BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Utah

BBB Business Review

This Business is not BBB Accredited

Thermal Guard

Find a Location

(801) 695-5713LaytonUT 84040

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

Thermal Guard is not BBB Accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered Thermal Guard's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.

Factors that raised Thermal Guard's rating include:

  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Billing / Collection Issues1
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Problems with Product / Service0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Thermal Guard

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (1)BBB Closure Definitions
03/19/2012Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Last year a salesman came to my door advertising that his company Thermal Guard Insulation was doing insulation upgrades in our neighborhood and through government rebate programs it would be done at absolutely no cost to me. They also assured me they would file all the necessary rebate paperwork. I provided the information and paperwork they needed and had the installation completed. I was assured on several occasions that there would be no cost to me even if the rebates did not go through or did not cover the cost completely. The next week I was contacted saying there was an issue with the paperwork. They apparently could not get our address right on the paperwork and needed it recompleted. I e-mailed the necessary documents and thought the issue was resolved. A month later I received a call saying they had not gotten the paperwork. He then checked his e-mail and found it. Then several months later I received another call saying they had made another mistake with paperwork and needed us to fill it out again. We did so again. Then later that year I received a notice from Rocky Mountain power saying they had filed the paperwork too late and did not qualify for a rebate. I never received anything from Questar gas on the matter. Then I received a bill asking for payment in the amount $498.62. I called and explained the situation. They then suggested we resubmit paperwork with the wrong installation date on it to fraudulently get the rebate. I said I was not comfortable with that. I also meantioned I had not heard from Questar. They said they would look into the matter and get back to me. I heard nothing from them until March 6th 2012, when I received a notice that my account was past due and would be turned over to collections. I have attempted to contact them several times and my call has not been returned.
Product_Or_Service: Insulation upgrade

Desired Settlement
I would like for the company to settle my account and stop further efforts in collection. I was made a promise that there would be no cost to me. It was their fault that the paperwork was not done properly and therefore that rebates were not received. I do not feel like I have been dealt with honestly and fairly in the matter and would like the company to resolve the issue.

Business' Initial Response
Contact Name and Title: ****** ******
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: *****@comcast.net

I called Ms. ****** ******, her complaint is that we are billed her for payment on insulation we installed in her attic under a rebate program with the utility companies. Our sells representative told her that if the utility companies do not issue a rebate that we would waive our fee. The utility rebate checks are issued to the customer. In almost all cases the checks are mail within 6-weeks after which we issue a letter demanding payment, we are going to change this to a remainder letter inside. After a long period of time we are able to call the utility company and they will tell us if they issued the checks. I told Ms ****** that if she doesn't receive a rebate check she does not owe us money, she said she is ok with that.

Consumer's Final Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
I accept the response because the company has agreed not to bill me any further and has spoken to the utility company to issue the rebate which I will forward to them.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Contractor - Insulation, Furnace Sales & Service, Weatherization

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 02/16/2011Business started: 12/23/2010
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Lyle W. Stott (Owner)Mr. Jason Stott (Owner)
Business Category

Contractor - Insulation, Furnace Sales & Service, Weatherization

Alternate Business Names
Gem Development, LLC
Industry Tips
Fall Inspections Make for Warmer Winters
Heating Your Home

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Thermal Guard

Layton, UT 84040

To | From

LocationsX

2 Locations

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Utah. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Thermal Guard is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including the text of consumer complaints and business responses in BBB Business Reviews on 07/01/2013 for complaints filed on 01/01/2012 and thereafter. This includes all complaints that meet our reporting guidelines and that are filed electronically. We also report on the resolution of the complaint, as determined by BBB.

X

Industry Tips for Contractor - Insulation

Fall Inspections Make for Warmer Winters
Heating Your Home
X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.