Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

1-800 Contacts, Inc.

Additional Locations

Phone: (801) 924-9800 Fax: (801) 924-9905 View Additional Phone Numbers 66 Wadsworth Park Dr Ste 300, Draper, UT 84020

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that 1-800 Contacts, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for 1-800 Contacts, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 29 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

29 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 15 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 10
Billing/Collection Issues 4
Delivery Issues 3
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 11
Total Closed Complaints 29

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

4 Customer Reviews on 1-800 Contacts, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 3
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 4

Additional Information

BBB file opened: November 25, 1996 Business started: 02/01/1995 Business started locally: 02/01/1995 Business incorporated 11/01/2001 in DE
Type of Entity


Business Management
Ms. Heather Allen, Corporate Paralegal Mr. Brian Bethers, CEO
Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Heather Allen, Corporate Paralegal
Business Category

Contact Lenses Product Sales - General Manufacturers & Producers

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

1-800 Contacts, Inc. has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 66 Wadsworth Park Dr Ste 300

    Draper, UT 84020 (800) 266-8228 (801) 316-5240 (801) 572-5555 (801) 864-1419 (801) 924-9860 (801) 924-9800

  • 8757 S State St

    Sandy, UT 84070


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

9/23/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I ordered contact lenses for my wife and was charged Minnesota state sales tax on the order. I was not aware that Minnesota charged sales tax on prescription contact lenses and did a 'chat' with the customer service department. The agent was Dani and she did some checking and assured me that Minnesota did charge sales tax on prescription contact lenses. I allowed the order to go through with the $7.18 sales tax charge. I then contacted the Minnesota Department of Revenue and inquired as to whether prescription contact lenses were exempt from Minnesota sales tax. The email I received back from the Minnesota Sales and Use Tax Department stated "Contact lenses are not taxable." I then did another "chat" with Paige and she told me that there was nothing the company could do to refund the sales tax because they didn't have the ability to change whether or not their system calculated sales tax on a purchase or not. It is all based on the zip code entered and can't be changed. I have a Minnesota State zip code (55317) and since contact lenses are exempt from Minnesota State sales tax I do not owe sales tax on the contact lens order and should not have been charged for it. I even forwarded the email I received from the Minnesota Sales and Use Tax Division of the Minnesota Department of Revenue and was told they would continue to look into it but still could not (or would not) refund the sales tax. I have no complaint with the contact lenses I ordered for my wife but I would like the $7.18 sales tax charge refunded and have 1-800 Contacts change their system so it doesn't charge other Minnesota customers for sales tax. I can only assume that 1-800 Contacts has fraudulently received thousands of dollars from Minnesota customers by illegally charging sales tax on an exempt item. Who knows how many customers in other states they are doing this to also. I have also notified the Minnesota State Department of Revenue about this fraudulent practice of 1-800 Contacts.

Desired Settlement: I would like the erroneous $7.18 charge for sales tax to be refunded to the credit card used for my order and for 1-800 Contacts to modify their computer programs to no longer illegally charge Minnesota customers for sales tax on contact lens purchases. I would also like them to contact the Sales and Use Tax Department of the Department of Revenue of every state for which they currently charge sales tax on contact lenses and simply ask the question "Are contact lenses exempt or non-exempt from sales tax in your state?" and adjust their computer programs accordingly.

Business Response:

We appreciate the time, research and feedback received from our customer about Minnesota State tax.

We apologize for the confusion our customer has had with their taxes on this order. It is our focus and desire to make sure all our customers are completely satisfied.


To ensure accuracy on tax charges, we consistently update the tax guidelines in each of the states & locations we serve.

We understand there are several different tax regulations in each state.

As we’ve reviewed the Minnesota tax guidelines, we have found that corrective contact lenses are not subject to the general sales tax in Minnesota; however, they are subject to the MinnesotaCare Provider Tax as stipulated in Minnesota Statutes 295.50 through 295.52.  The tax that the customer was charged was in accordance with the MinnesotaCare Provider Tax. They were not charged any sales tax on top of that.


We have contacted our customer and discussed the guidelines in the state. They understood and have done research finding what was stated above. We were able to come to an understanding of the charges and our customer is satisfied.

Consumer Response:  
Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.


****** *****

9/11/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues
8/13/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased four boxes of contact lenses on 5-26-15 and they came with a $50.00 rebate certificate. I completed the rebate certificate and returned it to 1800Contacts. Around mid July 2015 I received a 1800Contacts check for $50.00. Before I could take the check to the bank I think it ended up in the trash. Anyway, I notified 1800Contacts by email that I had lost the check and wanted to see if I could get a replacement. Over the last two weeks I have sent four emails to 1800Contacts but have not received a response.

Desired Settlement: Replace the lost check for $50.00.

Business Response:

Our goal is to provide the best service in the industry and when we fall short of that expectation we take it personally. In this instance we are working as fast as we can to rectify the concerns and frustrations of our Customer. It is true that we have issued a rebate check to the Customer of $50.00 in June. We must wait a few more days until 8/8/15 to check on the status of that check. Once we can confirm its status we will follow up with our customer and reissue the rebate check. We sincerely apologize for the delay. We plan to follow up with the Customer on Monday, 8/10/15 to discuss a reissue of the rebate check and ensure that the customer is completely satisfied with the resolution.  


We have tried contacting the Customer by phone on 8/4/15 to go over this resolution, but there was no live response so we had to leave a message.


6/18/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
6/5/2015 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased my order on 12/17/2014. A few days (or a week) after my item arrived, I mailed in my rebate in January 2015 and was informed that it will take between 6-8 weeks for delivery of my rebate check. After waiting 8 weeks, I contacted customer service and they were able to confirm that the check was not cashed in. All the representatives that assisted me told me different things and were NOT on the same page. ****, ********, ****, ****, **** were all the different representatives that attempted to assist me. But none of them had followed up to make sure if I was completely satisfied after replying to my e-mails. One representative told me to wait an additional 3-4 weeks after saying they had contacted the rebate processing center and a new check has been resent. When I had ask for a tracking number to my check, one of the representative insisted that I have to wait for another couple days for them to have the information. After waiting again, another representative told me that they do not provide tracking numbers. After waiting another 4 weeks, the check has still not arrive. WHERE is the proof that my check is arriving?! This long wait is frustrating and is definitely not worth my time. Customer representatives from 1800Contacts are nice, yes. But are they helpful? NO. I am being told and given all these information that I felt was basically to "calm" me down. But in the end, I do not see any results because all I get are words and "guarantees" from them and nothing is being done. Make sure your representatives know what they are doing/saying and that they are on the same page to avoid future falsifications.

Desired Settlement: I want my rebate check immediately and credit issued for the stress and lack of results fulfilling my request.

Business Response:

There was an order placed in December 2014 which was eligible for a rebate. We have issued a rebate check on 2/17/15

The customer called at end of March notifying that it wasn’t received yet. Once discovered, we quickly reprocessed the check and put a stop payment on the first check.

At the beginning of April, the customer called and notified us that they still hadn’t received it. The mailing address was confirmed again. Since the customer still hasn’t received it to date, we reprocessed it internally instead of with our 3rd party for $*****.


We understand the customer’s frustration and our grateful to receive the feedback on the rebate process.  It is clear there is a disconnect with the way this rebate process was communicated to the customer.  We have called the customer and left a voice message (on both numbers on file) to notify to expect the new check. We will call on Friday to ensure delivery & will continue doing this until we know the check has arrived. In addition to reissuing the check, we have given a $** credit on the account along with free next day shipping to be used on a future order

Consumer Response:  
Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

I have spoke with a supervisor from 1800Contacts and we had agreed on a potential resolution. The new check will be printed on Thursday 06/04/15 and will be mailed out immediately. I will then receive a confirmation e-mail of my check number tomorrow as well. I should be receiving the check by Monday or Tuesday. The supervisor will then follow up with me again on Tuesday 06/09/15 to confirm that I have received it. In addition, we agreed that there will be a $** credit on my account for all this trouble. I will be waiting until Monday to receive my check and then follow up with BBB.
****** *****

5/8/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I ordered contacts from this company in December 2014. They sent the wrong strength for the left eye. I was leaving town for work so I would not have received the contacts in time. Upon my return, I got the contacts and a letter from their rebate dept. saying I was ineligible for the rebate as it had expired. I called Customer service and the rep said rebate dept was incorrect. I was eligible for the rebate. I waited a few more weeks and called again. Rep said I had to return the wrong contacts so I did the next day. I still have yet to get my rebate and it has been almost 5 months. I called three weeks ago. The rep said it would take two weeks to get the check today. I called again today and was told it was issued on 4/15 but would take 6 to 8 weeks to get it to me. WHY? This is unacceptable. I want to file a complaint for the lousy service I have gotten here. Just terrible!!

Desired Settlement: The rebate check!!!!

Business Response:


Because the original order was not returned to us it held up the rebate process.  In addition, the original order was returned in two separate shipments.  One was sent back in January and the other the end of February.  The customer called in March for a status update and the rebate check had not been issued yet due to the split return.  Once discovered, we quickly processed the rebate and expedited the process.  The check was issued on 4/15/15 in the amount of $*****. The customer should see the check around April 30th.  We have called the customer and left a voice message to ensure delivery.  We will continue doing this until we know the check has arrived.  We understand the frustration and will definitely make sure this customer is taken care of.   


Because the original order was not returned to us it held up the rebate process.  In addition, the original order was returned in two separate shipments.  One was sent back in January and the other the end of February.  The customer called in March for a status update and the rebate check had not been issued yet due to the split return.  Once discovered, we quickly processed the rebate and expedited the process.  The check was issued on 4/15/15 in the amount of $*****. The customer should see the check around April 30th.  We have called the customer and left a voice message to ensure delivery.  We will continue doing this until we know the check has arrived.  We understand the frustration and will definitely make sure this customer is taken care of.   

Consumer Response:  
Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:the contents of their e-mail is untrue. There was only one return to be made by me and it was return of contacts that they had sent in the wrong strength. This should not have held up the rebate processing as they were in the process of sending me the correct strength. This was their error that caused the delay.  


******** *******

Consumer Response:


I have received my $***** rebate check.  Thus, I feel this complaint has been resolved.  However, I will NEVER use this company again.  It was nothing but poor service, mistakes and the complete run around.  I feel this should be reflected in the score that you give them. 

Thanks so much for your help.


*** *******

3/21/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: On 12/18/2014 I ordered Contact Lenses for my wife, which indicated an order total $319.96 and total after mail-in rebate of $289.96. On 3/4/2015 I printed a copy of the Order for insurance reimbursement and realized the advertised rebate was never received. I initiated a chat with 1800contact customer service and stated we have never received the rebate appearing on the order. She wrote back that if I looked at the shipping notice and scrolled down to the bottom of the page I would see something to click on to apply for the rebate. I was further told that this rebate expired on 2/28/2015 and I would not get anything. I feel this is deceitful advertising and the rebate is only available if you can find it. Apparently we are not the only customers who did not receive rebate, since there were other complaints on the BBB about this hidden rebate.

Desired Settlement: Send $30 rebate as appears on order.

Business Response:

Due to the misunderstanding this customer was contacted on 3/6/15 and a refund check was issued for the rebate amount of $30. It will be shipped on Tuesday, 3/10/15 and the customer was made aware of this.


The customer was informed that in no way are we trying to be deceitful in advertising the receipt of a rebate offer.  Every customer who is eligible for a rebate will receive it as part of the shipping confirmation email.  We’ve included it as part of the email in hopes it would be more convenient for our customers. The rebate link is located near the bottom of the email so unless the customer scrolls down to see the bottom half of the email, he/she will not see it.  We value the relationship of this and every customer and appreciate their business. 


3/4/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: The problem is that 1800contact lens, sent me contact lens that was not autorized by the correct doctor and a prescription from over 3 years old. They did not follow the guide lines of sending me contact lens from my most recent doctor. They tried to clean it up by, contacting my doctor after their mistake and the doctor would not allow them to send me contact lens that affected my eyes in a bad way. So, long story short, I spoke to Several 1800contact lens places and was told that they will refund my $80 back into my account. I even spoke to their Manager "******" who promised me that since I returned the incorrect contact lens to the company, that she will make sure it's refunded into my account. Even my doctor, expressed or should I say the manager of my doctor said that I should get my money back for their fraudualent mistake of sending the wrong prescrition and brand. Going back to the beginning when I tried to order my contact lens, the company (representative) had no clue as to my size lens and nor did she know the brand, I had to help her to let her know thats incorrect. But she reasured me that she will make sure it's the right one. That Did Not Happen Obviously. So, now it's been well over 10 days of me getting my money back into my account. Now when I call, they are acting dumb founded, by saying "oh you want the money put back into your account". Because they are playing this game of wanting me to use their service to keep me to purchase with them. It's never ever going to happen. I never seen this to happen, because they were always about being a business to assist the customer, but they have proven that they were only concerned to cause lie among me and my doctor. They tried to put it on my doctor, when all alone it was them who made the mistake. This is what I was told from my doctors manager, that they did nothing wrong and that I need to make sure of the facts and thats how I found out were the problem layed. Now it has been more than 15 days and still, I'm being told that it will be put into my account. People, I know everyone has a story and may not believe that this can happen to you, but it can, because it happened to me. They even had the Wrong doctors name, they started off as a lie. If you happen to use their service, be aware of these mistakes and I expressed to them that I am unemployed and it was very difficult to come up without having a monthly income. Of course, that was not their concern. Make sure they have the correct doctor and prescription or if not, you will go through the same trama as I am experiencing now with 1-800-contact lens.

Desired Settlement: They never refunded my money of $80 back into my account as they so dearingly expressed that they will do it and it will show up in my account in 10 business days. Well that too, was a lie, because its been more than 15 days. I thought speaking to the manager "******" was going to make a difference, it didn't and this is a disappointment. She couldn't even satisfy a customer who has been using their service. They are not in the business of making the customer their number one priority.

Business Response: Customer had called on 2/6/15 at 10:20AM MST to confirm that the $80 refund is showing up in the bank account. Refund is complete and received. No further action is needed and the situation has been resolved.

1/13/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I ordered contacts on two different dates, 11/11/2013 and 03/25/2014. I was notified that I could ship back unused contacts for a full refund. Originally I was told at retail price, later corrected to full purchase price, and again corrected to purchase price minus rebates, which total 77.43 and 124.96 respectively. The first order had $143.96 worth of contacts, which I added $7.99 of eye drops to in order to use a $50 off order of $150+ coupon code. Therefore, the refund amount should be what I paid after this code negated shipping and the eye drops, and rebate is taken off, which is $77.43. I would not have ordered their terribly priced drops had it not been FREE with the promo code, which would not have applied without them. On 12/17/2014 I received a credit to my paypal account for $68.96, stating it is a partial refund for the $124.96 order. I contacted the company and they stated that they issued both refunds, but cannot explain why I only received one - and for an amount incorrect on either account. I am currently owed $133.43 as the balance on the two orders. I will never purchase from this company again. Product_Or_Service: Contacts Order_Number: **********, ********

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Refund I want the refund I was promised after all of their corrections, which is 124.96 plus 77.43, minus the credit received of 68.96, =$133.43.

Business Response: Contact Name and Title: ****** *, Team Lead
Contact Phone: ************
The customer has received two separate refunds which have settled totaling: $******. A third refund has been paid out at $****, which is the balance owed for returned lenses. This $**** will show up on the customer's bank account in 3-10 business days. The customer's total amount of funds refunded are: $******.
No further amounts are owed at this time.

Consumer Response: (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
As I explained to the company over the phone,I only received one of the two original refunds they promised, 68.96 on December 17, an additional 8.47 was refunded on January 2, after opening this case. The larger refund did not go to me, so I'm unsure what they did with it. My paypal account is linked to my email associated with their account.

12/26/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I returned an almost full order of Acuvue Advance 24 pack and was informed I would be awarded a refund of $109.67. They never sent my refund. I purchased the Acuvue Advance Plus 24 pack from 1800 Contacts on 4/14/2013. Shortly after I received them my prescription changed, so I decided to return them after finding out I could return all unused contacts for a refund. On September of 2014 I was informed that I would receive a refund of $109.67 to my Paypal account. October came and still nothing, I called Paypal because 1800 contacts claimed they had already sent my refund. After many calls to 1800 Contacts from the Paypal representative and I, and even a conference call, it was determined that this was an error from 1800 Contacts and my refund was actually never sent. On November 13, 2014 they said a check was mailed out to me for the amount of $146.22 (my original purchase amount) and that I should receive it between one to two weeks. On December 2. 2014 I e-mailed 1800 Contacts again to ask why I have not received the check yet. At this time they just apologized again and said they will order a check to be sent to me. I responded very upset and disappointed, the previous representative told me that was done three weeks ago!! Every time I call or e-mail this company it seems that I have to explain the situation to them all over agin, because they are incapable of reading their own notes. It is such a hassle and quiet honestly, I just do not have the time to deal with this anymore. I told them I am very upset and I will not shop from them again, and that I would file this complaint, I have yet to receive a reply on that and it has been 2 days.

Desired Settlement: I want to receive the refund that was promised to me of $146.22 as a check in the mail, NOT any other way.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/12/17) */ Contact Name and Title: ****** *** **** Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX A check dated 12/9/14 in the amount of $146.22 has been issued and sent to customer's address on file. We have contacted the customer by phone with the update. The Refund of $109. 67 dated 9/13/14 shows on our records as settled with PayPal.

12/1/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased contact lenses, with a guaranteed rebate that I was supposed to receive in the mail. 1-800-Contacts is refusing to honor this rebate. I ordered a year's supply of Focus Dailies contacts lenses on 8/13/14. The order # was **********. The total order amount was $479.92, which was paid via debit card immediately. A $60 rebate was guaranteed in 6-8 weeks after submitting a required form online. I completed the form the same week the order was placed. When 6-8 weeks passed and I had not received the rebate, I contacted 1-800-Contacts. They informed me the check was mailed out and I should have received it. Upon informing them I did not receive it, they cancelled the first check and issued another. Several weeks passed and I never received it. I spoke to 7 different representatives at 1-800-contacts throughout these weeks. All of whom kept brushing me off and told me there was nothing that could be done. The 2 managers I was in frequent contact with were ***** ********* and ****** (refused to provide me with her last name). It has now been 13 weeks since I submitted the required documentation. I should have received the rebate in 6-8 weeks. All representatives at 1-800-Contacts are refusing to provide me with resolution to this issue.

Desired Settlement: I am seeking $60 for the guaranteed rebate.

Business Response: Contact Name and Title: ****** Sr. manager digital and development
Contact Phone: **********
This customer opted to return the contact lens order to us. Half of the order was refunded on on the 17th of November. The remainder of the order will be refunded once the contacts are returned. The rebate was tracked and on its way to the customer. This was cancelled once the customer decided to return the lenses.

11/12/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: Charged me for a third time for something I did not order, receive or authorized on my card. Was advised I'd get a refund but never did My account email is ********* It has taken 4 phone calls in the span of 2 months for them to fix their errors. when I first called to place my order in August it was shipped using the wrong shipping method. After not receiving my order I was suppose to get in two days I called the 2nd time and thats when i was send a second shipment next day air, again because the original order was processed incorrectly. I called two weeks later deciding to keep the both shipments and agreed to get my card charged. they advised the 2nd order would charge after the returned shipment was not received. NOPE. My cc got charged in Aug for the 2nd shipment AND i got charged AGAIN on 9-29. I called THAT DAY to find out why i had 3 charges from you company. The rep on that call confirmed with a manager it was an error and stated he'd void out the transaction AFTER speaking to a manager. TODAY, almost a month later, i see i did in deed get charged and that transaction was never voided. I'm beyond annoyed at their service at this point and extremely disappointed at the lack of accountability they have with their users . I Never ordered a 3rd shipment, never received it, and never authorized them to charge me again. I have not yet gotten the refund the told me I'd get.

Desired Settlement: I want the money they charged without my permission

Business Response: Contact Name and Title: ****** Sr. Manager of Digital & Development
Contact Phone: **********
We definitely made a mistake in the way this customer's order was handled. Unfortunately it took much longer than it should have to resolve. The customer was refunded for the order as requested. We also issued a credit card refund for the amount of $** for the inconvenience.

10/29/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I placed an order with this company using there mobile app. When I placed the order using the prompts provided I arrived at the end of the process and was shown an order amount of $267.96 with the description of "price after discounts and savings". When the order arrive the invoice amount was $327.96. A call to the customer service number for the company resulted in that I was told the difference in price was due to a mail in rebate for the product. No where during the time I was using the app to place the order did the word rebate show up as to be obvious to the average user. I agreed to pay the amount of $267.96 and was charged $327.96, The rebate program in use by this company is deceiving at best. Product_Or_Service: Contact lens Order_Number: XXXXXXXXXX

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: No settlement requested - for 1800 contacts should show the actual amount the customer will be billed when the customer agrees to buy a product.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 8, 2014/10/20) */ Contacted customer and thanked customer for the feedback on our mobile app. I have reached out to our developers and they have made changes to the visibilty and verbiage pertaining to the rebate on the app. Called customer and refunded $60 to the credit card for the rebate confusion.

10/14/2014 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: Company never shipped my items to me. Order number **********. I placed order 7OCT with expedited shipping. It did not arrive 9OCT. I had to call customer service several times. They offered to ship a new shipment Tuesday due to the holiday season. I needed the lenses for upcoming travel. If I had not followed up numerous times, they would never have ensured that I received my items. I wonder how many other customers pay this company money and never receive their products. Any help in ensuring that the amount spent for the lenses never shipped would be very helpful. I do not trust the customer service to get it done. Thank you very much for your time and help.

Desired Settlement: I would like my purchases refunded in full. They stated it would be, but many folks have posted horror stories online about 1800 Contacts. I am requesting the BBB assist in ensuring the amount is refunded in a timely manner.

Business Response: Contact Name and Title: ****** Sr. Manager Digital & Development
Contact Phone: **********

Customer requested the original order of $95.98 be refunded. This request was granted on the 9th of October. Another package was shipped to the customer free of charge due to the original package never arriving. The customer received a total of $191.96 in merchandise and wasn't charged for any of it. Both orders were delivered to the customer and customer was told not to worry about sending the replacement package back due to the frustration.

Consumer Response: I would like to withdraw my complaint. Everything has been taken care of.

10/10/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I did not receive credit for items returned I returned 6 boxes of lenses, in their entirety. They are saying they only received 2. I have both the weight of the box and photos of the box before shipping it to them. This is the 3rd time they have tried to say I did not return something that I actually did. I have the return tracking information from the USPS also.

Desired Settlement: I want a refund for all of the lenses that I sent back to them

Business Response: Contact Name and Title: ******
Contact Phone: **********
The customer was refunded for the full amount as requested. This refund took place on 9/30/14. The customer was called and notified of the refund.

9/22/2014 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: 1800Contacts advertises a $65 rebate, but it has been 3 months, I have complained to them 3 times and I still don't have the rebate. Order Date: 5/30/2014 Order Status: Shipped Order Number: XXXXXXXXXX Customer Number: XXXXXXXX Shipping Time:5-7 business days Rebate to arrive 6-8 weeks from submission of form. Form confirmed to have been received on 6/7/2014. I was told that the rebate may have gotten lost. Another one was sent on 8/5/2014. However, I have not received anything in the mail. They have my correct address and customer service says they can't re-issue the check until 9/5/2014, and even then it will take another 2 weeks to arrive. This is an incredible amount of effort for a $65 rebate that I have been promised by the company.

Desired Settlement: I would like my $65 rebate. A discount coupon for a future purchase would be needed as well if they'd like me to return as customer.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 7, 2014/09/18) */ Contact Name and Title: ****** Contact Phone: XXXXXXXXXX I personally called this customer about the rebate issue and apologized for the frustration and stress this has created. Unfortunately I was only able to leave a voice mail message. I asked that the customer call me back letting me know if the rebate check was received. It was reissued on the 4th of September and takes 1-2 weeks to arrive so the customer should have receieved it by now. For the inconvenience the customer will be given $25 off the next order plus free next day shipping. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (2000, 9, 2014/09/19) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) I received my rebate last week (9/10/2014). ****, a social media person from 1800Contacts followed up with me immediately. She passed on my message to her managers, as well as sending a t-shirt, saline solution, contact cases and a handwritten note. I followed up with her on Twitter and let her know she's a customer service rock star. A few days latter, I was called twice by managers with 1800Contacts to make sure I got my rebate and I felt satisfied (despite the rebate ordeal). They have held true to their word, and I appreciate their willingness to acknowledge less-than-stellar service and to correct it. Much appreciated to all who followed through on this complaint.

8/21/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: filling and changing contact lenses without proper verification. this online retail continues to call the wrong number for my office to get rx verification after being told numerous times what the office number is, they call sears optical which is not affililated with my office, they fill expired presciptions without getting the correct information and changing the type of lens

Desired Settlement: to have them change the contact number in their system and stop calling the wrong number for verification, faxed request enables my office to respond in the time frame they are demanding

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/07/10) */ Contact Name and Title: **** ******* Sr. Manager Contact Phone: XXXXXXXXXX We researched our records for the address listed in this complaint. Our records do list this address for both *** ******** and Sears Optical. Upon calling the phone number in our database associated with the said address the phone was answered as "Sear's Optical, office of Doctor *** ********." It would appear that our records are correct for the address listed. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2014/07/15) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) My office is not associated with sears optical, it is located next to sears optical my office phone is XXX-XXX-XXXX, this us the only number that should be used to verify prescriptions, calling sears optical will not get them the correct information, so calling them is not acceptable Final Business Response /* (4000, 9, 2014/08/05) */ We have updated our records to reflect the changes Dr. ******** pointed out. At this point Dr. ******** should not be associated with Sears Optical in our system. If there are continued problems please let us know. Thanks.

8/19/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I was charged for Saline Solution I did not ordered complaint and was told of the reimbursement on 7/22/14 called today and it was not done til 27. 7/16/14 I placed an order for contact lenses and rejected the sale of saline solution. Package arrived on 7/22/14 a debit was done to my credit card without authorization and delivery of a box of solution. Called company and was told a reimbursement would be issued and to stay with product today a week later I called and the reimbursement was not issued til 7/27/14, it will take another 10 days. The supervisor indicated that they did not know why the delay in reimbursement and could not do nothing else, that any case this was my problem for not waiting for the monies. He did not want to provide me the address of the company because I would be wasting the time to file a complaint that he was hearing and I was not helping the situation. This is the worst customer service received on a non solicited product. I as a consumer made it clear I did not want the product and they did not have the authorization to charge the monies. Customer No XXXXXXXX Invoice No XXXXXXXXXX Batch ID XXXXX Order date 7/16/14. Product not solicitedOpti-Free Pure Moist MPS 10 oz $12.99. I will file a complaint with the company as well since I finally obtained the address that was not being provided. I have dealt with this company for more than 10 years and this is my first incident and I dont believe will be using them ever again.

Desired Settlement: I want my bank account credited for the $12.99 I am not looking to make money but to have my reimbursement for something I will not be using and offered to send back.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/08/07) */ Contact Name and Title: ******* Sr. Manager Digital & Development Contact Phone: XXXXXXXXXX I had the opportunity to contact this customer and apologize for the frustration this has caused. Fortunately,the customer informed me that the refund was put back on the credit card the night the call took place. A credit was placed on the account as well for the hassle this has been for the customer. The frustration was with solution placed on the cusotmer's order and from the response received from one of our representatives. I thanked the customer for being willing to take the time to provide feedback to our company. Be it good or bad, it allows us to evaluate our business and make a concerted effort to do better. 1-800 is known for simple and exceptional customer service and it was dissapointing to see we dropped the ball with this individual. We have done and will continue to do whatever we can to right our wrongs. We appreciate our customers and their loyatly to our company.

4/4/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: if you order online they state you will receive a 30 dollar rebate form after you order, they fail to send the form to you. This has happened twice. I placed an order back in Feb, I never received the rebate form by email like they stated they would send, I contacted them in reference to this and they state the offer has expired and that there is nothing they can do. This is the second time they have done this, they have no problems sending multiple emails when it is time to reorder but the rebate forms seem to get lost.

Desired Settlement: 30 dollars

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/04/01) */ Contact Name and Title: ***** **** Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: ***** I asked ****** *** ***** one of our supervisors, to call this customer. We explained that the rebate is actually obtained online and we let him know where to find that information going forward. We also refunded the rebate amount for him. He was appreciative of the resolution. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (2000, 7, 2014/04/04) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) They held up their end of the bargain.

3/21/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: The company honors eye scripts that are no longer valid. This company did not wait for verification from eye doctor for current prescription to mail contacts. They used a two year old prescription that was no longer valid. This practice allows people to get contacts through their company without valid eye prescriptions which are valid for only one year. I believe this benefits them financially.

Desired Settlement: $60.00 refund amount

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/03/03) */ Contact Name and Title: ***** **** - Associate Director Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: ******* I called the customer to explain the verification laws, with the FCLCA (Fairness to Contact Lens Consumer Act). We verified the prescription with the doctors office and they did not respond back letting us know that anything had changed. We have shipped out the correct package to the customer, that should arrive by tomorrow evening. Also, I have offered her *** off her next order and free next bussiness day delivery. We have also sent her a pre-paid return label to return the incorrect lenses.

3/17/2014 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased Contacts from them in September 2013. They advertise a rebate of $75. They said it would take 4-6 weeks after I submit the rebate forms. After waiting 6 weeks, I contacted them by email. They replied that they were sorry for the delay and that they would reissue it and I was to wait 2-3 weeks for its delivery. After waiting for that length of time, I contacted them again. This time they said 'Oh, you gave us PO box address. We need a physical address'. I sent them the physical address and again waited 2 weeks. When I called again to ask for it, the lady who answered the phone said 'We sent it to your PO box address by mistake. Did you check it there?' I said that I was at the PO just a day before. Then she said that she would talk to someone and get back to me. But it has been more than 2 weeks and I have not heard anything. I did get a card in the mail two days ago with $10 gift certificate and note that stated 'We are sorry for the frustration we have caused you. We would do everything to address your concerns. Please use this $10 to buy more next time'!!!!!! There was NO $75 rebate check with it. If they wanted to address my concern, why did they not include the rebate check with it?This is advertising fraud. I would like my money back for the contacts since they refuse to honor their commitment.Thank youSandhia Product_Or_Service: Contacts Order_Number: XXXXXXXXXX

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Refund I would like to have a refund for the Contacts that I purchased in September 2013. I paid $271.92 and they shipped on 10/1/2013. I have yet to receive my rebate check of $75 despite of several attempts that I have made. It is false advertising.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/02/24) */ Contact Name and Title: ***** **** - Associate Director Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: ***** We gave ******* a call this afternoon to see if we could take care of this situation. We left a phone message in hopes that she will call us back. We are very sorry for the delay with the rebate, so we have issued a refund for that. Also, we have offered her *** off a future purchase, a *** gift certificate, as well as free next business day delivery.

3/4/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: 1800 contacts charged my bank account twice, for one order. I called and alerted them of the mistake, but no action taken. My bank account was charged twice, even after I alerted 1800 about it. I spent over three hours on the phone with 1800 and my bank trying to clear up what was obviously 1800 problem. 1800 was of no help, even after calling 3 days in a row to correct this issue.

Desired Settlement: Refund my money, and I keep the order of contacts, for my problems and the lack of interest by 1800 to correct the problem before my account was charged.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/02/07) */ Contact Name and Title: ***** **** - Call Center Associate Director Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: ***** I called ******* this afternoon. She called our comany earlier this week and we submitted a refund for the second charge as well as her whole order. I also offered her next business day shipping and *** off her next order to make things better for the future. She seemed pleased and encouraged by the refunds. I will check back with her Monday to make sure she has received the refunds.

1/30/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: i ordered contacts from this company on the 3rd of January 2014 and i paid it with my credit card and they billed my husbands credit card and also mine but it says that no previous credit card is saved on my acct. i never authorized any information to do this and i want my money back. this is illegal and i am not happy at all. i talked to them on the phone and they wont refund the money to my husbands card. they told me all they can say is reorder a new supply and than we can cancel the credit card i am not made of money and this is wrong Product_Or_Service: contact lens

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Refund i was charged on my credit card as well as my husbands for $89.98 two times and want the refund back on his card. His name is **** ****

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/01/10) */ Contact Name and Title: ********, Customer Care Representative Contact Phone: X-XXX-XXX-XXXX Dear ****, I apologize that you had trouble with your online order billing a different credit card than the one you wanted! We are happy to refund that card and charge the new card that you would like the funds taken from. In the case that there has been a double authorization on your card please fax or email your bank statments showing those charges to X-XXX-XXX-XXXX or **** for email. Please make sure to attach your customer number somewhere in your fax or email. Your customer number is listed on your invoice that came with your contacts, and should also be listed in your confirmation emails as well. We are happy to go through any steps necessary to correct any errors that were made and fix this issue for you! We look forward to hearing from you and hope you have a wonderful day! Sincerely, ********

10/28/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: Mail in rebate from 05/01/13 never rec'd. Called and followed up now on 3rd so called rebate ck issued but never rec'd Really 3 rebate cks issued and mailed and yet I've never rec'd any, some how contacts get here in 3 days. Where is my $55.00?

Desired Settlement: I want my money owed me!

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/09/26) */ Contact Name and Title: ***** **** - Customer Care Manager Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: ***** I called **** ****** this afternoon because of the problems she has with her rebate check. She did receive it. In attempting to mention that I would fully refund her complete order, she hung up. I then sent an email to her letting her know that we have fully refunded her order for ******* and also offered her a free year supply of lenses when she needs more. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2013/09/30) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) Not yet, I was promised a refund for my total initial purchase, as I have not yet rec'd it I do not want the case closed. Final Consumer Response /* (2500, 8, 2013/09/30) */ Final Business Response /* (2600, 15, 2013/10/17) */ Contact Name and Title: ***** **** Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: ***** I made a mistake by applying a credit on ****'s account but not refunding it. I sent her an email on October 10th letting her know that we now have submitted the refund and the credit card company should have that settled on or before the 24th of October. I will follow up with her to make sure that the refund for her entire order is received.

10/18/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have not recieved a promised rebate and it's been 4 months I purchased a year's supply of lenses in mid-June, 2013 and submitted the proper rebate form. Fulfillment was promised within "6-8 weeks". In mid-August I recieved a letter which was dated July 28, that I needed to submit a physical address instead of a PO box, which I then did. I called in September to check on the status of the rebate and was told it would take another 2 weeks. Because I was put on hold for 10 minutes during that call, and treated, I thought, rather rudely by the service rep, I am hesitant to call again. It is mid October (16 weeks later!) and no check. I feel this was false advertising on 1800contact's part as I would never have bought a full year's supply without the promise of rebate.

Desired Settlement: I would like to recieve my rebate immediately. I also believe they should be clearer in their advertising about how long rebates take to fulfill (several months vs. weeks)and in the claim form, noting that PO boxes are not allowable.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/10/16) */ Contact Name and Title: ***** **** - Customer Care Manager / Associate Dir Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: ***** ***** ******* one of our supervisors, called **** this afternoon to resolve the issue. We refunded her order for the long delay and because of her loyalty to the company. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (2000, 7, 2013/10/17) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) The business contacted me immediately after I posted my bbb complaint. The service rep was very courteous and generous in his offer to make things right. I am extremely satisfied.

7/22/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: Why does 1800contacts need a physical address to send an rebate when our order for the product came to our po box. Our mail is not delivered rural. 1800contacts says they need a street address to send an Rebate for a product bought through them, And yet they sent the product through the US post no problem. Many people especially older ones would get the letter from them and throw it away or misplace it saving them possibly hundreds of thousands of dollars a year in rebate money. Bottom line is they were able to get the product to us with just a P.O. they can surely get the rebate check to us in the same fashion.

Desired Settlement: Just send my rebate and quit messing with people. They say they are sending my rebate. I am weary of tactics designed to hold up and cheat people who really cannot afford this. When buying a product from a company as popular as 1800contacts it is expected that there would some pride in their business practices.

Business Response: Business' Initial Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/07/19) */ Contact Name and Title: ***** **** - Customer Care Manager Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: ***** Called the customer number listed without a response. We are going to mail him a $25 gift certificate for future purchase because of the inconvenience. We also are going to send an email to see if we can reach him. Consumer's Final Response /* (3000, 7, 2013/07/22) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) The question is how many people especially older folks are confused by tactics designed to keep rebate money. As for not being able to reach me by email, there e ads seem to get through fine. I recieve on an average of two to three a week. I feel 1800contacts provide a good product at a reasonable cost.....I do not like the way they handle the rebates. Having said that I thank them for the response and the offer. As far as I am concerned the subject is closed.

6/21/2013 Problems with Product/Service
6/13/2013 Problems with Product/Service
5/16/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues