Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® - Start With Trust

Are you...?

If yes, click here to learn about BBB Accreditation.

Are you...?

This business is not BBB accredited.

ContentWatch, Inc.

Phone: (801) 977-7777 Fax: (801) 975-8144 View Additional Phone Numbers 6949 S High Tech Dr, Midvale, UT 84047 View Additional Email Addresses

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for ContentWatch, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on ContentWatch, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: July 12, 2002 Business started: 04/01/2002 Business started locally: 04/01/2002 Business incorporated 04/04/2002 in UT
Type of Entity


Business Management
Mr. Gene White, CEO Mr. Doug Anderson, VP Marketing Mr. Ben Beck, Affiliate Manager Mr. Louie DiCristofano, VP Engineering Mr. Ken Knapton, VP Engineering Ms. Wendy Phillips, Sales Operations Manager
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Ms. Wendy Phillips, Sales Operations Manager
Principal: Mr. Gene White, CEO
Business Category

Computers Hardware, Software & Services

Additional Locations


    6949 S High Tech Dr

    Midvale, UT 84047 (800) 485-4008 (866) 765-7233 (801) 977-7777


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

9/2/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
3/2/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: A few months after purchasing Content Watch's "Net Nanny" the product stopped working, even after spending hours of my time with their "tech support." Our number with Net Nanny is: *********************************** We paid to have Net Nanny filtering until June 11, 2005, but the filter has given us problems for months, and no longer works at all. Their tech support constantly wants us to install and uninstall the Net Nanny software over and over, which we do. They have been unable to help. The last phone call with Net Nanny the confirmed to be they have had internal server issues since last April, and recommend I use another filter (a competitor of theirs, called K9) since they were unable to fix the filter on our computer at that time. I have requested a full refund, in writing, several times, due to the filter not being able to provide the serve we paid for (simply filtering our internet). They acknowledge all the problems, and even have recommend we use another filter in the meantime, but refuse to refund our money because the filter was installed more than 30 days ago. They do not seem capable of understanding that we paid for *a full year* of service, and have not gotten even a few good months of service- not to mention the time and frustration it has cost us. If Net Nanny can not make a product that will work on a brand new Mac, that is fine, but we do not want to pay for their mistakes. We should not have to pay for a service that we did not receive.

Desired Settlement: I want a full refund, by check, within 14 days, sent to our mailing address.

Business Response:



I received your letter today regarding case ID #********.


I looked up the customer information and his account shows a refund was processed the same day he filed the complaint.


I show that we told him he could not have a refund, but then when he responded again we were able to get approval to refund him.


It appears that he may have filed the complaint between the denial of the refund and the approval of the refund.


***** ********

Sales Operations Manager

Office **************

Consumer Response:  
Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 

Net Nanny/Content Watch repeatedly refused to give us a refund, until I told them I contacted the BBB.  As soon as they were told the BBB was involved, they offered to process our refund immediately.  
I am glad the BBB was there to help resolve this matter, so we didn't need to pay for a product that does not work.  
I also hope the company is able to resolve their product's issues, because I do think their product is something that is needed.  


**** ****

3/26/2013 Billing/Collection Issues