Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Mountain America Credit Union (All Utah Locations)

Additional Locations

Phone: (801) 325-6292 Fax: (801) 325-6395 View Additional Phone Numbers 7181 S Campus View Dr, West Jordan, UT 84084 View Additional Email Addresses http://www.macu.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Mountain America Credit Union (All Utah Locations) meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Mountain America Credit Union (All Utah Locations) include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 17 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

17 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 11 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 9
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 7
Total Closed Complaints 17

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on Mountain America Credit Union (All Utah Locations)
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: February 07, 1991 Business started: 01/01/1934 Business started locally: 01/01/1934 Business incorporated 06/23/1936 in UT
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Financial Institutions
324 South State St Ste 201, Salt Lake City UT 84111
www.dfi.utah.gov
Phone Number: (801) 538-8830

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Krystalina Brown, Member Feedback Coordinator Mr. Gordon Kennedy, VP of Operations Mr. Sterling Nielsen, CEO Mr. Brian Petersen, Marketing Mr. Tony Rasmussen, Company Contact
Contact Information
Principal: Krystalina Brown, Member Feedback Coordinator
Business Category

Credit Unions

Alternate Business Names
Mountain America Federal Credit Union Salt Lake Credit Union

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Mountain America Credit Union (All Utah Locations) has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 1047 S Main St

    Moab, UT 84532 (435) 259-1500

  • 1155 W State St

    Hurricane, UT 84737

  • 1219 S 800 E

    Orem, UT 84097

  • 122 E 1700 S

    Provo, UT 84606

  • 12221 S State St

    Draper, UT 84020

  • 1225 S Redwood Rd

    Salt Lake City, UT 84104 (801) 973-2484

  • 123 S River Rd

    St George, UT 84790

  • 1284 E 10600 S

    Sandy, UT 84094

  • 1298 E Murray Holladay Rd

    Holladay, UT 84117

  • 13389 S 5600 W

    Herriman, UT 84096 (801) 253-6630

  • 1340 N State St

    Orem, UT 84057

  • 1425 N 200 E

    Logan, UT 84341

  • 1475 N Main St

    Tooele, UT 84074

  • 153 S Main

    Altamont, UT 84001

  • 1672 Newpark Blvd

    Park City, UT 84098

  • 1701 W Royal Hunte Dr

    Cedar City, UT 84720

  • 1704 E State Highway 92

    Lehi, UT 84043

  • 1715 W 700 N

    Salt Lake City, UT 84116 (801) 532-1383

  • 1727 W 1800 N

    Clinton, UT 84015

  • 1818 W Highway 40

    Vernal, UT 84078 (435) 789-8777

  • 1849 S 500 W

    Woods Cross, UT 84010

  • 190 W Center St

    Kanab, UT 84741

  • 1962 W 12600 S

    Riverton, UT 84065

  • 2001 S State St # S3023

    Salt Lake City, UT 84190

  • 2060 E 2100 S

    Salt Lake City, UT 84109 (801) 486-1848

  • 2104 W Sunset Blvd

    St George, UT 84770

  • 2174 E 3300 S

    Millcreek, UT 84109 (801) 858-1030

  • 25 E State Road 73

    Saratoga Springs, UT 84045 (801) 331-6042

  • 2627 W 4700 S

    Taylorsville, UT 84129

  • 2958 S 5600 W

    West Valley, UT 84120 (801) 955-8600

  • 298 N Market Place Dr

    Centerville, UT 84014

  • 3065 W 5400 S

    Taylorsville, UT 84129 (801) 545-7022

  • 321 2nd St

    North Ogden, UT 84404 (801) 399-1592

  • 325 S State St

    Salt Lake City, UT 84111

  • 3473 W South Jordan Pkwy

    South Jordan, UT 84095 (801) 828-8990

  • 3782 W 7800 S

    West Jordan, UT 84088 (801) 280-1525

  • 410 N Main St

    Cedar City, UT 84721

  • 455 40th St

    Ogden, UT 84403

  • 4600 S Redwood Rd

    Taylorsville, UT 84123 (801) 545-7002

  • 4900 S Highland Dr

    Holladay, UT 84117 (801) 545-7023

  • 494 E Main St

    Price, UT 84501

  • 5471 S 4015 W

    Kearns, UT 84129

  • 580 W 100 S Ste D

    Heber City, UT 84032 (435) 657-2282

  • 5899 S State St

    Murray, UT 84107 (801) 545-7000

  • 620 N Main St

    Ephraim, UT 84627

  • 6440 S 3000 E

    Cottonwood Heights, UT 84121 (801) 733-7100

  • 655 N Main St

    Richfield, UT 84701

  • 6761 S Redwood Rd

    West Jordan, UT 84084 (801) 270-0570

  • 7181 S Campus View Dr

    West Jordan, UT 84084 (435) 635-4475 (801) 766-6142 (801) 861-7251 (801) 465-6191 +888-370-CARL (888) 370-2275 (435) 644-3830 (801) 325-6555 (801) 325-6292 (435) 454-3903 (435) 722-1590 (435) 789-6900 (801) 967-6100 (801) 373-0330 (435) 896-8292 (435) 586-0143 (435) 656-0131 (435) 652-1414 (800) 748-4302 (800) 339-6228 (800) 748-4300 (801) 226-0947 (801) 966-2165 (801) 621-4723 (435) 752-3666 (801) 776-4212 (801) 292-6690 (801) 397-2595 (801) 524-8882 (435) 843-1220 (801) 293-8696 (801) 566-0278 (801) 572-5401 (801) 446-0118 (801) 798-0333 (801) 466-5276

  • 7325 S Union Park Ave

    Midvale, UT 84047

  • 735 S State St

    Salt Lake City, UT 84111

  • 753 W South Jordan Pkwy

    South Jordan, UT 84095 (801) 325-6100

  • 766 N Terminal Dr

    Salt Lake City, UT 84111 (801) 545-7012

  • 801 W Highway 40

    Vernal, UT 84078

  • 818 S State Highway 198

    Payson, UT 84651

  • 823 E 200 N

    Roosevelt, UT 84066

  • 858 E 9400 S

    Sandy, UT 84094 (801) 545-7021

  • 8662 W State Hwy

    Copperton, UT 84006

  • 88 N 500 W

    Provo, UT 84601

  • 883 N 3050 E

    St George, UT 84790 (435) 627-1142

  • 891 N Main St

    Spanish Fork, UT 84660

  • 893 W State Rd

    American Fork, UT 84003 (801) 763-0133

  • 9027 S 2200 W

    West Jordan, UT 84088 (801) 838-8993

  • 955 W Antelope Dr

    Layton, UT 84041

  • PO Box 9001

    West Jordan, UT 84084

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

6/9/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: This company does not follow up with any calls. I have been calling and asking for over a year, for help on starting my contract business. They even have done my taxes with this same office. I ask every time I go in, and they even ask for my SS#. Not sure what is really going on, but I think it could be my last name... *******. This has been one of the worst people to work with. They ask you the same questions over 10x. Then call me, to re verify, the same thing you did in person. This company needs help big time. Training will not do, new management training, is a must. How can you make someone wait over a week for a follow up call. Really unacceptable in any other job.

Desired Settlement: Get people to start what is called... BEST Business practice. For the client. NOT THE UNION ONLY. Start calling people back, next day or 2 MAX. " Like all other businesses do" Help people with the choices YOU advertise your going to do, YET failed every time.

Business Response:

Hello,

Thank you for letting us know your feedback regarding your experience.  I am aware that Don, from our Business Services Department has reached out to you regarding your complaint.  I hope he was able to answer any questions that you may have had and resolve this for you.

Thank you,

***** ********

5/6/2016 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: An account holder of the credit union disputed charges that were authorized automatic drafts to our company for services that had already been rendered. Mountain America Credit Union neglected to perform an investigation to the accounts holders claim and returned the funds to the account holder, ultimately empowering the individual to commit fraud. Upon contacting the credit union we were informed that no investigation into the claim had taken place and they had taken the word of their account holder even though on their website it clearly states that an investigation into claims would be required. We had contacted the bank by written correspondence and provided proof that the transactions in question were clearly authorized by the account holder. Mountain America Credit Union has yet to respond to any of the correspondence sent to them. The first correspondence was sent on March 18, 2016 and the second sent April 22, 2016.

Desired Settlement: Since our company has provided proof that the transaction(s) were authorized automatic drafts set up by the account holder for services that were both requested and rendered, we would like the funds along with fees incurred returned to us. $450.00 service for the 3 months $217.50 resulting/incurred bank fee =$667.50

Business Response: Thank you for reaching out to Mountain America Credit Union with your concern. Our fraud investigation is complete and our decisions and actions were based on check processing regulations. At this time, the issue is between *** *** ********** and their client. Thank you for your time.

Consumer Response:
Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because: The client had requested services from our company on December 10, 2015 and signed an agreement stating that payments for services would commence on January 3, 2016 and subsequent charges on the 3rd of future months thereafter, for services that had been rendered for the previous month. The services that the client had requested began on December 10, 2015 and the first payment was received on January 3, 2016 as per the agreement. Services continued for the month of January and payment for services rendered in January were received on February 3, 2016. Again, services continued for the month of February and payment for those services was received on March 3, 2016. On March 7, 2016 we received notice from our bank that payments for January 3rd, February 3rd and March 3rd had been reversed. We spoke with the bank regarding this and it was stated that the client had disputed the transactions and the bank had reversed the charges based solely on the word of the client without performing a formal investigation nor notifying our company. On March 18, 2016 we sent documentation clearly stating that the transactions were authorized for automatic drafts for services the client had requested. After failing to respond, we sent the bank another letter on April 22, 2016, again including documentation clearly stating the transactions were authorized by the client in payment for the services that had been both requested and rendered. As of the present date Mountain America Credit Union has yet to address the validity of the dispute. As we have provided substantial evidence that the transactions were authorized by the client for services the client had requested and that have been performed, we are requesting a resolution from Mountain America Credit Union.

Sincerely,

******* ******

4/5/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: They take over draft fees before my checking account actually shows going in to nagetive this has happened several times and they can not explain why and refuse to put overdraft fee back in my account unless I threaten to turn them in to the better business Bureau

Desired Settlement: Stop taking money out of my account and telling customers something that's not true

Business Response: *****, I apologize for the delayed response to your complaint as well as for the confusion regarding your available balance on your account. After reviewing your claim and looking over your account history, I think that the problem lies in the fact that you are viewing your total balance but not your available balance, which is more accurate. Let me explain. When you use your debit or credit card without the PIN number, it takes 2-3 days before the charge actually clears your account. During this time the merchant places what is called a Preauthorization on your card. This means they received an approval because there were funds available. Since they received an approval, they are now guaranteed the funds and can wait the 2 or 3 days for their processing to actually debit the money from your account. In the meantime, when you look at your balance, you would not see the preapprovals pending because the preauthorization was already given to the merchant. We do show your available balance online however that balance will reflect the true balance, minus all the pre-authorizations that are outstanding. I hope that helps clarify the situation. Also, I see that we have reimbursed multiple fees and are trying to work with you. I am sorry that we have not explained this to your satisfaction. I hope this helps. Thank you, Kelly H******* Mountain America Credit Union

Consumer Response:
Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because: because  first  off let me say I'm not stupid  I know  the difference  between  available  balance  and actual  balance  and I look at the available  balance  not actual  you just want to  deny the fact that you're  system  is messed  up  and the real complaint  is the fact you take money  out  of  my account  before  it actually  shows being  in the hole and when we opened  the account  we was told we would be chared the fee after  the transaction  clears and when you take the fee before  it clears there's been  a number  of  times  that it was taken  after  it cleared also

Sincerely,

***** *******

12/31/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: MACU has advertised auto loan rates at 2.24%. I have been a member of MACU for 35 years. I have top tier credit. I met the requirement to have a MyStyle Checking account. My vehicle on my application had a great loan to value ratio. I was offered a rate of 2.99%. I asked why they wouldn't honor their advertised rate. They said "the fed has raised their rate" and "there's a special checking account required to honor the advertised rate". Well the fine print of the advertised rate references the MyStyle Checking account that I currently have. I asked for an explanation based on objective credit criteria and I haven't received anything but insulting efforts to not honor their rate. They had me send them screen shots of their own website. What a joke.

Desired Settlement: I want them to honor their rate of 2.24% on my loan. I also want them to stop insulting 35 year members of their icredit union.

Business Response: Dear Mr. ******, As per our telephone conversation, we did honor the 2.24% interest rate. I'm sorry for any inconvenience this has caused you. Teressa R*** ###-###-####

12/30/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have a vehicle loan through Mountain America Credit Union. In 2013 we changed vehicle insurance companies. We never had a lapse in insurance. Our insurance company faxed proof of our new insurance to Mountain America. Months later, I received phone calls claiming that we were behind on car payments but no one at Mountain America could tell me when we "missed" or were "late" on a payment. Finally, after several months of phone calls, I was informed that they had applied CPI insurance to our loan because they said they never received proof of insurance. I contacted my insurance company to have them re send all proof of insurance. My insurance company sent the proof multiple times. Finally, Mountain America corrected my account balance & "refunded" the amount for the CPI insurance. I recently discovered that they filed a report on my credit that states that we fell behind on payments because of the charges for the CPI insurance. I called and asked them to correct this. They refused and insisted that it was my fault. It was clearly a Mountain America mistake because they "refunded" the amount for the CPI insurance that we never needed in the first place. Its not possible for me to have made a late payment because we have automatic payments set up and they have come out of our account on the same day every month for years. They can't say that we were late on the CPI insurance charges because we never owed that amount in the first place which is why they "refunded" it. I have proof of insurance and proof that the insurance company sent it to Mountain America multiple times. I also have bank statements to prove we were never late or missed a payment.

Desired Settlement: I would like Mountain America to make a correction to my credit report.

Business Response: We have reviewed the details of Mr. **********'s complaint. CPI was added to the loan because the needed documentation was not updated with Mountain America, requiring the credit union to purchase and force place the coverage. The issue seems to have occurred because of lack of communication between Mr. **********'s insurance provider and the credit union. We have requested from the credit bureau that any resulting negative impacts on his credit be removed. We anticipate these changes to be reflected by the beginning of the year (Jan 2016). This has been communicated to Mr. **********'s wife via telephone. We apologize for any inconvenience this has caused our member.

12/18/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: credit union claims to have reached out within 30 days the payment was due. They did not, I received nothing in the mail as they claimed, they couldn't even tell me what address they had sent it to. As soon as they actually notified me that my account was past due (33 days past due), I made payment to bring it current as well as updated all information they asked for. Without any type of notification, my credit score was hit. A payment was made 33 days past due, reported to credit bureau 3 days prior to payment and dropped my credit score by more than 100 points. The company refuses to take any type of responsibility for the situation and/or the damage it has caused.

Desired Settlement: I would like the charge/hit to be removed from my credit report and the score to reflect where it was before the hit.

Business Response: Dear Mr. ****** Mountain America appreciates you expressing concern regarding your recent inquiries pertaining to your Visa. In the statement that you made through the Better Business Bureau, you mentioned that you weren’t notified by mail that your payment was due. However, according to our records we show that notices were sent to the address in Pleasant Grove. These notices reflected when your payments were due and who you could contact to make your monthly payment. As a result of these notices that were mailed to your Pleasant Grove address informing you of when your payments were due as well as containing our contact information; we have determined that our actions are accurate. We appreciate you providing us with an opportunity to look into this concern. Thank you

Consumer Response:
Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because: The Mountain America assistant branch manager I spoke with on the phone informed me that my address was updated on on 11/13 when I made the payment and updated my last name. Before that, I had not received any type of notification via mail that there was a payment due. Also, if my address was changed in November, I would like to know what address it was sent to before because there hasn't been anyone within the credit union that can seem to verify where it was sent to. I had a different mailing address before, and never received a notice. I would like to know what address these notices were sent to because my Pleasant Grove address was not in Mountain America's records until after a payment was received in November. 

Sincerely,

MRS. ****** ******

Business Response: Dear Mrs. ****** Mountain America appreciates you expressing concern regarding your recent inquiries pertaining to your Visa. Upon further research, our records show that statements were mailed to your address in Pleasant Grove, Utah dating back to June 2015. The address we had prior to the one in Pleasant Grove was an address in Lehi, Utah. In addition to these notices, you also agreed to the terms of the loan when you took out the line of credit. Therefore, we have determined that our actions are accurate. Again, we appreciate you providing us with an opportunity to look into this concern. Thank you

Consumer Response:
Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:  My visa was not past due until September 2015, so why would there be statements being past due sent back in June? I DID NOT RECEIVE ANY STATEMENT  IN THE MAIL OR ANY TYPE OF NOTIFICATION MY ACCOUNT WAS PAST DUE, until the phone call on November 13 when the payment was made. I feel that Mountain America is essentially give me the verbal finger and telling me to deal with it. As someone that has been a client with them for years, I am deeply offended and very ashamed to have trusted this credit union. I have received the run-around when trying to figure out this financial mess and then lied to about it. I was told the credit hit was for 3 different things before there was an accurate answer given and even then it wasn't resolved. They said they couldn't help me any more and transferred me to a different department (Collections, even though my balance was at $0 at this point), who was told by the previous agent (assistant branch manager of the American Fork, UT branch) that I had told him I didn't want to speak to him anymore and demanded to be transferred, which was not remotely close to what happened. The new department he had transferred me to couldn't help me either and referred me to contact all the credit bureaus for any assistance. Mountain American Credit Union has a pitiful attitude towards customer service. 

Sincerely,

****** ******

12/16/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
11/15/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On 11/04/2015 I received my bill for my motorcycle loan in the mail that evening. On the bill it says my due date was 11/02/2015. There was NO postmark on the statement. I called them today ###-###-#### and I beleive spoke w/ Crystal. I told her I received my statement in the mail on 11/04/2015 and the due date is 11/02/2015 giving NO way to pay the bill on time. She told me they send all customers bills on the 1st of the month regardless of the due date. I advised her then that makes it impossible for me to pay the bill on time, I believe there is to be a certain number of days notification etc. She said " well we can set you up on auto pay ". I told her I don't want that I do that through my own bank. I asked her to send my bill 10 days prior to the due date min, she said " oh no sorry we send them all on the 1st ". I have already received late fees w/ this account and feel the practice of sending all customers bills on the 1st of the month is unethical & perhaps even illegal. I have worked in the banking industry for many years and if your due date was on 11/20/2015 for instance, we sent the next months bill w/in 2 days after that date if I remember correctly. I would assume they must follow the same rules as it is a financial institution. Please investigate.

Desired Settlement: 1. I would like to be credited all late fees that may have been assessed. 2. If lateness has been reported to the credit reporting agencies I would like them retracted. 3. I would like them to have to change their business practice to give proper notice of when a payment is due as they currently DO NOT.

Business Response: Hi ********, I apologize for the statement issue and concern with your payment. I have refunded the late fees on your account and applied them toward your loan. It is true that we only send statements once a month. They are printed the first day of each month. I am happy to move your payment date ahead 10 days for you to be able to have adequate time to receive the statement before the due date. You can also login online and see your payment date at any time during the month. I apologize for your frustrations. Please let me know what more I can do.

10/16/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I took a mortgage loan with MACU as they were local and said they would not sell my loan. My financial situation is such that when possible I pay ahead whenever possible. When I tried to do so I was told I was limited to 3 months lead. I contacted Lori---branch manager--- and told her I did not see this in my contract and asked for specifics. She said it wasn't there. I asked her to check on it. When accomplished, she said it was corporate policy. I asked if it was a governmental rule. No. Corporate policy. Told her it wasn't in my contract and they should make an exception. She said she would check on it. No. System is set up and cannot handle the aberration.

Desired Settlement: I just want to be permitted to pay as I desire. If that is a year in advance, ok. Why not? You get your money and have no concerns about my ability, health, or movement, or employment.

Business Response: Dear Mr. ******, Mountain America appreciates you expressing concern regarding your recent inquiries pertaining to your mortgage. Our contracts state that a monthly payment is to be made on all of our loans. As a courtesy and as an exception, we allow our members to pay up to three months in advance. However, because interest continues to accrue between payments, allowing any longer of a period can potentially throw off the amortization schedule making it difficult to pay the loan off in the required timeframe. Taking into consideration your financial situation, we would like to present the following possible solution that may help you still pay ahead and earn you some interest in the meantime. We could help you open a savings account that you could deposit your funds into that you plan on paying your mortgage with, earn you some interest, and we could set-up auto-pay to help you make payments that would allow you to stay up to three months ahead on your mortgage. Again, we appreciate you providing is with an opportunity to address your concern and would hope that the above explanation and possible solution will provide you with an option that will meet your needs. Sincerely, Home Equity Team

Consumer Response:  
Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:
Company says their amortization might get confused if I pay too far in advance? Hard to accept that a billion dollar company doesn't have a clerk or book keeper or accountant who can accurately manipulate the computer and keep things straight. Other mortgage companies did --- this one can't? Might help to ask their competitors. 2) I do have a savings account with this company. I do not have nor desire an automatic debit for my loan. I am yet at a loss to understand why it is so difficult to permit my payments in excess of three months. This will benefit the company as they won't have a concern if I am in arrears. Yes, they will make more money if I am foreclosed and that might be a thought, but I am presently uncomfortable with the idea (of my foreclosure).Perhaps they have an idea of the financial future of Utah / America and wish to position themselves to benefit from some kind of collapse? Since an honorable answer escapes me, perhaps their policy is dishonorable?
Sincerely,

****** ******

9/25/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Mountain America allows mailed in checks to be deposited and holds you responsible when there is no legal proof the deposit was made by the member.

Desired Settlement: No being financial responsible for the 4,888 balance they are now trying to ruin my banking future with. I no longer will do business with this credit union.

Business Response: ********, Thank you for submitting your feedback. We have a team of people working on your situation and they will be contacting you shortly. Thank you, Kelly H******* VP Member Experience Mountain America Credit Union

7/30/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Mountain America's website offers Home Equity Line of Credits for consumers. On July 6th, I submitted a request for a $20,000 HELOC from my investment property in Salt Lake City - application **********. As part of the application process, I was asked to complete a general set of questions including the address of the property, insurance information, outstanding balance owed on the 1st mortgage and other standard questions. One of the question was "Occupancy Type" and I selected "Investment Property" as one of the available drop-down options. On July 9th, I was contacted by Destinee with Mountain America's Home Equity Processor and informed me Mountain America would not honor my application because they do not offer Home Equity Lines of Credit on investment properties. I responded I was disappointed with their decision. On July 13th, I received a notice in the mail, explaining Mountain America pulled my credit report; a copy of the credit report was enclosed in the letter to my house. I emailed Destinee with Mountain America and asked why MACU pulled my credit when I was not eligible in the HELOC loan in the first place. Destinee explained it was an automated system and the online application gave authorization for MACU to pull my credit. As a consumer, the assumption is IF the 'Investment Property' drop-down on MACU's website is a permissible option up-front, then they allow it as a product offered by Mountain America. I explained the credit inquiry has a negative effect on my report because I will have to apply for a different HELOC loan at another financial institution. Destinee offered one alternative option but would require me to refinance my first mortgage with Mountain America. I feel this maneuver is a bait and switch. I told Destinee I'm rather upset that Mountain America was not transparent enough with their refusal to offer HELOC on investment properties. If the service was not allowed, their system should not have shown up as a drop-down on their website or some type of warning should have popped up - notifying MACU does not honor HELOC for investment properties. My loan application should have never gotten to the point of submission and pulling of personal credit because the type of property is now allowed under any circumstances. Destinee acknowledged Mountain America is aware of this discrepency on their website but have not taken steps to resolve the conflicting webpage with their company policy not to allow HELOC loans on investment properties. This apparent oversight by Mountain America has negatively impacted my credit score, and as a result of the erroneous credit pull, dropped my score several points. I am applying to graduate school and this unnecessary credit inquiry is negatively impacting me and will continue to show up on my report for the next 2-years! I asked for the hard inquiry to be removed from my credit profile but was told it is not possible. I did not want to take the steps to file a BBB complaint but feel I have no other choice given the circumstances.

Desired Settlement: A fair resolution would be to remove the hard inquiry from my credit report in a timely fashion.

Business Response: At Mountain America Credit Union, we take all member concerns and complaints seriously. In this matter, the Complainant has requested that Mountain America amend its loan application procedure and remove the credit inquiry from his credit history. While Mountain America will consider the Complainant’s procedural suggestion, its practices are clearly in line with industry standards and comparable with its competitors. Regardless, Mountain America has honored the Complainant’s request and has removed the inquiry from his credit history.

12/15/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
6/19/2014 Problems with Product/Service
2/12/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: MACU erroneously charged me for collateral protection insurance and has failed to refund charges after providing proof of insurance multiple times. I purchased my 2006 Toyota Tacoma in May 2008, with an auto loan from Mountain America Credit Union (MACU) (Account#XXXXXXXXXX). In May 2012 I received a letter from their insurance department stating that they required proof of insurance from May 2011 to May 2012. I immediately contacted State Farm Insurance, who sent them the Declaration Page for the period in question. In November 2013, I was due to pay off my auto loan, with verbal confirmation from MACU 3 times during the course of the loan (the most recent in October 2013). On December 20th, MACU automatically withdrew the normal monthly payment ($400) from my checking account with Golden 1 Credit Union in CA. When I called MACU, I was informed that I still had a balance of $7996.26 due for unpaid collateral protection insurance (CPI), including interest, for the life of the loan (except for the period of May 2011-May 2012). I contacted my State Farm Insurance agent, who sent MACU declaration pages for each year in question. I called MACU's Insurance Provider (Southwest) on January 3rd, 2014 and was informed that they had received declaration pages from State Farm dating back to 2008, but that the refund wouldn't be processed until the following Friday (January 10th). I called MACU customer service on Monday, January 13th to verify that the charges had been refunded, but was informed that only $1501 had been refunded because they were missing Declaration Pages from State Farm. They transferred me to SouthWest Insurance and I spoke with ***** He called my insurance agent directly, who resent proof of insurance, and he informed me that my refund would be processed Friday, January 17th. Twenty minutes after hanging up with ***** I received a phone call from MACU collections telling me that I was 24 days overdue on my payment due December 20th, 2013, the same payment that they automatically withdrew from my account and that began my dispute over charges. At this point, I asked to speak to his supervisor, who also couldn't help me, so I asked to speak to her supervisor. I was connected to ***** ******* who reviewed my case, including the myriad notes documenting the issues over the past 30 days. She also talked directly to ***** who informed her that my refund would be processed by the end of the week. She ensured me that my refund would be processed by January 17th, 2014, assured me that I would not be sent to collections for an overdue payment, and gave me the phone number to her direct line, in case there were still any issues. On Friday, January 17th, I called, waiting until 2 hours before close of business, just to make sure my refund would have enough time to be processed. When I called, I found out that I still owed $4074. At this point I called ****** who was not sure why I was not fully refunded. She transferred me to an internal insurance agent, *********, who called **** and Southwest Insurance, and informed me that 2 more refunds would be processed January 24th, 2014 in the amount of $4046. In the mean time, MACU again automatically debited my checking account with Golden 1 Credit Union for another $400 car payment. As of today, I still have not received my full refund and have little confidence that my full refund will be processed this Friday, January 24th. I have spent over 8 hours of my time over a 30-day period (including the Holiday Season) trying to resolve these erroneous charges to my account, making multiple calls to my State Farm Agent, to MACU customer service representatives, and Southwest Insurance. I have scoured my auto loan contract and have found no language requiring proof of insurance to preclude automatic charges for collateral protetion insurance. Therefore, I don't believe I gave permission for them to provide this service without further authorization. Furthermore, if proof of insurance was required, why did they not send me letters, call me, or otherwise notify me that I needed to obtain or provide proof of insurance?

Desired Settlement: I want my refund in full, including charges for interest on collateral protection insurance I did not authorize or sign up for. I also want MACU to stop charging me $400 every month for a car payment I do not owe them. And I want them to send me the Title to my car, which I now rightfully own.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 6, 2014/01/27) */ Contact Name and Title: ***** ******** AVP Service Center Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX We recieved reimbursements from the CPI Insurance company along with the interest adjustments associated with the add on. The loan is now paid in full.

1/23/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: This bank has completely changed my account without first notifying me, and are attempting to hold me to terms without first notifying me in writing. This bank has taken to holding checks and not making funds available without first notifying me that they are doing so, as they are bound to do by their agreement policy. In addition, their agreement policy states that they must notify me when these funds will become available, which they did not. The bank has also changed my account privileges without first notifying me. When I attempted to contact them about this, I was assured during more than one conversation that they would return my call, which they never did. Horrible customer service, rude employees, and poor policy assures that I will be switching banks.

Desired Settlement: I want my account the way it was previously and my privileges reinstated, or I will not hesitate to move all of my accounts to another institution.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/01/06) */ Contact Name and Title: ***** ******** AVP Service Center Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: *********@macu.com ****** talked with a Mountain America Representative and all functionality was restored. ****** is welcome to contact MACU if there are any unresolved issues.

1/9/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Simple bait and switch. I was promised 10,000 reward points to open a credit card and never received them. In October I used a Keys to Success promotion which stated that if I opened a Rewards Visa with Mountain America Credit Union, I would be given 10,000 reward points. The process was very time consuming. I spent over two hours in a chair in the Metro branch that day because I had to come back several times. First because they needed additional ID and again because they needed a rental agreement and a few pay stubs. And they had me sit in the line each and every time. So after three stops, the loan officer Bri then asked for me to bring by the coupon again so she could see it. I emailed it to her and she said everything was taken care of. But no points every appeared. In November, I then contacted MACU live chat for a few issues (including them printing my checks wrong). I inquired about this issue. The representative told me I would have to contact the branch manager which I did. He was very friendly and said he would look into a couple matters and get back to me. To his credit, he did fix a bonus from opening a checking account immediately and call me back to tell me he would need more time for this particular issue. But I saw no effort after from MACU after that call. I waited for my account statement to cut to see if it just needed a month to credit the points. Nothing. So I just opened another chat window with a MACU representative and she said they have no record of it. I'm so frustrated with this CU. I just moved to Salt Lake and was looking for a new financial institution. I loved my old bank but they are not located in Salt Lake. Since opening my accounts, MACU failed to enroll me in eStatements for the checking so I received a paper statement fee (fixed), printed my checks incorrectly (fixed), enrolled me insurance I didn't want (not fixed), and ignored two account opening bonuses (one fixed the other not). It's like it's one thing after another. I can understand problems, but not this many. And as icing on the cake, I just finished a chat window about this and the insurance. The sales rep said she would email me the unenrollment form for the insurance I'm being charged for but never received. It's been an hour and still no email. And I have checked my spam box. Another broken promise...

Desired Settlement: I want the 10,000 points I was promised. I don't think that's too much to ask.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 9, 2014/01/08) */ Contact Name and Title: ***** ******** AVP Service Center Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: *********@macu.com We have contacted **** and the issue is resolved. Final Consumer Response /* (2000, 11, 2014/01/09) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) Mountain America did credit me the points they owed me and more for my trouble. They were very apologetic for the problem and even sent me fry sauce in the mail to welcome me to Salt Lake City. They contacted me very quickly after reading the complaint and were very friendly. I just hope their regular customer service stays as friendly.

8/14/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I was promised an extension on a payment, then it was still taken, then promised it would be given back and now my account is in overdraft! My husband lost his job last month which left us solely relying on my meager checks to survive us through the month (about $950 monthly) My husband did find another job but we have about 2-3 period of waiting time for his checks to start cycling through. I emailed **** in collections about this, begging her to wait to take out our loan payment because we had to pay rent, buy diapers and formula for our daughter and put gas in the car so that he could get to his new job. She was very kind and replied with "I will put a copy of this on your account for you. But as of right now the loans on your account are currant and the system only transfers payments if the loan gets to be 25 days past due. If there is anything else I can do for you let me know." I was ecstatic that there were no issues because there usually are. Wrong. That same day we get to the grocery store and start ringing up some diapers and formula ($15-$20 at the most) and our card gets declined! Lo and behold when I look at what is going on the loan has been taken from our account even after speaking with **** and being current. No problem though since we were right next to a location. We go in and it takes about 30-45 minutes of an employee being in and out with managers and calling ****. We were asked when my husband would get his first check, which we didn't know, and then told that she would have it put back. NEXT DAY I look and instead of my account having the money in it, it was now NEGATIVE 24.00!! Something processed that we had bought before the loan was taken from our account. So I called in just furious and all I got told by **** was that "All I can do is put in a request for it to be put back, there's nothing else I can do" It's now been 4 days since the original issue, I'm now -44.00 from a bill trying to pull out and I am completely furious, OH AND that new job my husband had? He lost it from not being able to make it into work because we had no GAS IN OUR CAR. I just want to be treated as a human being and to have what is said will be done to be done. I really love Mountain America they have always been very helpful to my family but this is very stressful and I feel has added at least one HUGE stress into my life by my husband losing another job.

Desired Settlement: I just want the money back in my account please and the overdraft charges fixed because they would not have occurred in the first place if the entire issue would have been handled as I was first told it would be. That is all I want.

Business Response: Business' Initial Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/08/14) */ Contact Name and Title: ***** ********* VP Asset Management Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: *********@macu.com I apologize for the problem that has occured. This payment offset was not completed by **** it was a automated system generated transaction. The payment has been reversed and put back in the account. The 2 overdraft fees will also be returned later today or tomorrow.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

1 Customer Review on Mountain America Credit Union (All Utah Locations)
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart