Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Giant Carpet One Floor & Home

Additional Locations

Phone: (801) 484-5028 Fax: (801) 363-4575 View Additional Phone Numbers 1340 S 400 W, Salt Lake Cty, UT 84115

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Giant Carpet One Floor & Home meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered the rating for Giant Carpet One Floor & Home include:

  • 5 complaint(s) filed against business

Factors that raised the rating for Giant Carpet One Floor & Home include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Response to 5 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

5 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 1
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 4
Total Closed Complaints 5

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Giant Carpet One Floor & Home
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: June 11, 1987 Business started: 01/01/1972 Business started locally: 01/01/1972 Business incorporated 02/05/1973 in UT
Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mr. William B. Sutton, CEO Mr. Dean Johnson, Customer Solutions
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Mr. Dean Johnson, Customer Solutions
Principal: Mr. William B. Sutton, CEO
Business Category

Carpet & Rug Dealers - New Floors - Hardwood Tile - Ceramic - Contractors & Dealers

Alternate Business Names
Suttons Western Wholesale Flooring, Inc. Western Wholesale Flooring

Additional Locations

  • 1340 S 400 W

    Salt Lake Cty, UT 84115 (801) 484-5028

  • 1509 S 270 E Ste 1

    St George, UT 84790 (435) 656-8475

  • 1612 Ute Blve Ste 108

    Park City, UT 84098

  • 1785 S State St

    Orem, UT 84097 (801) 224-9100

  • 500 W 9000 S

    Sandy, UT 84070

  • 6273 S Highland Dr

    Cottonwood Heights, UT 84121

  • 800 W Riverdale Rd

    Ogden, UT 84405 (801) 627-4222

  • 880 S Main St

    Logan, UT 84321

  • 880 S Main St

    River Heights, UT 84321

  • 951 E 2100 S

    Salt Lake City, UT 84106 (801) 485-2500


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

7/9/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: The $2500 Stratford 100% wool carpet we purchased from Pro Source Wholesale Floor Coverings is defective. In November 2013 we purchased two 10' x 10' Stratford "Antique Pewter" 100% Wool carpets from Deborah J******/ProSource. In the summer of 2014 spots the size of a pencil eraser began appearing on/in the carpet. These spots look and smell like motor oil and appear at random. In November 2014 we had the carpets professionally spot cleaned by hand with an organic food grade professional cleaner. Around April 1st of 2015 we had a warm spell in Reno and 1 spot appeared. In April 2015 I called ****** ****** to come out and roll the carpets up and encase them in heavy duty plastic because at this point it hadn't occurred to me that the carpets are defective I thought perhaps it is the carpet pads. I wanted to store the carpets through the warm season before the spots got there and I could save up the money for new/different pads. ****** ****** came to roll them up, I explained why we were going to store them and they recommended not putting them in a hot garage if we were already experiencing defects that could be exasperated by an even hotter area of the house. That's when I called Deborah J****** and asked if there was a possibility that the pad we purchased could be causing the oil spots. ProSource said it couldn't be the pads. At this point I realize the carpets are defective and ask if they (ProSource) will come to our house and see what is going on. Deborah said they can't come to the house but that she will have Dean J****** call me, to speak about the problem. Dean J****** called me, I told him the story and he emailed me lists of IICRC inspectors and that I would need to pay for the inspection (typically costs around 350$). I agreed to finding an inspector and paying for the inspection. I called every inspector that I was given and there is not one inspector to do the inspection, they are either not doing inspections anymore, not IICRC certified, out of the business etc. The last correspondence I had with Dean J****** and Deborah J***** was June 1st 2015 when they gave me the name of one last inspector to call, which I did (his certification is expired). I then asked for a refund or replacements and they told me 'no'. The carpets are unusable, I have white towels covering them so that we don't step in the oil and track it in to our beds or the rest of the house.

Desired Settlement: Full Refund or Replacement with similar quality 100% wool carpet (not Stratford).

Business Response:

The consumer decided the condition of concern was related to manufacturing. We requested an inspection from the manufacturer on the consumer’s behalf. We received an explanation and decline to inspect from the manufacturer that was forwarded to the consumer. The manufacturer described in detail the reasons that the consumers concern could not be related to manufacturing. We are glad to facilitate this claim further with the manufacturer if the consumer can provide an independent inspection report that concludes the condition of concern is related to manufacturing.       

Consumer Response:  
Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because: There are no inspectors! How can we have an inspector inspect them if there aren't any? I am not in the carpet business, the only party who can provide an inspector is ProSource or the manufacturer Unique Carpets LTD.  Also we did not "decide" the issue was due to manufacturing, no one can decide anything without an inspection so the manufacturers (Unique Carpet LTD)  "opinion" is moot.


Heather R*******

Business Response: The consumer notified us that the manufacturer agreed to send an inspector to examined the rugs. 

Consumer Response:  
Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because: The manufacturer did agree to send and inspector but the carpets have not been inspected at this time by the manufacturers inspector.


Heather R*******

4/24/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: Carpet One Timeline September 2014 – Brought a home. Decided carpet throughout the house needed to be replaced due to the fact the old carpet was stained. October 30, 2014. Decided to buy new carpet. Check around for carpet companies. Decided to go with Giant Carpet One because they were a national company and had a good reputation. November 2, 2014. Visited the store on **** ***** *** **** Salt Lake City. Utah. We spoke to **** about carpeting whole house, including carpet runner on stairs along with engineered wood floor in fireplace room. They would also put down molding around pebble landing at base of the fireplace. November 4, 2014. Wife visits store with $3000.00 down payment. She is told by salesman (****) that the installation would take place in 10 days. November 11, 2014. Carpet installer comes – lays wrong carpet in upstairs bedroom. Carpet is bedroom is not tight and he doesn’t tack the carpet. His workmanship is extremely poor. He doesn’t install the carpet runner to the stairs – says it hasn’t come back from the binders yet. It will be installed in 10 days. (which will be November 21st.) He removed all the carpet off the stairs. Leave tack board with protruding nails and staples on stairs. He doesn’t vacuum the new carpet. We were told his vacuum cleaner was broken. November 23, 2014. Flooring guys come in and lay new flooring. They had to remove small section 3x4 area of cement padding by back door to install wood floor. They do not use vacuum system. This leaves over 2inches of dust everywhere in the house. As they were working around pebble area by fireplace – they destroy some of the pebbles. Pebbles have been peeling away ever since. I sent **** (sales guy ) a text at 8:30 a.m. “I am horrified of the condition of the house after the flooring guys left. Please meet me at the house today. You need to see this. Let me know what time you can be here. My wife is in tears” **** response was “Sound Terrible. I’m sorry. I will call you a bit later this morning and will come down” No word from **** till 12:30 p.m. “Just finished having some caps put in at the dentist. I will head to the showroom and call you. I have to see who can cover me while I have a look. Sorry, for the problems.” No ****. I wrote at 4:01 PM. It has been more than 3 hours since I spoke to you, certainly by this time ***** (Manager) has returned. I was hoping to get you down to the house today and see what the installers did. What a mess, totally unprofessional. I would also ask of you for a full timeline for completion of the following: 1 changing out carpet in the two rooms; 2. Carpet runner for stairs, 3, molding replacement around fireplace pebbles” **** came to the house at 9 p.m. He again said he was sorry. He told me that an insurance adjuster would come down and inspect the house for damages first thing in the morning. November 25, 2014. I texted **** at 11:54 a.m. “Is the adjuster guy going to call me today or come out to the house as promised?” Adjuster never contacted me. **** called said adjuster isn’t coming by but would give cleaning allowance. I called cleaning service to come to the house and give me an estimate. The floors throughout the house were caked with dust; along with the walls. There was a TV above the fireplace – it was covered with dust. The ducts in the house were covered with dust. The fireplace was covered with dust as well. My wife suffers from asthma and had several attacks. I had the fireplace completely cleaned out. December 5, 2014 at 11:19. New Spanish speaking only carpet installer comes. I sent a text to ****. He did not know anything about the stairs runner. Something needs to be done regarding the stairs. It is exposed with the tack board along with protruding nails and staples. I had babies in the house in the weekend and don’t want them to get hurt. I have already stubbed my toes and fingers on the nails. **** responses back at 12:00 “Sorry, great installer but hard to talk to. He isn’t doing the runner. Scrambled to get hands on bedroom carpet before you moved in. Haven’t gotten the runners back from the binder. I will check on runner after 1 pm and let you know….” December 16, 2014. I sent text to **** “any word when the molding and carpet runner will be completed? NO Response. I sent texts to **** for responses almost every other day since the 16th, no response. **** sends text to Wife December 29th. He promises that the installer will be there to finish the job on January 6, 2015. January 6, 2015 comes and go. No installers. We continue to call and text. No response. January 24, 2015 I walked into the store ask for the Manager. ***** ****** introduces himself as the manager. I talk to him about **** and our order. ***** informs me that **** was terminated 3 weeks ago. I told ***** I was sad that the order was not completed. Suggested to ***** that I want either 2 things done; 1. Void the rest of the completion of the project or 2. Give me a huge discount for the remainder service. I also told ***** that if they choose to complete the project that I need to be reimburse off the bill for the cleaning I had gotten done. ***** found the bills and said “I can’t void this out. There is still $2200 to be done. I will get this done ASAP. February 24, 2015 Email sent to ***** : Here is the two invoices for the cleaning of my house after the installer did a crappie job. I haven't even had the ducts cleaned out either - I am sure they are filled with the dust as well. Anyway, I am expecting a cleaning allowance from the two enclosed receipts to go towards finishing of the carpet binding and molding for the floor. **** did a huge disservice to us. Reply – Same day Great. We will make sure and credit them against the balance. I have ordered the trims needed to finish around your fireplace and I will call you as soon as I see them. Also, I talked with our binder and their computer was down this morning so she couldn't research the runner but said she would call me as soon as she is back up and running. March 5, 2015 Email sent to ***** *****: Any updates when I can anticipate the work to be perform? March 11, 2015 Email sent to ***** *****: It has been two weeks since I last spoke to you, I am still waiting to hear from you regarding the status of the trim and carpet runner for our home. It has been 6 months now since the get-go and we are still waiting. Can you please reach out to me and let me know what to expect. If I don't hear from you by the end of the week, I will take this to the next level. March 18, 2015 Email sent to ***** *****: I was talking to *** about this last night. She suggested that someone come down and inspect the molding. She says - would hate for them to install the wrong stuff and wait another 4 months to complete the project. Let me know what you think about this. Thanks No response. Last Friday March 27, 2015 – I called - ***** was off. Bottom line here - I have waited patiently for over 4 months to get this project completed. I am getting no response from the company when it will be finished. I have bent over backwards to send emails and texts and tried calling several times. I am sick and tired to hear about unkempt promises. I want this resolved. What I am asking for is for the company to finish the project and not be charged for the remainder amount. I have already put a lot of money towards cleaning up their mistakes and feel that I have been wrongly and taken advantage of from this company. My grandchildren has been hurt by this project – getting cut by protruding nails and staples (luckily nothing serious). They don’t want to visit the house until the project is complete in fear they would get hurt again. I would like the work to be completed by April 15, 2015

Desired Settlement: This company should complete this job without any further costs to me. by April 15, 2015. I have waited over 4 months. Their reputation is on the line. Certainly the words "customer service" and they certainly don't follow their own principles. Taken from their website " We want you to be 100% happy that the floor you have chosen is as beautiful as the one in your dreams"

Business Response: We sincerely apologize for any inconvenience that was caused. We acknowledge that we did not prepare the consumer for the potential challenges of remodeling and working with independent contractors. It is my understanding that the consumers contract was completed today. We appreciate the report and will use this experience to improve our service.  The consumers recommended solution is under review.  

Consumer Response:  
Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.  Services were completed. 

However, no price was indicated to me by the company.   


*********** ******** 

9/17/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: Company still has not completed installation of my flooor and the manager will not respond to my calls or texts. I contracted with The Carpet Giant and had Kentwood Jade Lake installed in my house approximately mid July, 2014. The installation went smoothly other than the installer added $100 in labor to my bill without informing me and he needed to order two pieces of trim to complete my floor. Initially, the trim was scheduled to be installed June 28th, but the installer called me and informed me that the wrong trim pieces had come in and he would talk to *****, the manager about reordering the correct trim. Two weeks later I had not heard back from the manager regarding the molding so I text him and asked him if the trim had arrived yet. He told me that he was having a hard time getting the trim for some reason. Long story short, it is now 8/21/2014 and my floor is still not completed. I text ***** yesterday and asked about my trim but recieved no response. He promised me he would keep me informed about the trim and he hasn't and he no longer responds to my communications.

Desired Settlement: I would like the company to finish my floor asap by installing the final pieces of trim that I have been waiting on for over two months and to write off the $100 in additional labor that I was not informed of.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 7, 2014/09/05) */ Contact Name and Title: **** ******* Consumer Solutions Contact Phone: XXXXXXXXXX Contact Email: ************ We determined that the job completion delay was excessive compared to our projected standard of service. The transition was installed September 2, 2014. We agree to resolve this dispute as the customer proposed with a discount in the amount of ******** We sincerely apologize for any inconvenience that was caused.

4/28/2014 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: Failure of the Manager of the Giant Carpet One store, Riverdale, UT, to order product for my floor installer, a payment, $693.99 was paid in advance. The Manager of the store was very rude in responding to my floor installer's inquiry about the floor product (LVT), and was very much on the defensive, making unreasonable excuses. At no time did the manager attempt to call me, the primary customer, therefore, no personal apology was offered me. I called the COO in Salt Lake City, who stood by the manager's side more than he did me, the customer. I asked the COO to give me a discount refund on the funds, $693.99, no dice, when I followed up with him on Apr 4th, 2014. This sales order was submitted to the store on March 6th, 2014. Order #********, Receipt #****, $693.99 paid by Visa Debit Card. Product ordered was Adura Tile/Calypso,Sand/AT262, 149 31 SF, $4.35 per tile. I will NEVER do any repeat biz with this company, and their arrogant employees, and management.


Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/04/16) */ Contact Name and Title: **** ******* Consumer Solutions Contact Phone: ************ Contact Email: **** Please consider the possibility that your floor installer's report of the events may not be completely accurate. We would be glad to discuss the events - with your floor installer - in your presence. If this is of interest to you, please have the installer call our Riverdale Store Manager to schedule an appointment. Our investigation determined that the material order was delayed by innocent oversight of the sales professional. The sales professional reported that he simply told your installation contractor that he forgot to order the material and apologized. The order was then immediately placed. We can see that you feel you have been mistreated, but our investigation revealed no evidence that our actions were unprofessional. Please appreciate that the value of an oversight is subjective. In this case the oversight did not meet our requirements for monetary damages. Based on this information an additional discount was not justified. We sincerely apologize for any misunderstanding or inconvenience that was caused.

2/25/2013 Problems with Product/Service