BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
In Utah

BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 02/01/1995

1-800 Contacts, Inc.

Find a Location

Phone: (801) 924-9800Fax: (801) 924-9905View Additional Phone Numbers66 Wadsworth Park Dr Ste 300, DraperUT 84020-7944 Send email to 1-800 Contacts, Inc.

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 02/01/1995

BBB has determined that 1-800 Contacts, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised 1-800 Contacts, Inc.'s rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 14 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

14 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 7 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues5
Billing / Collection Issues4
Delivery Issues1
Problems with Product / Service4
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 14

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (14)BBB Closure Definitions
07/22/2013Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: None of the Above - Sales Complaint Issue

Complaint: Why does 1800contacts need a physical address to send an rebate when our order for the product came to our po box. Our mail is not delivered rural.
1800contacts says they need a street address to send an
Rebate for a product bought through them,
And yet they sent the product through the US post no problem.
Many people especially older ones would get the letter from them and throw it away or misplace it saving them possibly hundreds of thousands of dollars a year in rebate money. Bottom line is they were able to get the product to us with just a P.O. they can surely get the rebate check to us in the same fashion.

Business' Initial Response
Contact Name and Title: ***** **** - Customer Care Manager
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: *****@1800contacts.com
Called the customer number listed without a response. We are going to mail him a $25 gift certificate for future purchase because of the inconvenience. We also are going to send an email to see if we can reach him.

Consumer's Final Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
The question is how many people especially older folks are confused by tactics designed to keep rebate money. As for not being able to reach me by email, there e ads seem to get through fine. I recieve on an average of two to three a week. I feel 1800contacts provide a good product at a reasonable cost.....I do not like the way they handle the rebates. Having said that I thank them for the response and the offer. As far as I am concerned the subject is closed.

06/13/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Failure to provide promised assistance or support for products or services

Complaint: My account in 800 contacts has been compromised. 800 Contacts is not willing to delete my account. I do not want this account!
My 800 Contacts account has been compromised. They have sent numerous emails to other email addresses including emails to change password ** access my account. Since this lack of customer protection is very serious to me, I will NEVER buy anything from this company again. Therefore, I want my account deleted fully. 800 Contacts claims that they are unable to delete my account. So I am stuck with them screwing up with my personal information sending it to the wrong people, supporting fraud, and not protecting the customer from it.

After many emails I sent requesting this, all 800 Contact will do to protect my information is change my email in the account settings. This is not enough for me. I want my account fully deleted. This is the reply I got from 800 Contacts.



I truly apologize about your email address being compromised! I have removed that from your account. Unfortunately, we cannot completely delete accounts since they are considered medical information. I am so sorry about that! I have removed your email address however. If there is anything else we can do for you, feel free to reply to this email or call us at X-XXX-XXX-XXXX. Have a nice day.

Sincerely,
Lindsay

Business' Initial Response
Contact Name and Title: ***** **** / Customer Care Manager
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: *****@1800contacts.com

I have left a phone message with ***** asking him to call me back so that we can resolve this situation and make sure he is happy. We take this complaint very seriously because we do not give out information to other people and I would like to do further research with the customer to see what happened.

Consumer's Final Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
***** ****, Customer Manager, took the time to solve my problem step by step and went beyond his duty to make sure I was pleased with the result. I am pleased with the results.

10/31/2012Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Unauthorized bank debits

Complaint: WIRE FRAUD / Debiting our account without authorization.
On June 27th 2012 I ordered contacts and they charged me 259.00 approximately. I got the order sometime later that week and it was not correct. I called on July 5th to get the order straight and they charged me again. I did not notice this until the next morning and since then, every representative lies about me even calling, they say they do not see the charge, they lie and lie.
On Aug. 27th I call to try and get to top person on the line to clear this up and was told by the representative they are issuing a refund and I will have it by Friday Aug. 31st. Because I do not trust them I called back on Aug. 28th and sure enough they have no record of me calling them and lie about the refund and say they do not see any charges.
ONE LIE after another lie. There is not a manager. The supervisor comes on and says they show no record of me ever calling.

THIS COMPANY IS A FRAUD. THEY ARE COMMITTING WIRE FRAUD. THEY ARE LIARS AND NOT A 5 STAR COMPANY AS EVERYONE THINKS.

Business' Initial Response
Contact Name and Title: ****** ****** Customer Care Mngr
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: *****@contacts.com

An order for contact lenses was placed by the consumer on 7/27/2012 totaling $250.93 for contact lenses and shipping. At this time they authorized the charge for the product, which was processed on the date the order shipped (7/27/2012). The product was delivered to the customer on 7/31/2012 at 8:28 am. On 7/31/2012 they placed a new order for a prescription totaling $166.95, and requested to send back the order from 7/27/12. We created a return label and sent it to the customer and provided a credit to send the new order.

This order was cancelled, and as a result the refund for the original order delivered to the customer would be processed when we received the product back. After a number of threatening calls from the customer we received the product back from the customer at the end of September. A full refund for everything paid, including shipping as a courtesy on our part was processed and completed on 10/4/2012. The current complaint was created before we had even received the product back from the customer.

All charges were authorized as part of an order, and refunded when the product was returned. The issue appears to be resolved as we've had no further communication or report from the customer.

Consumer's Final Response
Apologies. Purchase was made on July 27th and several days later Aug. 5th was the second unauthorized charges.

Please make note of this error and the corrections stated herein.

02/28/2012Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: None of the Above - Refund or Exchange Complaint Issue

Complaint: I ordered contacts, faxed my prescription and received the wrong prescription. I am now having problems getting them exchanged and I need them.
I ordered two boxes of contact lenses on January 3, 2012. I faxed my prescription TWICE to their RX department and have a confirmation email that they received it. I was sent two boxes of the wrong prescription and now am having extreme difficulty getting them exchanged. They have fixed and re-ordered for me twice and deleted the order twice. They had the incorrect eye doctor the first time and now they are saying that my prescription is invalid even though they have it and confirmed that it was valid on January 5, 2012. I have paid them $160.11 for contacts that I cannot use and apparently cannot exchange. I would like to have the proper prescription sent to me, failing that I would like my money charged back to my credit card.

Business' Initial Response
Contact Name and Title: ****** ****** Customer Care Manager
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: *****@contacts.com

The customers original online order has now been received, and the value of the lenses have refunded to the card used to originaly pay for the order. A pre-paid return label was sent to the customer on January 10th and the product was received back on January 17th. The refund processed back to the customer at this point and usually takes 3-10 business days for their financial instituation to post the funds back as available on their account. Unfortunately there was either a system error or some other reason we did not receive the prescription from the customer, the only fax records we have for the customer are from her eye care provider indicating she was not a patient and/or did not have a valid prescription. We attempted to resolve this with the providers office but failed to aquire anything that would allow us to ship product. If we can get anything showing a valid prescription we would be happy to provide a a discount to a future order with free expedited shipping.

Consumer's Final Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I have never spoken to ****** ******, I spoke with ***** ******. He was as helpful as he could be but was limited in his authority to do very much. This company charged my credit card twice for $162 and only refunded me once. As they have still not refunded the second charge to my credit card, I do not wish to give them any of my business at all which is why the 50% solution is unacceptable to me, I would just like the second $162 refunded and for them to not contact me again after that.

Business' Final Response
Contact Name and Title: ****** ****** Customer Care Manager
Contact Phone: XXXXXXXXXX
Contact Email: *****@contacts.com

We have attempted to contact the customer and provde the desired response. Currently the full value of the customers order has been refunded. This occured the day after the lenses were received. Typically it takes 3 to 10 business days for the credit to post on their account due to bank processing times. We have provided the customer with the reference number of the credit card refund from their financial institution.

We have offered to provide a 50% discount on her purchase when the customer is ready. We have also provided alternative submission methods for the prescription, left and have not received a response back from the customer. We have made every legally viable effort to address the customers concern and to ship out lenses.

04/04/2014Advertising / Sales Issues
Page 1 of 3
06/21/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: None of the Above - Service Complaint Issue

Complaint: 1800contacts will not remove my personal information from their database.
After receiving endless amounts of spam which I could never unsubscribe from within the email, I realized when I logged into my account I literally had already taken all the appropriate actions to unsubscribe myself from these emails. I called 1800Contacts to express my distress and someone on the phone assured me I would not be receiving emails anymore. A minute later, I received an email stating my account email address had been changed to the following: ********@gmail.com. The reason I am so shocked, is due to the fact that anyone with that email address could have logged in and retrieved my personal information including my name, address, and phone number. I called back and told 1800contacts to please remove me from their database and never contact me again, but I hit a roadblock when they informed me they would never remove my information.

Business' Initial Response
Contact Name and Title: ***** ****
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX
I called and left ***** ******** a message to call me back so that we can resolve this issue.

Consumer's Final Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
No, I have never spoke with *****, I have never heard of him, and I can never reach anyone on that number.

Business' Final Response
We have deactivated the customers account at their request. I called ***** today, at the phone number number XXX-XXX-XXXX, and left a message asking them to call back so that we can help take care of the situation.

Complaint Resolution: BBB determined that despite the company's reasonable effort to address complaint issues, the consumer remained dissatisfied.

05/16/2013Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Sales presentation misrepresented the service

Complaint: Glasses.com mishandled my order from the start, they keep on promising things that they could not do nor handle.
I lost my glasses so I placed an order for a pair of glasses last April 17, 2013, sent them the image of my prescription via text and email just to be sure that they get it, they texted me back that all is good and that they will begin processing it. after a few days I checked my account online on their website and found that they had put the wrong prescriptions in so I called them up, the rep I spoke to said that they will fix it and expedite it so that I would still get my glasses in the 2 weeks time-frame that they had promised.

After 2 days I checked again and saw the glasses were marked shipped but the invoice said cancelled, I called for clarification and the rep I spoke to said that they cancelled the order but they did not notify me, I did not get a phone call, text nor an email. After a few chats and phone calls they offered to expedite it and promised me that I would get it in a week but when I called yesterday they said that the lab (in San Diego, Ca) had just released it and that they are waiting for it in Utah to get checked before they can ship it out to me, ***** (the rep) said that they will overnight it and that I would get it on Saturday, she also called back and said that they will an issue a refund of $205 because of all my troubles and aggravation. When I got an email tonight at 10:02pm that said one of the glasses was shipped, I checked the tracking which said the glasses will get to me on Monday not saturday, I called glasses.com and they said that the shipment is considered "overnight" because the weekend doesn't count. I have been very patient with them but I have had enough.

I have told them from the start that I need the glasses before May 3 because I will be going away on a business trip and I need my glasses. They had promised that they will expedite it and would not mess my order up the second time around.

I will never order from them again, I would rather spend the extra money and get it done right rather than deal with these people that doesn't care about their costumers.

Business' Initial Response
Contact Name and Title: ****** **** - Customer Care Manager
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX
One of our managers,****** *****, called the associate and left a message. We have refunded the order in full. Also,****** left his personal number for the customer to call directly with any more concerns that may arise.

Consumer's Final Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
They did leave a message and have refunded me, But I still don't have my glasses and I was not asking for a refund, I was asking them to be more forthcoming with what they can and can not deliver, and to avoid aggravating their future customers.

Complaint Resolution: BBB determined that despite the company's reasonable effort to address complaint issues, the consumer remained dissatisfied.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Contact Lenses, Manufacturers & Producers, Product Sales - General

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 11/25/1996Business started: 02/01/1995
Type of Entity

Corporation

Incorporated: November 2001, DE

Business Management
Mr. Brian Bethers (CEO)
Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Heather Allen (Corporate Paralegal)
Business Category

Contact Lenses, Manufacturers & Producers, Product Sales - General

Industry Tips
Going-Out-of Business Sales
Protect Your Business From Product Counterfeiting
Rebate Offers
Sidewalk Salesmen and Parking Lot Peddlers
Tips to Counter/act Counterfeiting

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for 1-800 Contacts, Inc.

66 Wadsworth Park Dr Ste 300

Draper, UT 84020-7944

To | From

LocationsX

2 Locations

  • 66 Wadsworth Park Dr Ste 300 

    Draper, UT 84020-7944(801) 924-9800
    (801) 924-9860
    (800) 266-8228
    (801) 572-5555
    (801) 316-5240
    (801) 864-1419

  • 8757 S State St 

    Sandy, UT 84070-1550

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Utah. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*1-800 Contacts, Inc. is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (801) 924-9860
  • (800) 266-8228
  • (801) 572-5555
  • (801) 316-5240
  • (801) 864-1419
X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including the text of consumer complaints and business responses in BBB Business Reviews on 07/01/2013 for complaints filed on 01/01/2012 and thereafter. This includes all complaints that meet our reporting guidelines and that are filed electronically. We also report on the resolution of the complaint, as determined by BBB.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.