This business is not BBB accredited.

American Engine Installation Utah

Fax: (801) 908-0601 View Additional Phone Numbers 139 W 4500 S Ste 14, Murray, UT 84107 View Additional Email Addresses http://www.a1engineandauto.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for American Engine Installation Utah include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on American Engine Installation Utah
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: April 26, 2005 Business started: 01/01/2005 Business started locally: 01/01/2005 Business incorporated 05/09/2006 in UT
Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mr. Kevin Schafer, Owner/Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Kevin Schafer, Owner/Manager
Business Category

Engines - Rebuild & Exchange Auto Services Auto Repair & Service Engines - Rebuild & Exchange

Alternate Business Names
A 1 Engine and Auto Repair Schafer Investments, LLC

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    139 W 4500 S Ste 14

    Murray, UT 84107 (801) 908-0600

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

8/6/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Had my car towed in after talking to the former owner of the company. To my knowledge I thought he still ran and owned the company but he is retired. I tell them and we come to an agreement on me purchasing a re-manufactured engine for my car because i told them mine was done for. I paid a little over half up front and they told me it would take this amount of time ha. i get a call from them telling me i they went ahead and resurfaced my flywheel and charged me and i need new belts and new oil sending units and new fan. So i tell them go ahead i will pay for them as well. After the time had passed which it should have been done. I called everyday never one answer. long story short I finally get a call back from them, telling me my car is ready i go to pick it up and paid. after I pay them they tell me the alternator is bad you want us to fix it. they tell me it will be this much i tell them i can get the part cheaper at autozone and do it myself. Come to find out i didnt make it back home as well as inspecting my car before leaving. My wires are broke and falling apart. i call them and tell them it had no power and i could not take it up to speed they said it was the alternator i say ok. I have it towed home i do the alternator great it works but the no power and engine rattle is there. I take it to another certified mechanic in tooele and he tells me the engine is messed up take it back to them so i do they towed it back in after arguing for days. They laugh and say it was a loose bolt i start the car the same problem is there and my car has a dent in it size or a quarter. they admitted it had to be one of there mechanics take the hood off and hand me 75 cash but the rattle to the engine is there still they say it is because its a new engine and the friction of all the new parts working. i drive it home slowly take it to my mechanic finds out timing was at 40 degrees they broke off a bolt holding my cv axle joint in my engine and the balance shafts one was only 70 degrees out MuchMoreCanttype Product_Or_Service: engine and labor

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Other (requires explanation) Not sure of what could be done. I feel they should have been responsible to tke care of it but when i told them they said they would not work on it until i drove it 500 miles which if i would have it would have messed up the whole engine my mechanic has before and after pics but i dont know if anything can or will be done but everyone should know these guys dont know what they are doing. Im not the only tooele person either they do great or they will rip you and not care.

6/26/2013 Problems with Product/Service