Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

Credit card processing services for small merchants. Commission payments for consumers that work for direct selling companies. 


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that ProPay USA meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for ProPay USA include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 38 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

38 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 19 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 3
Billing/Collection Issues 14
Delivery Issues 1
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 20
Total Closed Complaints 38

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on ProPay USA
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: June 22, 2000 Business started: 04/03/1997 in UT Business started locally: 04/03/1997 Business incorporated 04/03/1997 in UT
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Lance Rich, Vice President Mr. Scott Nelson, VP of Marketing Ryan Oakes, COO
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Lance Rich, Vice President
Business Category

Credit Card Processing Service Payment Processing Service Personal Services

Alternate Business Names
Propay.com
Products & Services

ProPay provides credit card processing and other payment services to individuals and small businesses.


Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

ProPay USA has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 3400 Ashton Blvd Ste 200

    Lehi, UT 84043 (866) 573-0951 (801) 341-5300

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

2/3/2016 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a Platinum account with ProPay ON 12/23/2015. I received an email from ProPay the same day stating that the account was activated. I logged into the account in an attempt to find out about their API for a web application I am developing. This is the whole reason I signed up for an account. I emailed ************@propay.com to find out about the API on 12/23/2015. As of the date of this complaint, I have not yet received a response. I received an email from ProPay on 12/24/2015 asking for additional information to verify the account. I responded the same evening with all the requested documents. As of the date of this complaint, I have not yet received a response. I received an automated email from ProPay on 12/28/2015 with information on getting started with the account. I logged in and confirmed at that time that the account was still not activated. I sent yet another email, this time to ProPay's customer service. On the website, it guarantees a response within one business day to email questions. As of the date of this complaint, I have not yet received a response. On 12/29/2015, I sent another email to the ProPay resolutions department asking for an update. As of the date of this complaint, I have not yet received a response. On 01/04/2016, I sent an email to ProPay customer service asking for them to cancel the account and refund the setup charges ($69.95) which was billed on 12/24/15. As of the date of this complaint, I have not yet received a response.

Desired Settlement: ProPay has not responded to any inquiries I've sent over, despite their guarantee of all emails to be answered within 1 business day. They have not responded to my request for refund under their guarantee. ProPay should cancel the account and refund the setup charge of $69.95

Business Response: Please provide supporting documentation that we billed you for the annual fee of $69.95. I am more than happy to issue a refund. 

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I filed a chargeback for the fees and was credited the money back to my account. A refund is no longer necessary.

Sincerely,

******* *****

1/21/2016 Billing/Collection Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
12/30/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I tried calling to cancel with no answer or call back from customer service until the second message left. They debited my card for the second payment and I stated that I cancelled and didn't wish to be charged. I was told there was 30day cancelation process and was outside of that but never got to speak to a representative until then. On this call I went all the way to a manager. Both the manager and customer service rep assured me the account was cancelled. It was not because on 11/30/2015 my account was debited and over drafted because of their error. I feel this company is unprofessional and a scam and I want all of my money refunded as I NEVER used any of their services. They then lied to me and put me in a predicament. I am very upset.

Desired Settlement: I want all the money returned to me from all 3 payments and an apology for the stress and drama they put me through.

Business Response: All fees have been refunded. Yes, the account was already cancelled. We did however follow our policies and procedures (that you agreed to) and have every right NOT to refund these fees. However, in good faith have done so.

Consumer Response:
Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because: the company has not told the truth all fees were not refunded only one was and I was inconvenienced and treated unprofessionally by the staff. Even now they continue to tell falsehoods like cancelling my service that was only canceled after I was charged fraudulently and spoke up sternly. I then had to report to both the BBB and on their Facebook page. It is sad that they continue business this way because there were others with the same and more problems. 

Sincerely,

****** *****

Business Response: The credit won't show up for a few days as they were issued today. We desire no further correspondence with this customer and will vigorously defend ourselves from false accusations and slander. 

10/23/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On 15 October 2015, I process two separate credit cards via ProPay phone application. I received an e-mail conformation for both transactions stating the funds would be available the next business day. As of October 19, 2015, the funds have not arrived. There is no information about the transactions on the website through a computer. On the phone application, the two transactions say they processed for $0.00. One customer states the transaction never went through her bank. The other customer stated, and has sent photo confirmation that the funds were taken out of their account. I have e-mailed ProPay customer service, and have not received a reply. I have called the company two different times, but the company did not answer. This is extremely inconvenient, as it makes my business and me look unprofessional.

Desired Settlement: I would like to receive a paper letter of apology via postal mail. I would also like to have the funds promised to me available immediately.

Business Response:

We researched the transactions that ****** mentioned in her concern.  They were pending in a separate report, as they were only authorized and not yet settled. We provided instructions for ****** to access this report and manually  settle the transactions to receive the payments from her customers.  She has settled them, and the funds have been added to her available balance. 

Consumer Response:
Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Sincerely,

****** *******

9/24/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: This company "ProPay"informed me by email, that my ProPay account had expired and needed to be renewed, in the meantime they took money out of my account to keep it open. I called them and informed them that I wanted they account closed. since I was no longer using it. I also wrote them and told them I wanted the account closed. They said on the phone that I could close it by withdrawing all of the funds through a transaction. When attempting to withdraw funds from the account which uses a Visa type card, I could not use the card as a Visa card, or an ATM card. I got an error message at the Walmart store I was attempting to use. I went to ProPay's website and attempted to reactivate the card which apparently went through. Upon further attempts to use the card, I received the same error message that the card couldn't be used. In the meantime, even after requesting the account closed, they have charged my account again and again to keep the account open. They claim they cannot close the account, credit the money back that they have charged me since I requested the account closed, nor issue me a check for the account balance as "It's not secure to issue a check." I guess no one that works there gets a paycheck.

Desired Settlement: I would like the $25 that I earned given to me and not these chiseling pirates who refuse to give me my money. Their repeated charges to "keep the account open" when requested closed, is purely crooked.

Business Response: Refunded all fees and spoke with customer. There was some confusion around a card provided by ProPay and one from another provider. Mr. **** is going to try and locate the card and use it where it's accepted or login to his ProPay account and transfer the remaining balance and close the account.

Consumer Response:  
Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Sincerely,

***** ****

9/9/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have sold Mary Kay off an on for about 4 years, I have always used Propay as a way to do credit card transactions. When I signed up for my business back in March of this year I signed up for propay again because all of my email address, actual physical address and phone numbers had changed and couldn't remember any of this information. My old account had been inactive for YEARS!! I PAID for a new account and had been processing credit card transactions without issue for months. At my first big Mary Kay party since I'd started my business back up I had a customer purchase several items bringing her total to about 172.00. I was having trouble getting into propay from my app on my phone (it's automatically logged into as soon as I put in my pin number) so I got onto my account the next day at work to charge my customer's card. When I went in to place the order for her (and other guests) the money wasn't showing up and I called propay and they assured me multiple times that the card had not been charged and I need to run it again. So despite my better judgment, I ran the card again and the next day my customer called me saying she was charged twice. She emailed me pictures of her statement which I forwarded to the email of propay while we were on the phone together. This went on for several days going back and forth asking about my customer's money as they kept assuring me that one charge was "up in the air" and should go back to my customer within 8 days. I was told to have my customer call her credit card company and dispute one of the charges, she had to WRITE the company and explain the whole situation for them to dispute the charge. About a week later I got an email that my propay account was in the negative and come to find out, her company disputed both charges. I was told my propay if I dispute them taking back the money then my customer would lose out on her money again but that if I don't pay the negative amount that my account would be sent to collections. I have been told that there's nothing else that they can do about it. When I feel that it was Propay's fault in the first place. Come to find out, the first charge I did on her credit card, the funds were placed in my OLD INACTIVE account and that's why they couldn't find them. I have lost my customer's business as well as earned a horrible reputation for being a Mary Kay consultant. I am humiliated, my customer has lost out on money, and my credit will be affected by this situation. All I want is for my customer to receive all her money back (receiving my product free) and for me to receive the funds back to my account releasing the negative hold.

Desired Settlement: Refund to me and my customer, cancellation of all propay accounts and for them to send me a formal apology.

Business Response: There is no record of a duplicate transaction. Mr. ******** WAS NOT billed twice. You need to supply supporting documentation showing what was purchased (Mary Kay invoice, etc.) so that we can refute his chargeback. We cannot rely on the customer to "cancel" the chargeback as that's not how the process works. Please send that documentation as soon as possible. 

9/9/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I assisted my grandson in setting up financial requirements for participation in selling products for a health improvement company. I deposited, into an account with PROPAY USA, several hundred dollars as agreed upon by the health improvement company. =PARAGRAPH= After a certain period of time it was apparent that this selling job was not going to work out for my grandson. I proceeded to withdraw the leftover funds, as agreed, and attempted to transfer them to my checking account. =PARAGRAPH= PROPAY USA was not clear in the way that they explained the method of transferring the balance in my account. I was working online for hours trying to get the correct log-in, password, and detailed requirements in order to transfer the funds. The funds never appeared in my account. I called over and over for weeks. =PARAGRAPH= Finally, I was told that I had to "validate" my account through PROPAY USA's system to my bank, before the funds would be sent. My bank (ZIONS BANK) was on the line in a 3-way conversation with me and PROPAY USA on one of the occasions. I wanted them there to verify the account numbers as I entered them. Another individual checked that I typed in the correct numbers. I had to go to this extreme because this was about my sixth or seventh phone call with PROPAY USA. I had began to doubt myself. =PARAGRAPH= To my frustration, the funds never arrived. Most recently, my son tried to help solve the problems in transferring these funds. The funds still didn't arrive into the account. Apparently, EVERY TIME A TRANSFER WAS ATTEMPTED AND RETURNED, I WAS CHARGED A $10 FEE FOR RETURNED FUNDS. I started out with $89 and now it is down to approximately $66. It was apparent by this time that there was something terribly wrong with PROPAY USA's online software system, and/or with their method of telling people how to use it. (Or in their method of earning extra cash on the side). I don't usually think this way, but getting a solution was seemingly impossible. =PARAGRAPH= Today, after a frustrating session and a very long wait on the phone, PROPAY USA FINALLY found the time to let me talk with a supervisor, who let me know, after all, that it WASN'T "required" to "validate" the account before the funds could be transferred. ??? I was also told that the charges would not be refunded, but that she could credit my PROPAY USA account with some token amount. ??? By this time I was so frustrated and exhausted, the thought of using my PROPAY USA card for anything left me numb. =PARAGRAPH= I am 77 years old and I don't believe that it is necessary for anyone to be at the mercy of faulty software and people that are unable to communicate on how to fix a prolonged problem within a reasonable amount of time.

Desired Settlement: I do not believe that this was my fault! I would take responsibility if it were. I have barely skimmed the surface of the hours that were spent on trying to resolve this problem that should have been taken care of weeks ago. It would seem that if the customer really mattered in a situation like this, there would be an apology, a satisfactory explanation, and a full refund of all the unfair charges under the circumstances.

Business Response: Our records show that a successful deposit occurred on 6/24/15 and that the account carries a zero balance.

Consumer Response:

 
Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

There was an original balance of $89.00. However, the amount transferred was $66.80. The principle is my concern.

Please re-read the original complaint.

Sincerely,

Francine P*****

Business Response: I don't have a mechanism to "add" what amounts to 20 more dollars to this account. Even if I did that would require the need for you to login again and transfer the funds out- the issue from the beginning. It's safe to say that the transfer errors and fees were not the result of any errors by ProPay but by the user. ProPay stands by it's claim of a fair resolution considering the menial amount in dispute. 

9/2/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I was looking for options to process eBay payments other than PayPal (who I am currently using). Ebay offers three services that are integrated into their program: PayPal, Skrill, and Propay. As previously stated, I wish to get away from PayPal, Skrill appears to be more for sales in Europe (which I do not), so I decided to try Propay. I send an email message to their sales department asking for some details about their service. I received a "read receipt" from the computer of Scott N***** stating that my message was deleted without being read. So, I decided to simply try the service... I completed their registration form and received a message that I needed to contact them. I did so... The woman I spoke to was very nice, but told me the department I needed to talk to was not open yet. A couple of days later I received a message from them stating that my application had been denied because my address could not be confirmed by Experian (a credit reporting agency) and I needed to complete an additional form and provide a couple of forms of identification. I completed the form and submitted it along with a copy of my ID, the original document from when I opened my bank account (I was asked for a cancelled check, but I do not use checks and all I have are temporary checks that do not list my name or address), and a copy of my business DBA (which was not asked for, but also lists my name and address). It has been nearly a month since I sent the documents and I have heard NOTHING. If Propay cannont conduct business they need to remove their service from ebay and eBay needs to offer more reliable services. As I said... I have no other options, as eBay only offers PayPal, Skrill, and Propay integrated into their program.

Desired Settlement: I would like someone to do their job. I provided the necessary documents to prove my identity and address and I want someone to complete the application so I can discontinue using PayPal in my eBay listing. I am already slightly unimpressed with Propay, but eBay currently gives me no other options.

Business Response: Please send supporting docs to **********@propay.com. Our records show that nothing has been received and reviewed. I suspect that we can approve this account and request. 

7/24/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: After repeated attempts to cancel my Propay account, including not following the steps mandated by the company to not continue an active account, I have received emails indicating that my account is still active, and now has a negative balance. In an email dated, 2-26-2013, i received an email thanking me for reactivating my acctoun. I NEVER reaactivated my account. And sent an email making the comopany aware that I no longer wished to continue service. I was never able to make contact or receive any follow-up. In an email dated 7-16-15, I received an email stating that my account has a negative balance. I made attempts to contact customer service, with no success. The customer service number listed on the website only leads to a series of advertisements, then lists a second, "new" number, which also leads only to new advertisements. I am very upset and do not want to be held financially responsible. I would like to be releived of any negative balance, have my account closed and never be contacted by propay again.

Desired Settlement: i want to be releived of any negative balance, my account closed and request no furher contact from propay in any manner.

Business Response: The account is closed and does indeed carry a zero balance. There was a system glitch that took several accounts negative which has since been corrected. You have no liability for this account.

7/2/2015 Problems with Product/Service
5/14/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I tried to run a customer's credit card through using the Propay equipment and program. It kept coming up with different errors and would not go through. The customer stated that she recently used the card and it was no where near overdrawn. I called Propay and was hung up on twice. Then, when I finally was able to talk to someone, she was unable to explain what could be the cause of the errors or how to fix them. The first response out of customer service should not be "I don't know". Her only offer was to restart the equipment or to try using the website and then she just hung up. After several attempts I was still unable to process the credit card. After the lack of customer service, I decided to cancel my recent renewal one day after submitting it. My current service should last until May 13th. Propay refuses to grant me a full refund because they state that the renewal account has already been set up. The cost would be $13 and some cents. I explained to the manager that I was hung up on repeatedly and she told me that her customer service people never hang up on customers. She was insinuating that I had lied about being hung up on and I felt she did not think my complaint was valid. The manager told me that it was in the contract that the $13 would be held however, she also agreed that a contract is only valid if both parties fulfill their agreement. Propay did not fulfill their obligation because their customer service hung up on me and could not provide service I paid for. The whole point of having a Propay account is to be able to allow customers the convenience of accepting credit card purchases for their business. If I can't accept a credit card and there is no support....WHY SHOULD I HAVE TO PAY ANYTHING?? The only reason that I am cancelling is because they did not provide adequate service and that should not be a penalty to me. It should be a business loss for their breakdown in customer service. I am very disappointed that Propay was unable to provide me with the service they advertise and that they were unable to resolve this issue. I am a Premier Designs jewelry lady and Premier recommends business to Propay.

Desired Settlement: I want a full refund of my renewal fee of $31.95.

Business Response:

Issued a full refund to the card used to pay for the account. If the customer would like to reopen the account at no charge she can email me at **********@propay.com.

Consumer Response:  
Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Sincerely,

********* *************

5/7/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I work for ********. And the way they pay me is buy direct depositing my funds into my propay account. The first time they did it I had no issues transfering the funds from my propay account into my bank account. The second time, propay put a freeze on my funds and requested that I provide them with a copy of my drivers license. they are not a local company and i have fraud protection on my credit and they advised me that emailing or mailing a copy of my drivers license to this company could put my identity at risk. I informed propay and they told me i had no choice, if i wanted my money i would have to email them my id. So i did, then i got an email from them stating that my drivers license would not work because it has a bend in it!! It has my picture, my name, the state of Maine right on it. they can call and see it is valid. They are holding my money hostage and i feel that its not their money to be able to control this way. I want my money and i want to close my account with them and they wont even let me do that!

Desired Settlement: I want my money and to close my account with them.

Business Response: communicated with the customer and re-reviewed her Drivers License. Validated her account and restored all services.

Consumer Response:  
Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Sincerely,

*** ******

5/1/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I signed up for a ProPay debit card on 2/20. As of today, 4/18, I STILL haven't received a card - and ProPay claims that they've sent out three of them. They have my correct address, so what's the problem?? Then yesterday, I was charged $39.95 for a "yearly renewal fee" for a card that I shouldn't be seeing ANY renewal fees for at all (the company I consult for pays the yearly renewal fee), much less 2 months after I became a consultant ... and for a card that I STILL DON'T HAVE. My only options are to let my hard-earned money sit in my ProPay account for God knows how long until a card actually manages to make it to my door or pay a $0.30 fee to have my money transferred to my bank account. I wonder how much money ProPay is making on all those "just" 30 cent fees they charge people??

Desired Settlement: I want to be refunded the $39.95 that was erroneously charged and I want to actually get a ProPay debit card so I don't have to pay their ransom demand - I mean transfer fee.

Business Response: The card was sent expedited mail.

UPS Next Day Air Saver
******************

4/23/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Signed up at propay.com for this companies service and was charged an annual fee. From the website there are several misrepresentations. They are "ACCEPT credit cards globally anytime, anywhere. Fast, online signup." "Its easy, set up your account in minutes and start accepting credit cards" "the simple secure way to accept cards" The following are the only requirements listed on the website to have an account: • Be at least 18 years of age. • Provide your Social Security number. • Provide a valid physical address in the United States. • Not be listed on the Visa®/MasterCard® Merchant Terminated File. • Provide your real name, phone number, and other basic contact information. • Have a bank account established within the United States that can accept incoming ACH transactions. • Have access to the Internet with a compatible web browser and printer. • Read and accept the terms provided in the Payment Services Agreement. • Not be listed on the U.S. Treasury Office of Foreign Asset Control's (OFAC) Specially Designated Nationals List. I went through a credit verification check. Also I met all of these requirements and my account was opened. I made several merchant charges and they immediately froze my account and asked for the following: 1. A copy of a voided bank check 2. A list of products or services sold including prices (a copy of a price list or URL of your schedule of fees would suffice) 3. A copy of your business license 4. A copy of your service agreement or a sample contract your customers sign 5. Supplier documentation and contact information (if applicable) 6. A copy of a local advertisement (if applicable) None of these new requirements were disclosed up front. Plus they froze my money. They could have easily asked these questions without freezing my funds. We have been in business since 1996 and never had one issue processing credit cards and not one credit card processing company has asked for documents such as this. We have also never paid an annual fee to have a merchant account. I spent alot of time providing the documents they asked for and think the annual fee should be reversed and the account to remain open. The company makes it sound simple and easy to sign up, but then when the have you locked in they ask for more. It is false advertising.

Desired Settlement: refund annual fee.

Business Response: Annual fee refunded on 4/14/2015. The credit should appear within about 5 business days to the card used for payment.

4/15/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: When I submitted a funds transfer, the website said it would take two to four business days. My money was taken from the bank account it was supposed to come from but has not yet been deposited to my propay account. When I called I was given a different timeline and told my money is "in Limbo." Their website says any email questions will be responded to in 1 business day and the last email inquiry I sent did not get a response for 2 weeks.

Desired Settlement: I want my money in my account immediately and their 24 hour guarantee for emails either changed or adhered to.

Business Response: The customer confirmed via email today 3/5/2015 that she received the $180 deposit.

Consumer Response:

 
Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

Sincerely,

****** *****

---------- Forwarded message ----------
From: ******** <********@gmail.com>
Date: Fri, Mar 6, 2015 at 9:30 AM
Subject: Complaint follow up
To: info@utah.bbb.org


Hello I filed a complaint with Propay and after I submitted my complaint, part of it was taken care of, so I was told to close the complaint. When I said not everything has been taken care of so I can't close the complaint, the money I was trying to transfer in to my account was taken out, I was charged a return check fee and now they are trying to charge me an insufficient funds fee. How do I get this cleared up?

4/11/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have a propay merchant account and the company will not release almost $1500 dollars in charges that my customers for my bar and grill charged for food and drink at my establishment several months ago. I have made several attempts with their customer service department asking them to release my funds so I can transfer the money from my propay account into my registered checking account with no success. I have emails assuring me that the money would be released April 1st, 2015. The website will still not allow me to make a transfer even though I have been promised by there customer service and resolutions departments that I should have access to my money. I have made every attempt to get them to release the money with no success. Please intercede and file a complaint with this inferior company. Thank You

Desired Settlement: File my complaint and Release my money in my ProPay account immediately, and a full apology for the poor service rendered.

Business Response: This was a simple oversight on our part. The funds will be released today and will be available for transfer to a bank account.

Consumer Response:  
Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Sincerely,

****** *****

4/1/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: 1. On February 14, 2015 I had my Debit card issued by them used fraudulently used with out my knowledge or my connect. 2. On February 15, 2015 I had my Debit card issued by them used fraudulently used with out my knowledge or my connect. 3. I tried to contract the company when I saw this was happening and they were closed and have NO PHONE NUMBER FOR A MERCHANT TO CONTRACT THEM BY TO STOP THE FRAUD! 4. I WENT ON THEIR WEBSITE AND TRIED TO CANCEL THE TRANSACTION THAT SAID THEY WERE PENDING AND HIT THE VOID BUTTON AND THINKING THAT WORKS I RETURNED TO BED ONLY TO FIND OUT THAT BUTTON DID NOT WORK AND NEVER HAS! 5. I SAW MORE TRANSACTION ON SUNDAY AN TRIED AGAIN TO NO AVAILE. 6. I CONTACTED THEM ON MONDAY AND TO REPORT IT TO THEM AND INFORM THEM THAT THEIR BUTTON DID NOT WORK AND I WAS TOLD THAT IS WAS NOT A BUTTON THAT WORD VOID OUTGOING TRANSACTION ONLY WORKED IF I VOIDED ONE OF MY CUSTOMERS CARDS. 7. THEY WERE AWARE OF THE PROBLEM BECAUSE THEY SEND ME AN EMAIL INFORMING ME THAT IT HAD HAPPENED AND THAT THEY CANCELED MY CARD. 8. I HAVE TALKED TO THEM SEVERAL TIMES AND EMAILED THEM AND THEY ASURED ME THAT I WOULD HAVE MY MONEY BACK WITH IN 72 HOURS 9. NOW THEY ARE SAYING IT CAN TAKE 10 DAY BUT THEY ARE NOT TELLING ME 10 DAYS FROM WHAT. 10. THEY HAVE ALSO TOLD ME THAT THEY ISSUED A NEW CARD AND NEW CARDS ARE SENT OUT ON TUESDAY EACH WEEK AND I SHOULD HAVE IT WITH IN 2 DAYS SINCE IT IS COMING FROM SOUTHERN CALIFORNIA. (WHICH IS THE STATE I LIVE IN) 11. THEY REFUSED TO FOLLOW UP ON THE CARD 12. THEY HAVE INFORMED ME THAT I CAN TRANSFER FOR A FEE THE MONEY IN MY ACCOUNT (NOT THE MONEY THAT WAS SOLEN FROM ME) TRANSFER THE MONEY TO MY BANK ACCOUNT BUT IT WILL TAKE 3-5 BUSINESS DAYS AND THAT DOES NOT INCLUDE WEEKENDS. 13. SO NOT ONLY WAS A VICTOM OF FRAUD BY A PERSON I AM ALSO BENG VICTOMIZED BY MY MERCHANT COMPANY BY THE NAME OF PROPAY. 14. I FEEL IT IS BAD ENOUGH THAT I WAS A VICTOM BUT TO NOT BEABLE TO GET THE TRUTH FROM THE COMPANY IS NO EXPECTABLE!!!!! 15. THEY KNOW THAT I NEED MY MONEY TO PAY MY CURRENT BILLS I TOLD THEM THAT I HAD TO HAVE MY MONEY BACK IN MY ACCOUNT AND AVAILABLE NO LATER THEN TODAY AND THEY ASSURED ME BY THEIR EMAILS THAT REFUNDS ARE WITH IN 72 HOURS. 16. WHEN I CALLED THEM ON IT TOADAY THE PERSON THAT TOOK THE COMPLAINT ORIGINALLY TOLD ME SHE MISS QUOTED WHEN THE REFUND IS GOING TO HAPPEN. 17. THIS MAYBE A LITLE AMOUNT TO THEM BUT 3,0000 + IS A LOT OF MONEY TO HAVE BEING HELP HOSTAGE IS NOT FARE TO ME! 18. I HAVE CONTACT THE COMANY THAT I ORIGINALY FOUND OUT ABOUT PROPAY AND INFORMED THEM THE WAY THEY HAVE HANDLED THIS MATTER AND THEY ARE GOING TO MAKE IT A TOP PRIORITY TO POSSIBLE CANCEL THEIR AFFILIATION WITH THEM. 19. I HAVE KEPT ALL CORRESPONDANCE (EMAIL) ABOUT THIS COMPALINT BETWEEN MYSELF AND THEM AND WOULD BE HAPPY TO FORWARD IF NECESSARY!!! I HOPE THAT THIS WILL BE HANDLED ASAP. THANK YOU FOR YOUR TIME. **** ****** MORGAN HILL, CA

Desired Settlement: I HOPE NOT ONLY WILL I GET MY REFUND BUT IF THIS GOING TO BE THEIR PRACTICE THAT THEY WILL BE NOT ONLY KICKED OF THE BBB BUT ALSO THEIR LICENSE TO DO BUSINESS IN THE UNITED STATED TO BE TERMINATED FOR EVER!!!!!!!!!!! I AM SURE I AM NOT THE ONLY VICTOM.

Business Response: This customer (cardholder) was credited for all fraudulent charges on 2/20/15. Her replacement card should also have been received after an issue with our card production facility. The issue with the merchant that charged her card is not related to ProPay and we cannot take responsibility for another entity that Ms. ****** dealt with.

Consumer Response:  
Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

I still do not have the replacement card and I did get a refund but only after I

Advised them I had contacted you and my
Attorney. Every time I contact them about the card I get more lies about the card. 
I do not know if I ever will get the card. 
Sincerely,

**** ******

Business Response: I have been in contact with Ms. ****** both via email and by phone. There was an update provided yesterday that the Herbalife cards were approved by MasterCard and they have begun to ship. Ms. ******' card will be sent via Overnight shipping. Once her card is received, we have agreed to close this complaint.

3/19/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I write this letter to you to report an unfair business practice I received from ProPay.From monthly statements, I found Propay took $325 chargeback plus $30 (fees) from my account without informing me in any forms on 12/11/2014. After months of my own investigation, it was found it was a mistake made by a person who bought my products. He couldn't remember the charge, so asked his credit card company return the money, ProPay let this happen without any investigation or give me a chance to explain.Eventually I got $325 back from that person, who admitted this was his mistake. But ProPay refuses to return full $30 fees which was associated with this chargebacks. The explanation from ProPay was "the chargeback fee is not refundable".

Desired Settlement: Need return $30 to me asap and send a apology letter from its customer service.

Business Response: I sent an email to this customer on 3/6 offering a $30 processing credit to go against future sales. Essentially, no fees will be deducted until these funds are exhausted. I have not heard back from this customer as of today. I am resending my email. This should represent a fair resolution.

Consumer Response:  
Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Sincerely,

******* **

3/2/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I processed a payment through their system on Thursday. I received an email on Thursday saying funds would be made available on Friday. Saturday, funds were not available. I found on their site Monday morning that it had to be verified. After I verified the transaction, a Customer support represanative informed me that the funds should be available Monday within a few hours. Based on this, I informed my customer (Whom i took the payment from on Thursday, that his order would go out Monday) 3 hours later, I chatted back in to be informed that it would take 24 hours. I requested a manager, and the agent did not have the knowledge to transfer me, and apparently there wasn't anyone to show him how to transfer a chat. I called in several hours later, to be told the second agent was correct, and there was nothing they could do. I explained it was going to over double my shipping fees to next day it and that would be more than all my profit on the sale based on what their agent told me. They offered a $150.00 processing fee credit and I accepted that. I logged in this morning and there was a $5.00 credit. When I chatted back in, I was told by a chat agent (the same one who told me the funds would be available in a few hours) that it was a misunderstanding, the only offered 150.00 of payment processing for a total of $5.00 I requested a manager, who did say that he listened to the call, and He does apologize He could see where there might be some confusion. "This was with a newer agent so he may have been confused in his explanation. I also looked at the chat where you were explained the time frame, I'm sorry for that as well. I will be talking with both agents and training them further on these procedures. I can't give you the processing credit of $150, but I can give you another $10 added to the $5 you already have. This will allow you to process close to $450.00 free of processing fees."

Desired Settlement: I want them to honor what they said they would in the call. ***** is the manager who listened to the call, and if he can see the "Confusion" can come from, the recording clearly states they were going to offer a $150.00 processing fee credit.

Business Response: On 2/16/2015, Our Customer Service Manager, **** ******, spoke with Mr. ******. **** indicated that Mr. ****** accepted $***** of a combination of an account refund and processing credits. Mr. ****** indicated that he would decide by the end of February if he would remain as a ProPay customer.

Consumer Response:  
Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Sincerely,

******* ******

1/15/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I used propay to sell some items on ebay. I made $152 and transferred this to my bank account. I have never received my funds. I used propay to sell some items on ebay. I made $152. I transferred this money to my bank account that is linked to my propay account. It was supposed to take 2-3 business days to go into my account. It's day 10 and I still don't have the money. I contacted customer service and they told me that I have to wait 8 more days, then send them by bank statement so they can put a trace on the money. Who knows how long this will take. Do not trust them with your money.

Desired Settlement: $152

Business Response: Contact Name and Title: ***** ****, Director Risk Management
Contact Phone: **********
Contact Email: **********@propay.com
Funds were deposited on 12/30/2015. Confirmed this with the customer.

12/15/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I never authorized them to send paper statements. Charged me for them anyway and never sent the statements. refused to make good. I did not authorize paper statements but propay signed me up and "sent" them anyway. I never once received a paper statement EVER.They then blamed this oversight on me because "I never caught it" which I would have never requested paper statements and if one did come in the mail I would have stopped it because I don't get paper statements on anything not even my credit cards or bank statements. I would never authorize this but they creatively defaulted it so you could make a profit off the statements and the people who already make them money. They named the withdrawals creative things that I already used so I wouldn't notice the withdraws were coming from them. They Then told me to call my post office for the statements so I did and they never had any mail to give me from propay and they had no idea what I was talking about which leads me to believe this is just propays way of slowly taking more money to cover their expenses. All I got was $5 transaction credit even though they have taken more than that none of which was authorized by me in the first place. I am totally disgusted the way propay treated their customers. They knew they were taking money from me and that was their plan all along. They are super shady and most certainly are a bunch of thieves. They told me that it was a default because I tried to link my bank account. They never linked the bank account because my bank flagged them as a scam (they told me it was because I put my number in wrong but I called my bank and they told me that they believe propay to be a scam due to other customer issues) so they charged me this fee instead.

Desired Settlement: I expect a full refund of the money they stole from me. They knew they were taking without authorization. Every time I called their customer service I received a different story from the last and I won't be happy until the funds are returned to me.

Business Response: Contact Name and Title: ***** ****
Contact Phone: **********
Contact Email: **********@propay.com
I have refunded all of the 2014 statement fees for a total of $*****. The customer will be required to login to their accounts and disable the request for paper statements if she hasn't already done so.

12/3/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I was contacted via email about a renewal fee. I emailed and called to cancel. My account was still charged after cancelling Date charged 11/2/2014 taken directly out of my Huntington Bank Account. The amount of $29.20 for the renewal fee for ProPay. I had emailed and called ProPay to cancel my account a week before this charge was taken out. Upon contacting ProPay about the charge they firmly denied taking it out and after I sent a copy of the bank transaction they blamed the other DS company for removing the funds event tho my bank account clearly states it came from ProPay. They are refusing a refund of the money

Desired Settlement: I want the $29.20 refunded to my bank immediately for unauthorized debit made by Propay

Business Response: Contact Name and Title: ***** ****
Contact Phone: Director, Risk/CS
Contact Email: **********@propay.com
I have issued a refund of $29.95 to the credit card used to signup for this account in 2013. That refund should appear in a few days.

10/21/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Excessive unauthorized holding of funds. Unethical account activities. Failure to provide written documentation of dispute transactions. As a result of increased transactions with online services, from June 2014 to August 2014 I was hit with five chargebacks from clients receiving merchandise and later disputing transactions. For each chargeback I submitted documents to Propay's Resolution Dept. to prove the inaccuracy of each dispute. I was informed by email that excessive chargebacks was defined as those greater than 1% which would then be subject to penalties. On August 25, 2014 I was informed because my chargeback rate was .8999% a $500.00 hold was being reserved from my current funds as a reserve for a minimum of 120 days. This was my first time ever hearing of such a demand, however I had several customers waiting to pay for services so I continued to process payments until I could speak with someone. August 28th, 2014 I tried to pay a bill from the account and was declined although there were funds in the account to cover the purchase. I called in to speak with someone about both the decline and the $500.00 "hold reserve". spoke with ***** in the Resolutions Dept. who confirmed the $500.00 hold and informed me effective August 29th the account would be subject to a decrease in the processing limit to $3000, per transaction of $500.00,and a hold on all funds coming in. I refused the arrangement and asked to speak with someone higher, ***** informed she was the Manager of the Dept. and there was no other person I could speak with. Funds continued to come in the account and service fees were collected but since I could not order any supplies from the account or withdraw I refunded each transaction but was subject to Propay's service fees (which were changed to higher percent from the agreed 2.69% and .30 per transaction) although I could not utilize the funds. I canceled all previous invoices that had not been paid. After canceling the transactions and refunding the customers on September 2, 2014 I was notified the account was closed and they would continue to hold the $500.00 "old/reserve". There was no mention on the other funds in the account or any of the pending chargeback reversal funds. To date, Propay has taken $500.00. I was restricted from using the other funds in the account after they were holding the $500.00. They increased the per-transaction fee above the agreed 2.69% and .30 fee. I have not received any written correspondence on any of the chargeback disputes. There is a total of three chargebacks that have not been resolved. (Two of the five chargeback clients have agreed to reverse dispute). All funds in the account are still being held by Propay with no information as to how and when they will be released. I understand Propay may feel the need to protect themselves against chargebacks, but when I inquired about their services for the chargeback fee they charge me was informed it was a risk I take for excepting credit cards and there was nothing they could do. If it is okay for me to accept the risk, what about Propay. Propay has taken it upon themselves to change, add and restrict services as they see fit even if it goes against agreed services. I have complied with every request from them and I am left with no information on what is going on with the my funds or how to receive the information. These actions seem unethical and I do not think they comply with current guidelines. These changes have caused a great loss on my receiving payments, each action was taken before notifying me if I received any notification at all.

Desired Settlement: 1. All current, reserve and incoming funds be released to me according to federal guidelines. 2. All incoming transactions be refused. 3. Refund on every transaction charged above the 2.69% and .30 per transaction. 4. Written proof of chargeback disputes submissions and dispute results to credit card holders on my behalf and how reversal fees will be returned to me. 5. Any and all accuring interest on the $500 "reserve" and balance in the account to paid to me.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 7, 2014/09/24) */ Contact Name and Title: ***** **** VP Risk Management Contact Phone: XXXXXXXXXX Contact Email: **********@propay.com Unfortunately ProPay is not in a position to "negotiate" with merchants who have had chargebacks and carry a negative balance as Ms. ***** does of $178. If she can resolve the issues on her account, make the balance whole and provide the requested supporting documentation, we will discuss some of the demands she has made. Until that time we are unable to assist further. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 9, 2014/10/02) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) Unfortunately I should not have to "negotiate" my regarding my money. I would not know if there is a negative balance or not because I no longer have access to the account to see what is going on. According to my records there is no negative balance but there is a balance due me as the they continue to hold. If the account is closed how is it transactions continue to come in? The merchant has not provided any written documentation on any of the transactions that continue to come in on a "closed account". In addition, I could not find any documentation stating funds would be held for 120 days after closing it. This company states they have a security system in place to protect against fraudulent activities, however I have a total of four chargebacks where customers received merchandise several months prior due to non_possession of card. These are online transactions so how do you possess a card? The company failed to properly perform security check and as a result I as the provider is penalized for it. This company has no regard for their customers, they fail to provide any service to protect providers at all. I believe we should be entitled to interest on the funds they are holding as well as a refund for all the chargeback fees accessed. However, no mention to any compensation at all. In addition to damages for the aggravation of all of this. They have free access to do as they please with my funds and I have no ability to track those transactions. Nor have they provided any documentation to the correspondence with the banks as if as a paying provider I am not entitled to an explanation. Will never recommend this company to anyone. In order to become a successful organization you must always consider your customers. Hungry for money company's like this never make it to the top, because they keep tripping over those who hold them up. Final Business Response /* (4000, 11, 2014/10/03) */ As stated by phone and by email once the chargeback "risk" period of 120 days has elapsed, you will have access to any funds that are available to you. Since the initial date of this complaint there have been 3 more customer disputes against you. Once we are confident that no additional chargebacks will occur you will have access to any funds available that did not cover the chargebacks- if any.

9/22/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: a client card charged but they didnt make funds available to me so im not able to turn in the products to my client she wants afull refund they saidno Client purchased on 8/24/2014 funds were completed and approved on 8/25/2014 the amount charged to client is $400.00 the fee they charge is $-11.06 so my net is $388.94 which was not available to me and they said was not going to be released to me because it has my same name on the card. They said they were not going to do anything about the issue. They told me to return the money to client but the fee will not be returned. How can I give a client a partial return on something that was none of our faults as I have charged this client before several times and never had an issue. They said it was just because they didn't catch it them MN but they caught it now. I should of at least been warned that the other transactions werent done properly because of same name issue and that if its done again then they wont make funds available to me because of the same name is an issue. I refunded my client $389.18 as that was all the funds in my propay account. But im still short the $10.30 they charged plus they will charge a refund fee of $0.35 since I refunded the client.

Desired Settlement: All I am asking for is a refun of charges. The $10.30 that was charged to my client plus any refund fees they are planning on charging me to refund my client. $0.35. My client is very upset and this is bad for bbusiness.i will just no longer except credit card payments from this client to avoid this issue but this is now making it more difficult on my client. I ask them to understand that I should have gotten at least a warning before they charged her account. Now she is requesting a full refund.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 7, 2014/09/18) */ Contact Name and Title: ***** **** Contact Phone: XXX XXX XXXX Contact Email: **********@propay.com We have issued a $15 processing credit and extended the expiration date on your account to November 2015. This gives you a year free and no fees for processing cards until that $15 credit has been used up. We apologize for the inconvenience. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (2000, 9, 2014/09/22) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)

9/19/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I am waiting on a debit card from ProPay after signing up on July 8th. I have been told many times that it has been sent, to be told later it was not My direct sales company pays our commission via ProPay. I signed up for the service and requested my card on July 8, 2014. I have made numerous calls to check the status of my card. I have been told that it was sent, and then that it wasn't due to an error, and then that it would arrive no later than August 14th. Today (August 14th) I was told that it was just ordered again today and will arrive in 2-4 weeks. I was also informed that if I had called yesterday it would have been sent via overnight delivery at no charge to me, but that is not possible today. I had asked previously for my card to be overnighted, but was told that it would cost me $50. It appears that every conversation I've had with a ProPay representative has been filled with lies, and I still have no received my card and am unable to access my money.

Desired Settlement: I would like to have my ProPay card printed and overnighted to me at no charge.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 7, 2014/09/10) */ Contact Name and Title: ***** **** Contact Phone: XXXXXXXXXX Contact Email: **********@propay.com Card was sent and has been received by this customer. We show the card is active. We apologize for the slow service. There was an ongoing issue that was failing our daily card file and several hundred accounts were impacted.

9/4/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I had 2 e-auction accounts through Propay for 2 separate ebay accounts. Propay shut me down and kept money from one of my e-auction accounts. I have had 2 separate e-auction accounts through Propay. I recently went to open a third e-auction account through them since you are allowed to have more than one e-auction account as per their terms per ebay account. They shut me down after they found that I had 2 other accounts..This is not right since they specifically state this on their faq section on their site which I copied and pasted below: What if I already have a ProPay Account? You will need a separate account for eBay sales. This will ensure that your account is integrated with eBay and that it qualifies for the appropriate transaction rates. 3. May I have more than one ProPay Account? Yes, you may have multiple ProPay Accounts as an individual. ProPay requires having a separate ProPay Account for each business you have. In one of my accounts I don't have any funds in, but in my second account with them I do have funds. Close to 100.00 I believe. Since I cannot even log into that account anymore, I am unable to know how much my balance is. Also, I didn't realize that they had shut my accounts down until today until I went to log in to them. Also, I had ebay listings up and 1 customer was able to successfully pay through Propay on my account I can no longer access! My account email with them that has funds in it is: ***********@hotmail.com Here is the email I received from Propay today, July 27, 2014 stating that a customer of mine on ebay paid successfully through Propay to the account that Propay closed: ProPay Transaction ******* ***************@propay.com Add to contacts 7:35 PM Keep this message at the top of your inbox To: ***********@hotmail.com ***************@propay.com From: ***************@propay.com This sender is in your safe list. Sent: Sun 7/27/14 7:35 PM To: ***********@hotmail.com Dear (I removed my name for privacy concerns.) ProPay transaction *** has been completed. $15.99 has been charged to credit or debit card ****. The funds from this transaction will be available in your ProPay Account by the end of day 7/29/2014 subject to terms and conditions. For transaction details see the information below. eBay Item Number IPN. eBay Item Title New in Box-Urban Decay Primer Potion Eye Shadow Original/Nude 10 ML 0.34 oz. Auth Code: ******* Processing Response: ADDRESS MATCH. AVS Code: A. If you have any questions, please contact us at ***************@propay.com. Thank you for using ProPay! ProPay Accept Credit Cards - Simple, Safe & Affordable If you need additional information, please feel free to contact me. I would like the money that is in the account that Propay no longer lets me access and I would also like my account reinstated through them since I did nothing wrong. I have had no issues with them before trying to open up another e-auction account. And, I loved their services before they did this to me. :(

Desired Settlement: I want the funds that are in my ***********@hotmail.com Propay e-auction account to be credited to my checking account asap. I am unaware of the total balance in this account since I am not allowed to access the account any longer. I also am asking to be reinstated since I did not violate any terms on their site. I read through it and they lead people to believe that they can have more than one e-auction account per ebay account. I would like my ***********@hotmail.com e-auction account reinstated. I have had 0 problems with Propay until now. For what reason, I have no idea. But, I did not violate any terms from what I can see.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 7, 2014/08/21) */ Contact Name and Title: ***** **** VP Risk Management Contact Phone: XXXXXXXXXX Contact Email: **********@propay.com Per our ProPay terms and conditions, we have the right to terminate merchants or sellers who demonstrate of have indicators of high risk behavior. Our investigation has uncovered that this merchant has a history of selling stolen FedEx labels. Their PayPal account has been terminated for a number of months. There is also some chatter from a previous customer that the seller is fraudulent. And lastly, it appears as though our merchant has a bit of negative feedback on their profile for having allegedly sold counterfeit cosmetics from China. We no longer desire to support this merchant. She can withdraw any funds from her ProPay account but will not be reinstated.

7/30/2014 Problems with Product/Service
2/3/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I was sent a propay card reader that does not work. I have requested from propay an account card and have not received one dispite them telling me they sent me one. Also I purchased a card reader to help my **** *** business and it doesn't work. Now I am trying to add my bank account to my pro pay account so I can transfer the money I earned into my personal account and it's telling me it doesn't support my bank. I am a paying customer of this pro pay account and I am NOT happy with the low quality of this site

Desired Settlement: I would like a card reader that actually works, an account card and for my personal account to be linked to my pro pay account

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 10, 2014/01/16) */ I asked our Customer Service Manager **** ****** to personally handle this situation. Calls were made to Ms. ****** on 12/13/2013 and 12/17/2013 and messages were left. Ms. ****** has not returned our calls. We can easily rectify this situation if the customer will call our Customer Service team at XXX-XXX-XXXX and ask for **** ****** or ****** ***** At this point this matter is in the hands of Ms. ******.

1/29/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Propay has inadequate charge-back resolution that has cost me significant amounts of money. First, let me start by stating that I have tried to resolve this and other problems with Propay directly without luck. I processed credit cards through ProPay for about one and a half years. I processed about 2000 transactions with them and in that time I have had 3 chargebacks, 3 possible chargebacks, 1 forced refund, and none of them have been resolved. I also use another company ******** and in the same time and approximately same number of transactions I have only had 1 charge-back with them. So, Propay's business practices seem to affect the number of charge-backs. this is not the real problem though, as charge-backs happen. The real problem is that ProPay has not once, despite their policy and promises, resolved a charge-back, or informed me of any outcome or resolution. Here are the details of the charge-backs, possible charge-backs, and forced refund (so Propay can identify my account, my account ID is XXXXXXXX): Charge-backs: Date of Transaction: 12/08/2012 Chargeback Amount: $120.26 Date of Transaction: 01/28/2013 Chargeback Amount: $273.19 Date of Transaction: 09/17/2013 Chargeback Amount: $87.46 Possible Charge-backs: 12/27/2012 in the amount of $136.37 02/16/2013 in the amount of $107.90 05/20/2013 in the amount of $387.05 Forced Refund: Propay transaction number 2012, amount of $80.21 The total of those disputed transactions is $1192.35 Every time I receive a charge-back or possible charge-back I send Propay everything they request and need to fight the charge-back successfully (order records, shipment records, proof of purchase, etc). I receive the following response from them: Dear ****** ****, Your Representment, which is the dispute on your chargeback, has been sent into the CC company. Legally the CC company now has 60 days in which to make their decision on the matter and alert us of that decision. Unless you have been advised differently by the ProPay resolution department, please be prepared to wait the 60 days. You will be alerted by email as soon as this department hears from the CC company regarding your dispute. Please use today's date as the start of the 60 day waiting period. Thank you for your patience and cooperation. We value your business and hope to have this matter taken care of for you soon. Best Regards, ProPay Resolutions Department That is the last thing I ever hear from ProPay regarding a charge-back. They never let me know the resolution to the charge-back, and I never have received my funds back (in every case I have lost the money). When I confronted them about it they told me that they had informed me and I somehow didn't get the email. I could understand that happening maybe once (and even once is extremely unlikely with the success rate of emails now days), but not every time. The only thing I can think is that Propay never even fights the charge-backs as promised, and this has cost me approximately $1192.35. Each time I have had a charge-back, or possible charge-back, I have also contacted the customer. Usually the customer issues a charge-back because they don't remember the purchase, or don't recognize how the charge shows on their card. In almost every case the customer has replied to my email saying that they called their bank to inform them the charge-back was a mistake since they now know what the charge was for. Even in these cases I received no resolution from ProPay. I know this is not a unique problem, as I have searched online forums and found other people that have had the same, or similar problems with ProPay. I have not had any luck dealing with ProPay directly. Most of the time I do not know who I am emailing there, but I know I have had multiple email conversations with **** ********. I hope that with your help I can get this problem resolved, and hopefully help other people avoid the same problem. Needless to say, I no longer use ProPay, and this lack of communication regarding charge-backs on their part is costing them business. Thank you.

Desired Settlement: Statistically, when a merchant fights a charge-back, 40% of the charge-backs are found in favor of the merchant and the merchant is refunded. Yet, ProPay has not refunded my money on any of the charge-backs (and has never informed me of an outcome). I suspect it is because they are not disputing the charge-back as they promise. I expect one of two possible settlements. I either want indisputable evidence that they have fought every charge-back that I have outlined, and lost (I want evidence that they communicated with the bank, and the bank refused their dispute). Or, since I suspect none of the charge-backs were actually disputed I want a refund for every charge-back they can not provide concrete dispute evidence for. Thank you for your help in this matter.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 9, 2013/12/26) */ Contact Name and Title: ***** **** Contact Phone: XXXXXXXXXX Contact Email: ********@msn.com In all cases chargebacks were issued. A more detailed explanation is being sent via email to Mr. ****. 1- Chargeback of $120.26 on 2/21/2013. A representment was issued on 2/22/2013. 2- Chargeback of $273.19 on 3/20/2013. An representment was issued on 4/2/2013. 3- Chargeback of $87.46 on 9/24/13. A represenment was issued on 9/25/13. We are at the mercy of the card brands and issuing banks to provide a decision. If an agreement cannot be made the merchant needs to work directy with the cardholder to resolve. If the cardholder received goods or services and didn't pay for them, the merchant, in this case Mr. ****. should pursue them for reimbursement. Final Consumer Response /* (4200, 16, 2014/01/23) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) It is a very simple solution. I have said this in every single email. I don't believe that ProPay actually submitted the re-presentments for the charge-backs. I want evidence that they re-presented the charge-backs. I know very well since you are the VP of risk that it is not your job to obtain this directly. The only information you have provided me is an email from ****** ******** claiming that they did re-present the charge-backs. However, there was no evidence in that email, or communication from the banks denying the re-presentment. The email was only her personal claim, that she likely received from another employee (a personal claim is not proof, especially if it may be an employee trying to cover a mistake). This makes me believe even more that the charge-backs were not re-presented. I don't care if the proof comes from you, or from Camila Burchett, I simply want you to prove that they were re-presented, or admit that they were not re-presented. If ProPay did re-present the charge-backs I don't understand why I haven't yet received proof, since that is what I have been asking for since the beginning. If ProPay made a mistake, and didn't re-present the charge-backs then it would be in your best interest to admit it and make it right before this becomes a more serious legal problem. The offered solutions above are the same I have outlined in the original complaint, and every communication since. Please deal with this issue. Final Business Response /* (4000, 14, 2014/01/21) */ As Mr. **** should know by now after mutiple emails back and forth, is that I am the VP of both Risk and Customer Service. I manage over 50 people at ProPay and don't work the individual chargebacks. It's perfect logical that I would rely on ****** ********* my Chargeback Manager, to gather the specific data to show that we indeed filed representments for ALL chargebacks in question. As stated once before, if he feels slighted or ripped off, he should contact his customers who initiated the chargebacks in the first place. If they receieved goods or services and didn't pay for them, action can be taken against them. All we can do is take the supporting documentation that is provided, supply it to the card brands, and allow them to rule in favor of the bank or card issuer. Our intent is not to be difficult or show a lack of compassion. We are not sure what else can be done at this point...

12/13/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I contacted Propay numerous times regarding issues with my account, I received no response on more than one occasion. I'm filing a complaint against Propay due to numerous customer service issues. For months on end I was told by buyers on eBay that they couldn't use Propay after they purchased an item from me. Every time someone attempted payment it would become permanently stuck on "pending" payment and it wouldn't be processed. I emailed Propay about the problem a number of times and they acknowledged that they are having problems processing payments. I was told they were working on it but the problem has been going on since July ( four months now ) To increase the processing limit on my account they had me put a $500.00 reserve on my account, I was told it could be removed after 120 days ( which its been ) When I emailed Propay requesting the reserve be released 10/21 I received no response whatsoever ( as of 11/01/2013 ) Its very frustrating putting a $500.00 reserve on an account that I have been hardly even able to use, I've lost out on hundreds of dollars of sales and lost numerous customers as well. As I have been selling on eBay for 10+ years, have 100% positive feedback and have had zero chargebacks receiving payments with Propay it should be obvious that I'm not a risk and I'm hoping they will release it and respond to me when I contact them. I was very surprised that their customer service would completely ignore a customer ( on numerous occasions ) I will fax all documentation to the BBB.

Desired Settlement: As I was told the reserve could be released at 120 days ( which its been ) I'm requesting it be released. I'm hoping in the future Propay customer service will respond if I contact them requesting assistance.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 12, 2013/11/26) */ Contact Name and Title: ***** ****- EVP Risk and Client Relations Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: **********@propay.com We have made a joint decision to part ways. Mr. ******** has requested to have his account closed and we have agreed to release any funds that have been on hold.

12/2/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I requested to have a full refund, they only refunded me for the Jak which was only $10 but never for the account. I ordered the Platinum account along with the card swiper (JAK) and paid a total of aprox. $80. After it not working properly I called to troubleshoot the problem. The gentleman stated that I could return it because he didn't feel it was going to work, not even if we swapped it out for another JAK. I told him that I wanted to cancel EVERYTHING, he sent me the paperwork and I did as it stated. I called about 2 weeks later to find out why I hadn't gotten my refund yet, they said "You'll have it by this Saturday". Saturday came and only the JAK ($10) was refunded. I figured the larger amount took longer so I waited and called back today, 11/25/13 and spoke to *******, who REFUSED to give her last name. She said that I never requested to cancel it, in fact she said that I only called the first time to troubleshoot and not to return. I had to mention to her that if that was the case and I did not want to cancel anything then how did I end up with the forms to return the JAK from that call. She said I lapsed my 30 day trial, but I had called 2 weeks after the fact. She kept saying that I never said that I wanted to cancel and I told her that I did, the person I spoke to the first time obviously didn't put it in their notes as they SHOULD have but she does not know in fact what said the date of that conversation, only what her notes say. The account is of NO USE to me without a device to swipe cards and get my money. My fiancé is the account holder, ***** ****** she said that I couldn't do anything with the account, only he could. I told her he spoke to the man himself and requested to cancel. Apparently her "notes" never stated that he got on the phone at all. I finally got tired of her repeating the same thing again and again and bypassing my questions and told her goodbye and hung up. I've never had to deal with a company like this. The customer apparently is always wrong when it comes to them.

Desired Settlement: I want the $69.95 that I had to pay to deal with them, the account is under ***** ***** but the bank account used to pay is merged one that belongs to the both of us. They did not offer good service. The customer service wasn't very serviceable to this customer.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/11/26) */ Contact Name and Title: ***** **** EVP Risk and Client Relations Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: **********@propay.com Refunded the $69.95 signup fee. Look for the credit on the card used within about 7 days. Final Consumer Response /* (2000, 7, 2013/11/29) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) It was all I wanted.

11/21/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Hello, I have been working with Propay since late July/early August to get my account working and a card. To date, nothing works requesting a refund. Hello, I have been working with Propay since late July/early August to get my account working and the corresponding card. I received a call from support, naturally I called back. I informed the rep that I NO LONGER wanted the service and to REFUND me my money as I have NOT received my card, CANNOT login and WASTED so much of my time with the company trying to get my account setup. The rep kept saying I spoke to Plexus NOT Propay.. You can't talk to Pleuxs, their support is your upline. I informed the rep that I even tried to get another card re-sent to me a while back but was informed it was ANOTHER $10 charge. I re-informed the rep and all he had to say was that it WAS mailed if I didnt receive it its the post office's fault NOT Propay. Today I learned that I won't get my refund because the 30 days have past and their are ALTERNATE ways to access my account without the card. How ? If I CANNOT login ! I tried SEVERAL machines at home and work NOTHING. I can access my Mary Kay propay account just fine. I can't access ANYTHING re: PLEXUS I demanded to speak to a supervisor and the rep kept reiterating who would you like to speak to. I was SO frustrated I hung up. YOU CANNOT PROVIDE ME SERVICE IF I CANT LOGIN !! YOU VIOLATED YOUR POLICY !!!! I HAVE SPENT NUMEROUS HOURS WITH SUPPORT OVER THE PAST 3 MONTHS AND STILL NOTHING. Refund me my money as I no longer want the card and was NEVER informed of the 30 day cancellation policy. Today, the rep offered to send me a replacement card for FREE. For what I still can't login and I cancelled my service with Plexus since they were of NO service what so ever. Thank You !

Desired Settlement: Refund of the $9.95 charge to my Visa card.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 7, 2013/11/04) */ Contact Name and Title: ***** ****- EVP Risk and Customer Service Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: **********@propay.com The $9.95 was refunded to your VISA card as requested. As this point I recommend that you call back one last time to get instructions so that you can withdraw the $29 that is in your ProPay account. Feel free to call me directly if needed. Best regards, *****

11/19/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Holding entire account and funds for services delivered. We were a small startup company, with a beta internet based freight broker management system. Propay allowed us months of service then shut down our account and are failing to let us know when we can have our money for service rendered over 90 days ago.

Desired Settlement: 1508.98

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/11/01) */ Contact Name and Title: ***** **** VP Risk and Customer Service Contact Phone: XXXXXXXXXX Contact Email: **********@propay.com The hold of the $1508.98 was released on 11/1/2013-just as promised.

10/25/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Failure to Refund My Money and Follow Best Practices for Payment Refunds. It's been a year now and they haven't been willing to resolve it. Problem Date:Sept 24, 2012 When I set up an account with propay and rep said there would be no issues at all with withdrawing funds immediately from my account after funds were processes and deposited into my propay account. I've had a paypal account for years and had a perfect track history with them and thought I would try out another merchant because the cost was lower with propay. Once I signed up and processed $300 of trasactions they came back and said I now had to meet a minimum threshold of $1000 to get my money out. This was after the fact. Ever since then this has rubbed me wrong and has been a horrible business practice for them. I've tried to resolve the issue a few times with customer care and their resolution center but they have not been willing to refund my money that I earned. Unfortunately because of their bad business practices in refunds and being willing to resolve this issue and simply return the money i earned that's still sitting there propay will pay far more than the $300 they owe me in lose clientele and negative press unless they act quickly and get this resolve. I want to see this resolve by Oct 1st 2013 please.

Desired Settlement: The wasted time and effort in chasing propay to do the right thing this has taken away time I could have spent being productive in my own consulting business. Losses of $1,000 would satisfy the money owed and business lost. Once this is paid I'm happy to close this as completely satisfied. Thanks

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 12, 2013/10/03) */ Contact Name and Title: ***** ****- VP Risk and Customer Service Contact Phone: XXXXXXXXXX Contact Email: **********@propay.com This issue goes back almost 12 months with no emails or calls from Mr. ******. Mr. ****** has also stated the facts incorrectly and never bothered to respond to email correspondence for ProPay to discuss the terms of his account. We simply had asked for a reserve until he could show some tenure with no chargebacks. Any fees issue to this account this year have been refunded and Mr. ****** may access and transfer the $289.48 in his account. Final Consumer Response /* (2500, 15, 2013/10/08) */

10/1/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I tried to use this company to process credit cards for my business and for ebay auctions, they refused adequate service. I have gone back and forth with various people at Propay and they simply refuse to set me up so I can take payments in any adequate way. I have gone around and around with some one named **** ********, and have called his office many times, always only getting a voicemail (he's never there) and never receiving any return call. I would always email him as well right after every call and he wouldn't respond. It has now been over a month with absolutely no help on this matter. All I want to do is take payments and they are making impossible. It's a horrible service with even worse customer service and interaction. I have now lost business due to not being set up to take payments and I hold Propay solely responsible for this to the tune of around $2,000.

Desired Settlement: Propay kept the signup fee and have now cost me significant monetary loss due to not being able to complete sales. I have lost $2,000 in business and I expect to be compensated. I have contacted an attorney.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/09/12) */ Contact Name and Title: ***** ****, VP Risk Management Contact Phone: XXXXXXXXXX Contact Email: **********@propay.com We have reviewed this account on two separate occassions and in both instances determined that it was not a fit for our ProPay/eBay partnership. Our offering is limited to PowerSellers or those with processing history or willingness to provide reserve funds. We only have limited information coming to us from PayPal and eBay and have to follow our own guidelines to book accounts. This prospective merchant asked for higher limits right of the gate with would require bank or processing statements and an account reserve. This seller was unwilling to provide these items. There is also indication that this seller was terminated by PayPal. The signup fee has been refunded and we consider this matter closed.

9/17/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: This company is sending me harrassing emails. I opened a merchant account with his company and they said that I was approved. Actually I wasn't approved because they kept requesting additional information so I called them to close the account within 2 days. They said that everything was fine and that the yearly fee of $49.99 had been refunded. They also removed internet access to my account so I could not see what was going on with it. Within 2 days I was receiving collection notices for an unpaid amount of between $3-4 dollars. Also they wew telling me to use the closed account. I have called their customer service twice and they've said everything is resolved. Then I get another threatening letter from their collection service. I would like this harrassment to stop immediately and I want this situation to be resolved on their end. Then I want them to never contact me again. Sincerely, ****** A *******

Desired Settlement: stop the harrassing emails I don't owe you any money Never contact me again for any reason

Business Response: Business' Initial Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/09/12) */ Contact Name and Title: ***** ****, VP Risk Management Contact Phone: XXXXXXXXXX Contact Email: **********@propay.com The account is closed and all communication has ceased. You don't owe ProPay any funds. If there are concerns or this isn't occuring, please contact me. Consumer's Final Response /* (2000, 7, 2013/09/16) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)

5/10/2013 Problems with Product/Service
4/18/2013 Problems with Product/Service