BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Utah

BBB Business Review

This Business is not BBB Accredited

Dr. Curtis J. Brimley DMD, MBA, PC

(801) 432-82003409 W 12600 S Ste 120, RivertonUT 84065-7268http://www.coppercreekendo.com

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

Dr. Curtis J. Brimley DMD, MBA, PC is not BBB Accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Dr. Curtis J. Brimley DMD, MBA, PC's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Billing / Collection Issues2
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Problems with Product / Service0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Dr. Curtis J. Brimley DMD, MBA, PC

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (2)BBB Closure Definitions
09/17/2013Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
We were quoted one price for dental work and when the bill came it was triple.
We took our daughter in for a quote on having two teeth fixed. We were quoted 78 dollars we said that is really low are you sure. Another lady looked it over and said that is right with both insurances. A week later we had the work done and he said everything went as planned. Then we got the bill for 220 dollars and called to find out why so much and they were going to get back to us. I finally got sent to collections no call back no explanation. Payed 244.80

Desired Settlement
I would like 160 refunded.

Business' Initial Response
Contact Name and Title: ****** ****** Office Manager
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: ***************@gmail.com
After seeing Patient's remarks made on BBB, we noticed the Patient mentioned having two insurances. We only had record of one. We promptly called the Patient and updated insurance records. The secondary insurance claim was submitted immediately, and payment is pending. If secondary insurance pays on services rendered, Patient will receive a reimbursement.

Consumer's Final Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
I did get my refund. Thank you. The fraudulent charges were less then a week after and I doubt it was any where else. We gave you ALL the insurance info at the time of service and when we got the quote. Not to mention the times we called to get the bill fixed to pay it and your office staff was NO help. The only way I could get help is through the BBB I am glad it is an option.

Business' Final Response
Contact Name and Title: ****** ****** Office Manager
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: ***************@gmail.com
We billed the secondary insurance on 8/7/2013 and received payment on 8/27/2013. We promptly refunded the patient $198.40 the same day the insurance payment was received. We are confused as to why the patient did not inform us that they had secondary insurance to begin with. If patient had given us all pertinent information, secondary insurance would have been billed at the time of service.

As far as the fradulent charges on the patients credit card, we are very protective of our patient information and have not been compromised ever. It seems suspicious that the patients final payment was made on 07/30/2013, and 1 month later there are possible fradulent charges. It is highly suspect that the patient made other transactions and their information may have been compromised elsewhere.

03/26/2013Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Copper Creek endodontics keeps mailing me bills with the ammount but not an itemized description, they also billed my insurance two seperate claims.

Copper Creek Endodontics keeps sending me bills with just an amount due, it does not say what it is for, I have called them several times to find out what they charges are for and ask for itemized bills but have not received one. They also billed me for something my insurance does not cover without my knowledge or consent first. When I went into my appointment I paid my portion of what the insurance did not cover and then 2 months after the service they started sending the bills but won't tell me what it is for.

Desired Settlement
I don't want to pay anything additional to their business because I feel like I already paid for the service and feel like I already overpaid for the root canal.

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: ******* ************** Manager
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: ****************@gmail.com
The patient came to our office to see our doctor for a consult and possible root canal on 9/26/12. Since the appointment was made just 40 minutes before she was to come in to our office, there wasn't enough time for our staff to call her insurance to get a more complete breakdown of her benefits. There are several codes we bill that are not advertised on their web portal. We gave her the very closest estimate for her treatment that we could of $480.00. ALL quotes in our office can only be estimates until the patient's treatment is completed AND the insurance has processed the claim. We always try to communicate this information to all of our patients. ******* had some swelling and pain and our staff did their best to resolve her issue and get her feeling better. She paid $480.00 on this date.

After a full evaluation, the doctor ultimately decided it was best to perform her root canal over two visits due to the large size of a lesion. We did not bill her on 9/26/12 for the root canal itself, we billed just for the consult D0140, x-ray D0220, and pulp vitality test D0460. The pulp vitality code D0460 is the code that apparently was not covered on the patient's policy--$45.00. (An endodontist MUST perform this test in order to determine if the tooth is vital or needs a root canal) Per the patient insurance Explanation of Benefits, her portion for this date of service was: $83.90

The following week, the patient returned on 10/3/2012. The doctor was able to complete her root canal and this is the date of service on which we billed her insurance company for the Root Canal D3330 and an x-ray D0220 for the completion. Per her Explantion of Benefits, her portion for this date of service was: $447.50.

*******'s total co-pay portion for her treatment in our office for tooth #3 was: $531.40.
Paid: $480, Bal $51.40.

We do not send statements until insurance has completed processing of the patient's claims. We recieved her first claim on 10/11/12 and her second claim on 10/30/12. Patient final balance shows $51.40 and her first statement was sent 10/30/12. On the first statement, all activites on the account are included for the most recent treatment--which for this patient was her only treatment. Insurance companies generally send explantions of benefits to the the patients as well, but if not they always make them available for the subscriber to review. Therefore, the patient certainly has access to the same explanations that we do.

The patient called our office on 11/15/12 with concerns regarding her account. Per our admin notes, she "said she was way over-quoted and doesn't know why she is getting a bill for the $51.40. She told her GP she will never come back to us and we were too expensive and she is reporting us to Better Business Burea for charging her too much and she has told everyone she knows how bad our office is and how unprofessional whoever collects money in the front and does estimates is". Our office is unsure the patient was unclear which service in our office was unprofessional.

******* recieved another statement sent 12/5/12 and a 3rd statement sent 1/4/13. On 1/8/13 she called our office once again. She insisted we'd never sent her a COMPLETE statement showing ALL her charges and she wouldn't pay until she did. She was offered a full/complete statement by e-mail which she refused insisting she wanted a hard copy. She was mailed a complete paper copy that same day with an offer to print it for her if at any time she wanted to come to get one.

******* also insisited we'd overbilled her by at least $200, according to her research. Our doctors would find this to be very suprising since we do regular analysis to make sure our fees are competitive. Not only do we feel we are competitive, our office offers state-of-the art technology and a quality of service way beyond our competitors. Our office is currently one of very few practicing endodontists in Utah equipped with a Kodak 3-D digital Conebeam machine--which offers the best imaging available to specialists. This technology is industry proven to give us the ability to offer the most reliable, longest lasting results. ******* recieved this image free of charge, a service that can cost $360+.

******* recieved excellent endodontic care in our office and has had absolutely no complaint regarding her endodontic treatment. Our staff tried to estimate her treatment as closely as possible. In the dental field, when there are insurance companies involved, it would be practically impossible for us to offer an exact estimate for treatment before an insurance company has processed claims.

As a courtesy we will send the patient an additional, FULL/COMPLETE itemized statement today 2/8/13. If ******* still has questions we'd be glad to help her at any time. In addition, she is welcome to contact her insurance company to verify the information we've submitted.



Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)

I still have not recieved a detailed bill. The only billing statement I have it one with a notice saying that I am being sent to collections with a amount due.

My issues have never been with the dental care I revieced rather then with the billing. Why should I pay a bill when I have no idea what I am paying for?

Attached is the "bill" I recieved. I have waited several weeks for an actual bill and have yet to get one.

Final Business Response
*******,
We have sent you mutlpile statements, with itemized detail. Our most recent was sent 2/8/13, and we confirmed all the detail was included. Your account, however, has been turned over to an accelerator company due the amount of time that's lapsed for payment. Any statements received after your account was transfered over will only reflect amount due as we do not share that information with them. If you have any questions, we would love to go over your account. Please call us at XXX-XXX-XXXX.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Endodontics, Dentists

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 08/18/2010Business started: 01/01/2003
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Incorporated: July 2001, UT

Contact Information
Principal: Dr. Curtis J. Brimley DMD (Owner)
Business Category

Endodontics, Dentists

Alternate Business Names
Copper Creek Endodontics

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Dr. Curtis J. Brimley DMD, MBA, PC

3409 W 12600 S Ste 120

Riverton, UT 84065-7268

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 3409 W 12600 S Ste 120 

    Riverton, UT 84065-7268(801) 432-8200

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Utah. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Dr. Curtis J. Brimley DMD, MBA, PC is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including the text of consumer complaints and business responses in BBB Business Reviews on 07/01/2013 for complaints filed on 01/01/2012 and thereafter. This includes all complaints that meet our reporting guidelines and that are filed electronically. We also report on the resolution of the complaint, as determined by BBB.

X

Industry Tips for Endodontics

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.