Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Elite IT Partners, Inc.

Phone: (877) 704-3223 View Additional Phone Numbers 1548 N Technology Way Bldg D Ste 1100, Orem, UT 84097 View Additional Email Addresses http://www.eliteitbusiness.com View Additional Web Addresses


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Elite IT Partners, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that affect the rating for Elite IT Partners, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Response to 32 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

32 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 17 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 2
Billing/Collection Issues 4
Delivery Issues 2
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 24
Total Closed Complaints 32

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

36 Customer Reviews on Elite IT Partners, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 29
Neutral Experience 1
Negative Experience 6
Total Customer Reviews 36

Additional Information

BBB file opened: January 19, 2012 Business started: 03/10/2010 in UT Business started locally: 03/10/2010 Business incorporated 03/10/2010 in UT
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Jim Martinos, Founder/CEO
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Jim Martinos, Founder/CEO
Customer Contact: Ms. Kat Powers, Customer Service Manager
Business Category

Computers Hardware, Software & Services Computer Business Services Computers - Disaster Recovery Computers - Forensics Computers - Networks Computers - Service & Repair Computers - Programming Computers - Network Security Computer Consultant

Products & Services

Elite IT Partners, Inc. sells the following brand(s): We partner with Life Lock Identity Theft

Alternate Business Names
Elite IT Business Elite IT Home
Products & Services

This business offers support for computers, smart phones, media pads, computer networking, web cams, etc.


Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Elite IT Partners, Inc. has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 1548 N Technology Way Bldg D Ste 1100

    Orem, UT 84097

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

9/27/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I was trying to contact Microsoft in regard to an issue with my email. When I called the listed number I was directed to this company. I explain my problem and they quoted a price to fix this. I agreed and after a day watching my computer they did not fix my problem so I shut the computer off and went to Best Buy. They were able to fix my access problem in a 1/2 hr. I will not pay these people for a job not done.

Desired Settlement: not billed for work not done

Business Response: We are sorry the customer was unsatisfied with their experience with us. Our records show the customer contacted us regarding her computer issue. After agreeing to the work and the price, her case was sent over to our technicians, whom, while working on her computer, lost connection and attempted to make contact with her. Our calls were not answered for several days. Once this complaint came through, we continued trying to make contact with the customer, with no success. We cannot complete work, nor resolve any complaints, with a customer who does not respond to us. However, as we were unable to do the work due to no response, we have refunded the requested amount. 

Consumer Response:  
Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Sincerely,

****** *********

9/27/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I am an 86 year old retired minister who was completely mislead by this computer service industry. I reached them by mistake trying to reach AOL help. I did not understand I was not talking to AOL the gentleman said he could fix my issue but there would be a 2.49 charge. I agreed then I found out there was a recurring charge and I told them I was not interested in signing up for that. Then he told me it would be 100.00 to cancel. I told them I didn't want anything. My son then found they charged my credit card 249.99 and when he told them I could not hear well and didn't understand that they were try to sell him an ongoing computer maintenance program. They refused to listen. Insisted my dad had agreed to everything they offered and they would only remove their software and restore his computer for 150 cancellation fee. There was also a 39.99 ongoing monthly charge. We have reported these fraudulent sales tactics to the attorney generals of Utah and Texas. These people have predatory business practices and I can't believe you don't have thousands of complaints against them. We neither wanted nor ordered thier service and they are holding my computer hostage for even more money.

Desired Settlement: Please list us as a complaint in your records and web site

Business Response: We are sorry the customer feels that he had a negative experience with our company, as that is never our intent. We believe there was miscommunication between our representatives and the customer, and called the customer directly to resolve those. The customer has received a full refund, and agreed to remove their complaint with the BBB. 

Consumer Response:  
Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Sincerely,

**** ****

9/15/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I am 80 years old, and this company called me immediately after I received a slew of popup ads, even though I never provided my phone no. to anybody. They claimed Google had notified them that I was having trouble with my computer, and said that my computer had malware. There was something wrong with my computer, but this mysteriously occurred just before the company called me. The caller said that they could eliminate the malware, but it would cost $199. I felt trapped and desperate to get rid of the malware. I had to click on a popup to give them access to my computer, and they spent considerable time inside my computer, but the problem was not fixed even though the man said it was. Shortly after, I received two bogus emails trying to gain access to my PayPal account. Further Elite IT installed something on my computer which I could not delete, so I had to pay a computer technician to find and delete the software,along with the remainder of the malware. I continue to have problems with my computer, and have spent hours on the phone with Apple support to try to resolve. I believe I was misled about the relationship between Elite IT and Google. I believe I have been taken advantage of, and received nothing but headache from the company.

Desired Settlement: I want a refund of my $299 payment, and a cancellation of any further obligation. I want assurances that the company has no further access to my computer.

Business Response: I have spoken with the customer, and we have resolved her issue. She has agreed to reach out to the BBB and have the complaint removed. 

8/17/2016 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Upon returning home from an appointment with a pulmonologist, tried to pull up email and put in wrong password, which triggered a pop-up stating that computer was infected with many viruses, etc. and instructed to help if I would call number. Thinking it was Optimum Online, I called and was told I needed assistance and that they would help. Before I knew it, I had "agreed' to a 199.95 service which due to the nature of what they do, was unnecessary, and can be accomplished for free. After researching the BBB and Ripoff Reports complaints on this company, I realized I was more of a target than a customer (senior citizen, unsure of computers, etc) . I am 68 years old, on Oxygen 24 hrs. a day. My husband spoke to the "tech same evening', and three representatives of Elite the next day, asking for refund. We closed checking account, because Elite now had all info from our computer. I believe the company is unethical in their tactics and should refund our 199.95, as we were coerced into agreement through scare tactics.

Desired Settlement: I believe Elite IT should refund our 199.95, as we were coerced into agreement through scare tactics, evidenced by other written complaints AND information gathered from employees on additional sites regarding their employment.

Business Response: We are sorry to hear that the customer feels they had a negative experience with our company, as that is never our intent. The customer submitted a request for help to us on 7/12/2016, and one of our representatives reached out to her. She agreed to the one time fix charge of $199.99, as well as the terms and conditions presented to her. All of the requested work was completed. The next day the customer's husband called in demanding a refund, and spoke with several customer service reps, as well as myself, the customer service manager. We all explained to him that, as all of the work had been completed, and she had agreed to the charge, that they were not entitled to a refund. Unfortunately this was unacceptable to the customer and her husband, and he continued to tell us that he felt that we were a scam and had taken advantage of his wife, which we assured him was not the case. Despite our best efforts, we were not able to resolve their frustrations, however, because we did do the contracted work, there is no refund eligible for this account. 

Kat P*****
Customer Service Manager

7/26/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I was contacted by a representative from Elite IT. The rep stated I had contacted them, but I had not. He indicated he was aware that I was having a problem with my computer and seemed to know how to fix the issue. He asked for my credit card number to bill $199 for computer service to resolve the problem. I gave the credit card number but then felt the situation was too fishy. I disconnected the phone call and no "service" was completed. I called the number he had given me and requested that the charge be cancelled because I did not receive, nor did I want the service. The female representative stated she would not cancel the charge because the service had been started. No service was performed.

Desired Settlement: I do not want to be charged for service that was not performed. I want the company to cancel any and all charges applied to my credit card. I also want others to be wary of this company and their underhanded tactics for dealing with senior citizens.

Business Response:

Our records show that a request for help was received on July 11, 2016. Our diagnostic representative reached out to Ms. ********, diagnosed her issue, and then offered a fix. The fix, as well as our terms and conditions, were stated to the customer and agreed to. The customer called in shortly after this was agreed to, and was told that the work had begun on her computer, as her case had been sent over to the technician and they had begun to reach out to her to try and begin the work. I have tried to reach the customer multiple times to discuss her account, with no luck in reaching her or having my message returned. As the work was not done on the computer, we have issued a full refund of the $199.99 that was paid. We hope that this is a satisfactory resolution to the customer's issue, and would be more than willing to discuss it with her further if she wishes.

Sincerely,

Kat P*****
Customer Service Manager

6/20/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: This company contacted my mother about her home computer. I'm not sure if she clicked on something when she was online and provided her home telephone number or not. The company contacted her and offered to fix her home computer. Her computer had recently been repaired and was in good working order. She had just been unable to access her email account because she was entering an old password. She gave the company her credit card number and they charged her $199.99 to access her computer to retrieve her email password. They was also going to access her IPAD and laptop for $125.00 each to do the same kind of work. The work was never completed on her home computer because she realized it was a scam and turned her computer off. The company kept calling back asking to access her computer again. They never accessed her laptop or IPad. One of the $125 charges was refunded. I contacted the company and asked them to refund the charges. They were very rude and claimed the charges could not be refunded since she had agreed to their terms and conditions. She is also obligated to this company to pay $19.99 per month for their services. I told them to cancel this subscription. They said there would be a $150 fee to cancel the subscription. This may be an IT company, but their objective seems to be to take advantage of elderly clients who are having difficulty using their computer technology and convince them to subscribe to their services for very high fees and the company does unnecessary "work" for them on their home computers. This company should not be allowed to offer their services to vulnerable elderly customers.

Desired Settlement: I would like for my mother to be refunded the entire amount she paid to this company. I also wish that this company would not be allowed to take advantage of other people in this manner.

Business Response: This customer has already initiated chargeback with her bank, therefore we are requesting that this complaint be removed. Also, we have already refunded 2 of her 3 transactions. I have attached a copy of the correspondence we received from her card company. 

Consumer Response:  
Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:
We feel the $199.99 charges should be refunded as well. This is an unreasonable charge to recover a password. This company convinced my mother that she had a much more serious problem with her computer and took advantage of her. We do appreciate the cancellation of the $19.99 monthly fee and not being charged $150.00 to cancel the subscription. My desire is that my mother as well as other customers of Elite IT Home not be pressured into purchasing IT support that they do not need. Customers should be allowed to say "No" and not be subjected to high pressure sales people. Elite IT Home should have plenty of legitimate customers who wish to purchase their IT support without pressuring elderly customers with little technical computer knowledge into purchasing services they do not need. A full refund of all charges would be appreciated.
Sincerely,
******** *******

5/31/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
1/25/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I was having trouble with my gmail account, and when I asked gmail for help, I was posted to this company. They said that they could fix my problem of not having my gmail account for $199.00. When they finished, I was unable to get in to some of my other accounts the way I have always been able. I am a College Professor in California, and work online most of the day with students.

Desired Settlement: I want to be back to the way it was before this company messed everything up, please.

Business Response: This issue has been resolved with the customer, and he has agreed to remove his complaint. Here is a recording of the call.

1/14/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: In October,2015 my laptop computer ceased to function due to a virus problem. I had been paying Elite IT $19.99 per month since September 2014 for services. I did not state that I wanted to renew the service for another year and I was not under contract,verbal or written. Elite did not respond and another it company restored service. On numerous subsequent occasions the message from the Elite icon was that the launcher pad had failed, When I called to state that I was dissatisfied with their lack of service an d wished to cancel I was told that I was under contract until September,2016. I denied contractual obligation and told the company spokesperson to mail me a copy of such contract. To date I have received no such confirmation of contract either by mail as I demanded or e-mail. I have cancelled and instructed my credit card company to remove Elite from credit card payees

Desired Settlement: I am requesting refund of three payments of $19,99 because service I had paid for was not provided and the company was non-reponsive

Business Response: This was already taken care of before the client submit the BBB complaint. Here is the call recording stating they would remove it. 

Consumer Response:
Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Sincerely,

***** ******

11/25/2015 Delivery Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
11/24/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
11/12/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
11/6/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
11/6/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Took 200.00 out of my checking account but did not perform any service, business was contacted about a computer issue. I contacted the company to tell them the issue was not complete and was told they didn't have time and that someone would finish, at that point I said to stop and refund my money, I was then asked about setting up monthly payments to them and again I said to stop and refund me. I have tried to contact business but got no answer.

Desired Settlement: Complete refund of my money

Business Response: There was a huge miscommunication with ******* and our team. It was something that was very easily solvable. We were able to get her taken care of and give her the result and request that she wanted. I spoke with her over the phone and she even said that she was going to remove the complaint because of the misunderstanding. She is a very sweet lady and we are glad we were able to get this resolved so easily. She said that she would love to continue to do business with us with how quickly and timely we responded to her issues. Very nice and understanding. We thank ******* for being so patient and cooperative with us. 

10/30/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
10/28/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
10/22/2015 Problems with Product/Service
9/22/2015 Problems with Product/Service
8/15/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
7/22/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
6/30/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: They were dubious in repressing as yahoo rep when there were not.intiialy they promised to fix my problem, instead messed up my computer. Then I called a different vendor who charged me $300 dollars and did fix my problem and guaranty the work.the vendor took more than 2 hours to fix my problem and ere on phone with me during all this time.they are very bad service provider, should not in the business. I have called them several times to fix the problem no result.

Desired Settlement: I want apology and work complete or return money .talked to manager and rep. Several times. Rude & do not want todo proper way. Messes up computer. They should refund money and get out of this business.answering phone in 20 to 30 minutes. Very frustrating. The company is a rip off.

Business Response: I have spoken to Mr. G**** several times. My technicians did all the work that he asked us to do. Mr. G**** had over 235 threats on his computer that we fixed and resolved. He also had an issue receiving any emails sent to him. My technician found the reason as to why Mr. G**** was not receiving his emails and he fixed it. We test the emails several times. He received all test emails. He then continued to complain that it took 8 seconds to receive the email compared to "instantly" as before. We then discussed that we can't fix the speed of an email. Even if you are right next to the computer you send it to, there is still a 3 second delay. He was not satisfied with that. I tried to work out a deal with him and give a partial refund but because of the work that was done we will not issue a full refund. He said he wanted a full refund or nothing at all. And in the event of getting nothing he threatened to go to the BBB. We have tried to act accordingly and faithfully to our customer Mr. G****. We as a company did everything we possibly could do on our end and even offered to compromise with Mr. G****, however he was not willing to work with us. We feel like we have been reasonable and we feel like we have been responsible as a company to resolve the issue at hand. My final conversation with Mr. G**** was him apologizing to us because he realized his request was unrealistic. We are still more than willing to work with Mr. G**** and resolve any issues, however at this time we feel that we have done everything we could have in this situation. 

6/11/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
3/19/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: About a month ago my computer developed a severe virus. I found IT Elite on line & contacted them to remove the virus from my computer They guaranteed me that for $189.99 they would remove the virus. I proceed to give them my VISA card # & was called by one of their techs. The phone conversation with the tech was very garbled @ best. So I proceed to do on my computer what the tech told me to remove the virus. This went on for three solid hours, & NOTHING he instructed me to do worked ! So after three hours the tech tells me there is nothing more he can do to remove the virus. He connected me back to a sales rep who I informed that the virus was still on my computer & I was not going to pay the $189.99 charge. His responce was I entered into an agreement & would still be charged the said amount. I did everything I could to get him to take the charge off my VISA card because the virus remiained on the computer, he said he could not do that & I was still going to get charged! After that I found a tech guy in Dubuque that came to my house & removed the virus in less than an hour & charged me only $80.00 to remove it I told him about my bad experience with IT Elite & he told me he knew the they were scam artists & I believed him!!

Desired Settlement: IT Elite needs to refund the $189.99 that they charged me with a check. I have gotten a new VISA card# so they cannot credit that. I want a check

Business Response: Our relationship with the customer began on February
9, 2015 with a request to change an email password and a concern that a
Facebook account had been hacked.  We do
NOT guarantee results and there are some limitations in what we can do remotely
without being on site.  In fact here is
an exerpt from our terms and conditions that are read to every customer before
payment is taken “… we do not do any kind of refunding.  Instead we do full software support and
escalation…”  We do not give money back
or satisfaction guarantees because of the complexity surrounding so many of the
computer problems we deal with.  The vast
majority of the time we are able to take care of our customers to their utmost
satisfaction and it is regrettable that in this case that was not achieved.  However, our technician did spend (according
to the customer) 3 hours on the computer. 
The technician had a solution that required recovery software that
should have come with the computer.  We
also would have provided that software via mail, but unfortunately the customer
chose to contract another technician to finish the work before we were able to
do that.  We cannot issue a full refund
because what the customer paid for was the time of the technicians and that is
not something that the customer can simply return like a piece of
merchandise.  Had the customer done as the
technician advised her, the extra $80 for another technician would have been
absolutely unnecessary. 

 

However, what the customer paid was $189.99 which was
actually the setup fee for one of our care plans which included the virus
removal and several additional things including corporate grade anti-virus and
cloud backup.  Unfortunately, we were
unable to set that care plan up due to our technician’s inability to get connected
to the system.  In light of that, we will
refund the customer $70 so that the total paid for the technician’s time was $119.99.  We can only issue refunds through the method
of payment that was received and so the refund will be issued to the customer’s
card on file.  

Customer Service Manager
Elite IT Home
************

Consumer Response:  
Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. I will agree to pay the 119.99 only because I  want to be done with this fradulant company. Also that there will be no additional charges from this company in the future of any kind. This company is a scam & they DID guarantee they could remove the virus. Come on three hours on the phone with a tech, & we got no where. What does that tell you ??            ******* ******

3/6/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
2/12/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My 84-year-old mother forgot her Yahoo password. She somehow wound up enrolling for service with Elite IT, in an attempt to solve her problem. Instead of telling her to call Yahoo for a password reset (which I did once I discovered what was going on), Elite IT enrolled her in an IT support program and started billing her for service that she did not want. Once I learned of this, I told her to cancel the service. This she did, 12 hours later. Of course, Elite IT says they have no record of her cancelling her service. We are here in California, where one has 72 hours to cancel a contract. As I was witness to the phone call cancelling the service, Elite IT's claims of never having heard the cancellation are not valid. I also had my mother cancel the credit card number that Elite IT had, at great inconvenience to my mother. Elite IT has proceeded to harass, with threatening phone calls, an elderly woman who knows nothing about computers, threatening to turn her over to a collection agency. When she asked about having the service removed from her computer, Elite IT said they would do it...for another $150. I removed their service for free by uninstalling their application. Please avoid this company at all costs. They prey on the elderly and uninformed. Should Elite IT refer this matter to a collection agency, as threatened when I called them today (Wednesday, Feb. 11, 2015), I will be escalating this matter. Elite IT is now reported to the Utah State Attorney General and the California State Attorney General.

Desired Settlement: Elite IT will drop case ***** and cease and desist from calling my mother immediately. Elite IT will not threaten my mother with a collection agency. I'd prefer if Elite IT disappeared completely from the face of the earth, as there is a special place down below for people who prey on the elderly.

Business Response: I spoke to **** shortly before I saw this complaint posted.  We reached an agreement and ended the conversation amicably.  I explained how we advertise to our customers using online marketing that is purely search based, so when a potential customer searches the internet for any type of tech support, we show our ad as an option for them to use for that technical support.  We were able to clean out infections on the computer before she decided that she wanted to cancel and so she agreed to pay for that portion of our work and then we were able to cancel the account that she didn't feel she needed.  We reached the understanding that preying on elderly people is not at all our intention and that our customers are typically older because many of them are unfamiliar with computers and our service is invaluable for people in that situation.  Our attempts to collect the payment that our reps thought was owed was a misunderstanding coming from the fact that they did not see that she had requested to cancel the service.   We do have the right to charge a cancellation fee because of the software that we put onto the computer and all of our customers agree to that cancellation fee before enrollment.  We also reserve the right to send unpaid accounts to collections.  However, in this case neither of those actions were warranted and we consider the matter closed per the conversation I had with the customer in question.

Consumer Response:  
Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.  I would ask Elite IT to provide more thorough customer training for their first-contact telephone reps. Having been in the public information business  at UC Berkeley for 28 years now, the first impression is the one which sticks with a customer. ***** ***** of Elite IT was very helpful when he called and took over this case, and I thank him for listening and taking care of the issue.

Sincerely,

**** *****

1/22/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: adv. they would call every 45 days. no call. I called after 3 months. They messed up my computer. asked to speak with manager. told only schedule. purchase date July 7,2014.problem Dec 13 2014. manager did not call in specified time of between 11 and 3 on Dec 16. I called back on Dec 17 at 9 am and was given the option to press 1 to hold my place in the que with a callback from them. No call all day ending at midnight.

Desired Settlement: want out of contract with no further payment to them.

Business Response: It is unfortunate that Ms. ***** experienced so much trouble.  After reviewing this case we have determined that if Ms. ***** would like to be released from her year commitment, that would be acceptable to us with no fees or penalties applied.  We also understand the confusion about her computer troubles.  It appears that Ms. *****'s computer had 3 different anti-virus softwares running on her computer at the same time.  It is not advisable to have more than one and often when there are multiple anti-viruses on the system, it can create a lot of security and other problems.  Our technicians removed the extra software on December 12th.  On December 15th Ms ***** called back to say that her computer was having troubles again.  What happened between the 12th and 15th we do not know.  Our technician then were unable to get connected and fix the issue despite trying.  Due to that failing on our end, we agree to release Ms. ***** from her obligation and would be happy to take another look at the computer to get it fixed whenever she is available. 

Consumer Response:  
Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Sincerely,

***** *****

1/15/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I was scammed into giving out my email password and my credit card for an email 'security check.' On September 8, I was contacted by EliteITHome who claimed I had five days left to get my hotmail account 'security-checked' and they requested my personal information. They said a mechanical technician would c*** me in a few minutes. When they did, I foolishly gave out my password, birth date and Bank of America card number, because they had me very worried and scared as I rarely use the computer due to my limited knowledge. I felt I had no other choice. They had full access to my computer and its systems. Then, without telling me what they would do/charge, they billed me $187.97 and said I'd have to pay them $20/month. I c***ed their "President's cell phone" the next day to contest this, but the number did not work ###-###-####. Someone named David continued to 'clean out' my computer and there was a follow up email from Mike Maxwell that offered no answers. After talking to family, I cancelled my Bank of America card to avoid further scamming by EliteITHome. I had to report the charge and change my card number due to this fraud. My nephew had to inst*** a new virus protection program for me which, in turn, uninst***ed *** the programs EliteITHome put on my computer. And I still, two months later, can't change my hotmail password. While Bank of America initi***y erased the charge, they then put it on again because 'a service was completed.' But this is a service I never wanted and was conned into purchasing. I compromised my personal security and would like to undo what happened, which would be a refund of the $187.97 I was charged. I can file a claim with Bank of America as well, but the easier solution would be for you to authorize the refund and discontinue taking advantage of senior citizens via online solicitation. Sincerely, Joan B***

Desired Settlement: Please refund the $187.97 for a service I never wanted or needed.

Business Response: We are sad to hear about the trouble that Ms. B*** has gone through with her computer. To clarify, we only reach out to people who voluntarily give us their name, phone number and email address via an online form requesting us to help them. Hotmail is the one that requested the security information from you, *** we did was assist you in meeting their request. We simply provide a service where we help people with their computers and their email accounts. We also use a system to collect payment where we put a payment screen on a customer's computer which is PCI compliant (we store no credit card information). *** of our customers have to authorize payment by agreeing to our terms and conditions before payment is processed.
The customer's bank also investigated and determined that the charge was legitimate. We understand that miscommunication can and does happen and we will gladly cancel Ms B***'s account, but we cannot refund payment for a service that was performed. We spent over two hours on her computer and put business class anti-virus and backup on her computer. Not only did we perform the service but Ms. B*** commented on a customer satisfaction survey asking us to continue the service after the 8th of September. Her survey said "I just reconnected MY power....I don't know whether I ran out of power. It's a laptop and I had it running without the plug. Perhaps you can continue momentarily....In case you do, I'll keep my computer on. Please do a good job, even if you have to start over. It's now 11:30pm Ny time.......9:30 pm Utah time? 9/8/14 I will complete when the work is done." It is apparent from the survey that she in fact knew what we were doing. Due to this information, I'm afraid that I cannot authorize a refund, but we welcome the chance to speak to Ms. B*** although so far we have been unable to reach her. She may c*** us at ###-###-####.

Consumer Response: (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Jan. 4, 2015
I do not have access to Adobe Reader and/or WinZip, nor a newer version of Microsoft Word; therefore, I cannot view the business's response. In any case, I was scammed and do not accept their reply.
EliteITHome got on my computer and created the problem with e-mail security, and then wrote that a technician would c*** me to resolve the problem, an entirely misleading business practice.
I have filed a complaint with Attorney General Eric  ************ of the State of New York.
If a resolution is forthcoming, I would accept $180; otherwise, my complaint stands as is.

1/13/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
1/7/2015 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: This is ********* *** ** ******* *** ******* ** ***** Phone # ************, member of the BBB NJ. I have a serious complain how I was treated by the above company. I needed some help with an Email on the website "Excel". Somehow I ended up with Elite IT Partners where the technical person seemingly was very knowledgeable and help me to solve the problem. In the mean time she checked out my computer and convinced me that my protection system is not the best and theirs is much better. Promised me to clean up my computer install the new protection system in my absent due to the time involved to do the job, me having a busy day. She also promised that a technician will call back and tells me all the necessary info to work with the new system. The time frame was given the same day afternoon (Friday).I was waiting all afternoon for the phone but it never happened. I was expecting a phone call during Monday but that did not happened either. Checking my bank account the fee was already taken out seemingly for that they had the time! When I called the company requesting a cancellation due to the poor service she refused to accept my cancellation for the 1st month billing. At this moment I have no protection on my computer since my existing one was deleted, I'm out of $199 which was immediately charged. I do not think that it is a proper way to handle a new costumer and I do not want to work with a company who handles its customers like this. Please help me to recover my payment I will handle my own to reinstate my old protection plan.

Business Response: We spoke to Mr. ******* and resolved the complaint. Likely do to an innocent oversight, he may have forgotten to retract his complaint. Thank you.

7/25/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: 87 year old mother would like a refund of $229.95 for services she does not want and does not need without paying cancellation fee of $150. 5/15 - $189.97; 6/16 - $19.99; 7/15 - $19.99. My 87 year old mother, ******* ****** *** ******** Rd., ******** ** XXXXX, inadvertently clicked on something on her computer that led her to Elite IT services, who called her and talked her into having them spend a few hours servicing her computer via the Internet on May 15, 2014. She was not aware of how much she was paying at this time. She was also not aware of agreeing to a monthly payment of $19.99. She is not computer literate; only does Facebook and email. She does not remember much of the conversation and has no idea what was going on. She has a few picture on her desktop and maybe one or two documents, and that is all she has on her computer. She has no need to back up her computer to an online server. I called Elite IT and asked for a refund and to cancel the service. They said it cost $150 to cancel the service. I emailed them to ask for a satisfactory outcome to this for a senior citizen. No response.

Desired Settlement: I would like them to refund the $229.95 to my mother and not charge the $150 cancellation fee. And also to be more aware of senior citizens who are unfamiliar with technology and agree to things over the phone.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/07/23) */ Contact Name and Title: ***** ****** Customer Service Manager Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: ******@eliteitpartners.com We were able to speak to Ms. ******* about her mother's account. In this situation we did a great deal of work to clean up her system in the middle of May. We were able to help her get back to her Facebook (which was her original concern) and then we performed a follow up call 3 days later during which Ms. *******'s mother expressed satisfaction with the work performed and asked some clarifying questions about her account. We always follow up with our clients to ensure that they are fully aware of what they have purchased and agreed to. We heard nothing until Ms. ******* contacted us 2 months later claiming that her mother did not need services that she had already used. Because of the work that our technicians did we are unfortunately not able to issue a refund. However, in light of the confusion between Ms. ******* and her mother we will waive the cancellation fee and cancel the account with no penalty. We take very seriously the obligation that we have to provide the very best service possible for our customers. Indeed, customers who are unskilled with the computer and "inadvertently click..." on things on the internet are the customers who need our service the most. If the customer in question had not clicked on our link which led her to a reputable, U.S. based company, she would likely have clicked on something where the outcome could have been much much worse. We wish her all the best and hope that she will be careful and safe online and we would be happy to provide the security and peace of mind that she deserves if she ever does have a problem with the computer in the future. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (2000, 7, 2014/07/24) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) The supervisor of customer service was very polite and respectful during our conversations to resolve this issue. I appreciate their waiving of the $150 cancellation fee. My ultimate goal was a refund of the $189 initial fee and the $20 monthly fee for two months, but according to company "policy", that was not possible. I think they should have made an exception, as company "policy" should include satisfying their customers. My mother is 87, and has literally nothing stored on her computer; she uses Facebook and email. The $189, as far as I understand, was for deleting adware programs. There was no virus. There was nothing wrong with her facebook account. She was just confused as how to get into it at that time. I understand it is not the responsibility of a business to screen each potential customer for actual need. But, when a situation is called to their attention that involves the inability of the customer to understand or remember how or why they are paying money out of their $625 Social Security monthly budget, I feel they could have also refunded the $40 total monthly fee. This was a lesson learned for my mother. No giving out your debit card # over the phone to ANYONE! No purchases over the internet. Period. This case is resolved with this $229 lesson learned.

7/9/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I recently cancelled my credit card after I realized there were unauthorized charges made on it. However, I keep getting contacted by Elite IT Partners saying that I didn't notify them that I was cancelling my card and that my payment (per my contract) is past due. This is one of the charges that alerted me to cancel my credit card. They are saying I owe them $169.97 and I don't remember myself or my husband (*****) ever signing up.

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Other (requires explanation) I would like to see the contract that was completed that binds me to the $169.97 payment Elite IT. If it's legitimate, that's one thing, but if not, we would like to no longer be billed. Additionally, if it is owed, we would like to set up a alternate payment account. We will not be paying via credit or debit card as we have had too many issues with our card recently. We can pay the bill (if proved to be ours) via check or money order.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 9, 2014/06/27) */ Contact Name and Title: ***** ***** CSR Manager Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX It's unfortunate that Mrs. **** did not contact us directly to resolve this matter as we have customer service agents available 6 days a week to address exactly these types of concerns. We were able to contact Mrs. **** on June 13, 2014 to help her with her issue. We sympathize with her concerning her credit card and but are not the issue. We hope that if in the future she does encounter difficulties with her computer, she will contact us. The $169.97 in question was not owed to us and was what she paid for work done on her computer on April 15, 2014 when we helped her work with Yahoo to retrieve her emails and did a thorough clean of her computer system. She had no problems with our service and so agreed to what we offered to do for her. We believe the matter is now settled to her satisfaction and she stated so. Elite IT Home Customer Service Manager

12/9/2013 Problems with Product/Service

Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

36 Customer Reviews on Elite IT Partners, Inc.
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart