This business is not BBB accredited.

SportEAR, LLC

Phone: (801) 566-0240 View Additional Phone Numbers 12397 S 300 E Ste 100, Draper, UT 84020 View Additional Email Addresses http://www.sportear.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered the rating for SportEAR, LLC include:

  • Failure to respond to 2 complaint(s) filed against business

Factors that raised the rating for SportEAR, LLC include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

5 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 3 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 4
Total Closed Complaints 5

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on SportEAR, LLC
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: November 30, 2010 Business started: 11/05/2009 Business started locally: 11/05/2009 Business incorporated 11/05/2009 in UT
Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mr. Eric Elggren, Controller Mr. Ray Bovi, VP of Sales Mr. Weston Harris, President Mr. Ken Williams, CEO
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Eric Elggren, Controller
Business Category

Hearing Aids & Assistive Devices

Alternate Business Names
Sport Ear
Products & Services

This company offers hearing aids for hunters, dentists and rock concerts.


Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    12397 S 300 E Ste 100

    Draper, UT 84020 (866) 422-5502 (877) 557-4238 (801) 566-0240

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

6/3/2015 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Contacted them approximately 2 weeks after receiving (6/27/14 -ordered & paid on 04/23/14 but did not receive until mid June/invoice shows ship date of 6/3/14) to say that the product is not working & of no use to me & wished to return for a refund. They suggested I try different model hearing protection which I agreed to. When the 2nd model also did not work I shipped it back to them requesting a refund. In turn they shipped it back to me stating that they could not honor my request as the 30 day guarantee had surpassed. Now I have nearly $500 "invested" in an absolute useless product since SportEar will not honor their guarantee.

Desired Settlement: SportEar to honor their return policy and refund my original purchase amount as originally promised.

2/10/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Hearing aids did not meet my needs. Returned them within 30 day refund policy. Will NOT refund money. Will not respond to complaints. Order placed 8-23-2014. Transaction ID # **********. Inv. # ****. Cust. ID # ***. Ordered 1 set Micro Blast 412 hearing aids @ $1,999.99. Paid via Visa Credit Card. Received order 8-26-2014. Returned on 9-04-2014 via US Mail # *********** insured for $2,000 with note they did not meet my needs and to tune to my needs. Received hearing aids 9-11-2014 via Fed Ex. noting they were "tuned" to perform to my standards. They still did not meet my needs. I again returned them on 9-15-2014 via US Mail #************* INSURED FOR $2,000 with a handwritten note they still did not meet my needs and to issue a refund. I have yet to receive a refund for the returned items. On 10-10-2014 I sent an e-mail to *** ***** (***@********.com) stating I returned the items and per my handwritten instructions I require a full refund issued. A copy of the order confirmation was attached. I received NO RESPONSE. On 11-3-2014 I sent a followup e-mail to *** ***** (***@********.com) again requesting a full refund and to please contact me via return e-mail that this issue is being addressed. I also forwarded a copy of the 10-10-2014 e-mail. On 11-20-2014 I sent an e-mail to ********@box476.bluehost.com with a copy of the 11-3-2014 e-mail to *** ***** informing them I am running out of patience. On 1-5-2015, I called and spoke to a representative requesting to speak to someone in customer service. I was informed that person was not available and would call on 1-6-2015. I received no return phone call. I have made every attempt to receive a refund as per the written policy on their website and I have run out of patience.

Desired Settlement: I am seeking a full refund per the written policy as it appears on their website. I would like to point out I have been paying interest on my credit card for the past 4 months while they refuse to even respond to my numerous documented attempts at resolution. If forced to take legal action I will seek any additional legal fees incurred.

10/16/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I bought 2 pairs of ear plugs, neither pairs worked. Their website promises 30 day moneyback guarantee. I have waited almost 2 months for refund. On October 8th I purchased a set of Ghost Stryke hearing protectors after reading about them from the NRA. The helpful salesman was all to happy to get my payment and admittedly the ear plugs arrived quite quickly. Unfortunately neither ear plug worked. I tried every battery that they came with and nothing. I called customer service and was told to ship them back. I did. I got the second set, this time one of them worked although it was so low that you couldn't make out what was being said by people. For $500 this was not the kind of quality that I expected. I called customer service and asked for a refund. I was told no problem. About a week went by and I get a call from another sales person asking if there was another SportEar product that I would rather have. I told them no, that I had already gone another direction and acquired another product. I was told that it would take 30 days to get the refund. While I understand company policies, if it only takes a second to charge my credit card, it shouldn't take 30 days to refund the charge. So be it. I waited. And waited and waited and waited. I sent 2 emails, no response. I called. Once I was told that accounting would get back to me. Nothing. I called again and was told that my refund did not have final authorization, and that it would take 30 days. When I explained that we were already past 30 days, I was told that someone would call me. Another week goes by and nothing. I call again, this time refusing to be passed off. I was told that this time I had final authorization. I even received an email on the 9th of October stating that I had final refund authorization. Here we are, 5 days later, no refund. I sent an email yesterday and got NO response. Today I finally got a response stating that it can take 7-10 days to get refund. I am getting the run around. The original order was placed on August 8th, refund requested 2 weeks later. Refund supposedly authorized October 9th, 2014.

Desired Settlement: I want my $499 payment refunded in full. I am paying interest on something that I did not get value for. The longer they wait the more I pay. If this persists I will start charging them interest.

Consumer Response: I received the full refund, $499, as of 6:13am this morning.

I appreciate the BBB's prompt response in this case.

6/3/2013 Problems with Product/Service
4/8/2013 Problems with Product/Service