Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Honeyville, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Honeyville, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: March 29, 2000 Business started: 01/11/1972 Business started locally: 01/11/1972 Business incorporated 01/11/1972 in UT
Type of Entity


Contact Information
Customer Contact: Mr. Shawn Anderson, Controller
Business Category

Food Manufacturers, Wholesalers, Distributors

Alternate Business Names
Honeyville Food Products

Additional Locations

  • 1080 N Main St Ste 101

    Brigham City, UT 84302 (888) 810-3212 (435) 494-4200 (435) 494-4193

  • 3750 W 7200 N

    Honeyville, UT 84314

  • 389 W 1830 S

    Salt Lake City, UT 84115

  • 635 N Billy Mitchell Rd

    Salt Lake City, UT 84116 (801) 972-2168


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

9/17/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: The company placed the REVIEWS on the wrong product some how advertising that it was a specific food eaten in Africa. I ordered the product from the business realized it was wrong because of the mistake. I then contacted the company they sent me a return shipping for the product. I asked for a exchange of the product. I sent the product back to them now they have my product and my money and refuse to contact me.

Desired Settlement: I want them to tell me they are sorry for not responding to me via customer care and to send me my product I paid for.

Business Response:

After receiving notification from the BBB of this complaint, I have thoroughly investigated the matter and would like to respond to Mr. *****’ two key complaints: 1) that Honeyville had taken his money and refused to contact him and 2) that Honeyville had misplaced product reviews, which mislead him while he was deciding what product to order.

Concern about refusal to contact:

Mr. ***** contacted Honeyville’s customer service department for the first time during the afternoon of July 18, 2016 and an associate responded to his initial request the following morning (see attachment “BBB Complaint 11669172 - 1st Customer Service Contact”). During the communication that followed, Mr. ***** was informed that a pre-paid return label would be sent to him via email to allow him to return the product he purchased but decided he didn’t want. He was also notified that once we received his return, we would ship the item he was exchanging it for.

On August 18, 2016 Mr. ***** wrote to us again explaining that he had shipped the product the previous week and inquired about the status of his replacement product. An associate responded later that day, indicating that the replacement would ship out with order the following day (see attachment “BBB Complaint 11669172 – 2nd Customer Service Contact”). The order did ship via UPS on August 19, 2016 and was delivered to the requested address on August 24, 2016 (see attachment “BBB Complaint 11669172 - Replacement product delivery confirmation”).

On August 22, 2016, Mr. ***** contacted Honeyville asking why his complaint hadn’t been responded to. The associate responded (a bit confused) since he had been in contact with Mr. ***** repeatedly over the previous weeks (see attachment “BBB Complaint 11669172 – 3rd Customer Service Contact”).


Concern about reviews being placed on the wrong product

Mr. ***** indicated that Honeyville had “placed the REVIEWS on the wrong product some how advertising that it was a specific food eaten in Africa”. There are currently two reviews from customers who have purchased this product (both indicating it is similar to a food eaten in Africa) and one of them (****** *******) included her full name when she left the review, allowing me to find her order. I confirmed that she ordered the White Corn Flour (see attachment “BBB Complaint 11669172 - Product Review Order Validation) and so her review of the White Corn Flour is properly placed, contradictory to Mr. ***** statement. The 2nd reviewer’s purchase could not be validated due to lack of information provided when the review was submitted. Since ****** ******* did purchase the product and use it, her opinion that it is just like a food from Kenya is as valid as Mr. ****’s opinion that it is not. It is Honeyville’s policy to not edit customer reviews to maintain the integrity of the product review process. Because the review and the product for which it was written are correctly linked, I intend to leave this review as it stands.


I do believe that my Customer Service Team did all that it could to respond to Mr. *****’ concerns and ensure he was taken care of. The indication that Honeyville had taken his money, his product, and then refused to contact him is simply untrue.

You will notice that the attachment showing that the reviewer had purchased the product she reviewed is not included in this response. The submission system only allows for 4 attachments. I am happy to provide the 5th document if it is needed.


Thank you,


Brenden H******

Director of Ecommerce

Honeyville, Inc.



Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Honeyville, Inc.
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)