Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Any Hour Services

Additional Locations

Phone: (801) 226-5678 Fax: (801) 226-0686 View Additional Phone Numbers 1374 W 130 S, Orem, UT 84058 http://www.anyhourservices.com View Additional Web Addresses



BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Any Hour Services meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Any Hour Services include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 13 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

13 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 4 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 2
Billing/Collection Issues 2
Delivery Issues 1
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 8
Total Closed Complaints 13

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

2 Customer Reviews on Any Hour Services
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 2
Total Customer Reviews 2

Additional Information

BBB file opened: August 18, 2006 Business started: 10/26/2005 Business started locally: 10/26/2005 Business incorporated 10/26/2005 in UT
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

DOPL - Professional Licensing
160 E 300 S 4th Fl, Salt Lake City UT 84111
www.dopl.utah.gov
Phone Number: (801) 530-6628

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Jeremy Hansen, General Manager Mr. Wyatt T. Hepworth, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Jeremy Hansen, General Manager
Business Category

Electricians Heating Contractors Plumbers Construction & Remodeling Services Air conditioning & Heating Contractors - Residential

Alternate Business Names
Any Hour Electric Any Hour Electric Plumbing Heating and Air Hepworth Electric, Inc

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Any Hour Services has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 1213 W Pacific Ave

    Salt Lake City, UT 84104

  • 1374 W 130 S

    Orem, UT 84058 (801) 221-1901 (435) 647-7774 (801) 226-5678 (801) 373-2826 (801) 505-9443 (801) 505-9446 (801) 505-9448 (888) 565-5678

  • 1747 Heritage Ln

    Syracuse, UT 84075

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

7/15/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues
5/10/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
3/11/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
1/22/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: They won't refund a $500 deposit for a new breaker panel they said I need to get the power on in a couple rooms in my house, but didn't really need. I called Anyhour on Nov 22, 2014 to take a look at a couple outlets that weren't working and which where effecting the power in a couple rooms in my house. I told the technician ***** that I had recently replaced the outlets with new GFCI outlets, but I must not have done it correctly since they won't work. He went around my house for 20 minutes or so looking at my outlets and panel box only to tell me there must be something wrong with the panel box. His suggestion was to replace the panel box at a cost of $1832, of which there was a $500 deposit. I gave them the $500 deposit because I needed the problem to be fixed and relying on *****'s 'expert' option. I scheduled ***** to come back the following Friday to start. A couple days later my neighbors comes by and tells me how to fix the problem myself. I called Anyhour back to cancel my appointment and asked for the $500 refund. I was sent to speak with a billing manager, *****. I explained my situation and asked again for a refund of the $500 deposit. Instead of giving me back my refund ***** still tried to sell me the panel replacement by dropping the price to just over $900. I told him I wasn't interested in replacing the panel at this time and that I would like the refund to help pay my tuition the next semester. ***** tried a couple times to call me to agree to the panel replacement, but with my work schedule I wasn't able to get in contact with him. My desire was always to get the deposit money back, which I told ***** several times in our initial conversation. A couple weeks later Anyhour cashed my deposit check without doing any work and knowing that I needed the money back. I believe the right thing to do would be to refund the deposit money back less the initial call out charge.

Desired Settlement: The only right and honest thing to do would be to refund the $500 deposit less the initial call out fee for ****

Business Response:  ********,
Yesterday we talked about The **** **** Case. i spoke with her again about  what had transpired before and she acknowledged that our intention was always to see what we could do to help her.  She agreed that we had some phone tag issues at the end and basically never had the chance to fully resolve her concern prior to her contacting the BBB. She also knows and had communicated to the BBB that we had done some of the work already and that some of the deposit would have to go toward that work. She told me she was going to contact you as well to let you know to remove the case due to these circumstance.

Consumer Response:  
Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. ***** was very helpful and understanding with the situation.

Sincerely,

**** ****

3/17/2014 Problems with Product/Service
9/25/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Any Hour charged more than double the amount of their bid with no explanation. They refuse to return any phone calls regarding the charges. Any Hour gave me a bid to replace an electrical panel for $700. Once work was completed, the charge was for $1542, citing the use of a more expensive panel. I researched and the panel that was used retails at Home Depot for $63.97, not $800 as the tech implied. They also ran approximately 8 feet of wire for a circuit to a receptacle I had installed myself, using materials I purchased. For this ($10 in materials and 30 minutes worth of work), they charged $319. They also ran a new wire for an oven circuit (approximately 25 feet of wire through unfinished space that took less than 2 hours), for which they charged $679. Overall, the tech spent 7 hours working and used $186.94 in materials (retail for all wires, panel, circuit breakers, etc at Home Depot). The original charges of $2440 were reduced to $2069 when I complained, but further research indicated they had engaged in flagrant price gouging. The charges amount to $269/hour, compared to competitor's rates of $65-$75/hour. Bids received after the fact indicate a fair price for this work would be $900-$1000. Various other bids have also indicated that the work was not completed to code and no permits were pulled, which appears to be a violation of Salt Lake City ordinance. Calls to various employees of this company have gone unanswered.

Desired Settlement: I would like $1169 refunded to me. This is the difference between what I paid and what a fair and reasonable amount ($900) is.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/07/17) */ Contact Name and Title: ***** ***** Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: *****@anyhourservices.com We are attempting to find his information in our system and will be contacting the customer for resolution. Final Consumer Response /* (4200, 17, 2013/09/24) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) The business agreed to a refund. However, they have failed to issue that refund as promised. Final Business Response /* (4000, 15, 2013/09/11) */ We have resolved his concern and he has approved the resolution

7/25/2013 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Any hour tech came and said that if I didn't get 6500 work, my house would burn down and he said he needed full payment upfront before he would start. After I gave ** half of the money, my brother called concerned about the cost and they told him that Rocky Mountain Power did so much work, that the quote could actually be done for half. I called Rocky Mountain Power and they verified that they simply turned the power off and then on again with no reference to removing meter clip to fix any meter. They did none of the work on the original invoice and came out and wasted 4 hours misdiagnosing and did not fix my problem of simply one wall did not have electricity. I kept asking for an invoice for my 3304.00 and *** (tech) would not provide one. I had to keep calling and finally got an email with a copy of the quote I originally signed. A huge red light I found that lines were added in AFTER without my consent. The paper makes it look like I signed for the other work I had never seen that read, "Fix meter, diagnose inside circuits and change needed breakers." THAT is what they charged me 3304.00! Another reputable company came and said that the work they did was worth no more than 300 and the parts less than 40.00. He was here for 4 hours. They charged me 741.00/hour for labor! And problem not fixed. I kept calling them to fix the problem. They kept cancelling to come back out. They said they already did 3300.00 of work and I would have to pay an addition 266.00 to actually fix my problem! They fixed the problem 2 WEEKS after I called them. I was referred to a company ** ******** to be an ethical company. ** looked at the paperwork and sadly told me that none of the work on the original quote needed to be done. My house was not in danger of burning down and that worst, it would have never fixed the problem (as I found out with the extra 266.00 I had to pay.) I I wrote AHS a letter complaint about my 3304.00, when I really should have just been charged 266.00. They also broke my wall. I sent them a picture of it and was assured a call back. I never received one. I wrote them an email advising them of the gross over charge and offered to pay them a hugely overblown amount of 150/hour labor (50-70 is the usual price for electrician labor ) I said I would pay them for 10 hours (when they were only here 4) and 200.00 parts (less than 40.00 parts were used) and to please refund me the difference. I got no call back at all. I called for a month and could not get a call back from the manager, like I was promised. ** ******** (the good company) was so shocked of what happened to me that they called ******* Approved themselves. Mr ******* himself called me and was so shocked he asked if he could follow up with the story. I asked a friend to call AHS about their unethical charge and he got a call back the next day. I had been trying for a month. They advised him that their position is that she signed papers and it is valid that she should have to pay whether they did the work or not. Can you believe it. They kept stringing along my friend saying they would look at the invoice and see what could be done so they could pass the time of your review when their accreditation was on suspension. Until my friend called, I would have been one of the many customers that tried to get a call back from a manager that AHS simply ignored. I am a single woman who doesn't know much about electricity who AHS used a scared tactic of telling me my house would burn down without the work and telling me that they needed all the money upfront before they would start working. Good thing I only gave them half to start. This is an unethical company that needs to be reported. I see by the other complaints that they have taken other people for services not rendered too. Basically, their stance is if you sign anything, they are not obligated to come back and do the work you signed for. Also, their original quote was twice what other companies are charging. I ask only to be treated fairly. This is an unethical company with unethical practices.

Desired Settlement: I offered to pay them 10 hours at 150.00 and 200 parts. (keep in mind they were here for 4 hours and less than 40 in parts was spent, AND it didn't fix my problem. I offer this generous offer and ask they only refund me the difference of 1604.00 for work that was never done. I think I am being more than fair to a company that took advantage of someone who doesn't know much about these things.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/07/17) */ Contact Name and Title: ***** ***** Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXX- Contact Email: *****@anyhourservices.com We have been looking Ito this situation and have been In contact with both ****** and her friend who she has been consulting with. We just spoke to him again on the morning of the 16th and are working toward an agreement with them. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (2000, 7, 2013/07/25) */ I spoke with **** today, and have CC'd him on this email. They have been gracious enough to resolve this matter with me as soon as I write to you and let you know everything is ok. He advised me that he would like to contact you and verify that the case is recognized by the BBB as resolved and then they will mail me my check as well as warranty the work that was done. **** is the manager working with me and his number is XXX-XXX-XXXX. Could you please help me with this, so we can fully resolve the case? My number is XXX-XXX-XXXX if you have any questions for me. I appreciate the efforts that AnyHourServices to resolve this. Thank you for your help, ****** *******

6/24/2013 Problems with Product/Service
6/24/2013 Billing/Collection Issues
6/17/2013 Problems with Product/Service
5/31/2013 Problems with Product/Service
5/15/2013 Problems with Product/Service
10/1/2012 Advertising/Sales Issues