Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

PC Laptops

Additional Locations

Phone: (877) 596-7283 View Additional Phone Numbers 10288 S Jordan Gtwy Ste D, South Jordan, UT 84095 View Additional Email Addresses http://www.pclaptops.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

Pc Laptops is a builder of laptops and desktops, we are a locally owned Utah Company with 8 locations in Utah and Nevada. We offer our laptops and desktop computers across the United States and Canada.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that PC Laptops meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for PC Laptops include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 14 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

14 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 8 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 2
Problems with Product/Service 10
Total Closed Complaints 14

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on PC Laptops
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: October 30, 1996 Business started: 02/01/1995 Business started locally: 02/01/1995 Business incorporated 08/08/2002 in UT
Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mr. Dan Young, President Ms. Bailie Corisis, HR Director Mr. Micheal E Olsen, Director of Customer Relations
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Mr. Micheal E Olsen, Director of Customer Relations
Principal: Mr. Dan Young, President
Business Category

Computers - Dealers Computers - Service & Repair

Method(s) of Payment

Cash

All major credit cards

Refund and Exchange Policy
No refunds on computers or repairs.
All PC Laptops built computers come with a lifetime service and labor warranty.
Service Area
Utah
Alternate Business Names
911PCLaptops.com Black Ops Onsite Service Dan the Laptop Man Elite Systems Elite Systems PC Laptops Elitelink.net PC Laptops AHS PC Laptops at Home Service PCLaptops, LLC PCNotebooks Salt Lake Geeks Super Easy Backup
Additional Information

The BBB has been informed that PC Laptops is extending their Lifetime Service Guarantee and Lifetime Labor Warranty to all previous customers of Totally Awesome Computers, ABCAN Computers, and PC Club. Please refer to www.pclaptops.com/Adoption.php or call PC Laptops toll free at 1-877-596-7283 for details.


Additional Locations

  • 10288 S Jordan Gtwy Ste D

    South Jordan, UT 84095 (877) 596-7283 +877-596-SAVE

  • 1705 W 7800 S

    West Jordan, UT 84088 (801) 748-1200

  • 1985 S State St

    Orem, UT 84097 (801) 724-9998

  • 2984 N Hill Field Rd Ste E

    Layton, UT 84041 (801) 593-8677

  • 4080 Riverdale Rd

    Riverdale, UT 84405

  • 5324 S State St

    Murray, UT 84107 (801) 747-3433

  • 745 S State St

    Salt Lake City, UT 84111 (801) 596-7283

  • 9009 S State St

    Sandy, UT 84070 (801) 568-9999

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

4/5/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: The computer I bought has not worked correctly for about a year. I have taken it in for repair 4 time one one year, and the issue is still not fixed.

Desired Settlement: To have a computer that I can use and not have issue with.

Business Response: Our District Manager (Brian S****) is working closely with ******* to resolve his computer issues. 

Consumer Response:
Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Sincerely,

******* ******

3/8/2016 Problems with Product/Service
2/1/2016 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a laptop from Denis on January 16, 2016. I picked it up on Monday, January 18, 2016. During negotiations, I stressed the importance of having home support available at all hours. I was assured that that was available. At no time was it brought up that there was an extra charge for that service. I was told one of the reasons the laptops cost more than I was at first willing to pay was because of their lifetime guarantee and support service. A week after picking the laptop up, I was having a couple of software issues, so I called the Home Support line. I was transferred a couple of times and was then informed that I would have to pay for the service. The only backup support that comes with the laptop is if I take it to one of their stores and drop if off. I bought a laptop from PC Laptop when they first opened for business years ago, and one of the reasons I didn't buy another one until now is because they didn't have a home support backup service. When I told this to Denis, he assured me that that was no longer the case, that there was a home support service now in place. He never once brought up that there was an extra charge involved. The extra fee is much more than I am willing to pay. When I inquired about returning the laptop, I was told I could but there would be a 20 percent fee plus a fee for returning some of the software. Again, this was not explained to me at the time of purchase. I was told there would be a 20 percent fee, but nothing else. It would cost me $800 to return an $1800 computer. I feel like a bait and switch game is going on. I was really looking forward to working with PC Laptops again and having a business close to help me with my computer needs.

Desired Settlement: I am so angry about this that I don't think I could work with them again. I really feel like Denis misled me. He admitted when I talked to him about this issue that he didn't tell me there was an additional charge for home support when I stressed how important home support service was to me. I just want to return the computer at a fair refund price and never deal with them again.

Business Response:

Hello,

Our District Vice President Andrew W*** spoke with ******. He reports that she has been helped and is satisfied with the outcome. He has also provided her with his cell number in case there are additional circumstances.

Please let me know if you need anything else. Thank you.

Consumer Response:
Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:  Andrew W*** claims that I am satisfied.  I am not, but there's nothing else I can do about it unless I want to spend several hundred dollars on home backup support.  I still feel that this service was misrepresented to me as being included with what I was already paying.  Mr. W*** has given me his cell phone number to call at any time for help.  That may alleviate the problem in the future, but to state that "the client is satisfied" is a misstatement.  We'll see what happens.

Sincerely,

****** ******

1/15/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a computer from PC Laptops in West Jordan. A long with the computer can a bunch of "free" stuff. The one for this complainant is free one year of Super Easy Backup. I purchased the computer 01/05/2015. Yesterday via email I receive a paid invoice for this same service for $239.40, which has already been deducted from the credit card for the same service (01/05/2016 through 01/05/2017). I did contact "SuperEasyBackup" at ###-###-#### for an explanation on this service. She told me it was automatic when the "free one year" expired. I intern told her I was unaware of this and had review my original computer invoice for this hidden agreement and could not find. She stated that they would pro rate this service and would refund my credit card $238.26. The other complaint besides this hidden agreement is PC Laptops being able to hang on to my credit card information for a year and make this unaware purchase. Just FYI. The Corporate office in South Jordan is the same address not only for PC Laptops BUT for this SuperEasyBackup.

Desired Settlement: I'm thinking this practice is illegal and might be a criminal matter?

Business Response:

Responded to ****** via email:

From: Micheal O****
Sent: Thursday, January 7, 2016 8:37 AM
To: '**********@aol.com' <**********@aol.com>
Subject: PC Laptops & Super Easy Backup

Hi ******,

My name is Micheal and I am the Director of Customer Relations for PC Laptops and Super Easy Backup. I received notice from the Better Business Bureau regarding some concerns you had.

I reviewed your account and verified the refund. Your account has been closed and your card information removed from our system. I want to do everything I can to make sure your 110% happy with us. Please let me know what I can do to help.

On a side note PC Laptops is a sister company to Super Easy Backup.

I look forward to your response.

Fare thee well,

12/26/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Where do I start, the first issue that I have a problem with is that their advertisement was home of the $799 desktop. Unfortunately, when I went in to the store and was assaulted by an extremely aggressive salesperson, I was told that this is simply the starting point. After which I was placed under the type of pressure that a used car lot would be proud of. When all was said and done the $799 computer turned out to be over $1,400. However, this is not my real concern. PC Laptops gave my checking information (without my permission) to some company called SuperEasyBackup. I remember asking what this $250 charge was and was told that the computed came with a one year free subscription to this company's services. I told them that I did not want to get involved in something that I would have to cancel and I was told that it was free. I never gave this any more thought until last Friday 12/11/15 when I received an Email from SuperEasyBackup stating that my checking account had been debited $239. I found that interesting as I never gave my checking information to SuperEasyBackup or to PC Laptops. I purchased the computed on an account credit that was activated at their store. I do for some reason remember that they asked for my driver's license and also my debit card to copy but no charge was made on this card. PC Laptops gave my checking information to a company that I did not authorize. In addition I received no warning that this was going to transpire, I simply received a notification that the transaction had occurred. Needless to say my checking account went into the negative. I called SuperEasyBackup and asked how they got my checking information and they stated that they were not able to disclose that information. Which leads back to the fact that PC Laptops signed me up for an unwanted (and according to my aggressive salesperson), free backup service. The charge was reversed; however, this does not change the fact that PC Laptops gave my information to a company that I did not authorize and that information allowed this company to make an unauthorized withdrawl from my checking account. This in addition to their untruthful advertising led me to make this complaint (not to mention their highly aggressive sales staff)

Desired Settlement: Somehow this company has maintained a good rating with a local newscaster and his segment Get Gephart and this company has managed to maintain a positive image despite their sleazy tactics. I just want it known that this company's advertising practices are misleading, their service is too expensive, and that they gave my checking information to another business without my permission.

Business Response:

I am legally unable to contact *****. He requested to be placed on our do not call list. I have however sent the below email and will wait for his reply.

 

From: Micheal O****
Sent: Friday, December 18, 2015 9:59 AM
To: '*********************' <*********************>
Subject: BBB Comments

Hi *****,

I just read your comments on the BBB website. I wanted to reach out to you as soon as possible. I am sorry to hear about the experience you had with one of my stores. I would like the chance to make this right and make sure you are super happy with PC Laptops.

The number you provided with the BBB is on our Do Not Call list. Legally I cannot call that number unless you respond and give me permission. Or if you like we can correspond through email.

Please let me know what works best for you. I look forward to resolving this as quickly as possible.

Gratitude,

Micheal O****
Director of Customer Relations
“We Love You!”

Monday – Friday 9am to 5pm MDT
Office: ###-###-#### option 4 |  *************@pclaptops.com | www.pclaptops.com

9/17/2015 Guarantee/Warranty Issues
9/8/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
5/8/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
4/30/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I recently starting getting BSOD(blue screen of death) errors on my PC and I would have to restart it. This only happened when I was playing games. Everything else on my PC was in perfect working order and had no defects or issues. I couldn't figure out what was causing the error so I decided to take tin to professionals to look at it. PC Laptops said they wouldn't charge me anything because diagnostics were free. I didn't sk them to change anything I just wanted to see if hey could run some tests and figure out what the problem was. When I took it in they plugged it in and it booted up perfectly. Two days later I got a call saying they had run the diagnostics and it was a bad motherboard but everything else worked fine. I wen tto pick it up and when I brought it back home it would not boot up or work in general. I took it back in and they apologized and said they would fix it. Several days later they called me again and said were SORRY but we cant fix it the motherboard doesn't work. I asked to speak with the manager because they broke my PC and basically told me I was *** (out of luck). I was told that he was busy and would call me later. It has been 4 days and I have not received any call. I am extremely upset. My PC was damaged while in their care and they are trying to give me the run around and avoid taking responsibility. Furthermore I have never had the displeasure of such poor customer service. I takes days to get a callback if you even get that and when you have a problem only seem to be able to say IM SORRY which roughly translates to "shove it, I don't care, and too bad.

Desired Settlement: I want them to replace the items broken while in their care, and I want my PC back in working condition without the loss of any of my information.

Business Response: I've left a voicemail for ***** and I've sent him an email.

We fully intend to meet his request. 
I'll keep you posted.
******* *****
Director of Customer Relations
PC Laptops

Consumer Response:  
Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Sincerely,

***** *******

1/7/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I took my laptop in to the Layton location over four months ago, and I have gone in every week since to see what my status was, but get the run-around I originally took my laptop in to the PC Laptops Layton location at the end of July 2014 to get my AC port re-soldered to the motherboard after it was damaged. I got my laptop back promptly, and paid for the repair. Three days later the AC port went out again, so I took the laptop back to the Layton location to get it re-evaluated and repaired. The store manager, ******* ****, assured me that he would "take care of me" and call me with any updates on my laptop, but that it could take a while because it was "Christmas Season" (beginning of August 2014) for them right now, meaning they were busy selling computers to students returning to school (and in my opinion their making money through sales would trump any progress on my machine for the time being). The next two months consisted of me going in every Friday morning to see if any progress had been made on my machine. I was never called once during this time for any status reports (not even for notifications that nothing had changed with my laptop). I was told each time that no progress had been made, but that I would be called every week with a status update from them. At the end of the second month of the ordeal, I was apologized to for the delay, and told that I had a bad motherboard. I was then told by ******* **** that they would replace my motherboard, and place everything into a new chassis if needed, and only charge me for the motherboard. I grudgingly agreed to this, and went on my way. Another month went by, with me going in every Friday for a status update(never received a phone call), and got the same thing from ******* ****, or one of the techs there- "We are still working on it, we will call you with weekly updates." The last week of this month that I went in, I was told by ******* **** that he would just replace the laptop with one with like specification to mine, but that he would need to have it shipped in from another store location. I took a witness with me to this interaction, who was present when he made this statement. (I have been recording every interaction during this ordeal on my phone, I just had a feeling it was going to get ugly). I told ******* that I would be satisfied with a replacement computer, as long as it would not be a downgrade from my fairly nice laptop that I paid $2400 for back in 2010. It has now been over another month, totaling four for the entire ordeal, and still no word or phone calls, with me going in every Friday for a status update with the same "no progress" report. I went in on 12/5/14 and was told by one of the techs that they were calling in a laptop with an i5 processor from the Sandy store, and that they may be able to get it that day (Friday), but to for sure expect it on Monday (12/8/14). He stated that they would call me when it got in on Monday for sure. I have finally decided to file a complaint today 12/11/14. I have recorded every transaction, and the manager, ******* **** as apologized and told me how inexcusable his behavior has been on multiple occasions. For my treatment and hassle Ifeel itis reasonable for PC Laptops to recompense me with a new replacement laptop with the specs that my old one had. I have paperwork written up and ready to submit to the Attorney General's Consumer Protection Agency that is currently being held by my own personal attorney, ready to take to them if an agreement is not made promptly.

Desired Settlement: I am seeking a new replacement laptop meeting or exceeding the hardware and software specifications of my old laptop.

Business Response: Contact Name and Title: ****** *********** - HR Director
Contact Phone: ********** ext ****
Contact Email: ******@pclaptops.com
This customer was taken care of through Gephardt about 2 weeks ago. He received a shiny new laptop and is happy as a clam!

Consumer Response: (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)

10/20/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Severely declining customer service, especially to someone who has been a very loyal customer for the better part of 10 years. I took my laptop in to get a bigger hard-drive, and inquire about getting my battery replaced as it was no longer powering my machine unless it was plugged it. I was under the assumption that their parts and labor warranty would cover the battery as it is a critical component to the functionality of the machine. After leaving my machine at the store for two days and not getting any calls back about the price of the battery, I had to finally call in. The tech that was handling my machine was not in, but had given me a rough estimate of $80-$120.00 for the battery replacement. When I called in, they told me $160.00. That is an absurd amount for a battery, something that should be covered in their parts warranty anyway. I told them to stop all other work on my computer, revert back to my old hard-drive and that I will be in to pick up the machine later today. I have been a PC laptop customer for the better part of the last 10 years and have bought 4 or 5 different computers from them, spending several thousand dollars. I feel I have been a pretty loyal customer, with no real benefit in return. Their customer service seems to decline severely each time I go into their store. They always try to rope you into buying or "upgrading" to a new machine. If their products are so good and are supposed to have a lifetime guarantee, why should I upgrade every two years? All I wanted was a little more hard-drive space and a battery that would keep my machine running. I fully expected to pay for the hard-drive, but I feel like I am really being ripped of on the battery. I am ready to cut my relationship with PC Laptops and take my business elsewhere. It is sad, they used to be so good. Additionally, I do not think that the employees at PC laptops work very well as a team. They do not have cohesiveness, meaning if the tech who was assigned to work on my machine is not in, it is a real hassle to get any information about status updates/responses for requested quotes. I called in one night to talk to my tech, but he had left, I was told to call in the next day. When I did, I was informed to call back the next day again because that tech was on scheduled leave. They should function better as a team and be able to cover for each other when someone is not their to be able to keep their customers informed.

Desired Settlement: I really just want to be able to power up my machine without having to plug it in and not have to get ripped off so much for that battery. As far as upgrades go, I just do not have much interest in paying such high prices for hard-drives and other parts when basic parts of the machine cost so much. For the price I am paying for that simple upgrade to the hard drive and battery replacement, I can go get a pretty decent laptop from Dell, Walmart, or Best Buy.

Business Response: Final Consumer Response /* (2000, 8, 2014/10/20) */ Shortly after I filed my complaint (same day), the office manager at the downtown store contacted me by phone. I do not think he is even aware that I have filed this complaint yet. Anyway, the manager was very friendly, apologetic and willing to take care of my problem. He insisted that I allow him to make me happy by replacing the battery on my laptop for free. He was even willing to go as far a paying for some upgrades I had requested and repair some of cosmetic damage to my computer at the expense of the business. I told him that was not necessary, that I also want to play fair, that I did not expect the business to give me free upgrades/non warranty covered repairs. I appreciate the willingness PC laptops has demonstrated to resolve my issue and the steps they have taken to repair my business relationship with them. I will be taking my laptop back to the store today to have the battery replaced and then purchase the desired upgrades and repairs. If possible, please mark this case closed/customer completely satisfied.

11/20/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I took a notebook looked at and they lost it. I took a notebook in to be looked at. The person I left it with was transferred/Quit. I contacted them 6 times and they can not find my notebook. After the 5th time they "think" they destroyed it. They have no documentation concerning what happened to my notebook. I keep emailing the manager at the location but he ignores my emails.

Desired Settlement: either give back my notebook or pay me to replace it.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 9, 2013/10/24) */ Mr. ***** came into our Layton store in March for service on his laptop after his system died. After servicing and finding that his computer had a bad hard drive and would not load certain points, our Layton store tried calling and received a message stating the number was not taking calls. The customer went into our Layton store in August to pick up his laptop. As per our warranty statement, this laptop falls under our repo requirements since it was left for this length of time. Mr. ***** informed us he didn't need his laptop back but was concerned about getting the data. We were able to find the hard drive all of his data had been transferred to and put this on a flash drive for him. Mr. ***** then decided he wanted his laptop back, but unfortunately we were unable to locate it. We will be replacing his laptop with an equivalent laptop, and our Layton store manager is in the process of finding one. We have been in contact with Mr. ***** regarding this, and he is aware he will be receiving a replacement. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 11, 2013/10/28) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) PC Laptops has offered to replace my laptop that they lost. Although their facts are incorrect, I will accept the replacement. They have not replaced the laptop as promised as of today. Final Consumer Response /* (2500, 12, 2013/11/01) */

11/12/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: After 2nd repair on computer,I was told everything was fixed, When I tried to download pictures from IPhone & IPad using ports damaged both. This is an email I sent to PC Laptops. -I have been a loyal customer of PC Laptops (before when it was Totally Awesome Computers) because of their quality computers & service. My most recent experience has me rethinking that. My Titan computer was giving me an error message; Boot mgr missing: so on July 9th, I took my tower to the store on 5324 S State St. as your SLC store had informed me they were back logged & my repair would take more than 1 week. A nice young man by the name of **** worked on my computer saying he cleaned out the dust & would reapply thermals if necessary. I also purchased a renewal of CPS. I was advised everything else was ok. I took my computer home, connected everything & got the same error message; Boot mgr missing. I took it back & after a few days I was advised the problem was my drive & mother board which he replaced. He advised me he was able to back up my files (yeah!) except he did not check to make sure everything was backed up. When I got the tower back on 7-24-2013 & connected my computer at home, none of my contacts were saved, only some pictures from 2011 & 2012 but none from 2013. When I tried the 1st USB port to connect my wireless mouse - nothing. I tried the 2nd port which worked. Yeah! I called back informing **** about the problem asking if he still had my hard drive. He said he would check & get back. Nothing. I waited 3 of 4 days before calling to find out my drive had already been sent to the warehouse & wiped. It is what it is but I'm really not happy now. Since some of my lost pictures were on my IPad & IPhone, I decide to download them. Using the same cords (1 that came with the IPad, the other that came with the IPhone) I attempted to download my picture. Knowing the 1st port wouldn't work, I tried the 3rd port - nothing. Thinking there may be a problem with my cord as my IPad worked perfectly, I tried my I Phone with the appropriate cord - still nothing. I called the store back & spoke to ****** who said ITunes may not have been loaded properly & may have to be deleted & re-downloaded. Not wanting to lose anymore files, I told him that I was having problems with 2 USB ports & would need to bring the computer back to have that fixed & could work on ITunes then. The next day when I went to charge my IPhone, it wouldn't charge. I need my phone as I'm going currently going through a divorce from an abusive alcoholic who has threatened me amongst other things. I checked my IPad which had been working perfectly, it won't charge. I took both into Apple who verified neither one are charging, not recognizing ITunes. There was no obstruction in either port, no water damage, no software issues & that they can't be repaired but must be replaced. I called the Murray store asking for a manager who I was advised was ******. Unfortunately, I missed his return call. He left a voice mail advising me to bring everything in. When I called back, I was put on hold for 5 min. only to find out ****** had left for the day. I called PC Laptops this morning, left a message with the receptionist asking for a return call from the SLC store as I have no faith in the Murray store any longer. As of 2PM no call. I would like to resolve this with PC Laptops but it's hard to do without follow up. I need a working computer, an I Pad & I Phone & I would like to know what PC Laptop's solution is. Per ***** on 8/20/2013, in the SLC store, they are not responsible for damaged Iphone & Ipad even though he "fried" his USB stick when he was checking it out my computer for the 3rd time. The Murray store was to have repaired my computer twice. The SLC store finally got it repaired but refuses any compensation even though unrepaired computer caused the problem.

Desired Settlement: I am seeking to be either compensated for my Iphone & Ipad or have a replacement of the same Apple products.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 10, 2013/09/19) */ In regards to case number XXXXXXXX : Ms. ***** brought her computer in for repair on July 5, 2013. After sending the computer home, Ms. ***** plugged her iPhone and iPad into the computer to upload pictures. Because the USB ports and motherboard were damaged, it damaged the customer's products. As part of our warranty, we are not liable for damaged 3rd party products. However, in an attempt to rectify the situation, we offered to repair her computer for free. We replaced her case, SSD and motherboard which totalled ******* in repairs at no cost to Ms. *****. Ms. ***** also informed us that her iPhone and iPad were still under warranty and she would like replacements. We attempted to work with her in that situation and have her drop off the devices to our Salt Lake location since that is the closest location to her home. She refused this offer stating that it was inconvenient without her phone. We also offered to replace her phone with a brand new S4, a product we carry, she also refused this stating she wants an iPhone. We offered to cover the warranty deductable through Apple to replace her phone and iPad, but Ms. ***** had already had them replaced, and now has a new iPhone and iPad. If there was a cost for the replacement, we will be happy to reimburse the Ms ***** as long as she provides a receipt. We strive to make the customer whole and happy, and feel as though we have done everything to correct the situation and assure the customer is 110% taken care of Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 12, 2013/09/26) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I brought my computer in 2 (two) times for repair when I was assured everything was replaced & working correctly before I tried to download pictures from my IPhone & IPad. The 3rd time I brought my computer to PC Laptops in when it was actually repaired. While I do acknowledge & appreciate that PC Laptops honored their guarantee of a computer purchased from them would be repaired and/or parts replaced free of charge to the consumer paying an extra upfront price at purchase, I fail to understand the response concerning 3rd party products. Does this mean that any and/or all USB ports on the computer are not to be used or trusted once purchased or repaired? This should advertised and be stated clearly in the warranty also. I did not say that any of my Apple products were under warranty - as a matter of fact, I gave copies of receipts to ***** from Apple stating there was no warranty & a description of the problem. I could not leave my phone with PC Laptops as I am divorcing an abusive, alcoholic man who has threatened me & I can't be without a phone for emergency purposes. I filed an insurance claim so I would not be without a phone. The insurance company has a clause in which if the phone that is damaged is not returned in a specific amount of time, I could be billed up to 800.00 extra. Concerning your timely response, I could not take the chance of incurring such a charge. Thus, I never stated that it was inconvenient to bring my non-working phone & IPad in which I did but chose not to let you keep, quite a difference. I have never said I have replaced my IPad. In fact, I still have my non-chargeable, non-repairable, IPad. I am happy to read you strive to make the customer whole & happy & make sure that I am taken care of 110%. I will be happy to submit quotes from Apple, Best Buy, Verizon, whichever Apple Approved dealer you approve of in which you can provide me a check in which to replace my damaged products. Thank you for your time. Final Business Response /* (1000, 16, 2013/10/24) */ We spoke with ***** on 10/07 and let her know we would take extra special care of her and replace her iPhone and iPad for her. She received her iPhone and iPad replacements on 10/11 and was 110% happy.

10/3/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Work performed did not resolve all the problems I submitted an HP laptop for virus cleanup and tune up to improve speed and performance. Upon using laptop it still had the same problems of slow and constant freeze up and reboot. The virus was remidied but I felt the money for the tune up was a waste. The technician did inform me the laptop only had 1 g of RAM but did not adequately indicate the performance would not be any noticeably different. I returned the unit and they said there was not anything indicated that would slow the performance and that the upgrades to the DOS over time were probably the reason why. If this would have been explained in better detail I would not have had the tune up done, just the virus scan. They also said it would cost an additional $200 to increase the RAM speed. It would not be economical to put that much additional into a 6 year old laptop when a new laptop with the same programs would only run about $400.

Desired Settlement: Since the work performed did not improve the performance I would like to receive a $100.00 refund on the performance issue and leave them with the $50.00 difference for fixing the virus issue. I will certainly express my displeasure with PC Laptops service and lack of detailed disclosure to anyone that asks about their service and dealings.

Business Response: Final Consumer Response /* (2000, 5, 2013/10/03) */ The business contacted me today and arranged for a refund on the issue. I am happy with the results but wish I had checked with BBB before letting them work on my equipment. Even though they have resolved the complaints against them, the 16 cases in their file would have been a warning to maybe select someone else. Thanks for the prompt response and assistance in this matter *****


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on PC Laptops
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)