Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Comfort Solutions

Additional Locations

Phone: (801) 393-2206 Fax: (801) 393-2246 View Additional Phone Numbers 1470 Wall Ave, Ogden, UT 84404 http://www.comfortsolutionsutah.com



BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Comfort Solutions meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Comfort Solutions include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 5 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

5 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 3
Total Closed Complaints 5

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

5 Customer Reviews on Comfort Solutions
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 4
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 5

Additional Information

BBB file opened: February 03, 1997 Business started: 07/01/2000 Business started locally: 07/01/2000 Business incorporated 07/03/2000 in UT
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

DOPL - Professional Licensing
160 E 300 S 4th Fl, Salt Lake City UT 84111
http://www.dopl.utah.gov
Phone Number: (801) 530-6628

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Chad Stephens, President/Partner
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Mr. Shane Carter, Vice President
Principal: Mr. Chad Stephens, President/Partner
Business Category

Heating & Air Conditioning Fireplaces Air Conditioning Repair Air Conditioning Contractors & Systems Heating Contractors Plumbing - Renovation & Repair

Products & Services

Comfort Solutions sells the following brand(s): Amana, Carrier, Lennox, Napoleon, Trane

Alternate Business Names
Chad Stephens, Inc. Comfort Solutions Heating, Air Conditioning And Fireplaces Hartman Heating And Air, Inc. Robert Love Heating & Air Conditioning, Inc.
Business Management

Chad Stephens is also a registered principal of Terran-Omni Group, Inc. The BBB maintains a separate report on Terran-Omni Group, Inc.


Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Comfort Solutions has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

8/10/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Solar install by ******* July 2105. Installation completed by ******* and was approved by Utah Power. Comfort Solutions bought out Hartman. Solar inverter "died" June 27, 2016. 1st phone call was told Rachel handles all solar issues since by-out & would call me back after she got back from lunch. I called her back 2 hours later and was told that she would contact who they contract the remaining solar out to and call me back. No call back. Called again the next day, still no answers, was told Rachel would call when she had more information. Next day still no call. July 1, 2016, Ashely called solar company. Dusty from *********** ***** called and finally set up an appointment to come evaluate inverter Tuesday July 5th. He confirmed installation was dine correctly and that there is something wring with the inverter. Inverter still under warranty but installing company must make claim. He said he took down the numbers needed and would get back with me about the change out. Never heard from Dusty ever again. 7-29 called and spoke with comfort solutions for an update; was told Rachel would call when she had anything. 8-1 called comfort solutions again and demanded an update or calls would be made to utah better business bureau, get gephardt, and a lawyer. Rachel took my call and claimed that they were no longr responsible as *********** ***** was who is contracted to do their solar. Dusty's phone # provided at that time. Called Dusty and left message for call back with updates. No updates or contact has been made by either comfort solutions or ***********

Desired Settlement: Install new inverter per warranty at no cost.

Business Response: Mrs ****** - Thank you for your feedback.  Your system was purchased under ******* ******* and the BBB review should be posted there.  It looks like on our end ******* has been working behind the scenes to get your system covered under warranty.  Our records show Rachel has in fact been in touch with you on several occasions to help get this resolved.  We have indeed had Dusty to your home to help trouble shoot and correct this service issue.   Your converter will be covered under warranty for both service and labor as agreed prior to your review.  I understand you are frustrated with the time frame for the repair.  The lead time from the factory to replace the part has been longer that we anticipated.  You should be getting a call this week from Dusty to install the new part.  I did leave you a message but also feel fee to call me at ###-###-#### (******* *******) with any further concerns....ask for Shane C.  Thanks again for your business and you patience.

Consumer Response:


Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

I know that I purchased the solar invertor from *******, but the poor customer service has been provided by the buyout company, Comfort Solutions, as ******* no longer exists.  I have only spoken with Rachel once, Aug 1, after I had mentioned contacting BBB, and a lawyer.  Failure of the invertor is Delta's fault, not due to *******'s Install, per Dusty from *********** *****, who still has yet to contact me about anything since his evaluation July 5th (thus also supporting that ******* is not at fault nor due the BBB complaint).  I will not see this issue as resolved until the new invertor is installed and the solar panel array operational again.  So far, I have yet to hear back from my call back to you today as well.  Not a happy customer.

Sincerely,

****** ******

12/13/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased 2 gas fireplace inserts for my home in December 2014. I was specifically told that BOTH these inserts would qualify for a $200 Thermwise rebate, a total of $400. I confirmed this specifically with the salesman, John L*******, by email on December 2, 2014. However, when I attempted to collect these rebates from the gas company, only one was allowed. That is, Questar allowed the collection of one rebate for a total of $200. The other unit (I'm not sure which one) was disallowed, apparently because the unit sold was too inefficient. Calls and written requests to Comfort Solutions have gone unanswered.

Desired Settlement: $200 for the missing refund, + $100 for my time and trouble to purse it = total $300

Business Response:

Mr ****** - We are certainly interested in resolving any complaints with our valued customers.  After careful review and further investigation it appears the customer had originally selected 2 units that did in fact qualify for the rebate.  At some point after the order was modified and the change to a different fireplace did not qualify for both rebates.   Our sales person should have made this very clear to the customer however it sound like this may not have happened.  It is up to the consumer to verify third party rebates (Questar Gas) and it appears this was not done.  Our business is built on trust and customer satisfaction.  Our ultimate goal is that the consumer is satisfied.  We will issue a check in the amount of 200.00 dollars for the misunderstanding by both parties for final resolutions.  Let me know how we shall proceed.

Shane C***** - Fireplace manager

Consumer Response:
Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.  The check can be sent to my address, **** ** ******* ***** ********* ** *****.


The only misunderstanding was by the salesman, John L*******.  He assured me via email that BOTH units did in fact qualify for the rebate.  No one "changed" the order.  The customer (that's me) was quite surprised when he discovered that only one unit qualified for the rebate.

Sincerely,

**** *******

8/1/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Bad service, technician couldn't identify the true issue of why the ac wasn't working. Technician recommended fixing something that is not relevant. I bought a Groupon deal for a tune up for $49. After reading all the good reviews, I expect the technician to be knowledgable and I trust their expertise. However, that was not the case. I called to schedule an appt on 06/24/14. ****** said she will have her technician come up from 3pm till 5pm on 6/25/14. On 6/25, I waited until 4, haven't received a call from anyone from Hartman to confirm that a technician will come out. I called and ask when the technician will come up. The rep. Said , she will check and call me back. I received a call back advising the tech is running late and couldn't make it and suggested to reschedule. Personally, I thought it was bad service that no one calls to notify me, but I give them a second chance. I reschedule the appt on 06/26. ******* **** came to my house to do a tune up. He said, everything is running just fine with my ac and that he couldn't find any issue. He suggested to get a new air filter. Later, he said the capacitor is leaking oil and advise to change it. I thought that was the issue of my ac not working so I allow him to fix it. After him fixing it, I see the thermostat saying the coil was freezing up, he checked again and didn't see any issue. He said if there is an issue with it again, he will come out again and waive the service fee. He charge $212 for the air capacitor. On 07/03, my ac is still not working, the house is hot like an oven in the 90 degrees. I called the technician out again. ******* comes out again, he still cannot identify the issue with my ac. He saw us changing the new air filter and he assisted us in putting the new air filter. The lid to the air filter for some reasons is broken and we can't close it, I asked him why. He said, he is not certain, it must be when he pulled it out the last time and causes it to be broken. He attempted to fix it but he can't so now he have to put tape to hold it. After checking everything, he said there is no problem with the ac and attempted to charge me $76 service fee. I told him, you guys told me there will not be a fee. He said he will waive it this time but in the future it will not be waive. That did not make any sense to me, but since he said there is no issue, I trusted him because that is all I want is for the ac to work. The problem is, as of today, it is still not working. I doubt the expertise of the technician, so I go get a second opinion, the reason why my ac was not working was not due to the capacitor. It was because the valve was broken which causes the air to not go through and that is why my ac is not blowing cold air. I am very disappointed and is very satisfied with the company.

Desired Settlement: Due to the reasons above, I would like my full refund of the $212 that was charged on 06/26 for the air capacitor because that was not the core of the issue. I also want my $49 tune up money back because he didn't diagnose the right issue. For such a reputable company, I can't believe of the poor service I received and the all the attempts they tried to charged me more money for the service fee. Even though, it was the same technician that promised he won't charged me. The purpose of calling a professional technician out was to identify the core of the issue and fix it. I gave the company 2nd and 3rd tries to identify the issue and still cannot fix the issue. I have to then go get a second opinion. Because the technician, ******* ***** misdiagnosed the core of the issue, I have to spend a lot of money fixing my ac, not counting the lid he claimed he might have broke by pulling it out the first time he came to check on the ac. I want a full refund due to the bad service and the faulty expertise I received, which caused me two weeks of sitting in the house that is as hot as an oven. In addition, the time and money I have to spent to get a second opinion. All these could have been prevented if the technician was able to diagnose the right issue.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/07/23) */ Contact Name and Title: ***** ******* Quality Manager Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: *****@hartmanheating.com ****, There is a reason we have such a good reputation and that is because we do take care of our customers. In this particular instance it does appear our own policies were not followed. Normally a second tech would've been sent out if the first tech was unable to diagnose the system. This is a rare occurrence but our policy for an instance such as this. While there is no excuse for failing to provide excellent service in our eyes, I hope you do understand this occurred during the busiest time of the year when all of the members of our team were working 10 or 12 hours a day; trying to take care of as many people as we were physically capable. We have no problem refunding your money and would've done so had you simply called in and talked with us. We hope in the future you will consider using our services and give us the opportunity to impress you. If you do not we hope you realize we are always fair with our customers and have refunded the money. We wish you the best! We have mailed you the check.

2/11/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Price repeatedly up-charged; Installed item not same as on bid; Cashed payment before agreed causing bank fees; Agreed to resolve then did not. 1) Received certificate for free furnace (up to $1,000) with installation cost of $800-1,200. 2) We were told our furnace would cost more than $1,000 and were up-charged for the difference. 3) We were told that law required flue kit installation for an additional $150 up-charge. 4) Manager, ***** ******** told us the final price would be $1550. 9-19-13 ***** ***** inspected the job site and gave a written bid of $1,700 for a 100,000 btu furnace with flue kit. ***** talked to Jared the next day and re-confirmed final price should be $1550. 5) 9-24-13 Furnace was installed by ***** and ****** 5a) The final invoice was still written for $1700. Installers called **** to confirm $1550 price to be billed. 5b) The required flue kit was not installed, they did however deduct the $150 cost of it from the invoice, but from the incorrect $1700 amount instead of from the $1550 amount. 5c) The installed furnace was only a 90,000 btu instead of the 100,000 bid for and was pre-existing in the home. 5d) During previous conversation with ****** we had emphasized that we would not have the funds to pay in full until Oct. 5th. He said that was fine and to post-date the check and they would hold it until then. We re-stated and confirmed all this with the installers, including making note of it on the final invoice. 5e) The invoice was dated for the year 2012 one year previous to actual installation! I noticed the date and asked for the warranty and they dug it out of the trash- crumpled and torn! (Does this void the warranty on the date of install?!) 6) 9-26-13 only two days after install, they cashed the check, causing us $64 in overdraft fees and other bill pays to be cancelled before we noticed the issue and hurried to deposit more money on 10-1-13 to avoid additional problems. 7) 10-11-13 we emailed ***** a list of the above concerned seeking understanding and remedy. 8) We received an email from ***** on 10-12-13. He agreed to change the price back down and to send a new invoice with the correct date. And said he would look into why the check was cashed early. 9) 10-17-13 ***** sent an email saying he had the check for us and the new invoice and asked for our address to mail them. 10) 10-18-13 We emailed ***** with our address and still asking for clarification on incorrect size of furnace and an update on refunding bank charges for cashing check early. 11) 10-18-13 We received an email from ***** which did not make sense in explaining why the size was different and that the bank system should not have cashed the checks early as it did and that he would ask the bank to reimburse us something. Again he said that he would send a check to us. We have not heard from him since then and have received nothing in the mail either.

Desired Settlement: We were told that our furnace would cost more than the $1,000 certificate allowed. We have since then looked up the installed item and found it locally for $789.65 (plus tax) or online for $903 with free delivery. The install time seemed to be quick and painless. We feel the minimum on the certificate of $800 labor is more than fair. Our requested remedy is for $814 to be refunded to us-- which is $1550 (the amount we have paid) minus $800 labor (we should have been charged according to the certificate), plus $64 to reimburse overdraft fees. In summary: 1) We are asking for $814 to be refunded. 2) We are unsure the value of receiving a furnace rated 10,000 btu's less than what was bid or pre-existing in the home. (We don't know what to think on this subject. We are open to suggestions.)

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/01/30) */ Contact Name and Title: ****** **** Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: *********@hartmanheating.com We have contacted ***** and have addressed his concerns. We have refunded a check in the amount of **** on 1/30/14 that is $100 more than he was asking for. The manufacturer stopped making the 100,000 BTU furnace for manufactured or mobile homes because the furnace was too big for those homes and had a problem with the heat exchanger cracking. After hiring engineers and reviewing the problem they changed the entire line and it has resulted in much longer life of the furnace and much better operation and comfort. A furnace that is oversized turns on and off to frequently which results in more wear and tear on the furnace, think stop and go traffic versus freeway driving. It also caused the heat exchangers as mentioned to fail prematurely as well. The result was a change from 100,000 BTU furnaces to 90,000 BTU's. From 80,000 to 70,000 on smaller homes. This came about not as a result of anything we did but because the manufacturer wanted to lessen their warranty claims and provide a better product. Mobile home furnaces are the one place we are not required to do a full manual J calculation because those are done when the home is built. The reason the tech wrote 100,000 is because they are taught there are only two sizes you can ever install so write down what is there. We apologize for the misunderstanding but this is actually far more suitable for the home. We have also extended the labor warranty for this customer for an additional year. All issues have been worked out with *****. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (2000, 7, 2014/02/11) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)

11/11/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues

Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

5 Customer Reviews on Comfort Solutions
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart