This business is not BBB accredited.

TextbookStop

Phone: (801) 648-7814 1960 Sidewinder Dr Ste 212, Park City, UT 84060 View Additional Email Addresses http://www.textbookstop.com View Additional Web Addresses


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered the rating for TextbookStop include:

  • Failure to respond to 4 complaint(s) filed against business

Factors that raised the rating for TextbookStop include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

10 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 2
Delivery Issues 2
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 5
Total Closed Complaints 10

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on TextbookStop
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: October 26, 2010 Business started: 02/14/2008 Business started locally: 02/14/2008 Business incorporated 02/14/2008 in UT
Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mr. Brian Zilvitis, CFO Mr. Pete Hurtubise, CEO
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Brian Zilvitis, CFO
Business Category

Computer Software Publishers & Developers Books - Textbooks New & Used

Alternate Business Names
Campus Buyback TBS Textbook Rentals, LLC TextbookGrid Ucentive LLC

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    1960 Sidewinder Dr Ste 212

    Park City, UT 84060 (801) 648-7814

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

1/7/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I rented three books from this company, returned all three. They said I only returned two of them. Yet they refuse to give me any proof of this. On June 13th, 2013 I informed this company that they were not showing all of the three textbooks I rented from them as returned, and only showed two of them. I reached out to them because I knew that I had returned all three of the books together in the same box. They responded on June 17th, 2013 that they only received two of them and they wanted the third. At this point I am not sure if I called them, or if I did not correspond back. We were at an impasse and they said I hadn't returned the book, and I said I had. They contacted me November 26th, 2013 by phone and said that I needed to pay $28 for the book or return it. I was a bit caught off guard about this as it was five months later. But I listened and as I thought about it and looked in my email I realized what she was talking about. I mentioned that I said I returned it, and I am confident that I did, and they said I did not. How do I know that they did not make a mistake? How can I prove I returned it? She said by providing the tracking number. I said that the tracking number is the same as the other two books that I returned (which they marked as received). She told me they had checked with the person who processed this and that person said there was only two books. I found this odd, as it seems like whoever processes the books would deal with many packages and I don't know how they would remember a single package months ago. She told me it would be $28.00 to pay for the book. I was frustrated but felt like there was not a lot I could do. But I insisted I would like some sort of substantiation of this charge. She said they could provide the weights of the shipments as proof. I still inquired as what if I packaged them in different materials than they had, but I still wanted this proof as it was better than nothing. I received a letter from them 11/30 stating I owed $39.00 I followed up as this frustrated me, because on the phone they said $28.00 AND every correspondence with them I was still adamant that I returned this book. On November 30th, I informed them they had said $28.00 on the phone and asked for proof that it was not in the package with the other two books. I said "Again, where is the proof that my book wasn't returned. You received the other books I sent back with this book. How do you know that the person who checked in the books didn't make a mistake? I'd like some sort of proof of that." They responded on December 2nd: "We would be happy to charge $28 for the book. I can either charge the card we have on file or you can call us with a different card. Let us know if there is anything else we can help you with." This did not address my concern. So I responded: "Can you address this concern of mine: Again, where is the proof that my book wasn't returned. You received the other books I sent back with this book. How do you know that the person who checked in the books didn't make a mistake? I'd like some sort of proof of that." She responded back on December 3: "*******, I can personally tell you that I have been the one handling your account since you ordered in January. I was also the one that received the books. I can tell you that your package only had the 2 books I received into your account. Those were the only books in the box when I opened it. Once again I apologize. Let me know how you would like to pay for the book. Thank you, ******" I found this odd because I had also received emails from a ***** and whoever I had spoken to on the phone did not by any sense indicate they had opened the package, they indicated they talked to the person that had. But it just seemed odd that she would open the packages, and handle the customer service elements. But either way, it doesn't really address me wanting proof besides her "personal assurance." I responded that I would again like the proof that whoever I spoke to on the phone had mentioned to substantiate this charge.

Desired Settlement: I would like this book marked as returned and to not pay the $28 or $38 that they are requesting to close the account. I am sure I returned this, and would like a letter reflecting that they are marking the account as closed and settled.

3/12/2013 Problems with Product/Service
3/7/2013 Problems with Product/Service
3/7/2013 Problems with Product/Service
3/7/2013 Problems with Product/Service
10/16/2012 Delivery Issues
8/9/2012 Problems with Product/Service
8/2/2012 Advertising/Sales Issues
7/6/2012 Billing/Collection Issues
6/21/2012 Delivery Issues