BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Utah

BBB Business Review

Is this your Business?

Consumer Complaints

BBB Accredited Business since 11/09/2001

Career Step, LLC

Phone: (801) 769-8400

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Customer Complaints Summary

15 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 5 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues2
Problems with Product / Service13
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints15

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (15)BBB Closure Definitions
06/03/2014Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
only a 14 day review to decide if you want to do this.
I don't think I even received my books in 14 days. And with working full time I did not get enough time to review within 14 days. I have been giving it a try but finding this isn't something for me. So I asked how to go about getting out of it. I said I have all my books that have not been opened that I can return. Also, found out that there is no way a full time worker can complete this in one year even following their program for how many hrs you put in. Also found out that when I asked how much extensions were that there is a catch that was left out when talking to them on the phone.You have to order the extension before even graduating, or they charge you $59.00 for anything purchased under 4 months and $99.00 after that. And if you don't do anything within 6 months, you have to start over, and pay in full. I asked what if your laid off and having financial problems? They said they will do a payment program. You have no way of getting out of this. And if its not something you chose to do but didn't know that without trying it first I think is really sad that they wont let you out. I understand there would be a price to pay but the full amount is ridiculous. Very disappointing.

Desired Settlement
I want to be let out of this contract.

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: ******** ******* Operations Manager
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: ****************@careerstep.com
The Career Step independent competency-based Medical Transcription Training Program has been successfully training medical transcriptionists for over sixteen years. We are one of seventeen training schools whose curriculum is approved by the Association for Healthcare Documentation Integrity.

***** ****** enrolled in Career Step's Medical Transcription and Editor Program on 11/13/2013.

Career Step is on online course. As an additional item we send hard copies of the online course (text companions) so that a student can study while away from their computer. Students do not need to wait for any materials to arrive in order to begin the training course. The entire program was available to Ms. ****** online, the day she enrolled. Ms. ****** was given access via the login information sent in the enrollment email. Ms. ****** was aware of this, as the records show she logged in to her course for the first time on 11/16/2013, which was only 3 days after her enrollment. At that point she had all of the information and was able to fully assess the workload and express any concerns that she may or may not have had about the program.

Upon enrollment Ms. ****** E-signed the Electronic Enrollment Agreement and the refund policy is as outlined below:

Section 21 of the Electronic Enrollment Agreement, under the 'TERMINATION RIGHTS AND REFUND POLICY 'section states:
(a) 3-Day Right to Rescind: You have a right to rescind this Agreement and receive a full refund of any amounts paid to Career Step, which you must exercise (if you so choose) in writing within three (3) business days from the day you submit the online application or sign the written application. You must deliver a written rescission of this Agreement to Career Step within such 3-day period, or if the rescission is mailed, it must be postmarked on or before the last day of the 3-day period. Prior to receiving the refund, you must first return all program materials and supplies sent to you, as set forth in subsection (d) below.

(b) 14-DAY MONEY BACK POLICY: In addition to the rescission rights set forth in subsection (a) above, you may also withdraw from the program for any reason within 14 days after the date you first receive access to online program materials, which is the date of the email sent to you containing your password and login for the online program. In this case, this Agreement shall be rescinded and Career Step will refund your money IN FULL, less a $50 application fee and any initial shipping and handling fees, provided that you first return all program materials and supplies as set forth in subsection (d) below.

(c) No Refund After 14 Days: If, for any reason, you withdraw after the initial 14-day review period, you are not released from your obligation to pay the program fees in full and you are not entitled to any refund from Career Step.

All students are responsible to pay the total balance of the program fees, unless they are within the 14 day return period of the program, at which time, they are eligible for a full refund upon the receipt of their materials, minus the application fee and the shipping and handling fee.

The request for a refund is past the 14 day return period and therefore Ms. ******'s request for a refund has been denied.

As a gesture of compromise, we are willing to provide Ms. ****** with a complimentary 2-month extension that will extend her program access to Jan 13. 2015.

Thank you for your time,

**** *******
Operations Manager



Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
3 days or 14 days isn't going to help a person decide. Especially if they work full time and or have busy schedules and can't get to it and allow what ever amount of time they think it will take for a person to decide if this is good for them or not. I gave it my best shot and its not something I choose to do. At any point in the program I would think a school would understand and work with you. Colleges don't make you stay in. You pay for what you did. Of course knowing you may have to pay a penalty for quieting early. And this is what I want people to know before signing up. Make sure it is something you will enjoy. Otherwise your giving your hard earn money away for something you found out isn't for you, for what ever reason that may be. Thank you

Final Business Response
All academic institutions have an add/drop or refund period. This is true for state and private colleges, and for Career Step. The terms of our refund period are clearly outlined in the enrollment agreement. The refund request for Ms. ****** is almost 6 months past the enrollment date and over 5 months past the refund period.
Accepting the terms of the enrollment agreement is not only required at the time of enrollment but also to access the program. The student has a full 14 days from the date of enrollment to review those terms and conditions. I am confident that Career Step has lived up to the standards that we have stated we would do within the enrollment agreement and we fulfilled those obligations to best of our abilities.
Ms. ******'s request for a refund has been denied.
We understand that working in the course can be difficult and time consuming and based on her concerns we have already processed a complimentary 2-month extension for her course. To show extra concern and give Ms. ****** even more of an opportunity to be successful, we have provided Ms. ****** with an additional complimentary 2-month extension that will extend her access to the program.
This additional complimentary extension is extremely generous and is above and beyond our normal policies, and no other concessions or offers will be made.
**** *******
Operations Manager

05/21/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I paid for a course for ICD-10 medical coding in 2013. The government has delayed implementation of ICD-10. I want another course or refund.
In September of 2013 I signed up and paid for a course for Medical Coding ICD-10. Career Step also offers a course in the coding system, ICD-9, that is presently being used by the medical industry. I chose the ICD-10 due to deadline of Oct. 2014 that was suppose to happen for the medical industry to be forced to switch over to ICD-10. I was told there would be more job openings due to that. I have completed 61% of the course. April 1, 2014, the government passed another delay on the forced implementation of ICD-10 to next Oct 2015. This will be the third delay that has been passed. I was was not made aware of the first two. Who knows if it will ever be passed. Due to the uncertainty of this career choice I do not want to continue with it.

Desired Settlement
I was told I can only receive a refund if I filed for it within the first 14 days of paying for the course.

I asked to be transferred to another course and that is not an option either.

I would like a refund due to the unforeseen circumstances that have happened. I know it is not the school's fault for the delay but their options for the students are to take the fast track course of ICD-9 or take the complete course of ICD-9, losing all the 600 hours I have put in then taking a fast track course to learn ICD-10. This would require much more additional studying than I had signed up for in the first place.

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: ******** ******* Operations Manager
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: ****************@careerstep.com
Career Step is completely dedicated to providing its students the training needed to earn industry credentials and start working upon graduation. From August 2013 through April 2014, all new students were enrolled in an ICD-10 focused training program because the healthcare industry was moving toward an October 1, 2014 ICD-10 implementation date. The ICD-10 program was the only training program available, and this decision was made in accordance with the recommendations of prominent industry associations to ensure students were workplace and certification ready upon graduation.

In March 2014, the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services (CMS), the government agency that oversees the implementation of the new code set, announced that the October 2014 implementation date was set in stone. It surprised the entire healthcare industry when the delay was signed into law on April 1. This is the second time the implementation has been delayedthe first moved the implementation date from October 1, 2013 to October 1, 2014.

Since the delay, Career Step has developed a number of options for students to ensure they will still be prepared to earn industry credentials and start working upon graduation.

1. Students who have not yet reached the midterm are encouraged to switch to an ICD-9 focused training program. With this option, students lose none of their work as the curriculum before the midterm focuses on foundational and biomedical sciences information. After the midterm, students begin the code training section of the course. It is at this point that students' training can switch to ICD-9 curriculum, ensuring they learn the codes needed to earn industry certifications and start working upon graduation. Upon graduation, these students will also receive a free enrollment in Career Step's ICD-10 FastTrack course (they will need to pay $29.95 to cover the shipping of the new codebooks), which will ensure they have the ICD-10 training they'll need when the ICD-10 implementation does take place.

2. Students are also welcome to complete their ICD-10 focused program as is. Career Step will provide these students a free enrollment in the ICD-9 for ICD-10 Coders program upon graduation (student will need to pay $29.95 to cover the shipping for the new codebook). This course is specifically designed to help new ICD-10 coders quickly learn to use the ICD-9 code set, preparing them to earn an industry credential and start working before the ICD-10 implementation. This option is recommended for students who are already working through the coding section of the ICD-10 Professional Medical Coding and Billing course.

The trend seen among many educators in the industry is to continue moving forward with ICD-10 training and not return to ICD-9 training. Career Step is proud to be providing for its students regardless of whether they are on the ICD-10 or ICD-9 education path. Career Step is firmly committed to taking care of its students by creating and providing options that offer full and complete coding training in both code sets so they are prepared to earn industry credentials and start working after graduationno matter when the ICD-10 implementation takes place.

Unfortunately a refund will not be offered. The student can continue in their current program or chose to be migrated to the ICD-9 program.

04/18/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
This company is designed to offer education programs to military families through MyCAA. It is a scam.
The program gives you a short amount of time to finish the program and when you don't finish it they offer expensive extensions to convince you to finish the program. The computer program has many bugs and errors. They give you a phone number to ask for assistance and then keep you on hold. It is designed to make you fail and/or spend money.

Desired Settlement
I would at least like the $254.91 extension cost they are charging me refunded.

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: ******** ******* Operations Manager
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: ****************@careerstep.com
The Career Step Pharmacy Technician program provides training to prepare students to perform the duties required in a pharmacy and pass the PMCB exam. In addition, we have negotiated nationwide externship opportunities with Walgreens and CVS to satisfy practical work-experience requirements which are required by many states. Many graduates have successfully completed the Pharmacy Technician program, passed the final exam, and finished externships in their local areas. Happily, these externship opportunities often led to permanent employment.

The MyCAA funding thoroughly vets education vendors before allowing them eligibility to offer programs to military spouses. Career Step is proud to say we have met MyCAA standards for our programs since inception.

While in the program, Career Step provides support outreach with a day-after-enrollment call and email, emails at 30 days, 60 days, 90 days, and invitations to online chat opportunities through the forum platform. ****** received all of these contact points, including invitations to three separate chat events with potential employers. Career Step also provides several ways for students to contact instructors, depending on what is most convenient to the student. The forums are an always-available resource, as well as the Ask-an-Instructor chats, which are available during business hours for real-time interaction with instructors. Instructors can be reached via Facebook, Pinterest, responses to Career Step blog posts, Twitter, standard email, direct email from the program platform, and by phone. All incoming email questions are answered within one day; all voicemail messages are called back within one hour.

Of course, student progress and success is strongly correlated to time spent in the program. There are 285 study hours in the curriculum and a 6-month enrollment period included at enrollment for the Pharmacy Technician program. A student studying approximately 12 hours per week would be able to complete the program and take the final exam within the 6-month period. ******'s record shows she has logged onto the program and spent an average of only 1 hour, 12 minutes per week for 59 weeks.

On 03/22/2014, Ms. *********** paid ***** towards a 3 month extension.

As a gesture of goodwill we will refund the ***** paid to Career Step and forgive the outstanding balance and write off the ******* owed on her extension.

11/22/2013Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Was told tuition was eligible for Education Exception to Additional Tax on Early IRA Distributions which isn't true.
When I first contacted Career Step I was told that my tuition was eligible for the Education Exception to Additional Tax on Early IRA Distributions. ********* ****** my advisor, informed me that she had done these types of transactions many times, which reassured me. She wrote a note for me to submit to American Funds to justify the disbursement:
Dear Sirs,
We are pleased to inform you that ***** ***** has been offered a spot in our Medical Transcription Editor program for Career Step!
***** ***** is expected to enter the online Medical Transcription Editor program on November 26th, 2012 and expects to complete degree requirements and graduate in November 2013. Her tuition ($2,424.95) is due the first day of class.
Please feel free to contact our office if you have further questions concerning this student.
********* *****
Academic Advisor
Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Fax: XXX-XXX-XXXX Email: ***************@careerstep.com
Tax time came around and I didn't have the necessary tax form to file my taxes. I called Career Step and was told that information was not correct and they were not an eligible institution. I spoke with ***** *********** *** ********** and *** ******** and the only things they would say was they were not an eligible institution.
From: ***** <****************@careerstep.com>
To: ********@yahoo.com
Sent: Wednesday, April 10, 2013 1:21 PM
Subject: Income Tax Inquiry XXXXXXX

Dear Student,
Thank you for contacting Career Step.
Please note that we do not fall within the eligible category for an income tax credit and do not mail out a 1098-T form. We are a non-accredited Vocational Post Secondary Proprietary School and typically are not eligible for a tax deduction. You will need to contact your Tax Consultant for any further advice. A receipt is attached herein for your reference only.
Thank you and have a great day!

***** **********
Accts Receivable / Collections
Toll Free: XXX-XXX-XXXX X ***
Direct: XXX-XXX-XXXX
****************@careerstep.com
Career Step LLC.
4692 North 300 West #100
Provo Utah 84604
I enrolled with ********* ***** on 11/27/12 at 9:57 am, paid the amount in full of $2295.00.

Desired Settlement
I would like a refund of my monies. I was told that my tuition was eligible for the Education Exception to Additional Tax under Publication 970. That was not true. I complained to the company and was told:

From: ***** <****************@careerstep.com>
To: ********@yahoo.com
Sent: Wednesday, April 10, 2013 1:21 PM
Subject: Income Tax Inquiry XXXXXXX

Dear Student,
Thank you for contacting Career Step.
Please note that we do not fall within the eligible category for an income tax credit and do not mail out a 1098-T form. We are a non-accredited Vocational Post Secondary Proprietary School and typically are not eligible for a tax deduction. You will need to contact your Tax Consultant for any further advice. A receipt is attached herein for your reference only.
Thank you and have a great day!

***** **********
Accts Receivable / Collections
Toll Free: XXX-XXX-XXXX X ***
Direct: XXX-XXX-XXXX
****************@careerstep.com
Career Step LLC.
4692 North 300 West #100
Provo Utah 84604

I sent further emails and received no reply.
Had I received accurate information at signup I would not have enrolled nor taken the money out of my IRA. I feel they are using misleading business practices.

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: ******** ******* Operations Manager
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: ****************@careerstep.com
Researching the issue and will contact the student directly

11/20/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I am a student of Career Step, LLC, and I am completely unsatisfied with the quality of education I am receiving.
I started the Medical Transcription course with LearnTranscription.com and, subsequently, Career Step, LLC in February of 2013. Since then I have found the course to be completely unsatisfactory, and the customer service to be dismissive at best.
My complaints include the following;
-The course I started was supposed to be provided by LearnTranscription.com, & they do not inform their students that the course they "offer" is not through them, but Career Step, LLC.
-They give you a mere 14 days to decide if this $2365 investment is right for you as a career.
-Spelling and grammar errors throughout the course work.
-Being informed by the course that the material I am studying is not necessary for a successful career as a Medical Transcriptionist.
-Being informed that I will be tested on material that has not been taught yet.
-Dismissive response to alerting Career Step that I have emotional issues that will prevent me from fully using this course work & asking for their help in transferring to a different course, including asking for a way to appeal their decision.
-Misleading course organization. The "Mid=Term" may come at the halfway mark if you count the number of lessons (modules), however as far as hours of course work and their own estimation of study-hours, it lies around the 25% mark.
-Misleading representation of the amount of study time each module will take to study.
-Patronizing, unprofessional language and asides laced throughout the course work.
-Constant reminders that knowing course material such as vocabulary and names of medicines is unimportant.
-Terms used in their tests are not found in the reference material they recommend
-The site I sign into is confusing and hard to navigate.
-"Place marking" a page only holds your place so long as you don't look at another program module. This leads to time-consuming page flipping when you try to reference past modules.
-Clicking on the Home tab consistently takes you to a page where they ask you to update your personal information, no matter how many times you have already done so.
-Navigating the program modules can only be done once you have opened a program module, making searching through modules difficult.
-The "Study Planner" projected that if on average I studied no more than 10 hours a week, that I would be done in July, 2013. It is now November, 2013, and I am just getting to their "Midterm". Which, as stated, is actually only about 25% through the course.
-I have also found absolutely no help by going to the student forum.
-The Forum itself hasn't been updated since December, 2012.
-The computers and devices I am using meet the system requirements, however I was told be Career Step, LLC's technical support that they are not supported by the audio player used in the modules.
-The Support Services & Technical Support tabs lead you to the same person who consistently transfers you to someone else. And the Shipping Services tab gives no information.
-You are promised a foot pedal right away, but I had to request mine be sent near 1 month into study.

I am completely unsatisfied with the course & the customer service provided by LearnTranscription.com and Career Step, LLC. Because of the reasons listed, I feel I have been scammed out of my money. Money that I really could not afford to spend, but thought (because of research into Career Step, LLC) was invested in a company that would help me get a career that I could use in the future. Not a program that at every turn reminds me that what I am diligently studying isn't necessary; one that is supposed to focus on the perfection of transcribing sensitive information that can be life-ending if incorrect, yet is wrought with spelling and grammatical errors. When they take the time to write an aside into the text reminding the student that their course-work is unimportant to the practice of medical transcription, I feel as if I am being laughed at and mocked for using their service.
Bottom line; I want my money back.

Desired Settlement
I want the $2,365 that I sent to Career Step, LLC & LearnTranscription.com for their course in Medical Transcription to be refunded.

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: ******** ******* Operations Manager
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: ****************@careerstep.com
********* ***** enrolled in the Career Step Medical Transcription Program offered through an academic partner, Learn Transcription, on February 5, 2012. Ms. ***** enrolled directly and paid directly to Learn Transcription. The enrollment agreement, return policy and is between Ms. ***** and Learn Transcription.

Career Step is unable to provide what Ms. ***** has requested as she would need to work directly with her school.

As a gesture of goodwill, we are willing to provide Ms. ***** with the option to continue her course with a complimentary 4-month extension.

Should Ms. ***** be unsatisfied with that offer, again, she would need to contact the school in which she enrolled.

Thank you for your time,

**** *******
Operations Manager



Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
I started Career Step's program on February 5th, 2013. Not 2012. Please be sure your records are correct.
Aside from this clerical error, I accept the four month extension of their program. As I understand it, the extension will change my completion of the program from 02-05-14 to 06-05-14. As suggested, should I have further problems with the school in which I enrolled, I will take it up directly with Learn Transcription.

Page 1 of 3

Industry Comparison| Chart

Correspondence Schools, Schools - Business & Vocational

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.