This business is not BBB accredited.

Pro Computer, Inc

Phone: (801) 774-9922 Fax: (801) 774-6680 5344 Freeway Park Dr, Ogden, UT 84405

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Pro Computer, Inc include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Pro Computer, Inc
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: September 29, 2005 Business started: 01/01/1984 Business started locally: 01/01/1984 Business incorporated 05/18/2001 in UT
Type of Entity


Business Management
Lowell Gunderson, CEO
Contact Information
Principal: Lowell Gunderson, CEO
Business Category

Computers - Dealers

Additional Locations


    5344 Freeway Park Dr

    Ogden, UT 84405 (801) 774-9922


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

11/20/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: Owner called me and my parents liars after they had broke my computer, charged me, and kept parts. Called me a liar when I called back to get the part Took my computer in to have the power jack replaced. I provided the part and took the computer apart it was still in working condition. Since it was first thing on a Saturday, the employee told me that it would be fixed by Monday at the latest. Monday came and I did not receive a call. I finally stopped by and the "manager," told me it would be done in an hour and they had just taken it apart. But I had already taken it apart and took it to them. 6 o'clock came and finally got a call, but they said it didn't get done. So I said that is fine, let me know when it is, call me. 8 days later I go back, because I have not heard anything. They had broke it and told me I needed a new mother board, because the extent they broke it and blamed me for it. The "owner" then proceeded to tell me I was a liar and called my parents that were with me that they were liars and take the computer and go, but I have to pay him first. Mad as I was, I paid it. I get home and don't touch the computer for a couple of days. I get to looking at it later and some parts were missing. I called the establishment back and explained to them that they had not given me all the parts back. The "manager" then says that I was a liar again. I then got upset and asked him to go check. Upon his return they had in fact not given me all the parts back. They had kept them, because "I made a scene." I am furious with this company. I since have had to buy a brand new computer and have not and can not get the information off my old computer. This company needs to have some actions for the liability. They can't just break people's things and then keep them and hold them hostage. I would like to know what I can do?

Desired Settlement: I would like the company to reimburse me for my computer. I wouldn't have had to go buy a new computer. A comparable computer cost me $1100.43. To replace the motherboard is $299 plus on the internet and then an additional charge to have someone put it together $40 per hour. And the parts that they had lost is questionable also, could be up to $500 total just to fix the computer.

Business Response: ****, the young man brought his computer to us in several pieces and "the part to fix it". We evaluated the mainboard and determined that it would require a new board as the old one could not be repaired. We called and left a message that it would require a replacement board. He and his parents came to pick up the computer without telling us what he wanted done. We explained that the old board had been attemped to be repaired previously and was broken beyond repair. He then said I called him a "liar". I said no-one called anyone a liar just that it was damaged when we got the board. He then wanted his computer, we said ok and charged less than the posted evaluation fee. He complained, I asked what he thought was fair, his parents convinced him pay and leave. I was accused of calling him a liar several times without warrant. We have a policy of treating our customers "more than fair", I believe that's why in 29 years of business I have had no significant complaints. I believe this customer was treated more than fair in the circumstances presented to us. Please call me if you have any questions. ****** *********, ************ Pro Computer Inc. since 1985
PS We had sent this file once before please let us know immediately if you don't receive it.

Consumer Response: (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I explained to the owner that I had never received a message or call from him. That's when he said I was calling him a liar and got on the offensive, which then got me on the offensive. They never left a message. I explained this to him. They never called my house phone or cell phone. I have the call records to prove it. This would explain that they never once called. Yes, The computer was in pieces because they told me it would be cheaper.
Then he never asked, "what would be fair." I was so upset I said, What do I owe you. He said, I should charge you this fee, and then mumbled something to the employee and then charged me a fee. I do have to say this, his employee looked at the mother board and said, "shouldn't be a problem. We'll have it done early Monday morning."
I waited almost all day Monday and did not receive a phone call then either. I had to go in and the "manager," said, "oh it wont be a problem, we ran out of the product to get the power jack off." I said, "when will you have it done, I need it tonight!" He said, "Oh should only be an hour." 4 hours later and 5 min before they close he finally calls me and says I wont get it done tonight. I said, "that's fine call my home phone when it is done and someone will come pick it up."
I went to another state for 8 days come back and no computer, so I had my parents stop with me on my way back home. That's when all this started. The owner was on the offensive the whole time, saying everything was my fault. When his employee's earlier said it was no problem and checked many times (Saturday and Monday before I left).

Business Response: I stand by my previous statements. We tried to help this young man and be as fair as possible.