Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Complete Merchant Solutions LLC

Phone: (801) 623-4000 View Additional Phone Numbers 815 W University Pkwy, Orem, UT 84058 View Additional Email Addresses http://www.cmsonline.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

Complete Merchant Solutions is a full-service electronic payments solutions provider. We facilitate electronic payment processing for all major Credit & Debit cards; Gift & Loyalty cards; ACH, Remote Deposit Capture as well as other non-cash payment


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Complete Merchant Solutions LLC meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Complete Merchant Solutions LLC include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Complete Merchant Solutions LLC
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: December 08, 2009 Business started: 05/12/2008 Business started locally: 05/12/2008 Business incorporated 05/12/2008 in UT
Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mr. Douglas Hansen, VP Operations and Client Services Mr. David Decker, Co-Founder/Managing Partner Mr. Kyle Hall, Co-Founder Mr. Trever Hansen, Co-Founder
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Douglas Hansen, VP Operations and Client Services
Business Category

Credit Card Processing Service

Alternate Business Names
CMS Complete Merchant Solutions
Products & Services

Innovating the electronic payments industry. Providing world-class support to our clients and fostering a customer-obsessed culture. Creating competitive advantages for our network of value added resellers & partners.


Additional Locations

  • 815 W University Pkwy

    Orem, UT 84058 (801) 623-4000 (877) 267-4324

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

2/18/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Company maintained a reserve of our funds and are neglecting to honor their promises regarding its release. At the beginning of our business relationship (June 2013), we were told that a reserve of funds would be held because we were considered high risk. The CMS salesman, **** ******* said it could only be held for a maximum of 6 months but that he could get it released earlier than that. After closing the account (September 2013) and going out of business because we could not get the funds released, we were then told that we would have to wait for 90 days to see the money (one month past the promised 6 months from account opening). After the 90 days were up (December 2013), we were then told we would see at least a partial release in January, 2014. We never received any money on the promised day in January, and when asked, CMS told us it would be 90 days from the last chargeback. After THOSE 90 days were up (February 2014), we were promised a check, but then told that the bank had to review it too and they would get back to us. It has been 5 months (150 days) since the close of the account, and we have not seen any release of our funds. Further, the amount they promised to send a check for was only a partial release. We are now being told it will have to be ANOTHER 90 days until the rest will be reviewed for possible release. This company has not been honest with us. Their stories continue to change, and they refuse to release all of our funds which we were initially promised would be released 6 months from account opening. I've been told everything from, "I am the one who makes the decision," to, "We have to hear what the bank says," and everything in between. A legitimate company would own their mistakes and release the reserve to maintain proper customer service. We have yet to see any of our money, and are now being treated discourteously, though we have always tried to maintain a polite business relationship. We are currently considering legal action to recover our losses.

Desired Settlement: We require nothing more than the $2716 that they have held of our own money. This is our money which we earned and they have held from us. It has been much longer than their required holding period as of what we were told by multiple people in their organization. We do not ask for anything that is not rightly ours.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 6, 2014/02/18) */ Contact Name and Title: **** ******* VP of Risk Management Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXX Contact Email: ****@cmsonline.com Ms. ******, the author of the above complaint, entered into contract with Complete Merchant Solutions (CMS) on 05/20/2013 to provide her business ******** ********* ***** dba ****************, credit card payment processing services. At the time of the account being boarded with CMS, Ms. ****** was dealing with an independent sales agent who refers business to payment processors. CMS is not and was not privy to any conversations or communications between Ms. ****** and said independent sales agent. The contract that Ms. ****** signed on 5/22/2013 was an agreement with Complete Merchant Solutions. A copy of our Merchant Agreement/Terms & Conditions was supplied to her at that time. ************** has a product offering of remote computer repair services including remote log in and scan of customer's computers. The company was brand new at the time (registered with the state of Utah on 05/10/2013) of signing the contract with CMS and thus had no prior processing with which we could determine the risk of disputes to be received going forward. Ms. ****** was notified, during the underwriting process, that an on-going reserve would be required to mitigate the risk on the account processing. She signed an acknowledgement of that reserve on 06/01/2013. The form which Ms. ****** signed clearly states "CMS will release all funds (which are in excess of the total and projected amount of unpaid merchant obligations, chargegacks, merchant discount fees, credits/refunds, and any other amount due under the respective Agreement(s)) six months after the final transaction deposit. The agreement that Ms. ****** signed on 05/22/2013 included at 5 year agreement with and early termination fee of $500. On October 3, 2013, CMS was notified that this business entity had not worked out and that they would like to close their merchant account. After a review by a company executive, we agreed to waive the early termination fee for this merchant, something we were under no obligation to do. Ms. ****** provided us with a copy of the communication sent to her current customers which indicated that "********** will be closing its doors for new business" and that the website would only be kept online for an additional 6 months. Communications such as these have historically caused a ripple effect when it comes to consumers issuing disputes/chargebacks with their issuing banks. The merchant agreement that Ms. ****** signed clearly states that reserve funds and "Merchant's obligation to maintain such Reserve Account shall survive the termination of this Agreement by a period of three hundred sixty five (365) days (or longer depending on Merchant's product and business practices)". Again, after a review by an executive of CMS, we agreed to review the reserve holdings and complete a partial release of funds, via cashier's check, 90 days after the last dispute was received on the account. It was communicated to Ms. ****** that the majority of the disputes received were still within the representment phase and that the additional funds would be reviewed again in 90 days to determine the risk level at that time. There has been exactly 127 days since this account was closed, we have communicated continuously with Ms. ****** and I have informed her multiple times that the reserve is being held to mitigate the risk of the account (which is what a reserve is held for). We have waived the early termination fee as well as processed a partial reserve release to this customer outside of normal business operating procedures in an attempt to appease her. Ms. ****** signed a binding contract with Complete Merchant Solutions and we provided all services required. The complaint above is false and misleading. We have accommodated this customer outside of the terms of our agreement. At no time has it been communicated to Ms. ****** that "we don't care" and our actions in assisting her with the waiver of the ETF as well as an early partial reserve release clearly shows that we have been assisting her. All emails and phone calls have been answered. The assertion that "we will never see our money" is obviously untrue. Complete Merchant Solutions has an extremely strong reputation and we strive to ensure our customers are well taken care of. Ms. ****** is clearly upset with an independent agent that she worked with and is now filing complaints about CMS that are not warranted. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (2530, 7, 2014/02/18) */ I've discussed with the company the parts of their promise that they are honoring, but still believe they should honor all promises made by their salesman.