Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Precision Door Services

Additional Locations

Phone: (801) 359-0519 Fax: (866) 646-7078 View Additional Phone Numbers 3644 W 2100 S Bldg 2, Salt Lake City, UT 84120 View Additional Email Addresses http://www.garagedoorsaltlake.com View Additional Web Addresses



BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

Precision Garage Door Service is your complete local garage door repair specialist serving Greater Salt Lake residential clients 24/7 from Ogden to Provo.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Precision Door Services meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Precision Door Services include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Precision Door Services
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: November 05, 2004 Business started: 11/05/2004 Business started locally: 11/05/2004 Business incorporated 11/05/2004 in UT
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Kevin Spratt, President Mr. Greg Bohrer, Marketing Manager Mr. Monty Hardy, Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Kevin Spratt, President
Business Category

Garage Door Repair Overhead Garage Door Suppliers Garage Doors & Openers

Alternate Business Names
Highland Arm Enterprises Inc Precision Overhead Garage Doors
Products & Services

Garage Doors, garage door repair, garage door openers


Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    20728 56th Ave W

    Lynnwood, WA 98036

  • 3644 W 2100 S

    Salt Lake City, UT 84120

  • 3644 W 2100 S Bldg 2

    Salt Lake City, UT 84120 (801) 954-8092 (801) 467-5405 (866) 443-7672 (801) 887-7972 (801) 397-0308 (801) 359-0519 (801) 269-0059 (801) 386-9185 (801) 784-2723 (801) 938-7874 (801) 326-0144 (801) 326-0141 (801) 418-9090 (385) 205-5777 (866) 258-5793

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

3/11/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Misguided advise provided, which resulted in an overpriced estimate The technician arrived on time, after making his assessment; he made a phone call to his company. He concluded that to repair the door they had to replace the whole door because they could not replace the panels; the panels were 12 years old. Additionally, since the new door would not match another undamaged door, it had to be replaced also. I made the mistake to authorize an invoice for $2100.00, and gave them $1288.20 to order the new doors. Two days later, another company came to give me an estimate. They could replace all five panels to the damaged door, and match the panels of the undamaged door at a cost of $900. According to them, the panels were standard contractor doors. So I called Precision doors to cancel the order because of I would save 2100 - 900 = $1200. After a number of phone calls I receive the phone call from a supervisor. He mentioned to me that there was a re-stocking fee of 20% out of the total amount of $2100. Needless to say that even with the fee I would be saving. The supervisor was condescending and did not show any empathy for the misguided advice Precision Doors provided. So from my point of view, I am loosing $400 for trusting the bad advice provided.

Desired Settlement: Full refund. No services were provided

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (4000, 8, 2014/03/03) */ BBB Case# XXXXXXXX Today's Date- February 26, 2014 Service Date- February 8, 2014 Order Cancelation Date- February 21, 2014 Mr. ******* contacted the Precision Door call center and scheduled a free panel estimate on the service date above with our technician ********** ******* let Mr. ******* know that, even if we could get the 12 year old panels (as Mr. ******* states), in every case when there are three (3) damaged sections it is cheaper to get a new door. Mr. ******* was informed that the new door would not match the undamaged because of certain factors as the age of the doors and paint deterioration from the sun. Our technician ********* provided Mr. ******* a bid for replacing both doors. Mr. ******* was also told that we could and would replace just the one door for $1318.00 and transfer any warranty on to the new door as well. Mr. ******* did not elect this option and was inclined to purchase both doors not forced. Based on Mr. *******'s decision and payment, we placed the order for these doors with our vendor. Nearly two weeks later Mr. ******* called to cancel his door order on the date listed above. Mr. *******'s order had been processed and the next step was to set up a time to install his garage doors. This was on the very same day he called requesting the cancelation. I spoke to Mr. ******* on the order cancelation date and he let me know that he found someone else to do the job cheaper than us and that they were going to install panels only. I let Mr. ******* know that this was not recommended because our springs on his current door would most likely not match to the newer sections weight and may cause him to have to buy another set of new springs or that it could damage his new panels. He did not care. I also let him know that this would void any warranty that he had with us and he was ok with this. I also let him know that, because the doors had been ordered and were ready for installation, there would be a cancelation/restocking fee of 20% which again he said he was ok with. I tried to come to an understanding with him and tried to work this out at every chance I had, Mr. ******* did not want to compromise on anything. I have a signed agreement with him to purchase the new doors along with his check. Mr. ******* never indicated any issues or concerns prior to his complaint. We are happy to refund Mr. *******'s payment. However, the 20% fee is a standard restocking fee we must pay our vendor and will not be refunded. ***** ***** Residential Field Manager- Salt Lake City, Utah Precision Overhead Door Service Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (4200, 10, 2014/03/09) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) The competing company changed the whole door, not just panels. They did a very good job matching the doors, but for $900.00 not $1318.00. I reluctantly accept the proposed resolution, because Precision Doors is keeping 20% or $400.00 for a standard issue door. My mistake for not getting another bid before writing a check to Precision Doors.

10/30/2012 Problems with Product/Service