Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Close to My Heart, Inc.

Additional Locations

Phone: (801) 763-8395 Fax: (801) 847-3091 View Additional Phone Numbers 1199 W 700 S, Pleasant Grove, UT 84062

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Close to My Heart, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Close to My Heart, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Close to My Heart, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: May 19, 1997 Business started: 01/01/1989 Business started locally: 01/01/1989 Business incorporated 02/10/1989 in UT
Type of Entity


Business Management
Ms. Jeanette R. Lynton, Owner Mr. Spencer H. Clawson, CEO Mr. Jerry Ellis, Supervisor Sheena Searls, Consultant Services Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Jeanette R. Lynton, Owner
Customer Contact: Sheena Searls, Consultant Services Manager
Business Category

Craft Supplies

Alternate Business Names
D.O.T.S. Dot Adventures Inc
Products & Services

Rubber Stamps and scrapbooking supplies

Additional Locations

  • 1199 W 700 S

    Pleasant Grove, UT 84062 (888) 655-6552 (801) 763-8395

  • PO Box 680

    Pleasant Grove, UT 84062


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

9/30/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: Signed up with CTMH on 7/2/13, under ***** ******** Asked to be released from her down line Being refused. They won't help me. Signed up with CTMH on July 1, under ***** ****** ******** Miss ****** has been very nasty with me and I would like to be released from her down line. She is refusing to contact them in writing to release me but, there is a phone call on record from her a few weeks ago stating she wanted me out of her down line and they won't except it. I am now not able to sell and have to phase out of the company or resign in order to pay money all over again to sign up under someone else if I choose to. They will not refund my money either.

Desired Settlement: Being that I have been in limbo and not able to sell due to the phasing out or resigning part I mentioned above I am asking for full reimbursement of $62.54.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/09/11) */ Contact Name and Title: ****** ****** Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX ******* ******* signed up as a Close To My Heart Consultant on July 1, 2013. Part of this process is filling out the online application, purchasing the New Consultant Kit, and agreeing to our Terms & Conditions. In the Terms & Conditions it states that the Consultant agrees to our Policies & Procedures. One of our policies is that a Consultant can only change their Upline if their Upline releases them from their downline, and that has to be done in writing. The only exception to this is that a Consultant can change Uplines at any time to any other active Consultant they would like within 30 days of signing up without the need for approval from her current Upline. After the 30 days is up, the only way to be released is through the written approval from their Upline or deactivating from the company. Here is the call log information in detail: * We tried contacting ******* on July 9, 2013, to welcome her to the company and go over any questions or concerns she may have. She told us she didn't have time to do the call at that time and she would call us back, but we didn't hear back from her until the following month. * On August 13, 2013, we received a call from ***** ******* (*******'s Upline). ***** told us she just had someone sign up under her and they had a falling out. She asked if ******* could move to someone else or what her options were. We told her that since ******* had signed up more than 30 days ago, ***** would need to release ******* from her downline and we could then roll her up to *****'s Upline. We told ***** if she wanted to do this, she would just need to send us something in writing that states she releases ******* from her downline. ***** said she will try to get in contact with ******* and see if she could resolve things and see if she could open communication between them. We again told her that if she wanted to release *******, to just send us something in writing about this and we would take care of this. She did not ever state that she wanted to release *******, and she was simply asking what her options were. * ******* first contacted us on August 19, 2013, which is past the 30 day window that we give. She told us that she had a falling out with her Upline and asked what she can do to move to someone else. We told her about our 30 day policy and that since she is past the 30 days, her options were to either ask ***** to release her as a downline, or she could resign from the company and wait 6 months to sign up again, or she could let herself drop out due to lack of sales then sign back up immediately and choose a different Upline. After the representative who took the call looked at *****'s notes, she saw that ***** recently called in asking about this same situation, and ******* was told that we had recently talked to ***** about this situation and it's possible that ***** may be fine releasing her. We advised ******* to email ***** to see if she could be released from *****'s downline. * ******* contacted us again on August 20, 2013 to see if we had received a release from ***** yet. We told her we haven't yet, but as soon as we received it in writing we would take care of the request. * ******* called in again on September 5, 2013 to see if we had received a release from ***** yet. We still hadn't received anything and ******* got very mad and started yelling and using foul language towards the representative. ******* said she was going to report us to the BBB because we aren't allowing her to roll up. We offered to contact ***** on *******'s behalf to see if ***** was considering releasing *******, but explained to her we cannot force ***** to release *******. We called ***** and she told us that she did not want to release ******* from her downline. * On September 6, 2013, we called ******* to let her know that ***** told us she did not want to release *******, and ******* again started yelling and swearing at the representative, again saying she was going to report us to the BBB and she hung up on the representative. * ******* called back the same day (September 6, 2013) and wanted to talk to a Supervisor. She was transferred to the Supervisor and was again told of our policy, and was told that she agreed to them when she signed up as a Consultant. She feels ***** is ruining her business and she has wasted her money. Explained to her that the money she paid was for the items in the kit she received, and the retail value of those items was well over what she paid. She said she didn't care and couldn't use the items if she couldn't work her business. Again, her options were explained to her, and she wouldn't listen. She continued to yell and said she was going to report this to the BBB. She then hung up. ******* was never told that ***** had agreed to release her from her downline, and she was told many times of how this worked and that we had to have written permission from ***** in order to release her. ***** never stated over the phone that she wanted to release *******, and we have copies of the recorded calls to prove this. We did try to contact ******* about a week after she signed up to welcome her to the company, and during this time she could have brought up any concerns she may have been having at that time where this policy could have been explained to her, but she didn't have the time to talk and she didn't call us back until over a month later. She was given approximately $155 worth of product for her kit, and she was only charged the $49 plus shipping and tax, so she received well over what she paid.

3/26/2013 Problems with Product/Service