Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Deseret First Credit Union

Additional Locations

Phone: (801) 535-0500 Fax: (801) 535-0568 View Additional Phone Numbers 2480 S 3850 W Ste C, Salt Lake City, UT 84120 http://www.dfcu.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Deseret First Credit Union meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Deseret First Credit Union include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Deseret First Credit Union
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: March 17, 1997 Business started: 08/01/1955 Business started locally: 08/01/1955 Business incorporated 08/04/1955 in UT
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Financial Institutions
324 South State St Ste 201, Salt Lake City UT 84111
www.dfi.utah.gov
Phone Number: (801) 538-8830

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Shane London, CFO Mr. Darrell Kirby, Public Relations Speciali Mr. Brent Lawrence, Marketing Director Ms. Amy Ogden, Company Contact Mr. Connon Williams, Asst Vice President
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Mr. Darrell Kirby, Public Relations Speciali
Principal: Mr. Shane London, CFO
Business Category

Credit Unions


Additional Locations

  • 10588 S Redwood Rd

    South Jordan, UT 84095 (801) 446-8101

  • 147 N 200 W

    Salt Lake City, UT 84103 (800) 326-3328 (801) 456-7000

  • 1610 N Main St

    Logan, UT 84341 (435) 787-0991

  • 2480 S 3850 W Ste C

    Salt Lake City, UT 84120 (801) 535-0500

  • 337 N State St

    Orem, UT 84057 (801) 226-0900

  • 390 S Main St

    Bountiful, UT 84010 (801) 292-1416

  • 4645 S 2700 W

    Salt Lake City, UT 84129 (801) 963-4900

  • 55 N 300 W # 710

    Salt Lake City, UT 84101 (801) 328-8000

  • 60 E South Temple Ste 187

    Salt Lake City, UT 84111 (801) 538-0894

  • 6060 Fashion Blvd

    Salt Lake City, UT 84107 (801) 265-2650

  • 616 S River Rd Frnt

    St George, UT 84790 (435) 656-5656

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

10/31/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: DFCU refuses to accept paid in full payment on debt so they can continue interest charges. When I totalled my car DFCU would not accept payment from Farmers Insurance company for months claiming their FAX machine was broken. They continued to charge me late payments during this time. The gap insurance that I had was through them. They claimed that could not get paid for months because the person in charge was on maternity leave. In the subsequent months when I have tried to settle the amount ft hey have refused to accept payment unless I also paid and exorbitant fee.

Desired Settlement: I just want to pay the deductible owed of $500.

Business Response: Contact Name and Title: ********* ******** Compliance Officer
Contact Phone: **********
Contact Email: ******************@dfcu.com
Our member's account was on an extended hold at the time of his accident and we did not make contact with him during the month that it occurred. When we did try to resume contact about late payments, our phone calls went unanswered. As soon as we received notice of the accident at the end of February, we contacted our member's insurance company and arranged to receive payment from them. Unfortunately, the insurance company valued the car for less than the amount still owed on the loan. When this became apparent, DFCU provided our member with the contact information he needed to file a claim with his GAP insurance and assisted him in filing his claim. We explained that DFCU is not actually his insurance provider and that we have no control over how much his GAP insurance covers. There are certain charges that GAP insurance does not cover, as properly disclosed in the insurance documents. We apologize for any confusion this may have caused. The insurance payments were received and processed within two months of our receiving notice of the accident. As soon as we received payment from the insurance companies it was posted to the account and backdated to the date of the accident. Because our member indicated that he would not make anymore payments on the amount still owed on the loan, DFCU referred the matter to an outside collection agency. When our member offered to settle for $500, we said we would accept $1,000, which was $375 less than he still owed. DFCU is still willing to settle this matter for $1,000.

5/21/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Bank is sending the personal information of their customers to me I am not a customer of DFCU, and never have been. However, in June 2013, one of their customers used my e-mail address to open an account with DFCU. I immediately informed them that they had the wrong address, and requested that they remove my address from their list, both to stop their unsolicited e-mail and because they were sending forms and personal information about their customer to me. I never received a response. I e-mailed them twice more over the next year at several different e-mail addresses, again with no response. However, they continue to send me (1) junk mail, (2) forms for their customer with the customer's personal information, and (3) password instructions for logging into the customer's account. I would think they would be more concerned about protecting the privacy and account information of their customers.

Desired Settlement: (1) Permanently remove my contact information from your system. (2) Provide a written explanation of your failure to protect your customers' personal information. (3) Provide a written explanation of your failure to respond to multiple notifications that you were exposing your customers' personal information.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/04/25) */ Contact Name and Title: ******* *****, Public Relations Specialist Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: *************@dfcu.com The complainant's email address is *************@gmail.com. We have a member whose email address is ************@gmail.com. That latter email address was corrected to such on 4/10/14 and the complainant should no longer receive any email messages Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2014/04/28) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) Mr. *****'s response is erroneous. Gmail does not differentiate between e-mail addresses with periods in them. Therefore, "*************@gmail.com" and "************@gmail.com" are in fact the same e-mail address. Had Mr. ***** taken the time to contact his customer to verify his e-mail address, he would learn that his customer's address is not, and cannot possibly be "************@gmail.com", because that address is mine. See: https://support.google.com/mail/answer/10313?hl=en Additionally, Mr. ***** fails to provide an explanation of DFCU's failure to protect their customers' personal information. Mr. ***** further fails to provide an explanation of DFCU's failure to respond to multiple notifications that they were exposing their customers' personal information. Final Business Response /* (4000, 9, 2014/05/09) */ This will require follow-up with our member services department to determine the reason for the incorrect email address. Final Consumer Response /* (4200, 11, 2014/05/21) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) Awaiting confirmation from business that they have followed up with their member services department and removed the contact information.