Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® - Start With Trust

Are you...?

If yes, click here to learn about BBB Accreditation.

Are you...?

This business is not BBB accredited.

Goldenwest Credit Union

Additional Locations

Phone: (801) 621-4550 Fax: (801) 337-8396 View Additional Phone Numbers 5025 Adams Ave, Ogden, UT 84403 http://www.gwcu.org


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Goldenwest Credit Union include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 6 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

6 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 5
Total Closed Complaints 6

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Goldenwest Credit Union
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: November 01, 1984 Business started: 05/01/1936 Business started locally: 05/01/1936 Business incorporated 04/28/1966 in UT
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

NCUA
1775 Duke St Ste 4206, Alexandria VA 22314
www.ncua.gov
Phone Number: (800) 755-1030

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Kerry Wahlen, President Mr. Rich Evans, Vice President/COO Mr. Darren J. Godfrey, Vice President/CFO Laurie Stuart, Vice President Collections Mr. Kerry H. Wahlen, Executive Vice President
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Laurie Stuart, Vice President Collections
Principal: Mr. Kerry Wahlen, President
Business Category

Credit Unions Financial Services

Alternate Business Names
Goldenwest Federal Credit Union

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    1268 North Hill Field Rd

    Layton, UT 84041

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    147 26th St

    Ogden, UT 84401

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    1765 W 2700 N

    Ogden, UT 84404

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    3217 Pennsylvania Ave

    Ogden, UT 84401

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    3225 Harrison Blvd

    Ogden, UT 84403

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    410 East Antelope Dr

    Clearfield, UT 84015

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    5025 Adams Ave

    Ogden, UT 84403 (801) 621-4550

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    5627 S 2050 W

    Roy, UT 84067

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    7850 S 1300 E

    Sandy, UT 84094

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    805 Washington Blvd

    Ogden, UT 84404

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    PO Box 1111

    Ogden, UT 84402

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

10/29/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Golden West has lied to me for over a month regarding the location of the physical title to my vehicle. I was told multiple times that they had the title in house so that when I sold my vehicle I could pick up the title for the buyer same day. Then I was told it was electronic and that I had to wait 2-3 weeks for the state to mail me the title. Then after being told the day after after paying off the loan they said they had submitted the information to the state to have my title mailed the next day. Now 2 and a half weeks after paying off the loan I am told that Golden West mailed me the title yesterday. I am so furious with the lies and business practices by Golden West that I will be closing my accounts as soon as possible. To lie to a supposed valued customer for over a month is beyond terrible business practice and this company needs to be looked into.

Desired Settlement: I just need my title to my truck I sold 2 and a half weeks ago the buyer is livid and questioning me because I was lied to by this company. And for all the lies and stress they ahve caused they need to be held accountable.

Business Response: The credit union was able to contact our member regarding this situation. We did provide conflicting information and will work to improve our communication process. We confirmed our member received the title on Saturday October 17th, 2015, which is the initial cause for the complaint. Since the member has received the title we consider the matter closed, but we will continue to work on our communication.

10/16/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Some one unknown has been nosing through my accounts with out proper security access. Some unknown has accessed my accounts and knows my accounts better than I do. To include when and from whom my direct deposits and the exact time they were deposited. This is total breach of security. I think they are Chinese or some other computer hackers. I have filed a Ogden Police Report and I have informed The US Office Of Personnel Management in DC about this issue.

Desired Settlement: Internet access to include extra levels of security and the call center to have two wild card verbal passwords required. The call center verbal password will be the teller gives you a wild card word and I respond back with the appropriate password. The internet password will be expanded to include extra variables like favorite city traveled to etc or some extra level of security.

Business Response: The credit union reached out to our member after receiving the initial complaint on 9-29-2015. On Saturday October 3rd, our member came in and we did an account transfer due to fraud. Our hope is to give him peace of mind and start fresh since his personal information was compromised with OPM’s data breach. We also placed a verbal password on his account, per his request in the complaint, and suggested that he sign up for Fraud Defender. When we did the account transfer we told him that we would status the complaint on BBB as resolved. He did not have any objections to this and left happy. We believe we have resolved the concerns of our member.

4/21/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I was told by the credit union that my bank account that had been opened for over a year couldn't have mobile deposit on it and that I would need to open a new account. I go into the branch and open the new account strictly to have mobile deposit. The first check I get and I try to deposit, I'm told that since I have a new account that I have to wait 30 days. I was not made aware of this when I WAS MADE to open a new account.

Desired Settlement: I either want my mobile deposit put onto my account or I want to be able to close my account without being charged a fee. I would not have opened the account if I was aware that I would not have mobile deposit right away. The credit union was the one that told me to open a new account to get mobile deposit and they lied to me!!!

Business Response:

The Credit Union had charged off this members previous checking account and removed mobile deposit because her account was never brought current.  The Kaysville branch opened a new account for her and told her that ALL new accounts require a 30 day waiting period before mobile deposit can be activated.  *****, the employee at our Kaysville branch explained this to the member at the time her new account was opened.  We have tried to accommodate the member while following our new account procedures. Her mobile deposit will be active after the initial 30 days has passed.


***** ******, AVB of Branching

Consumer Response:  
Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because: the new account they made me open was because my mobile deposit didn't work because of the charge off. I was not told this new account I would have to wait another 30 days for my mobile deposit to work. If I would have been told this I would have just closed the account and gone to another bank. 

Sincerely,

**** ********

11/13/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Misrepresentation of what they as my bank actually have control of as far as bill pay and the 3rd party company they have contracted to do bill pay. Over the course of the last couple months I have been in some real financial trouble due to an illness i missed almost an entire month of work thus causing me to fall behind but i still had my bill pays set up because the bills still needed to be paid my bills were set on reaccuring and i had my overdraft protection opted in so they would cover me up to $750 in the negative my bills would go out my account would go negative i would get paid from work and catch back up throughout this process of a couple months of doing this trying to catch up i noticed I had the same amount of bills going out but my account was always going more and more negative but i paid little attention because it was my doing which most of it was. I have finally gotten caught back up over the course of the last two months or so and opted out of the overdraft protection because i no longer needed that additional help they informed that it is still possible for the account to go negative but it wouldnt be like before the bill pays wouldnt send out if there was no money in my account which made sense to me. After that I noticed the first time my bill pays were coming up that I had a few hundred less than what i needed to clear the rest of my bills after some of them had sent out but everything seemed to go like they said it would and a couple hundred stayed in my account until we used it for other things a couple days later a few days after that i looked at my account and the 3 bill pays remaining didnt pull out of my account but i got charged a 22 fee for them at that point i realized ok they are going to try to process the payment even when there is no money i will have to be cautious a few days later i got hit with the same fee for the same bill pay a second time since then my bills have been payed out 3 more times and the same thing keeps happening they are double charging me for a bill pay that the funds were not available for so i called and the lady told me the bill pays were sent out the payee tried to cash it and thats why it charged me the problem i had with that is the charges were overdrafts not an nsf and an overdraft and if the payee tried to cash it they all would have had to cash it twice every single time it didnt go through for the charges to make sense i called again a week or so later and spoke to a manager which was just the other day she informed me that the reason i get charged twice is because golden west does not handle there own bill pays a third party company does so regardless if i have money or not the company sends out the bill pay it gets returned they charge golden west who in turn charges me which would be understandable to some degree but then they do it again for the same bill on the same billing cycle within a couple days of eachother and the manager told me its just like any other merchant they are just trying to get there money by trying to send out the bill multiple times but if i dont have the money in my account goldenwest should not allow this 3rd party company to do this and that led me to check the entire page about the bill pay policies and everything else about bill pay no where on there is there a disclaimer letting you know it is a 3rd party company with no access to your account to see if the funds are actually available nor does it disclose if the funds are not available that they will try to process it multiple times in the last few months i have paid thousands in overdrafts and i know for a fact 36 of them shouldnt have been charged but at this point im wondering how much money i have been scammed in the entirety of holding an account with goldenwest i fully intend to expose this because no one should be taken advantage of this way everytime this 3rd party company process a payment that wont go through goldenwest makes $2 per time they process it without providing any service or product to justify that payment that is a pawnsy scheme

Desired Settlement: I honestly do not know what would make this right i do not know if any amount of money would make this right i have had multiple accounts through goldenwest multiple times and i feel ripped off. by having to pay all of those additional overdrafts i wasnt able to pay other bills i signed read and agreed to the disclaimers at the time feeling like this is a credit union they have the best interest of the people in mind the employees i believe do but the corporation in itself does not bill pay has been up for a long time and im sure im not the first person to catch on to this but i will be interested to see how many other people have been scammed out of their money i will wait for a response for a few days from goldenwest but after that i am going to my attorney and get gephardt i have saved the pages from goldenwest as they are now so that the proof is there and an update cannot be added or documents changed as well as i have saved all of my banking information.

Consumer Response: I want at least 32 of the overdrafts reversed which is $792 credited back to my account that is from what i saw the majority of the error in their system. They also just recently changed the bill pay profile interface to where it does say ipaysolutions 3rd party bill pay vendor but there are still no disclaimers supporting what they are doing and letting the customers know of this. They manager i spoke to did return 5 overdrafts but she said that was they most she could do which is what lead me to report it i want my $792 back but i do not think that is where it stopped i have been getting these massive overdraft charges for awhile but i will settle for that for now

Business Response: Contact Name and Title: **** ****
Contact Phone: ************
Contact Email: *****@gwcu.org
The credit union has tried to contact ******* multiple times and our call center manager has left him a message each time with her direct ext.

The situation is that ******* has set up automatic payments to companies as well as set up recurring payments on bill pay. He opted out of Courtesy Pay in September and presumed that he would never have a $22.00 fee again. He continued having companies automatically withdrawal from his account as well as his recurring payments from bill pay. There was not enough funds in the account to cover the bills he had set up or scheduled. Because he did not have enough funds for all the transactions clearing the account, he was assessed a $22.00 overdrawn fee. The transactions were not paid to the companies. He does not have Courtesy Pay nor does he have an Overdraft line of credit on his account. He received the fees because he did not have enough funds to clear the transactions he authorized. He would have received a Schedule Of Fees notice when he opened his new account that does list that there is a $22.00 Non-Sufficient Funds fee (per item - checks and electronic). This is not the same fee as the $22.00 Courtesy Pay fee. He does refer to the Overdrawn fee as an Overdraft fee which is not correct.

The credit union would like to reach *******. He states in his complaint he doesn't know if any amount of money would make this right. The credit union would like the opportunity to educate Mr. ******* on his options, provide additional knowledge about the situation in trying to resolve his concerns, and assist Mr. ******* with his fees. We are unable to do so without conversing with him.

Since we have been unable to reach Mr. *******, we are unable to resolve this issue. We would like to resolve the issue and urge Mr. ******* to contact us.

Our call center manager is **** ****, and she can be reached at ************. Please advise Mr. ******* to contact her as she is the best person to assist in this matter.

Consumer Response: (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I do not accept this response because every time I spoke with someone from golden west this is what happens they manipulate the fact that I do not know the "correct" terminology rather than addressing the true problem regardless of what the fee is called it being assesed multiple times in a few days period for trying to process the same payment is not disclosed I have the list of explained fees but no where in there does it explain that because golden west has a third party handle the Bill pay portion of their system they have no control over the amount of fees you will be charged for not having enough money in the account I can understand one charge and if this was an in house process that's all it would be. Also if I was that mistaken why did golden west take the bill pay section of the website and completely rebuild the entire interface including adding that a third party handles the bill pays not golden west it is illegal for a company to charge another company or person without a product or service being provided and that is what my entire claim is about is the second charge on every bill pay that didn't go through due to me not having enough money the first charge makes sense the second one is a ploy for the company to profit $2.00 for each transaction that does not go through I will not speak to **** at this point hints why I reported the business to the bbb because nothing was happening I do not want to be educated on how to do their job or how the inner workings of a bank are I want my money.

Business Response: The complainant may contact our call center manager, **** ****, at ************ if he changes his mind in resolving this matter.

Business Response: The credit union's offer to resolve this issue has not been accepted by the complainant. Since there is nothing the credit union can do if the complainant chooses to not respond to our offer to resolve the matter, we consider this matter closed. If the complainant chooses to contact our call center matter to resolve this issue, he is free to do so.

7/22/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Golden West has been making negative/false reports on my credit since April 2014 on accounts that were discharged in a bankruptcy 7 years ago. On 6.27.14 I was informed that I have negative reports on my credit history beginning in April 2014. Golden West Credit Union merged with my old bank and has been reporting $8,043 "charged off" and and amount of $2,915 is delinquent and in collections on my credit. I have never had an account with this bank, and the loan that they are reporting was discharged in a bankruptcy in June of 2009 through USU Credit Union, NOT Golden West. I do not know the account number there, as I have never opened an account or applied for any loans. In fact, I did not even know what Golden West Credit Union was. When speaking with the customer service reps at Golden West, some have been rude and ignorant on the process of removing these reports. I was told by the first representative on 6.27.14 that ***** would begin the process of correction that evening, and ***** would finish the process the following day. However, when speaking with ****** she stated that nothing had been done, and could not be done until Monday. I expressed my concern, as Monday is the day they report to the credit bureaus and I could not afford yet another false negative report. She was not sympathetic and stated that "I told you yesterday that an assistant manager has to do that and they will not be here until Monday". I asked if she could guarantee me if the stop could be made before reporting to the credit bureau, she stated that she could not. They cannot guarantee me that they can stop another negative reporting on 6.30.14. ****** was rude and unapologetic. She stated that we had a conversation on 6.27.14, which is false. She would make statements like "I already told you yesterday that no one can do anything about it until Monday". However, I have never had a prior conversation with this woman. She is not familiar with the process of removing false reports, yet calls herself a "specialist". The tone of voice used was demeaning and she spoke to me as if I was a child. I requested information on the process that has to be gone through to return my credit back to it's previous state, she did not know. The first representative I spoke with was kind. However, she did notify me that I am not the first person that this has happened to since the merge. I am now in a position that I have to spend time and money fixing their problem. I am having to dispute this with the credit bureau's, pay for a service so that I can ensure that the corrections are being made. I am unable to obtain any loans. I have worked extremely hard to get my credit recovered from the bankruptcy, and have done very well. Now my credit is destroyed, as well as my husbands! Again, I have NEVER had an account with Golden West, I did not even know they existed.

Desired Settlement: I would like to see my credit returned to the way it was before they reported in April, 2014. That includes the proper credit score, as well as the reports completely wiped off of my report. I would also like a monetary amount that is equal to my costs and time that has been put into dealing with their error. I would also like to see some sort of compensation for my inability to obtain a loan. (I was in the process of applying for a boat loan when I found out about the negative reports on my credit. I sold my boat in good faith that I would be able to obtain financing. However, I am not able to do so due to the negative reports from Golden West from April, May, and now possibly June 2014).

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/07/10) */ Contact Name and Title: ****** ******, Vice President Collections Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: *******@gwcu.org Goldenwest Credit Union and USU Credit Union merged their core systems on 3/1/2014. Due to the merge and circumstances beyond our control, a few duplicate tradelines have reported in error. The USU Credit Union member who filed this complaint called Goldenwest on Friday, June 27th, and brought inaccurate credit reporting issues to our attention. Collection management had left for the weekend, so our collections officer let the member know we will assist with the correction on Monday morning. The member called back on Monday morning, and we immediately began making the corrections. We made the corrections on both the husband and the wife's credit reporting, and it now reads the same as it did before our merger. The Goldenwest Credit Union reporting has been completely deleted from both reports, and only the USUCU loans remain. Our collection manager provided the member with a letter explaining inaccurate reporting as the members were in the process of obtaining a boat loan and needed to provide the lender an explanation for duplicate reporting. After receiving and reviewing the facts surrounding this complaint, on July 9th and 10th our vice president over collections called and spoke with our member to apologize for the inaccurate reporting, to explain the corrections had been completed, and to work through issues the inaccurate reporting caused our member. The situation with the employee mentioned in the complaint has been addressed appropriately. We consider this complaint to be resolved after speaking with our member again today. .

7/2/2014 Problems with Product/Service

Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Goldenwest Credit Union
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)