This business is not BBB accredited.

American Home Services Inc.

Phone: (801) 224-1813 View Additional Phone Numbers 83 Mountain Way Dr, Orem, UT 84058 http://www.americanhomeservicesinc.com ! There is an alert on American Home Services Inc. !


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Based on BBB files, this business has a BBB Rating of No Rating. The reason is as follows:

  • This business has no rating because it is out of business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

6 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 4 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 5
Total Closed Complaints 6

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

2 Customer Reviews on American Home Services Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 2
Total Customer Reviews 2

Additional Information

BBB file opened: March 28, 2013 Business started: 02/24/2011 Business started locally: 02/24/2011 Business incorporated 02/24/2011 in UT
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

DOPL - Professional Licensing
160 E 300 S 4th Fl, Salt Lake City UT 84111
www.dopl.utah.gov
Phone Number: (801) 530-6628

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Ms. Emily Jackson, Office Manager Mr. Ricky C. Jackson, Owner
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Mr. Ricky C. Jackson, Owner
Business Category

Construction & Remodeling Services Bathroom Remodeling Remodeling Services Windows - Installation & Service Fence Contractors Fences - Vinyl Fences - Wood Contractors - General Basement - Contractors Contractor - Remodel & Repair Roofing Contractors Siding Contractors


Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    83 Mountain Way Dr

    Orem, UT 84058 (801) 513-4559 (855) 837-4671 (801) 224-1813

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

4/23/2016 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: American Home Services installed a roof on my patio but they did not get a permit from the city of Orem before they began work. They completed the work and they did a good job but they never got the permit. I want to do other work on my home but the city of Orem will not allow any other work to be done until I get this Patio roof permit. I have tried contacting American Home Services several times via email and phone but they do not return my calls. I want American Home Service to get the permit completed.

Desired Settlement: I want American Home Services to get the permit from the City of Orem.

4/3/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: February 2014 I contracted with American Home Services to have them place a concrete patio and aluminum insulated awning that would be attached to the back of my house. The completion date was to be 03/10/2014 but was not completed until the end of April 2014. On 02/08/2016 at approximately 3:00 PM the awning detached from the house and came crashing down. The police and fire department was dispatched to my home as we were unsure of the electrical and overall safety of the house. A Building Inspector was also dispatched. The Inspector informed us that the way the awning was attached to the house was not "to code". And also that America Home Services had NOT obtained ANY of the necessary permits for this project. Our contract clearly states that they were responsible for obtaining all necessary permits. The police, fire department and building inspector all stated that it was not attached to the house properly and that was the reason it came down.

Desired Settlement: To have the awning rebuilt according to all City, County & State code. I feel this should be completed immediately. Also full replacement of all damaged items that were on the patio and damaged from the collapse.

3/12/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: This company has been difficult from the beginning! Never did they complete a task when they had promised. They always acted kind and compliant in person but then neglected to follow through. The work was usually done by people that were unprofessional or under-qualified for the given task and thus the project took longer than it should have AND was of poor quality (very unprofessional paint job, unprofessional concrete laying leading to uneven garage floor, poorly installed fencing (hardware not installed completely, gate came undone), inexperienced insulating, etc., etc., etc.). They broke our sprinkler system while excavating for the garage and took NO care to mark it OR repair it (cap it off) but just built right over it which caused us flooding troubles once the garage was completed! Rick verbally took responsibility for the incident and claimed they would pay to have the incident repaired but have not. They were unable to find a professional mason to order brick and mortar to match our house which caused MAJOR delays in the completion of our garage. The size of the room they built was substantially smaller than they promised us AND smaller than they charged us for. They were supposed to have the trusses engineered; they decided to do that in-house, apparently. I don't think that was professionally done since they promised the new roof line would NOT interfere w/ our existing bathroom window. Calculations were apparently either done wrong or never done since they DID end up covering a portion of our existing bathroom window with the new roof line and then ended up having to exchange our bathroom window for a smaller one. Many of their OWN employees complained to US of how unprofessional the management was at American Home Services and several employees came and went during the construction process. The men that did the mud and taping did great work, but they did some damage to the walls and corners of of house as they traveled in and out of our home. They failed to confess it or repair it. They installed a door in the new room above our garage but measured it incorrectly such that it does NOT close. We signed onto this job in November of 2014 at which time they promised to have it done in January. Now, we added a room above the garage to the project in the middle of things, so we could expect an extra month or two, at the MOST for completion. But no, here it is February of 2016 and we are still trying to get loose ends tied up. Ridiculous! Perhaps the most UN ethical thing they did was to use our personal information to process a loan WITHOUT our permission! I have made DOZENS of attempts to reach them at the office number, and they refuse to answer the phones or to respond to messages left. Their stucco man, however, did a wonderful job matching our stucco and he was prompt! The electrician was also very dependable, very qualified, very prompt and professional. Those were the 2 bright spots in all of this mess!!

Desired Settlement: First and foremost, the landscaping issue needs to be resolved which was caused when they cut through our sprinkler lines carelessly causing flooding! The door upstairs needs to be cut to size. Mudding and paint to repair the dents in the wall from the mud and tapers. The hardware on the fencing needs to be corrected. And it only seems right that we be compensated in some agreeable measure for all the wasted time and headache that this company has been for the past year and a half of our lives!

3/10/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
3/14/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We had two salesman come out to do an estimate on our gutter problems in response to a telephone solicitation. They gave us an estimate on it. My wife specifically asked them to fix everything that was wrong with the gutter/roof, so that it would not leak anymore. They gave us an estimate, and it was outrageously high, but we decided to have it done by American Home Services, because they guaranteed the work to our satisfaction. The other company we had an estimate from was much less expensive, but they would only fix the gutters. We asked specifically that the work be done before Christmas as to company coming over. We were afraid of them falling. When the professional came out, it was two days before Christmas Day. They didn't finish on the first day as promised. He said he would come back the next day, but he didn't come back until the following week. He didn't communicate to us at all. Christmas came and still not fixed. We weren't happy about it at all. Then he came and to fix the light, but then he broke it, and promised to get a new one and come right back. He didn't come back for a few more days. He came to us and said that the work was complete. The next day it snowed, and the roof still leaked. The owner and manager came out to inspect. We showed them the problem, and they said that wasn't part of the gutter problem. I tried to explain that we requested the problem be fixed, not just the gutters. They said that they would give us $200 refund. We have not seen it.

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Refund We would like the $200 refund that they promised. We would like to have two professionals together at every job. The company needs better training. The professional didn't even go over the work order.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/03/12) */ Contact Name and Title: *******, Office Admin Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: ********@americanhomeservicesinc.com The customer's refund has been issued. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (2000, 7, 2014/03/14) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) We will not ever do business with them again and tell our friends stay away from them period!!!

1/28/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: American Home Services failed to complete a job. I have called numerous times and they will not take care of the problem. They started the job in early Aug,2013 and still haven't finished what they were supposed to do. They broke a pillar cover and were going to send the replacements to me so I could install them. I have called them many times and only get lame excusses.

Desired Settlement: I want the covers sent asap so the job can be finished.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/01/13) */ Contact Name and Title: ***** ******* Office Manager Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: ********@americanhomeservicesinc.com We had ordered the pillar covers but Alside had never ordered them so we had to re order them which took longer than usual. We are picking up the pillar covers this afternoon from Alside and shipping them to you today. We apologize that this has taken so long. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (2000, 7, 2014/01/27) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) They finally sent the parts they promised.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

2 Customer Reviews on American Home Services Inc.
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart