Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that America First Credit Union meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for America First Credit Union include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 11 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

11 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 3 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 6
Delivery Issues 1
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 4
Total Closed Complaints 11

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on America First Credit Union
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 1
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: May 01, 1985 Business started: 01/01/1939 Business started locally: 01/01/1939
Business Management
Mr. John Lund, CEO Ms. Rebecca Drysdale, Senior VP, Compliance Div Ms. Tammy Gallegos, VP Service Quality
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Ms. Tammy Gallegos, VP Service Quality
Principal: Mr. John Lund, CEO
Business Category

Credit Unions

Alternate Business Names
American First Credit Union

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

America First Credit Union has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 10400 S Bangerter Highway

    South Jordan, UT 84095

  • 10767 S Redwood Rd

    South Jordan, UT 84095

  • 1080 W 300 N

    Clearfield, UT 84015

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    1120 W Pioneer Blvd

    Mesquite, NV 89027

  • 11453 S Parkway Dr

    South Jordan, UT 84095

  • 1170 Washington Blvd

    Ogden, UT 84404

  • 1189 E 700 S

    St George, UT 84790

  • 125 E 13800 S

    Draper, UT 84020

  • 1263 W 12th St

    Marriott-slaterville City, UT 84404

  • 1344 W 4675 S

    Ogden, UT 84405

  • 13502 S Hamilton View Rd

    Riverton, UT 84065

  • 1355 Sandhill Rd

    Orem, UT 84058

  • 1356 E Highway 193

    Layton, UT 84040

  • 1356 S Main St

    Orem, UT 84058

  • 1360 S Foothill Dr

    Salt Lake City, UT 84108

  • 13866 S Bangerter Parkway

    Draper, UT 84020

  • 1400 N State St

    Provo, UT 84604

  • 1476 N Freedom Blvd

    Provo, UT 84604

  • 1500 Snow Creek Dr

    Park City, UT 84060

  • 1550 N Main St

    Logan, UT 84341

  • 1554 W Sunset Blvd

    St George, UT 84770

  • 1706 E 1300 S

    Salt Lake City, UT 84108

  • 172 N Fort Ln

    Layton, UT 84041

  • 1724 N 2000 W

    Clinton, UT 84015

  • 1799 S Pioneer Rd

    Salt Lake City, UT 84104

  • 180 N 3400 W

    Hurricane, UT 84737

  • 1820 W 9000 S

    West Jordan, UT 84088

  • 187 E 1000 N

    Spanish Fork, UT 84660

  • 200 N Main St

    Salem, UT 84653

  • 200 N Station Pkwy

    Farmington, UT 84025

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    2255 E Centennial Pkwy

    North Las Vegas, NV 89081

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    230 Moapa Valley Blvd

    Overton, NV 89040

  • 2575 N 400 E

    Ogden, UT 84414

  • 2645 N Washington Blvd

    Ogden, UT 84414

  • 268 S State St

    Salt Lake City, UT 84111

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    2699 N Tenaya Way

    Las Vegas, NV 89128

  • 2715 W 5400 S

    Taylorsville, UT 84129

  • 2788 W 3650 S

    West Valley City, UT 84119

  • 309 S Main St

    Nephi, UT 84648

  • 3189 S Richmond St

    Salt Lake City, UT 84106

  • 325 36th St

    Ogden, UT 84405

  • 326 N Main St

    Kaysville, UT 84037

  • 3371 S Orchard Dr

    North Salt Lake, UT 84054

  • 3444 W 4800 S

    Roy, UT 84067

  • 3499 S State St

    South Salt Lake, UT 84115

  • 35 E 100 S

    Brigham City, UT 84302

  • 350 E Pages Ln

    Centerville, UT 84014

  • 350 N Main St

    Clearfield, UT 84015

  • 350 W Hope Ave

    Salt Lake City, UT 84115

  • 3535 W 5600 S

    Roy, UT 84067

  • 358 N Harrisville Rd

    Ogden, UT 84404

  • 3650 Wall Ave

    Ogden, UT 84405

  • 3750 Harrison Blvd

    Ogden, UT 84403

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    3846 W Sahara Ave

    Las Vegas, NV 89102

  • 3955 W 3500 S

    West Valley City, UT 84120

  • 3981 S Wasatch Blvd

    Salt Lake City, UT 84124

  • 425 Heritage Park Blvd

    Layton, UT 84041

  • 451 W Parrish Ln

    Centerville, UT 84014

  • 4519 S 1300 E

    Millcreek, UT 84117

  • 455 E 500 S Ste 100

    Salt Lake City, UT 84111 (801) 547-0496 (801) 627-0900 (801) 627-0925 (801) 778-8418 (801) 778-8515 (801) 778-8570 (801) 778-8638 (801) 778-8680 (801) 778-8723 (801) 778-8770 (801) 778-8805 (801) 778-8900 (801) 778-8930 (801) 965-3015 (801) 966-5553 (800) 999-3961

  • 4768 Harrison Blvd

    Ogden, UT 84403

  • 4848 S 900 W

    Riverdale, UT 84405

  • 4874 W 6200 S

    Kearns, UT 84118

  • 49763 W 3500 S

    West Valley, UT 84119

  • 5219 S 4015 W

    Taylorsville, UT 84129

  • 534 N Harrisville Rd

    Ogden, UT 84404

  • 5370 S 1900 W

    Roy, UT 84067

  • 5454 S Redwood Rd

    Salt Lake City, UT 84123

  • 5469 S Redwood Rd

    Salt Lake City, UT 84123

  • 555 S 200 W

    Bountiful, UT 84010

  • 5662 S 2050 W

    Roy, UT 84067

  • 5675 W 6200 S

    West Valley City, UT 84118

  • 57 W Main St

    Santaquin, UT 84655

  • 580 S State St

    Clearfield, UT 84015

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    590 W Mesquite Blvd

    Mesquite, NV 89027

  • 611 W Pacific Dr (Hwy 89)

    American Fork, UT 84003

  • 660 S 1750 W

    Springville, UT 84663

  • 672 E 11400 S

    Draper, UT 84020

  • 6924 S 2300 E

    Cottonwood Heights, UT 84121

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    7130 N Durango Dr

    Las Vegas, NV 89149

  • 7451 S Campus View Dr

    West Jordan, UT 84084

  • 756 W 1700 S

    Clearfield, UT 84015

  • 763 Highway 198

    Payson, UT 84651

  • 7755 S 700 E

    Sandy, UT 84070

  • 780 E Main St

    Hyrum, UT 84319

  • 7859 S 3200 W

    West Jordan, UT 84088

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    840 Front St

    Caliente, NV 89008

  • 850 S Main St

    Smithfield, UT 84335

  • 868 E 800 N

    Orem, UT 84097

  • 88 S Fairfield Rd

    Layton, UT 84041

  • 90 W Center St

    Spanish Fork, UT 84660

  • 931 W State Rd

    Pleasant Grove, UT 84062

  • 9380 S State St

    Sandy, UT 84070

  • 9400 S 2104 E

    Sandy, UT 84092

  • 949 W Grassland Dr

    American Fork, UT 84003

  • HAFB Building 1235

    Hill AFB, UT 84056

  • HAFB Building 230

    Hill AFB, UT 84056

  • HAFB Building 431

    Hill AFB, UT 84056

  • Wilkinson Student Center

    Provo, UT 84602

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

7/2/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Last year I went to withdrawal finds out of my bank account. I found out that my account was empty and went to speak to a teller. They advised me my account was at a zero balance. I sat down with a loan adviser and applied for a loan and to discuss my account. We itemized my account and discussed withdrawal I didn't recognize. There was roughly $3600.00 that I did not recognize. The lady who was helping me asked me if I wanted them to do an investigation to prove they were my withdrawals and not fraudulent. I asked that they did and she advised me they would research my account for the last 90 days. She told me it was a lengthy process because they would have to research each charge. I agreed that it was fine and I was happy to wait. I finished my loan process and was sent on my way. I called the branch as well as the call center to make sure it was being handled. Numerous times I was told it was being looked into. Months went by and no update. I have been struggling ever since. Recently I spoke with a few employees and was advised that they had no request of me wanting to dispute the charges and that it was too late to do them now. I was furious. I tried speaking with the branch manager but unfortunately was ignored. I filed a complaint with the branch manager but every time I attempted to reach her, the employees told me she was not available. I ended up receiving a card with tickets to a local movie theater and a note from the manager apologizing for my frustrations. I tried to reach her again but had no luck. Earlier this week I attempted to apply for a loan and was advised that due to my debt I was not approved. I am furious! Because of them not submitting my dispute I'm falling deeper and deeper into debt. I wrote the email address asking them for the branch information and explained I was going to file a BBB complaint and also speak to an attorney at the law firm I work for. The only response I received was to call the branch with further questions. I called and told the branch the same information. I was told I'd receive a call back. That has yet to happen.

Desired Settlement: I want them to either give me back the $3600.00 I am missing or approve me for a $4000 loan to help me get back on my feet.

Business Response:

The primary concern from the Member stems from “roughly $3600” in ATM transactions that were unrecognized.  There are two noted instances where this was discussed with representatives at AFCU—one over the phone and one in branch (Clearfield Main) on 6/30/2014.  Both instances resulted in lack of follow up from Member, despite multiple attempts to reach out further.  In the first conversation, Member left with intention of reviewing her statements and was responsible to follow up with AFCU.  In the second conversation (same day—two hours later), Member was unwilling to temporarily disable or cancel PIN, and she did so knowing she would be responsible for transactions as a result of this.  Member noted in product review submitted on 7/13/2014 that she intentionally hung up on our representative on 6/30/2014.  Member follow up over the phone at this point results in left messages with no response from Member in regards to the fraud.  We confirmed with the America First Credit Union Fraud Management department that no fraud-related affidavits have ever been received on this account.  Member has submitted a product review, online member feedback and Member survey in the last 12 months, all related to this same issue.  Several noted attempts to follow up and reach out to the Member were unsuccessful.  

3/6/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We paid off our mortgage May 7 2014. They reported late in May. We disputed through the credit reporting and they corrected tranunion, but updated equifax and experian as late in May and June 2014. We called today and we're advised they pulled a bullseye and will remove the May and June late payments this was communicated by manager *******. Then they emailed us 20 minutes later stating they are reporting accurate. How can I be late in June if paid off in May??? And May was not 60 days late it was paid off before grace. They lied and deceived on the phone. I called again and manager ****** confirms she understands, but stands by decision it's accurate. What a joke! They need to remove the 60 days delinquent from equifax and experian it's clearly wrong. ****** stated to file complaint so hear it is, no please fix it. This should be simple to see how wrong it is. Plus if you confirm on the phone you will remove it then stand by your word and don't deceive me. She confirmed via research dept on bullseye it was wrong why did their answer change?

Desired Settlement: Fix my credit remove inaccurate lates in May and June, do what you said you would do

Business Response:

The account number in question is actually XXXXXXXX.  I hope this works for you.  If it’s too much information, we can always pair it down.

 

I called and spoke with ***** ******* on 02/23/2015.  ***** ****** had given us authorization to speak with her about his account.  ***** was upset that she was told that there was an error with how we were reporting loan #7 and that we were going to correct it on 02/20/2015.  The employee who had looked at what we reported to the credit bureaus realized that she had read the information incorrectly and tried to call *****.  There was no answer and no voice mail to the employee sent an email apologizing for the mistake.  I explained how the information was misread, but once it was read correctly, we showed that the information that we had reported to the credit bureaus was accurate.  I sent a complete history for the loan to ***** in an email that showed when payments were made and how ***** had fallen behind.  ***** was also concerned that information was sent to the credit bureaus in June when the loan was paid off in May.  I explained how we report information to the credit bureaus once a month and we do it at the beginning of the following month, so the information for May is sent in June. 

 

***** also said that we are reporting 60 days late twice on two of the credit bureaus.  I let her know that the information that we are sending only shows one 60 day late.  I also told her that to get this fixed, she would have to dispute it through the credit bureaus which were showing the inaccurate information.  I let her know that I would watch E-Oscar for the disputes and then I would personally fix anything that was showing incorrectly on them.  ***** is going to have ***** and ***** ****** submit the disputes. 

 

I also emailed a letter to *****, at her request, that stated the following,

 

To whom it may concern:

 

Loan #7, on account XXXXXXXX, was paid in full on 05/05/2014.  No further payment were required for this loan after this payment.

 

If you have any questions, please call our Member Contact Center at **************.

 

Sincerely,

 

***** *********

Member Service

 

I also let ***** know that I would call her once I had received and completed the disputes.

 

 

1/22/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: This Company(American First Credit Union) STILL have been reported ME on all three credit bureaus as Charge off. This is affecting me greatly and is reducing chances for me and my husband from buying a home. Their account was settled and paid off completely through their collection agency (Bonneville Billing). As agreed boneville have already deleted all negative reports from my credit BUT American first credit union is yet to do so which is greatly affecting my chances of buying a home. I am therefore requesting that they completely delete the charge-off reports reported on all three of my credit reports which is currently damaging my credit. Ps find below the account details and infoAMER FST CU TransUnion Experian Equifax Account #:************** ************************* ***************** Condition:DerogatoryDerogatoryDerogatory Balance:$0$0$0 Type:Line of creditCheck credit/Line of credit Pay Status:Collection/ChargeoffCollection/ChargeoffCollection/Chargeoff

Desired Settlement: I AM REQUESTING THAT THEY COMPLETELY DELETE THE COLLECTION/CHARGE OFF STILL SHOWING ON ALL THREE OF MY CREDIT REPORT, AS THIS ACCOUNT IS COMPLETELY PAID/SETTLED THROUGH ITS COLLECTION AGENCY AND AS AGREED THEY HAVE ALREADY DELETED THE INFO FROM MY CREDIT REPORT.

Business Response:

America First wrote off the checking and LOC balances on account ********* 1/31/2012. The LOC was $****** and the checking was $*****. The member paid Bonneville the $***** which didn’t report to credit but the LOC write off is still showing, which is correct. AFCU sent two separate debts to Bonneville but it appears Bonneville thought one was a duplicate so they deleted it. We have called them to have it added back on. 

The LOC showing as a Charge Off is correct. In the event the member chooses to pay the Charge Off it will be changed to show Paid Charge Off, but we will not delete it from the credit rating.

3/19/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have trouble with America First Credit Union as soon as I started using their online mobile deposit. As soon as I deposit the check it shows up in my account online. Therefor it looks as though it is available, so I used my debit card believing that the funds were available. I was charge $25 for each transaction I made before the check cleared. I then called the bank and they refunded half of the overdraft charges. I was then told that the mobile checks take two days to clear and there is no way to tell online if the funds are available. My next check I deposited and waited two days. Even though I was told that $200 of my deposit were available...the bank charged me over $200 in overdraft. I had deposited sufficient funds, but they chose to hold it for longer than two days. I feel America First Credit Union uses deceptive practices such as withholding funds as well as pushing transactions through so that they can charge fees. They have refused to refund my money which they stole from my account in the form of overdraft fees and now say that I owe them over $300. I will be filing a complaint with the Federal Reserve against America First Credit Union for unfair and misleading practices.

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Refund I would prefer to settle out. They refund the unfair over draft fees and I will pay the difference.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 9, 2014/02/04) */ Contact Name and Title: ****** ********* Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: **********@americafirst.com In August 2013 the member started using Mobile Deposit, she received four fees, all of which were rebated.  At that time she spoke with a supervisor who explained how Mobile Deposit worked.  She used Mobile in Sept and no fees were assessed.  She used it October 12th , and had charges that were authorized prior to deposit being made come through.  There were five fees between 10/15-10/16.  On October 25th, she used it again.  She was already in the negative at this point, it cleared the negative and then she had a check that cleared that night causing a fee.  Another fee was assessed on 10/28 for a POSST that the funds were unavailable for.  It's generally two "Business" days, and business days are M-F.  The deposit on 10/12 was made on a Sat and the deposit on 10/25 was made on a Friday. There were 11 fees assessed in conjunction with mobile deposit and we rebated 4 of them, this is almost half which is what we normally do. I will refund two more fees as a courtesy, however this was not a credit union error. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 11, 2014/02/11) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I was never told that it is "generally" two business days. The credit union is open on Saturdays for walk in deposits. Why would I think I could not deposit a mobile check on a Friday or Saturday and have it clear by end-of-day Monday. the other issue is that the website is misleading. Right after I deposit a mobile check it show in my account as current balance. The instance of 10/12/13 my account said I had $200 of my deposit available. The last issue is that the credit union purposefully pushes through charges to have them clear before my check does. A credit transaction on my debit card usually clears in two days, so if I have an emergency which I did on the 28th, I have leeway to use my funds which are about to post. I know that this is predatory practices by the American First Credit Union and I am pursuing charges against them for illegally, immorally withholding funds. Final Business Response /* (4000, 15, 2014/03/03) */ Contact Name and Title: ***** ******* Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: ********@americafirst.com Current balance and available balance are clearly stated in both Online Banking and Mobile Banking. When the member made a deposit their current balance is updated but the available balance is clearly not updated until the hold on funds is removed. In addition, at the time of deposit the member received a message informing them that "Funds are held until verified." Member has accepted the terms and conditions to use Mobile Banking which includes the "Remote Deposit Services Agreement" In this agreement funds availability is addressed along with the member responsibility. https://www.americafirst.com/about/disclosures/remote-deposit-service-agreement.cfm

3/5/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Purchased a vehicle through America First Credit Union. They claim that I did not have insurance and have instituted a retroactive insurance. On November 1, 2014, I purchased a 2013 Hyundai through America First Credit Union. They initially requested proof of insurance for the vehicle which I had my insurance provider send over to them. I then hear nothing from them until January 2014, where they then say that I did not prove that I had insurance during November 1 to December 3. AFCU then charged me $800 for retroactive insurance on my vehicle and has increased my monthly payment over $60 to pay for the retroactive insurance that I did not need. I have spoken with my insurance and AFCU. Neither are willing to help me and I cannot afford this new payment increase. I believe that the retroactive insurance is fraudulent business practices. How is it legal for a company to increase my payment for a service that covers nothing. When I spoke with AFCU they refused to help me in anyway or negotiate a settlement.

Desired Settlement: I request that the retroactive insurance be removed from my account. If that is not possible I seek that the increase in payment be made more reasonable.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 7, 2014/02/07) */ Contact Name and Title: ******* **** Call Center Manager Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: *****@americafirst.com Mr. **** took out a loan with America First Credit Union on 11-1-13. We financed a 2013 Hyundai Santa Fe. Mr. **** signed an Insurance Coverage Acknowledgement document agreeing to carry full coverage insurance and that he would list America First Federal Credit Union as the loss payee. He signed this document on 11-1-13. Mr. **** failed to provide proof of insurance until 12-3-13. In order for us to protect our interest, we had to force place insurance. We welcome Mr. **** to visit a loan officer at any branch or to call our Loan ********** to see if he would qualify for a loan modification, which could possibly lower his payment. Best Regards, ******* ****

6/7/2013 Delivery Issues
2/8/2013 Billing/Collection Issues
1/24/2013 Billing/Collection Issues
12/26/2012 Problems with Product/Service
11/20/2012 Problems with Product/Service
9/27/2012 Problems with Product/Service