Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are You the Business Owner of R & E Cleaning & Restoration, LLC?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that R & E Cleaning & Restoration, LLC meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for R & E Cleaning & Restoration, LLC include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on R & E Cleaning & Restoration, LLC
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: October 02, 2002 Business started: 10/02/2002 Business started locally: 10/02/2002 Business incorporated: 10/02/2002 in UT
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

DOPL - Professional Licensing
160 E 300 S 4th Fl, Salt Lake City UT 84111
www.dopl.utah.gov
Phone Number: (801) 530-6628

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mr. Roger Empey, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Roger Empey, Owner
Business Category

Fire & Water Damage Restoration Mold & Mildew Inspection/Removal/Remediation Drywall Contractors

Alternate Business Names
Air Medic Dr. Energy Saver Drywall Medic Property Medics
Products & Services

This company offers disaster cleanup and restoration services.


Additional Locations

  • 15210 S 1800 W

    Bluffdale, UT 84065 (801) 254-6767 (801) 354-7171 (801) 658-2233 (801) 254-6204 (435) 658-2233 (801) 254-8315 86667825926 +866-678-CLEAN (877) 780-6209

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • +866-678-CLEAN(Phone)
  • (435) 658-2233(Phone)
  • (801) 254-6204(Phone)
  • (801) 254-8315(Phone)
  • (801) 354-7171(Phone)
  • (801) 658-2233(Phone)
  • 86667825926(Phone)
  • (877) 780-6209(Phone)
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

12/30/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: A finance charge of $382.53 was charged after a significant delay of work being completed on our house. I do not feel that is fair. We had restorative work done by R &E Cleaning and Restoration regarding water damage done to our house and mold issues on our deck and into several room in our basement. We contracted with them for the work to be completed. The work that was done was satisfactory. We dealt with numerous delays from the company and the work took over three months to complete. We were torn up in our house the entire summer. Granted some of the delay was due too our insurance verification, but a substantial amount was due to the company canceling and rescheduling appointments. We felt like we were very patient with the company, but suffered significant inconvenience for several months.

Desired Settlement: $382.53 finance charge. When we received their bill I wrote a note telling them I would agree to pay in the same amount of time it took to complete the work. I feel that is fair.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/12/09) */ Contact Name and Title: ***** ***** - General Manager Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: *****@randecleaning.com We contracted with Mr. & Mrs. **** on 6/18/2013 to mitigate and restore damages caused to the home by an ongoing water problem. The project was completed on 9/4/2013. I am pleased to know that the ****'s concerns do not regard the quality of our workmanship. Nothing is more important to us than making sure our final work product reflects the proper standard of care for our clients. In fact, during the project Mrs. **** commented to ***** that we were the first contractor that was successfully able to resolve the problem. Regarding Mr. ****'s concerns with the time frame, please refer to the following: We started mitigation services on 6/18 and took the first clearance air sample two days later on 6/20. Those samples were sent to a lab out of state for analysis. Results were returned on 6/21, indicating that a problem still existed. Further investigation was done and on 6/27 the problem was identified. The mitigation work was completed on 7/8 and a second clearance air sample was taken on 7/11 which successfully passed *** completed the mitigation phase of the project. On 7/17 we contacted the ****'s to discuss repairs. At that point in time, Mrs. **** expressed her desire that we complete the project by no later than 8/15. We explained that that would not be possible due to the high volume of claims that we were servicing at the time and due to the fact that some of the materials needed for replacement in their home would have to be custom manufactured (the home is considered "high-end," meaning that replacement products typically stocked at all major suppliers were not suitable for use on this property, requiring custom made products instead), which would add time to the process. **** discussed this multiple times with Mrs. **** and confirmed that she understood that it would not be finished on 8/15, but that we would commit to accomplishing the project as quickly as possible. She gave us approval to proceeded and we did so based on what we thought was a mutual understanding - one which we felt that we executed on to the best of our abilities given the following conditions: 1. High claims volume - this affected our company, their insurance carrier, and sub contractors. It took longer than typical to build a restoration scope because we were handling multiple large projects simultaneously and because the custom materials required bids and estimates outside of the standard items found within the industry's estimating software Xactimate. Once built and submitted, it took the claims adjuster longer than usual to review the scope and send us approval. Once approval was granted, we lined up the necessary work activities, some of which required coordination with sub-contractor schedules that were likewise busy due to a higher than usual claim volume. 2. Some of the scheduling conflicts that Mr. **** pointed out were actually due to their schedule and not ours. Mrs. **** traveled multiple times during the project, which slowed the process in their selection of replacement materials as well as in the scheduling of actual work activities. We attempted to work with their schedule to minimize inconveniences as much as possible. 3. Lack of communication - On 8/13 *****, the owner of R&E, made a visit to the **** home to inspect the progress of the repair work. At that time, Mrs. **** expressed satisfaction regarding the workmanship up to that point. ***** was notified by an employee of a particular window blind that needed to be cut down in order for it to fit properly. ***** told the employee to let the ****'s know that we would take the blind, cut it down, and return to install it at no charge. He offered to do this as a favor as it was not included in the approved restoration scope. Accordingly he had the blind cut down, but when he attempted to contact Mrs. **** to line up a time to return and install it, he never heard back from his phone calls or texts. After several attempts he asked that I make an attempt to establish contact as I still needed to follow up with the ****'s to ensure their satisfaction (I personally like to follow up with a client at the end of a project to verify their satisfaction with our service). On 9/18, we received in the mail a note with a check for 1/3 of the total amount due. The note read as follows: "To whom it may concern: I have received your bill and will agree to pay it in the same time frame it took to do the work - 3 months. Here is my first payment $3,729.29." The note was signed by Mr. ****. We figured that this was the reason why Mrs. **** was suddenly unresponsive to our efforts to communicate. Over the next 7 weeks, I personally made several attempts via phone and text to contact Mrs. **** to discuss the note, coordinate a time to deliver and install the blind, and to verify their overall satisfaction. None of my calls, messages, or texts were ever returned during that period of time. The signed service contract states the following: "I agree to pay the Agreement Price to R&E per the following terms: Emergency Services: upon completion; Reconstruction Services: down payment prior to start, progress payments as requested during, with final payment upon substantial completion of the Services." The signed service contract further states, "I agree to pay a service charge of 24% per annum on all balances of 30 days or more past due. I also specifically agree to pay for all collection costs, including employee time and expense and all attorneys' fees and costs R&E incurs in either collection of and/or protection of its interest in my past due account or performance of this Agreement." Since I had no returned calls or messages from the ****'s, we allowed him to pay according to his desire over a three month period. However, according to the terms of our contract, interest was added in on the amount past due beyond 30 days. I made one last attempt to contact Mrs. **** during the first week of November and explained that I would be passing ** their home during the afternoon of Thursday, 11/7, and that I would bring the blind. I asked her to give me a call if that would not work for her. As usual, there was no return call. On Thursday 11/7, as I committed to do, I called and sent a text to Mrs. **** explaining that I was in route and gave an approximate arrival time. Again, no returned call or message. Upon arrival, I knocked on the door, but again there was no response. Accordingly, I arranged the items on their front porch including a small pot of roses with a thank you card. Before leaving I sent a text to Mrs. **** with a photo of the porch and explained that I had left the items on their front porch and invited her to contact me if she had any questions. Again, no returned call or text. On the morning of Wednesday, 11/13, Mr. **** called into the office and spoke with ********* our Office Manager. Mr. **** was calling in response to having received a statement from our office which included the interest on the past due amount. He was very upset, terse and short with Lynnette. He was upset that he was not notified sooner. ******** explained that we had made multiple attempts to contact them via his wife, but there was no return communication. He repeatedly asked why he had not been contacted directly and ******** had to repeatedly explain to him that we were never given his contact information (As far as I understand, the reason for which we were given his wife's contact information only, was because Mr. **** was dealing with some cancer and his wife wanted to take care of the home so he wouldn't have to deal with it during treatments). After further conversation, Mr. **** finally hung up on ********* Within 15 minutes I had a call to my cell phone from his wife. She was hysterical. I tried to help calm her, but she would not allow me to get one word in. She said that she was not doing well and that her husband was extremely upset. In almost a panic, she mentioned something about his cancer treatments, and then told me that she wasn't avoiding me, but that she has been busy; just like she said that she would be. She then said that she had to go. With that she hung up on me. That was the last contact I had with either Mr. or Mrs. ****. She attempted to call on Saturday, 11/16 while I was out of town. Upon my return on Monday 11/18, I attempted to return the call but with the same results as previously mentioned. We received final payment, including $200 of the $382.53 in interest charges on 11/22. Before Mr. **** filed this complaint, we had decided to accept the last payment plus the $200 in interest as payment in full despite the fact that contractually we are due the balance. I do not anticipate that Mr. **** will be fully satisfied with this response. In all honesty and sincerity, I don't think that anything I could do would ever satisfy his expectations. Yes, we did make mistakes, but we made it a point to take responsibility for them and made ev