Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Barlow Service Experts

Additional Locations

Phone: (801) 621-2725 Fax: (801) 621-2749 View Additional Phone Numbers 2869 Commerce Way Unit 1, Ogden, UT 84401 View Additional Email Addresses http://www.barlowcomfort.com View Additional Web Addresses


Click for BBB Rating on Barlow Service Experts

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

Experts in residential and light commercial Plumbing, Heating, &Air Conditioning maintenance, repair, and installations.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Barlow Service Experts meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


BBB Complaint Information

Find aggregate BBB complaint information for Barlow Service Experts. BBB serving Dallas and Northeast Texas has the full report as that BBB handles all complaints for Barlow Service Experts.


Additional Information

BBB file opened: April 14, 1992 Business started: 01/01/1954 Business started locally: 01/01/1954 Business incorporated 01/29/2001 in UT
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

DOPL - Professional Licensing
160 E 300 S 4th Fl, Salt Lake City UT 84111
www.dopl.utah.gov
Phone Number: (801) 530-6628

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mr. Dave Allen, General Manager Mr. Scott Boxer, Pres of Service Experts
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Dave Allen, General Manager
Business Category

Heating & Air Conditioning Air Conditioning Contractors & Systems Heating Contractors

Refund and Exchange Policy
1 Year Labor Guarantee.
Service Area
Salt Lake and Davis Counties
Alternate Business Names
Mountainwest Service Experts Service Experts Heating & Air Conditioning aka Barlow Service Experts
Products & Services

Plumbing, Water Heaters, Heaters, Furnaces, Air Conditioning, Ductwork.


Additional Locations

  • 2869 Commerce Way Unit 1

    Ogden, UT 84401 (801) 621-2725 (801) 723-1887 (801) 621-1369 (801) 544-7959

  • 6867 S 700 W

    Midvale, UT 84047

  • 71 N Cutler Dr #1

    North Salt Lake, UT 84054

  • PO Box 1875

    Provo, UT 84603

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

3/20/2015 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I used angies list and did some other research looking to buy a new a/c unit and furnce. This was a big expense for me so I did my due diligence in finding a recommended company. I met with **** who was the sales rep, he stated that their prices might be a little higher but you pay for what you get. That the service and everything that comes with it is top notch. We ended up making the purchase. The furnace and the a/c unit was installed and I spent a pretty penny for this. After a few months the air or the heat would not sustain the correct temperature. I would have the heat set at 72 and sometimes it would work and sometimes the unit would never turn on. We would have to constantly mess with it to get it to turn on and wake up in the night to make sure the heat was running. I have a new born baby and cant let the house drop to low temperatures. So we made a phone call for someone to come take a look at the furnace. This was roughly 6 months after we had it installed. The technician was completely unhelpful and condescending. Stated that I needed a new filter, he was there for 2 minutes and tried to charge me $65. He didnt even look at the furnace. So after months of the same problem and no resolution we called again to have someone come look at it. The technician name was ****, he called before he came for his appt and basically didnt want to come and said he didnt think he had anything he could do. After talking him into just stopping by to check it out, he walked in and looked at the furnance and could tell right away it was installed incorrectly. That the reason it was staying on was the installation rep did something incorrect. ***** went and got tools and came back to fix the problem we called about numerous times. Then he tells us that this isn't covered and it will be $85 to fix and if we want to buy a warranty for $210 we could do that. This is something he offerend after he told us this was their companies mistake and things were not set up right. What kind of company admits error and then changes the consumer. I would never do business with this company again. I truly dont know how they have any positive reviews.

Desired Settlement: I want an $85 for a mistake they made. Not sure why they would tell me it was installed incorrectly and then tell me to pay for the part to be fixed.

Business Response:

Hello, this is ***** with Mountainwest Service Experts.  First, I would like to apologize for the delay in responding to you.  Through an internal error, all of the correspondence from the BBB was being directed to an obsolete email address.  Thank you for sharing your feedback Mr *******.  We strive hard every day to provide all of our customers with the highest level of service.  As a result, we do receive a lot of positive feedback.  However, we definitely need to hear the negative comments as well so that we may learn from our mistakes in order to correct them going forward.  I sincerely apologize that you did not receive the 5 Star Eperience that Mountainwest Service Experts is known for.  After reviewing the complaint, I did look into the issue.  I certainly understand why you feel this way and to be frank, I agree with the way you feel.  It has always been Mountainwest's policy to stand behind our work.  If a mistake or oversight occurs as a result of the services that we are performing, then we will do everything in our power to make it right.  Specifically, ***** recognized that there was an error made during the installation process.  He should have corrected the error and not charged you for the repair.  We are in the process of issuing you a full refund for the work that was done on 01/30/15.  I have discussed this issue with those involved and they have assured me that they have learned from it and that it will not happen in the future.  Again, I sincerely apologize that you did not receive the 5 Star Service that you deserve.  It's my hope that after reading this, you feel a little better about your experience.  Also, that you may give us a chance to prove to you that we truly care about each and every person that chooses us for their home comfort.  Sincerely, ***** ********* Mountainwest Service Experts. 

Consumer Response:  
Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Sincerely,

****** *******

8/27/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Back in February of this year 2013 We called Mountainwest when are furnace stopped working. The Tech they sent out ***** told us that he had found a crack in the furnace and said we needed a new one. Well we did not have the money for a new one and didn't have the good credit to qualify for payments. So we went two week in the winter without heat. We finally applied with Weatherization of Utah that helps low income people when they are having problems. Thank God for them, they sent out two qualified men to replace our furnace but what they found was that the heating element was broke and replaced that. I know now that ***** was trying to sell us a new furnace. He said he could fix the old furnace but that it would cost about as much as a new one. We were pretty pissed when we found out and my wife called and let them have a mouth full. We was going to let that go at that but I came across the invoice the other day and realized not only did they made us go without heat for two weeks but they were doing this to others and they also charged us sixty dollars to come out and lie to us. I tried to contact them but they are still lying about the whole thing and will not refund my money.

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Refund I want a refund and also want others to know what thier business practices are, this caused alot of stress and we had to purchase other heat sources to make it thru the winter. I don't think anyone should have to put up with this kind of lies that they have been getting away with.

Business Response: Business' Initial Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/07/02) */ Response letter to BBB complaint #XXXXXXXX, June 24, 2013 Hi, this is ****, with Mountainwest Home Services. First, I would like to thank Mr. ******** for sharing their feedback. While we hope that all feedback is positive we certainly need to hear the negative comments as well so that we can learn about our mistakes and correct them going forward. I certainly apologize that you didn't receive the 5 Star experience you should have. After reviewing the compliant I looked into it. I can certainly understand why you feel this way and would like to speak to your experience directly so that we can hopefully ease your concerns and reassure your belief in Mountainwest Home Services. A) On 2/19/2013 we went to your home because your furnace was not working properly. On the Workorder the Technician, *****, wrote that he found that the Ignition system was faulty and needed to be replaced. Because we care about our customers and don't want to be called back out ***** continued to inspect the furnace for any additional components that might also be causing your furnace not to work. During this inspection he noticed that the Heat Exchanger appeared to be cracking. For your safety our company policy is to notify the customer of this so they can make an educated decision on how to proceed. Due to the amount of the repairs needed to fix both the Ignition system and the Heat Exchanger your Technician felt it worthwhile to also suggest you may want to replace the furnace. Given that your furnace is about 20 years old and the average life expectancy is 13-17 years, I would agree with his suggestion. We would hate to see you spend a bunch of money on a furnace that is likely to break down again which would cost you more money. It is like spending money on a very old car then having to buy a new one anyway therefore wasting that money. However, it is always your choice we just offer our professional opinion. Based on this suggestion you called and asked for ***** to come back to your home on 2/22/2013 to give you some options on possibly replacing the furnace. Unfortunately, we were not able to secure the financing for you. B) You mentioned that you felt we lied to you in order to sell a furnace. I am very sorry you feel this way but please be assured that we would never lie to our customers. We will not and do not do business that way. Through this recession we have continued to grow because we operate honestly and ethically and a growing number of people trust us to keep them safe and comfortable. C) Most of our Technician have been thoroughly trained to professionally inspect Heat Exchanger due to the possible safety concerns. Most recently, this last fall, we went to the training sponsored by the State of Utah for Heat Exchanger Inspections. While I can not speak to whether or not the other two Technicians you had come out are Certified in Heat Exchanger inspections, I can say we take your safety very seriously and continue to spend the time and money to train our Technicians. Lastly, I sincerely apologize that you feel you did not get the 5 Star service you deserve and that you felt we lied to you. We would never intentionally mislead someone to simply sell something. The value of a lifetime customer far exceeds the value of a one time sale. I hope that after reading this you feel a little better about your experience with us and give us a chance to prove to you that we are honest and ethical professionals who truly want to keep you safe and comfortable. Sincerely, **** ********* Mountainwest Home Services Consumer's Final Response /* (-5, 9, 2013/07/10) */ I have not heard from them as of July 10.

10/5/2012 Problems with Product/Service