This business is not BBB accredited.

Certiport, Inc.

Phone: (801) 847-3100 Fax: (801) 492-1771 View Additional Phone Numbers 1276 S 820 E Ste 200, American Fork, UT 84003 View Additional Email Addresses http://www.certiport.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered the rating for Certiport, Inc. include:

  • Failure to respond to 4 complaint(s) filed against business

Factors that raised the rating for Certiport, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

5 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 3 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 5
Total Closed Complaints 5

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Certiport, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: January 21, 2002 Business started: 07/01/1997 Business started locally: 07/01/1997 Business incorporated 09/26/2007 in DE
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Neill Hopkins, V P of Operations Mr. Bruce Hernandez, Director/Chairman Mr. Ray Kelly, CEO Mr. Brian Kohler, CFO Sondra Liston, Customer Service Cap Team
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Neill Hopkins, V P of Operations
Customer Contact: Cap Team
Business Category

Computers - Training Personnel Consultants Computers Hardware, Software & Services


Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    1276 S 820 E Ste 200

    American Fork, UT 84003 (801) 847-3100 (888) 999-9830

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

6/14/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I want to take a certification exam to become a Microsoft's MTA. Microsoft MTA exams are administered to students through Certipoint "A ******* *** Business" (as stated on their web page); for professionals, they have ******* ***. Since I am a student at the University of Texas at El Paso. I chose the student one of Certiport. I search for Certiport Authorized Testing Centers at El Paso. The search results provided this two results: Southwest Career College 1414 Geronimo El Paso Texas 79925 Directions ###-###-#### Western Technical College 9624 Plaza Cir. 9451Diana Dr. El Paso Texas 79904 Directions ###-###-#### I contact both of this places and they told me that I need to go online to register for the exam. I went to www.certiport.com and purchased the exam voucher. When I try to register for the exam these two companies have no idea about Certiport and claim to be "******* ***" only. When I contact Certiport, a ******* *** company, they told me that they cannot give refunds for the voucher or transform them in one accepted by ******* *** systems because according to them they are different things. When I look at my bank statement, the one who is charging me money is ******* ***. Contacting both customers supports (Certiport and ******* ***, who share the same live chat) they tell me that my only options are to travel to another city or purchase a new voucher, losing the money actually invested for the exam voucher. According to Jackson, one of the live chat representatives of Certipot, Certiport Authorized Testing Centers appear in their searches because "they put themselves there".

Desired Settlement: Since I am not responsible for the false information they have on their web pages, I ask for a refund in order to pay a voucher from ******* *** directly. I want to take my exam and I am willing to pay the $115 dollars that ******* *** asks (comparing to the $58 dollars that Certiport asks; again a ******* *** Business). What I am not willing to pay is a total of $173 dollars just because they have false information on their web page authorized by them

2/10/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I ordered a voucher from Ceritport to take a test. The voucher expired before I used it. I called Certiport asking for a refund or a replacement. I talked to John, then his manager Johnny, and then the "highest ranking" customer service person Matthew. They all cited their company policy that it's my fault that I didn't use the voucher in time. I told them that I paid for something that I never used. I told them they could keep my money, but that I just wanted to be able to use the service that I purchased -- to take the test. They repeatedly said there was nothing they could do. I said there was such a thing as manager's discretion, but in the end Matthew said he would get fired if he gave me a new voucher. I gave him numerous examples of other companies such as Home Depot and Walmart that waive their policies in the name of providing good customer service. Matthew, John and Johnny all said their company is not like that. So to me, this is a matter of poor company culture -- a company that does not value customer service. I am asking for an extension of my voucher, or a new voucher -- not a refund. This would constitute GREAT customer service, and I would certainly come back for more business and provide a positive referral to others.

Desired Settlement: I am asking for an extension of my voucher, or a new voucher.

11/16/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a QuickBooks 2015 learning guide from Certiport on September 23, 2015. On October 7, 2015, I received QuickBooks 2014 learning guide instead of the product that I purchased. Initially, I could not reach customer service but reached another department that told me to send an email to customer service regarding my issue. I spoke and emailed customer service several times regarding a solution to receive my correct purchase. I was told several occasions that it would take up to 5 days to get a response on how they would proceed. One representative told me to send the package back return to sender; however, the USPS would not take the package because I opened the outer box. I relayed this information back to the last representative I spoke to and he told me I should be able to send the learning materials back in any box. I told him I should not have to incur any fees to send the materials back because it was customer service mistake not mine. I told him they need to email me a label so I can return the wrong product. I requested to speak with a supervisor, he explained to me that someone in the program department was emailed about the situation and they were out at the moment and that person would email me by the end of the day. Of course, I did not receive an email to date on the situation from the program department. It should not take this long for Certiport to provide a solution to this problem. I did not open the wrong product; the shrink wrap is still intact. They are withholding the product I purchased until they receive the wrong product back. I have no problem sending the wrong product back but I will not do so at my expense. It was not fault of mine. I purchased the correct product and paid for that product to be shipped to me. I should not have to incur shipping fees to send the wrong product back. Certiport's customer service is terrible. It has been 30 plus days since I purchased my product. It took about 2 weeks to receive the product in which I called about and they said they had up to 2 weeks to send it to me. Each time I request some sort of solution to return wrong product and receive correct product, they say they will email a department and it will take 5 days for them to respond. Their customer service needs to be revamped and simple problems like this should be handled on the spot which means customer service should have emailed me a return label and my purchase should have been sent out immediately. Instead valuable time is wasted and my career goals are at a standstill and I have missed out on job opportunities.

Desired Settlement: I want Certiport to email me a return label for the wrong product. I want the order I purchased to be promptly sent to me in the most expedient method possible.

2/25/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I took an online computer test for my college degree and while taking it many of the simulation questions kept crashing before I could completely enter my answer and I felt confident that I was completing the task assignment accurately. One example was entering an addition equation on an Excel spreadsheet and for all my efforts the simulation would not allow me to enter my solution no matter how many times I reset the question to try and bypass the application's glitch. This problem happened with many of the questions on the test I took from Certiport. I took this test late Friday night and waited to call Certiport customer service about it till they were open again Monday morning, they asked me to file a grievance and I did and was denied because they said that their testing was reviewed/prepared by subject matter experts and they were not allowed to "respond to specific information about exam questions or the scoring process due to exam confidentiality". I called after receiving this email and talked to the head supervisor and requested them to look at my test in particular and personally regrade it because I felt that the system glitches were not allowing me to press enter for my answer although I was typing in the answer it was not showing on the screen. To summarize the customer service supervisor told me that "we are right, you are wrong", this service I received had to be the worst experience I have ever had with a company, the supervisor was incredibly immature to me, trying to prove that I was not persistent about the problem because I waited 3 days to respond to the test problems instead of reporting it while taking the test....Friday night at 11pm when their office hours are M-F 8-5. I asked the supervisor if there was any button on the test that allowed a problem to be reported, he said no, he got quiet quickly went to other faults in my inability to report my testing problems and take a test accurately. I can truly imagine that Certiport receives 1000s of complaints similar to mine because I do not feel that this problem is a single mistake within their programming. I cannot wait for the day that Certiport decides fix their test glitches and refund their customers their rightful money.

Desired Settlement: I would like to have my previous test looked over question by question and graded by a human, that is all, because my test is not "confidential" to me and the people I am asking to help me, Certiport, forget confidential.

4/23/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Tried to reach out to Certi-Port.Concerning problem with testing facility.Told proctor of problem with computer during the test nonchalant response. Copy of one of the two emails sent to Certi-Port seeking an amicable solution to the problem with the testcenter and the computer where I took the test.(see Attached) 2nd attempt to contact you concerning problems with testing facility‏ Actions ****** ****** 2/15/14 Keep this message at the top of your inbox To: ****************@certiport.com Picture of ****** ****** Dear Certi-port Grievance Committee: I am writing to you concerning the problems at the testing facility where I took my test for IC3 Gs4.My machine was malfunctioning badly and I told the proctor,from the first time I began to have problems with the computer. I received no response which is leading me to think a couple of the things about test score manipulation and the like.I have tried to write to you hoping that this is not a money making con to keep certain people repurchasing tests,when they passed the first time,this is what I am starting to think especially since,I haven't heard anything from you at all regarding this matter not even an acknowledgement of receipt of my complaint.As I stated before ,the Totalsem people who I bought the voucher from stated that they would help me and work with you I'm just waiting to hear from you.This is not sour grapes there was really a problem with your computer. and the whole testing facility that is why I am requesting a re test some where else.I know very well that had everything been working correctly and no interference.I sincerely believe that I would have passed,and what happened to me was extremely dishonest to say the least. Sincerely, ******:********.

Desired Settlement: I want to take the test at another certiport center,with no additional charge to me.I feel like there was something extremely corrupt going on at this testing center and in my email.I explained to the certiport staff what was going in with no response from them which leads me to think their testing is not as pristine as one would be lead to think.I just wnat a fair chance to pass my test without manipulation and mechanical failure on the part of the computers.I do not think it is at all fair to have some people having to purchase a test two or three times so that someone else can get a discount or get a free test.I was well prepared for the test and finished the test with time to spare.I just want a fair chance to pass my test! that I paid for.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 9, 2014/03/21) */ Contact Name and Title: ****** *** Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Since receiving the BBB cmplaint, the customer has been contacted to resolve the issue. She has been provided with a re-take for her exma. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 11, 2014/03/27) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I have not received any email from anyone or call from anyone concerning a retake of my exam please have the company provide the phone number date and time that they supposedly contacted me no one did! Final Business Response /* (1000, 19, 2014/04/14) */ I received your notice that the BBB has closed case # XXXXXXXX as unresolved. We have been in direct contact with the customer regarding her complaints (please see the attached email below). We reviewed the test center to verify that they are setup according to our policies, and we offered her a replacement voucher to take the exam again for free. This communication was sent to the customer March 21, 2014, and we have not received a response from her. In addition, ****** ****** of our channel support specialistsfilled out the relevant information on the form that we were provided by the BBB on our around the same date as the attached communication. I would ask that you modify the record of the complaint to show that we contacted the customer directly, confirmed the state of the test center location where she took her exam, and gave her a replacement voucher to attempt the exam again at our cost. We would also ask that the record show that we were responsive both to the BBB and to the customer. From: ***, Certiport Sent: Friday, March 21, 2014 2:36 PM To: *****************@yahoo.com Subject: IC3 exam grievance Dear ******, We have been informed that you are unhappy with your testing experience for the IC3 exam. Sorry for the inconvenience and stress during your exam. We have looked at the testing center and show that there setup is correct. However, you can try searching for other testing centers in your area for a re-test if you prefer: www.certiport.com/locator. Below is a replacement voucher that you can use to take the IC3 exam again. IC3 Voucher Voucher #: ******************* Expiration date: August 1, 2014 Please let us know if you need any further assistance. Regards, Channel Support Specialist Certiport, Inc. Sincerely, **** ******** Channel Business Development Manager Certiport, Inc. ******************************************************************************** Direct Line: ************ Toll Free: ************ **** E-mail: *********@certiport.com www.certiport.com www.certiport.org


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Certiport, Inc.
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)