibs.  The only way it can freeze is if there is a hose that is attached to the bib in freezing temperatures. 

 

Slight hairline cracks in concrete are normal.  Flaking occurs in concrete when the product is not maintained.  It is highly recommended that the concrete be sealed with a concrete sealer one to two times a year to ensure that it is protected from the winter elements.  Concrete is a porous product that will absorb water and salt.  It is extremely important that snow be shoveled immediately.  If it is driven on, salt and water can be forced into the concrete and that can cause flaking. 

 

I have attached both a concrete care and maintenance form that we provide from our supplier and also a stucco industry standard guideline for stucco.  Cracks will occur in stucco, it is the nature of the product being used.  Industry practice is to repair any cracks that exceed 1/16th of an inch (wideth of a quarter). None of the cracks exceeded this wideth.

 

We are proud of the work we do and feel like we offer a quality product for a reasonable price.  We use high quality products and stand behind the suppliers and subcontractors that supply their specialty.  It is unfortunate that the homeowner has opinion of us providing “half ***** fixes” and “being full of excuses”, but there was communication between us.  We stand behind our reasoning and believe we are not in the wrong with this complaint.

Tell us why here...

Consumer Response:

 
Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

 

I have documents showing the extra room and us accepting with a down payment.

 

I have documents mentioning all the claims included in the warranty.

 

the concrete was sealed and maintained during the period in question.

 

The builder states the property slopes from the sidewalk towards the house. One can clearly see this is not the case and in what circumstance would a builder place a home in this location lower than the sidewalk.

 

the sprinklers are not the cause of window wells detaching from the house as this occurred before they were installed and the water for a total of 12 minutes per week ( 4 minutes on 3 different days)

 

I agree that the hose bibs are freezeless. No hose has been attached during freezing conditions, and the builders contractor stated that these hose bibs are not meant to be used in winter. While I agree you can't have a hose attached to them, you should be able to turn them on and have them drain without freezing. In actuality the reason the wouldn't fix them is because I finished the location where these are in the basement and it will be difficult to get to them.

 

anyone wanting to should check the ******** ***** Facebook page and see all of the complaints coming from Compass Points work. Does the basement window that fell out of someone's home the other day ring a bell?


Sincerely,

*********** ***

Business Response:

The homeowner has been in the home over two years from his purchase date.  We have received written communication twice from the homeowners.  Once was 4/14/14 and the next time was 4/6/15.  We responded in both cases.  The response may not have been to the liking of the homeowner, however we stand by it.   

6/4/2015 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: There is a spot on our ceiling where the drywall is coming apart. I don't know if there is a leak in the roof that is causing this or what the problem is. On March 19, 2015 I emailed the builder at the "warranty" email address to notify him of the problem. He responded by telling me that someone would be out to fix it. On April 11, 2015 I emailed him again to ask when I could expect someone out here to fix it. I have yet to get a response and no one has contacted me about coming to repair the ceiling. Additionally, we included the lawn installation as part of the purchase of the home. The lawn is horrible. They did not put down anywhere near enough top soil, and as a result the lawn is completely lumpy and uneven. The rocks are coming up through the sod. When I contacted the builder regarding this issue his response was that it wasn't his problem and that I needed to take it up with the landscaper. The landscaper's claim is that he did exactly what the builder instructed him to do, and in fact warned the builder that the work he was being asked to do would result in a poor product.

Desired Settlement: I want the ceiling fixed, and either the lawn fixed or the $10,000 back that I paid to have it put in.

Business Response: We apologize in regards to the issue of the drywall.  We had contacted the drywall subcontractor to have the matter of the drywall handled and unfortunately, it fell through the cracks.  Since receiving the email with this concern, the contractor has been to the home and corrected the problem.

In regards to the landscaping, this is not an issue of Compass Point Construction.  Compass Point Construction did not set up or speak with the landscaper at anytime in the process.  The homeowner wanted to have the landscaping included in the price of his home so it could be put into the final loan of his home.  This is a deal that was set up with the real estate agent and the broker that sold him the home and was put into the contract of the home.  There was never any contact between the landscaper and Compass Point Construction at any time.  All the communication was handled between the landscaper and the real estate agent.  The invoice for the landscaper was paid by the title company who closed the homeowner's loan, it was never paid by Compass Point Construction.
With Regard,
**** ******
Compass Point Construction

4/23/2015 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have been trying to have warranty issues resolved for months, Compass Point has came out and resolved the minor issues but when it comes to fixing something that might cost them time or money this is what I've heard. * you were trying to contact us at the wrong e-mail address. * our hours are 7 to 3 Monday- Thursday. * I don't know what the contractors have done! we can't fix it. * we will get back to you * I don't have time for this **. I just want my tub in the master bathroom repaired. There is insufficient support under tub so it pulls away from the wall when any weight is in the tub, with or without water. I cannot caulk it every time my grand kids want to take a bath.

Desired Settlement: Repair support for tub so the caulking doesn't separate every time we want to use the tub.

Business Response: We had been in contact with the homeowner in regards to his issue.  Compass Point Construction has a warranty email set up so there is one place that communication can be had back and forth between the homeowners.  The email is given to every homeowner at the time they close on their home.  It is the way we have set communication up so we can be made aware of any issues after the homeowners move into their home.  If the homeowner fails to use this email and tries to contact us for issues and fixes through other means, then there is a great possibility that their concerns may not be addressed.  Also, we do only work through normal business hours, unless there is an emergency issue.  People's expectations of how they believe the process of things should be done are sometimes not entirely realistic.  I understand his frustration from the perception he had, he assumed that because it wasn't being taken care of in his time frame that we were not interested at all in taking care of the situation.  He was not being ignored in any case and he was never told that the issue would not get fixed.  His concern has been addressed and has been handled to where he says he is satisfied.  

 

3/17/2015 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We had a home built for us in Grantsville and moved in during December 2013. There were two really big snowstorms that week and when we did our walk through as well as the day the city inspector came there was over a foot of snow on the ground and the sidewalk in front of our home was not cleared. When the snow finally melted and it was warm enough to go outside we noticed that there are two sections of sidewalk badly cracked that needed to be replaced. I did not immediately send an email to **** because there were still things that needed to be fixed that we had mentioned to him months before that we were still waiting for. (FYI...It took 13 months for them to finally get the flooring guy out here to fix our floor.) However I did talk to **** about the cracked sidewalk. We decided to just wait until closer to the end of the year before our warranty expired to let him know everything that needed to be fixed. In the fall when I sent an email about the sidewalk I was told by **** and that it was not their problem because the city inspector had already signed off and issued the certificate of occupancy. How can it be inspected properly when **** failed to have the sidewalks cleared so that they could be inspected? And if it was not broken then, it happened when **** finally got around to having our property leveled two months later. Either way, our sidewalk was broken and not by us and no matter how many emails I have sent, I am getting nowhere with **** and ****. This is ridiculous and extremely poor customer service. We would like it fixed and we would like it fixed now. If we were the ones that had broken it (which **** keeps trying to put the blame on us) then we would own up to it and have it fixed ourselves. However we did not damage the sidewalk and would like the contractor to fix it ASAP. I am tired of all the run around that we have been getting from Compass Point.

Desired Settlement: We would like the broken sections of sidewalk replaced immediately.

Business Response: I apologize for not responding in a more timely manner to this concern of the homeowner.  We received certificate of occupancy on the homeowner's home on 12/18/2013.  The homeowner had been in contact with us with warranty concerns two or three other times, but there was no mention of concrete issues until June 3, 2014.  This was 6 months after the homeowners moved into their home and they had already put in their landscaping by this time.  They sent an email requesting we replace the concrete, that it was our responsibility.  The city is extremely strict with sidewalk issues as they are the actual owners of the sidewalks.  They have inspectors that inspect the sidewalks and require contractors to fix and replace any damaged concrete before they give CofO on any property.  That is what I explained to the homeowner in an email.  I then put a call into the city to the inspector with a request to see if he had a report on the sidewalk in front of that property, but never heard back. I questioned why they took so long to get in touch with us to tell us about it.  The warranty states that as soon as they are aware of an issue that it is their responsibility to contact us right away. In our perception, it seemed highly likely that in the time of them installing their landscaping and while using a skidster or any other small machinery that those pieces could have been broken at that time.  


I called a few more times and sent an email to the city and still did not get a response.  I spoke with **** about the issue.  He got in touch with the flatwork contractor and they decided just to go ahead and take care of  and have the concrete replaced.  The flatwork contractor was going to take care of it when he was available to do it.  I was not aware of the decision out in the field and so I failed to get in touch with the homeowner to let her know what had been decided.    The concrete has since been replaced per the homeowner's request.


8/19/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Repairs agreed upon at closing only partially completed. Warranty repairs not being made. We closed on our home in november 2013 and it is now June 2014 Part of closing agreement was to have our back stucco fixed, a new bathroom sink installed due to a stain and to have a scuff in our master shower repaired. They sent someone out in the snow to fix our stucco and there are patches that arent covered, because they were taking forever to install the new bathroom sink when they were supposed to come fix it they called and said they werent going to make it so i told them to leave it when they were in the area and our shower has been fixed. However during the time we have been here our weather stripping on our back door has been ripped off due to the door swelling we have let them know about this issue, our stucco still has not been fixed completely,a window in our basement has broken due to settling, our garage door has paint rubbing off, and our cement on our driveway is peeling up. We have sent several emails to the warranty email address requesting repairs for these items and they reply back with please send address and lot number for us to make repairs we have even informed them that we are unhappy with the service and would be happy to tell others about it and then we have an acknowledgment email stating he will get in touch with the subcontractors again. I have continually sent requests for repairs and they are always wanting their subcontractors to make repairs when no one is home they setup someone to come fix our basement window and we asked for them to have the subcontractor call us when he was to our house so we could have someone let him in. We received no phone call on the day the repair was to be made we asked for a time the subcontractor would be there and were never informed of a time. With the stucco and the cement we were told we would have to meet and make an agreement for repair on those. No meeting has been setup. We also had issues when home was being built when there were things that were to be moved or done differently and they were never done. All customers of this builder we have spoken to have had the same issues. We feel that we could not recommend this builder to anyone because there has been no follow through with anything.Wires were left exposed under our cooktop with risk of electrocution or fire hazard. We were looking for a home that would be built to our requests and were told it would happen but that was not the case in the end. We feel no pride was taken in the home when it was built.

Desired Settlement: We would like the items requested for repair to be fixed correctly And we would like them adressed as soon as we make them known to the builder. Or the funds to be provided to hire someone else to make the repairs.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/07/16) */ Contact Name and Title: **** ****** owner Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: ************************@gmail.com I would first like to respond to the supposed safety hazard (wires exposed) in the home. The home passed final inspection and received the certificate of occupancy with the City of Grantsville. The city inspector would have never allowed a safety hazard like exposed wires to be allowed in his final inspection report. I realize that during the building process that some requests of the homeowner were never passed on to us as the builder from the real estate agent who was in direct contact with the homeowner. It was a very frustrating situation, we felt the same as the homeowner because we are proud of the homes we build and want to make sure the homeowner is satisfied with the work we do. We have since then changed the process of communication and hope it will be more successful then it was. It is unfortunate that in the homeowner's perception that he has been ignored. When the homeowner closed on his home, he received a building warranty form that explained the process of warranty issues. It states that all claims must be submitted in writing. We are building multiple homes at a time. The warranty email is where we can refer to items that need to be done. The subcontractors who do the work are the ones that have actually warranted the work, so they are the ones that have to do the fixes. The first email we received from the homeowner was on 2/7/14. It was the first we had heard from the homeowner. He explained his frustrations. An email was sent back to him within one hour on the same day. We asked if he could provide his address and lot number and also requested a list of all the items that needed attention. We did not here back from him until 3/3/14 stating he hadn't heard from the stucco contractor. On that same day, within the hour we emailed him back and let him know that we resent the request to the exterior contractor. We did not hear again from the homeowner until 6/2. He again was upset stating nothing was getting handled. Please keep in mind, we still had not received a list of items from him that needed to be fixed. Again, within the hour we sent an email back asking if someone would be around the following day for our superintendent to come by. There was no response by email. On 6/3 the homeowner got a text (I can provide screen shots of the text) from our superintendent stating he could get the garage guy over. He informed the homeowner that if they could leave the garage door unlocked they could take care of it. Also, he let the homeowner know that the broken window pane was ordered. (On a side note, windows do not crack due to settling of the home. Basement windows are protected in reinforced steel and concrete). He was also told that in order for the window to be replaced, all he had to do was to leave the window unlocked. The homeowner responded saying, "Ok sounds good let me know on the garage door and I can have it open." On 6/5/14- The homeowner received a text saying that the supplier replacing the window wanted to schedule to do it on thursday 6/12. He responded saying it sounded good and he would leave the window unlocked. On 6/10- he asked when they were coming to replace the window he was hoping afternoon, but it was responded probably in the morning. On 6/12 at 11:20 it was texted that the window guy was at the house to fix the window. He said for them to call him. The supplier called and said no one would answer. They had an appointment, the homeowner was aware of the appointment. He also stated that he would leave the window unlocked. It was unlocked and no one was home. The supplier still has the window pane and is waiting for a call back to come out again. The homeowner also has the supplier's number as he or his wife has also talked to them about their garage doors. On 6/23 the homeowner sent another email threatening legal action. We responded the same day, asking again for a list of items needing to be taken care of as we STILL had not received one in writing. We also stated that if he so inclined legal action that was fine. He responded with a basic list...stucco on rear of house master bath, basement window, garage door adjust and repaint, driveway. We responded back for more details. Asking for specifics with master bath, the driveway, and garage door. He responded back with a few more details on each. In regards to the driveway- he stated the drive way is coming apart top layer (this is called flaking). On 6/24 we sent pictures over to the homeowner of his driveway during the winter that had not been shoveled and had been driven on. New concrete is porous and very tender the first few years. Driving on snow covered driveways and not shoveling and taking care of the concrete can cause the moisture and salt to absorb in the concrete which causes flaking and is not covered under the warranty. He didn't like the response and stated he will "have to take the path I didn't want to take" I want to make note that we and our subcontractors have been in contact with the homeowner. Each of the subs have all said they have talked directly with the homeowner and the wife. We would like to take care of the issues that are covered under the warranty and we have made an effort. We would like the homeowner happy, but this a two sided street. I can understand the frustration of it taking so long, but there were requests we had for the homeowner that would have helped us take care of things in a more timely manner if he would have responded to us as well. The subcontractors would like to still try to get the matters handled, but we need a little help from the side of the homeowner as well. We have not completely ignored requests. We have made an effort on our side as well. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2014/07/24) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) We are aware of the warranty process and have all emails that were sent with lists of items needing to be repaired. When we sent the first request one of the items in the email was to fix our master bathroom sink and the contractor couldn't make it to our home to do that so a sink was left on our porch. One of the items was taken care of so the list we sent was received and read. I asked the superintendent if he could let us know a time the window subcontractor would be to our house and he replied with "let me check" and we were never informed of the time. A few days after I received a text from the super stating the window subcontractor was at our house and asked him to have him call me so I could let him in. I did not receive any phone calls, or voicemails about this item. Our garage door item has been taken care of at this point in time. I have talked to stucco subcontractor myself about the hole in our house behind the stucco and he states that the contractor needs to fill in 10 in hole under our stucco with wood or stucco will crack. On July 16th a representative who does sales for them in heber stopped by our home with a man who does stucco on the homes. He asked about what repairs needed to be made to the home and my wife showed him the stucco on the back of the home, and he stated well if the stucco hasn't cracked now would you be worried about it several years down the road if it was still fine and my wife told him we wanted something more solid behind the hole. She also was able to show him the window in our basement and tell him that they had ordered a window and the subcontractor still had it and hasn't been out to install the new one at this point. He asked if there was anything else that we had and my wife tried to tell him about our concrete on the driveway and that is when he asked for a name and phone number of someone he could contact about the issues after he spoke with builder and wrapped up the conversation before she could show him he stated that there was others who were complaining about having "flaking" with their concrete and that it isn't under warranty for them to fix that. I have spoke with 6 different concrete contractors and all of them have said that it is improperly poured concrete and that there was too much water in the mixture when it was poured. A contractor I spoke with said that the concrete company who poured the concrete should have information on the batch that was poured and i would like to see the information. I have spoke with another neighbor who said he also has uncovered wires in his attic. The inspector may have missed these items when the final inspection was done. My wife is home more during the week now so we would appreciate an arrangement with the rest of the subcontractors for the remainder of the repairs so we can have them done. Final Business Response /* (4000, 11, 2014/08/12) */ Contact Name and Title: **** ****** Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX We have been in direct contact with the homeowner. The window had been replaced as of August 1st and the electrician had an appointment set up for August 7th. The wires were to an attic light that needed to be and was installed. We are still working on the driveway issue. The subcontractor went back and patched the area that he found, but today I received an email from the homeowner that he was not happy with the patch. I have contacted the contractor and he has stated that he will be getting in contact with the homeowner. Final Consumer Response /* (4200, 13, 2014/08/18) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) The basement window and the light in the attic have been taken care of at this time. We have spoke with concrete professionals about the driveway and they have said since the concrete has already started peeling up that a patch won't hold. The professionals we have spoken to have stated that the concrete was improperly poured and should be removed and replaced. There are others experiencing this same problem with their driveway.

10/11/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Worst customer service ever. I would have never choose to have a house built if I knew that I would be treated the way my husband and me where. We would call about promises that were made and they wouldn't call us back, if we received a phone call back **** the builder was rude and wouldn't help us told us it was his word against us. It like once we signed all the papers they didn't care if we where happy with the home or not. We have had issues with the home and they had someone finally come out for them to tell us it just a bad product and they will get back to us with a replacement which hasn't happened. We have talked to others that have built there homes and they weren't happy with the builder either. We are first time home buyers and I wouldn't never choose to go with this company again worst services ever made out whole experience terrible. I just want to sell the home and move somewhere else. I just know that if the things that we have wrong nowwwon't get fixed then I know the major things won't either.

Desired Settlement: I would just like them to fix and do the things that they promised.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/09/25) */ Contact Name and Title: **** ******- owner Contact Phone: XXXXXXXXXX Contact Email: ************************@gmail.com It is unfortunate the homeowner feels this way. The majority of any contact that was had with the homeowner was not direct but through their sales agent. We want our homeowners to be happy with their home. If there are EVER any valid warranty issues, we want to make sure those items are addressed. The homeowner is aware that there is a warranty email that we have set up that they can email if they have any concerns or issues on their home. We have received only 2 emails since February of this year from the homeowners at all. The first (02/03/13) was an email through their sales agent, there were 4 items that were on their list. We forwarded the information on to the subcontractors that supplied the work. We assumed that those items were handled to the homeowner's satisfaction as we did not hear back otherwise. The second email, (07/10/13) was directly from the homeowner. There were two additional items that were not on the original list, that the homeowner was having problems with. We forwarded the information on to the subcontractors who in turn got into direct contact with the homeowner for the fix. We have received no further communication from the homeowner in regards to any warranty concerns since that time, so we are not aware of any additional warranty issues that they are having. We did receive a phone call from the homeowner just recently on Monday, 09/23/13. There was no conversation at all in regards to any warranty problems or concerns that she was having. She was upset because she had tried to submit a rebate and it was denied because Compass Point Construction had already submitted the rebate. She was upset because she had not received a credit on the purchase of her house. It is common practice for builders to submit and receive rebates on the homes that they are building as they are the ones purchasing the products for the home and are the actual homeowners until the home is purchased at the end of the building process. If there are any valid warranty issues and concerns that the homeowners are still having, we would love to address those concerns. If we don't receive communication that there are still problems, how are we to know that we need to fix anything. The homeowners have contacted us through the email before, so they are aware of the process that has been set up. Again, we are happy to assist them with their concerns.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Compass Point Construction LLC
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)