This business is not BBB accredited.

Barlow Service Experts

Additional Locations

Phone: (801) 621-2725 View Additional Phone Numbers 2869 Commerce Way Unit 1, Ogden, UT 84401 http://www.barlowcomfort.com View Additional Web Addresses


Click for BBB Rating on Barlow Service Experts

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

Experts in residential and light commercial Plumbing, Heating, &Air Conditioning maintenance, repair, and installations.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


BBB Complaint Information

Find aggregate BBB complaint information for Barlow Service Experts. BBB serving Dallas and Northeast Texas has the full report as that BBB handles all complaints for Barlow Service Experts.


Additional Information

BBB file opened: April 14, 1992 Business started: 01/01/1954 Business started locally: 01/01/1954 Business incorporated 01/29/2001 in UT
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

DOPL - Professional Licensing
160 E 300 S 4th Fl, Salt Lake City UT 84111
http://www.dopl.utah.gov
Phone Number: (801) 530-6628

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mr. Dave Allen, General Manager Mr. Scott Boxer, Pres of Service Experts
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Dave Allen, General Manager
Business Category

Heating & Air Conditioning Air Conditioning Contractors & Systems Heating Contractors

Refund and Exchange Policy
1 Year Labor Guarantee.
Service Area
Salt Lake and Davis Counties
Alternate Business Names
Mountainwest Service Experts Service Experts Heating & Air Conditioning
Products & Services

Plumbing, Water Heaters, Heaters, Furnaces, Air Conditioning, Ductwork.


Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    2869 Commerce Way Unit 1

    Ogden, UT 84401 (801) 621-2725 (801) 436-8985

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    6867 S 700 W

    Midvale, UT 84047 (801) 255-4000 (385) 399-0280 (801) 871-8425

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    71 Cutler Dr Ste 1

    North Salt Lake, UT 84054 (801) 936-2020

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    PO Box 1875

    Provo, UT 84603 (801) 374-1810 (801) 396-0367

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

3/20/2015 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I used angies list and did some other research looking to buy a new a/c unit and furnce. This was a big expense for me so I did my due diligence in finding a recommended company. I met with **** who was the sales rep, he stated that their prices might be a little higher but you pay for what you get. That the service and everything that comes with it is top notch. We ended up making the purchase. The furnace and the a/c unit was installed and I spent a pretty penny for this. After a few months the air or the heat would not sustain the correct temperature. I would have the heat set at 72 and sometimes it would work and sometimes the unit would never turn on. We would have to constantly mess with it to get it to turn on and wake up in the night to make sure the heat was running. I have a new born baby and cant let the house drop to low temperatures. So we made a phone call for someone to come take a look at the furnace. This was roughly 6 months after we had it installed. The technician was completely unhelpful and condescending. Stated that I needed a new filter, he was there for 2 minutes and tried to charge me $65. He didnt even look at the furnace. So after months of the same problem and no resolution we called again to have someone come look at it. The technician name was ****, he called before he came for his appt and basically didnt want to come and said he didnt think he had anything he could do. After talking him into just stopping by to check it out, he walked in and looked at the furnance and could tell right away it was installed incorrectly. That the reason it was staying on was the installation rep did something incorrect. ***** went and got tools and came back to fix the problem we called about numerous times. Then he tells us that this isn't covered and it will be $85 to fix and if we want to buy a warranty for $210 we could do that. This is something he offerend after he told us this was their companies mistake and things were not set up right. What kind of company admits error and then changes the consumer. I would never do business with this company again. I truly dont know how they have any positive reviews.

Desired Settlement: I want an $85 for a mistake they made. Not sure why they would tell me it was installed incorrectly and then tell me to pay for the part to be fixed.

Business Response:

Hello, this is ***** with Mountainwest Service Experts.  First, I would like to apologize for the delay in responding to you.  Through an internal error, all of the correspondence from the BBB was being directed to an obsolete email address.  Thank you for sharing your feedback Mr *******.  We strive hard every day to provide all of our customers with the highest level of service.  As a result, we do receive a lot of positive feedback.  However, we definitely need to hear the negative comments as well so that we may learn from our mistakes in order to correct them going forward.  I sincerely apologize that you did not receive the 5 Star Eperience that Mountainwest Service Experts is known for.  After reviewing the complaint, I did look into the issue.  I certainly understand why you feel this way and to be frank, I agree with the way you feel.  It has always been Mountainwest's policy to stand behind our work.  If a mistake or oversight occurs as a result of the services that we are performing, then we will do everything in our power to make it right.  Specifically, ***** recognized that there was an error made during the installation process.  He should have corrected the error and not charged you for the repair.  We are in the process of issuing you a full refund for the work that was done on 01/30/15.  I have discussed this issue with those involved and they have assured me that they have learned from it and that it will not happen in the future.  Again, I sincerely apologize that you did not receive the 5 Star Service that you deserve.  It's my hope that after reading this, you feel a little better about your experience.  Also, that you may give us a chance to prove to you that we truly care about each and every person that chooses us for their home comfort.  Sincerely, ***** ********* Mountainwest Service Experts. 

Consumer Response:  
Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Sincerely,

****** *******


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Barlow Service Experts
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)