Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Alpine Cleaning and Restoration Specialists, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Alpine Cleaning and Restoration Specialists, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Alpine Cleaning and Restoration Specialists, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: September 04, 2001 Business started: 01/01/1988 Business started locally: 01/01/1988 Business incorporated 09/28/1995 in UT
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

DOPL - Professional Licensing
160 E 300 S 4th Fl, Salt Lake City UT 84111
http://www.dopl.utah.gov
Phone Number: (801) 530-6628

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Christian (Chris) Harris, President Mr. Zane Bagley, GM Smithfield Mr. Bart Caley, Director Business Develop Mr. Jared Gabrish, GM Layton
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Christian (Chris) Harris, President
Business Category

Carpet & Rug Cleaners Fire & Water Damage Restoration Mold & Mildew Inspection/Removal/Remediation


Additional Locations

  • 1103 N 1600 W

    Layton, UT 84041 (801) 546-4600

  • 177 S Main St

    Smithfield, UT 84335 (435) 734-2015 (801) 479-0054 (435) 563-3707

  • 180 W 500 N

    North Salt Lake, UT 84054 (801) 486-4301

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

9/12/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Billing us for an asbestos tests we didn't need or order and wasn't necessary. We had Alpine Cleaning and Restoration from Smithfield, Utah fix a leaking pipe in my laundry room and bathroom. They told me they had to do mold tests, and they came in three times to check the air for mold. That was fine. They then asked me if they needed to do an asbestos test. I told them no as the house was built in 1975. The federal government issued a law in 1973 that asbestos could not be used any more. There was no need to do the test. Alpine still did the test and they have billed me $500.00 for the test. They said it was for the safety of their employees. I still feel that I shouldn't have to pay for this test, when I told them not to do it. I could have found another company that would have followed my request. They accepted my payment from my insurance company with paid in full for service rendered written above the endorsement line. Where they signed it and deposited it into their account. By doing that, they have accepted the Insurance check as payment in full. But now they are harassing me with threats of lawsuits and legal fees for a test that should of never been done and wasn't necessary.

Desired Settlement: Not be charged for the test that wasn't needed or ordered. All charges be dropped and if they placed a lean on our house, have that removed.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 7, 2014/08/25) */ Contact Name and Title: **** ****** (General Mangager) Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: ***********@alpinecleaning.com To whom it may concern, This letter is in response to the complaint received about the asbestos test that was performed in this home. Before we did the asbestos test in this home, we informed the home owner that if our company were to do the demolition, that we would have to do an asbestos test (I will explain the reasoning for the test later in this letter). We would not have done the test if she did not authorize it, and she could have had another company come in and do the demolition, if that company was willing to take the risk of performing the demolition work without testing. After explaining that we require asbestos testing in a home of this age, she did authorize us to go ahead and get it tested and have the demolition done. If she would not have authorized us to perform the test, then we would not have done the demolition and she would have had to have another company come in and do the demolition. In the complaint she stated that the government issued a law in 1973 that asbestos could not be used anymore. The problem is that just because the law was issued, doesn't mean that people stopped using it. There has even been asbestos found in some drywall mud that is being used today. In Utah, the state requires an asbestos test to be done before any demolition is started in homes built prior to 1981, the reason for that, is that there has been asbestos found in homes quite commonly that were built prior to this date. I know this job is not in Utah, but because of the amount of asbestos we have found in homes that were built prior to 1981, we have made it company policy to test in homes of this age. The home that we are speaking of now, was built in 1975. As a company we do not want to take a risk of spreading asbestos through the home and cause health issues to anyone that is living in the home, or cause health issues for our employees that would be doing the demolition. If asbestos is found in the test, then we have an asbestos abatement company do the demolition work. If the test comes back negative for asbestos, then we know it is safe for our employees to perform the demolition work. We can't just go off the word of the homeowner saying that there is not asbestos in the drywall mud, etc., because you can't know for sure without having it tested. The reason we have this policy in affect, is for the safety of the clients that we do work for and the safety of our employees. This customer certainly could have had another company come in and do the demolition, or done the demolition work themselves, but they still wanted us to do the work, even after we explained that it is our company policy that we have an asbestos test done and would need to charge for that. We don't do the asbestos testing ourselves, we have another company come in and perform the test. We have tried to work this out with this homeowner, and have not charged the full price for this test. The original bill for the asbestos testing was $475.00. We have cut the bill down to $250.00. We have tried to help work this issue out by decreasing the bill almost by half. As I have said before, we wouldn't have even gone forward with doing this job, if we didn't have authorization from the home owner to perform this test. We would rather not do the job at all, then take a risk of putting other peoples health at risk. Sincerely, **** ****** (General Mangager of Alpine Cleaning & Restoration Specialists, Inv.) Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 9, 2014/08/27) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) This is not true. We were told about the asbestos test, but I told them not to do the asbestos test. I would of found someone that would of done fixed the water damage without doing the test. And again they accepted the check from the insurance company as payment in full. That is the way I signed the check over to them. I feel that we were taken advantage of. Billed for services we told them not to do Final Business Response /* (4000, 12, 2014/08/27) */ Even though we don't feel we our at fault with this. Alpine Cleaning and Restoration Specialists, Inc. Has decided to not charge anything for the asbestos testing that was done. We have taken the charge off of the bill. Thanks **** ****** (General Mangager of Alpine Cleaning)


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Alpine Cleaning and Restoration Specialists, Inc.
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)