This business is not BBB accredited.

Camperworld Trust

Phone: (801) 255-8166 Fax: (801) 265-3839 411 W 7200 S Ste 300, Midvale, UT 84047 http://www.camperworld.com ! There is an alert on Camperworld Trust !


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered the rating for Camperworld Trust include:

  • 20 complaint(s) filed against business
  • 2 complaint(s) filed against business that were not resolved

Factors that raised the rating for Camperworld Trust include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Response to 20 complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

20 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 10 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 3
Billing/Collection Issues 6
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 11
Total Closed Complaints 20

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Camperworld Trust
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: March 01, 1977 Business started: 01/01/1977 Business started locally: 01/01/1977 Business incorporated 06/08/1979 in UT
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Diane Williams, President Mr. Brady Quinn, Vice President
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Mr. Brady Quinn, Vice President
Principal: Diane Williams, President
Business Category

Campgrounds & RV Parks Resorts Timeshare Companies

Alternate Business Names
Cabin Fever Camper World/Cabin Fever Camperworld Camperworld Inc Camperworld Utah

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    411 W 7200 S Ste 300

    Midvale, UT 84047 (801) 255-8166

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

10/30/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
10/17/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: they are membership In 2009 we gave camper world $2400.00 for advance maintenance fee's that's 7 year's of payed up front.and $1500.00 to help keep the parks operating and was told that there would't be any more money needed now they are asking for more again.. and in results if you don't pay up you lose your membership and our payed up front maintenance fee's

Desired Settlement: A refund of the maintenance fee's that they are not allowing us to use..

Business Response: Contact Name and Title: ***** *****
Contact Phone: ************
Contact Email: *****@camperworld.com
It is our understanding that you would like a refund for the prepaid maintenance dues as a special assessment was charged this year. An assessment is different from the annual maintenance dues. Although your dues are paid through 2017, an assessment may still be charged. We also need to point out that you have received the full benefit of your prepaid dues. The dues that you prepaid only covered 4 years. The other 4 years that you are receiving are free dues. We know that the assessment is not convenient and are enforcing it with great reluctance. We do hope that you choose to pay, so as to keep you with us for years to come. We appreciate your understanding. If you have additional questions or concerns please contact Camperworld's main office and we would be happy to discuss these with you.

Consumer Response: (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
The year we paid the prepaid maintenance in the amount $2400.00. and you said 4 years but we weren't able to use it this year so its only 3 years. And at the same time we had to pay $1500.00 assessment which we were promise at that time there wouldn't be any more assessments for the term of the 7 years. and now you want more $$$ with no concern of the average member.. And you have 4 parks open and our membership calls for 9 parks. You have all the pools closed. and very little amenities..and this is ROBBERY.

Business Response: When the prepaid dues were paid in 2009, you were paying for 4 years of dues and receiving 4 years of dues free. The assessment was $600.00. There was no promise that there would not be another assessment for 7 years under this agreement. You have already received your 4 years of paid dues. Those years would have been 2010, 2011, 2012, and 2013. 2014 and forward are the 4 years of free dues. We are not able to refund any maintenance fees, as you have not paid any for this year or for any future years.

Addressing your concern regarding only 4 parks being open. The contract that members sign when purchasing a membership indicates that the number of parks may vary due to closures or other reasons. We are not in violation of any contracts by closing parks and choosing to be fiscally responsible. The new management of Camperworld is dedicated to running the parks within our means. We will not operate on a deficit ever again.

We would love to retain you as a member and have you pay the assessment. We want our members to enjoy the parks for years to come. Again, we are dedicated to preserving the park and being responsible with the finances to ensure the future of Camperworld is solid.

If you have additional questions or concerns, please contact Camperworld's main office and we would be happy to address those at that time.

Consumer Response: (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I don't know where you are getting your information from but its not accurate. the assessment in2009 was $1500.00 and the maintenance was $499.00 a year. We paid the $2400.00 paid up front maintenance that was 5 years and you get 2 years free. At that time we went to the CW office and had a conversation with **** ***** about the assessment and the maintenance fee and were told there wouldn't be another assessment for the 7 years that is why we paid the paid up front maintenance fee otherwise we wouldn't have paid it we would have paid it yearly but that was our mistake..When bought into CW they sold us 9 parks .......

Business Response: I believe we have a resolution to this case. ***** ***** our marketing and public relations officer called Mr. ******* yesterday.

Called ***** ******* 9/25/2014. In our phone conversation, we were able to clear up a lot of confusion regarding the assessment and annual maintenance fees. He is considering coming back to Camperworld. I let him know that because of his circumstances with the BBB case and it being closed as unresolved, we would reinstate his membership for $880.00 and a $20.00 reinstatement fee and allow him to keep his dues through 2017. He said that he would think about it and contact us at a later time.

He was not upset with Camperworld when the conversation took place.


***** ********
President

Consumer Response: (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)

10/17/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Camperworld closed the only park I belong to. I am owned 4 years of dues $1100.00 and an asessment fee of $880.00. Total $1980.00 Camperworld closed the park I belong to. My dues were paid for 4 more years. They pressured me into paying an $880.00 asessment fee by I certain date or I would lose my membership. After I paid my asessment fee they have lengthen that time for payment to Dec 31 2014. They sold the park I belong to, so it will never open. If I had not be pressured to pay my asessment early I would have know they were selling my park and not paid.

Desired Settlement: I want my $880.00 asessment refunded. I would like my pre-paid dues of $2200.00 refunded.

Business Response: Contact Name and Title: ***** ***** Vice President
Contact Phone: ************
Contact Email: *****@camperworld.com
*******,

It is understood that you have paid a lot of money into Camperworld to be a member. I would like to inform you that your membership includes the 4 parks that Camperworld will continue to own. You will still be able to utilize what you have paid for. The "prepaid dues" that you have on your membership will be honored through 2017. The amount that you paid in 2009 covered 4 years of dues and gave you 4 years of dues for free. You are currently using the "free" portion of those dues effective this year.

Your membership is still in good standing and you will be able to continue to use the 4 parks that Camperworld owns through 2017. Please contact our office by telephone at ************ if you have additional questions.

Thank you.

Consumer Response: (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I only belonged to one park. Pine Forest. It is now closed. They offered to let me use the 4 open parks if starting in 2015 I paid $499.00 dues. I have no need for the parks that they offered or I would have taken their offer even though I had already paid my dues until the end of 2017. My biggest conplaint is that they extended the time to pay an acessment fee of $880.00 after they gave a deadline (if you did not pay they would cancel your membership). This was the statement on their web site. I have not had any one call me. So back to the original problem. They pressured me into to paying an ascessment I would not have paid if I would have know they would change that requirment to the end of 2014. I would have then known my park (Pine Forest) would be sold and I would not have paid the ascessment fee. I want my money back.

Business Response: I apologize for any misunderstandings that occurred. We are not providing until the end of 2014 to pay that assessment. Legally, we do have to allow for delinquent payments and delinquency notices were sent out. Those that have not paid, have now been cancelled per debt collection laws.

You are not required to pay dues next year to use the other parks. You may retain your dues through 2017 status, as you have paid the assessment, and still utilize the other 4 parks. The agreement was if you paid the assessment, you would be granted access to the other parks. This has been done. You may now use your membership at any of the 4 parks that are open.

Consumer Response: (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I really didn't exspect to get my dues back. I still would like my assement money back ($880.00) and end my membership with Camperworld. If I would have wanted to use their other parks, I would have bought into them; I did not.

Business Response: We are unable to refund the assessment. If you would like to terminate your membership, please send us notification in writing that you would like to cancel.
Thank you.

Consumer Response: (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I want my assessment fee back before I do anything. Thank You

10/16/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Camperworld makes financial agreement with it's members yet continues to ask for more money from it's members In 2009 members where given 2 options beginning June 1st 2009. One option: $600 mandatory assessment to all members and have Annual dues increase to $499 a year. Other option: $2200 given to Camperworld. This would pre pay Annual dues for 8 years and we would not have to pay the $600 assessment. Camperworld was pushing this option as they needed an injection of cash and the obvious savings 8 X $499 $3992.00 plus the assessment of $600 a total of $4592.00 in 8 years. So if you could come up with the $2200 you would save $2392.00 and be paid up for 8 years. It was difficult but we decided to give them the $2200 dollars. This would save us money in the long run and Camperworld would have their injection of cash. We would have peace of mind that Camperworld was satisfied for 8 years. Last week I received a letter from Camperworld dated March 17th 2014. This letter demanded another Special Assessment of $880.00 dollars due April 20, 2014. The 2009 injection of cash was obviously not enough. We could pay now or they are so kind as to allow me to make 3 monthly installments. If I choose the installments, I get a service charge of an additional $65 dollars. The obvious complaint is that they made a commitment to their members in 2009 and are know asking for more money. My wife and I are considering our options. We are leaning to just cutting our loses with Camperworld and giving our membership back to them. This is difficult as we paid for a membership, then we believed their word in 2009 and gave them an additional $2200 dollars. Camperworld can not be trusted, they have thousands of my dollars and continue to ask for more. Buyer beware it not all about songs around the campfire! I just hope people do their research before purchasing a membership from this company.

Desired Settlement: Since they are going back on their word, at a minimum we would like our $2200 returned.

Business Response: Contact Name and Title: ******** *****
Contact Phone: ************
Contact Email: ********@camperworld.com
Camperworld did offer the members two options in 2009. One was to just pay the assessment for $600. The second was to pay $2200 and this would pay the $600 assessment and prepay the maintenance fees for 8 years. The prepayment did not cover any future assessments. It was very clear that it was prepaying the maintenance fees only.

In the letter sent to the members dated March 17 it did give payment options and it did state there would be a service fee for choosing the payment plan. Camperworld has always charged more for payment options since it involves more processing. However, since the letter was sent the board has decided not to charge the service fee and it is $880 whether you pay in full or payments.

It is unfortunate that the member does not trust Camperworld. The Board is working to fix the problems of Camperworld, part of which were get rich quick schemes like the 2009 prepaid plan. It discounted the dues so much that now we are not receiving enough money in dues to run the parks. Camperworld will honor the prepayment and does not require the member to pay maintenance fees until 2018 but the assessment is still in effect. Camperworld cannot return the $2200 as it was spent by the previous management within the following year on cost of operations.

Consumer Response: (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Regarding Camperworlds response. It is true that I do not trust Camperworld, but it is do to their actions that I do not trust them. Camperworld is correct in their statement that there was no implication there would be no future assessments. However there was an implication in 2009 that if the members paid the advance large amount that it would make Camperworld solvent. Thus there would be no need for future assessments for at least the next 8 years. Yes there was a trust given to Camperworld back in 2009. I take full responsibility that I made a mistake in giving them that trust. Now we are asked to trust them a second time and give them an additional $880 dollars. This is truly a sad situation as there are so many retired folks that are going to lose so much do to Camperworlds actions. They thought they where buying something of value for them and their families. Know it appears as Camperworld states in their own words that their "schemes" are going to hurt a lot of families including my own. I am not surprised that my money will not be returned. I again just hope families will do their research before buying into this private camping scheme.

Business Response: We have called and left a message and are still waiting on the return phone call.

***** ********
President

Consumer Response: (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I spoke to ***** ***** today at Camperworld. He explained that they are under new management and that they have sold some of their parks in hopes to make Camperworld solvent. He told me that if I wanted to return in a couple years, he could make that happen. While I appreciated the offer, I told him I did not see that happening. He also stated that Camperworld was try to resolve their relationship with the BBB. My hope would be that the BBB would not immediately give accreditation back to Camperworld for at least a couple years. Camperworld has received thousands and thousands of dollars from families and lost it. They are currently trying to market and get more families to join and give them even more money. I would hope that the BBB would need to see that this company can manage their money and have a consistent track record, before such an accreditation can happen with the BBB. By immediately returning Camperworld to accreditation more families could be hurt.

Business Response: I again reiterate our deepest apologies for the negative experience you had with Camperworld. Thank you for taking the time to call me. If you have additional questions or concerns, please feel free to reach out to me.

Thank You.

Consumer Response: (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I received Mr. *****'s reply. While I believe Mr. ***** is sincere in his apology, I must look at the whole picture regarding CamperWorld and their mismanagement of so many families hard earned money. This is far more then a negative experience, it is an outright lose of thousand of dollars from myself and so many other families. It is do to CamperWorld's get rich schemes that has created this thievery. It would be my hope that Mr ***** understands that, in order for there to be any hope for CamperWorld's future. Note that this scheme was admitted by one of CamperWorld's board members in a previous response to this complaint. They are now trying to rebuild, which I understand. Part of that rebuilding is they must have a good rating with the BBB in order to sell new memberships to new families. The Better Business Bureau is there to protect the public from businesses like this. There can be no dispute that CamperWorld has had horrible management. There can be no dispute that CamperWorld has lost thousands of dollars do to their schemes. Because of that many families have lost their hard earned dollars as well as their membership. I again plead with the BBB to not give such an accreditation back. I would hope that the BBB would have to see at least 2 years of good management before such an accreditation could happen. By CamperWorld just responding to a BBB complaint should not be sufficient. New families should and must be protected while CamperWorld tries to reorganize.

10/3/2014 Problems with Product/Service
7/30/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Refund for 2014 maintenance fees Camperworld intentionally did not disclose the need for an assessment fee in 2014 prior to paying the 2014 maintenance fee. On 12/30/2013 I paid my 499.00 maintenance fee for camping privileges at camperworld parks. On 03/17/2014 I received a letter requesting that an $880.00 assessment fee will need to be paid prior to being allowed to camp at camperworld parks. Threatened with membership termination if assessment was not paid. I am requesting a full refund of my $499.00 maintenance fee paid on12/30/2013. Even if I paid the assessment they reduced the amount of campgrounds I would be able to use

Desired Settlement: A full refund of membership current value of $995.00 and maintenance fees paid on 12/30/2013 for 2014 maintenance fees.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 7, 2014/06/19) */ Contact Name and Title: ***** ***** Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: *****@camperworld.com It is our understanding that you would like a refund of your annual dues as well as additional compensation. This is not a possibility at this point in time. The parks were open and the service that you paid for was provided according to your contract. When a special assessment is charged, the member is required to pay it in order for their membership to be in good standing. We cannot offer refunds when a member is not able to pay additional charges on their membership. We appreciate your understanding regarding this matter. If you have additional questions or concerns, please contact the Camperworld office. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 9, 2014/06/23) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) It is not the members responsibility to pay for managements wrong doings. An assessment is to make improvements and repairs to the park not to pay the owners to increase there own bank accounts. Yes half of the parks were opened at double the cost because the board allowed the money to be stolen out from underneath them since 2007. Camperworld should be sold. Or go out of business because any other company that screwed there customers would just stop having customers. Camperworld is so crooked that they actual built in there contract that the can charge members every five years an assessment and just put the money in their personal bank account. The board turned a blind eye to the theft and no one that was on the board last year should be allowed to still be on the board. I will continue to try and get a refund by all means possible. Final Consumer Response /* (4200, 13, 2014/07/01) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I am due a refund of my 2014 maintenance fees that is the only resolution I will accept. I paid my maintenance fees and did not even camp once in 2014. I refuse to continue to give Camperworld more money when there is nothing that was in my original contract still intact. A contract should not be changed. Because the board was to ignorant to recognize that the owners robbed us blind. I currently can only use if I paid my assessment fee 2 out of 6 of my original parks. Yes you have agreed to allow me access to 2 other parks, only if I pay the $880.00 assessment fee. So I use to get 6 parks for a yearly maintenance fee of $499.00 and my father in law could get an extra space. This year for a mere $1299.00 in maintenance fees and assessment fees I get 4 parks and no extra spaces. What a bargain pay more get less. Because of the boards ignorance why not close it up and sell it off to company who wants to provide a service and not steal money from its members? Camperworld has no known business plan and is full of knee jerk reactions to there problems. Example send members an assessment notice and then close the doors so you don't have to deal with the angry members. Sell my membership charge the new unsuspecting person the going price and maintenance and assessment fee and refund my money. Final Business Response /* (1000, 22, 2014/07/21) */ Camperworld has a new board and President running the company. The current board members had nothing to do with the alleged fraud that occurred here. They are trying to clean the company up. They do have a business plan and they are doing everything possible to return the company to its original state. Currently, the number of parks has been reduced, but it is a temporary fix. If all goes well we will be opening additional parks next year. We cannot refund the members maintenance fee even if they do not use the parks.

7/18/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I receive a letter from Camperworld April 2nd 2014, informing me that I owed them an additional $880. I have a life time platinum membership with Camperworld. I paid several thousand dollars and a transfer fee to acquire a 8 park membership from a former member. Several years later after paying a yearly maintenance fee of $500 per year to Camperworld, I received a letter from them that requested an additional amount of $2200 dollars in order to help Camperworld with some financial obligations. They in turn would waive the annual maintenance fee until 2017. Shortly afterwards they informed me that I only had 7 campgrounds available instead of the 8 campgrounds that I originally paid for. Just recently I receive a letter from Camperworld April 2nd 2014, informing me that I owed them an additional $880. And now they just sent me another letter informing me that my payment of $880 is passed due. They informed me in the letter that if I didn't pay them or contact them within 45 days of receiving their notice, my Camperworld interest would be sold, forfeited or otherwise terminated due to the nonpayment. I presently have a 2014 Camperworld membership card stating "paid through 12/31/2017". Sense paying the $2200, I have been renewing this membership card, with the "paid through 12/31/2017" printed on the card. This "paid through 2017" was based on the agreement of my $2200 payment a few years ago and not on any additional payment amount until after 2017. They only have 4 campgrounds open at present because of money issues. I can't figure out how they can, out of no were, access their members an additional amount money totaling in the millions and then show no accountability for what they are doing with it. I haven't seen a breakdown of were all of this money is going and a detailed breakdown of what they are going to do to get out of debt and stay in the "Black! 4,000+ members times $880 equals a + $3,520,000. My mom always told me "Fool me once shame on you. Fool me twice shame on me." I don't want to be a fool by giving them any more money.

Desired Settlement: I presently have a 2014 Camperworld membership card stating "paid through 12/31/2017". Sense paying the $2200, I have been renewing this membership card, with the "paid through 12/31/2017" printed on the card. This "paid through 2017" was based on the agreement of my $2200 payment a few years ago and not on any additional payment amount until after 2017. I would like Camperworld to stay with our original agreement when I paid them the $2200, and not pay the $880 accessed in April 2014.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 7, 2014/06/23) */ Contact Name and Title: ***** ***** Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: *****@camperworld.com *****, We understand your frustration with the experience that you have had with Camperworld. Many members have paid large sums of money to the organization to purchase and maintain their memberships. Part of maintaining the membership is occasional assessments when Camperworld has legitimate reasons. In order to operate the parks this year, we did require that every member, regardless of membership status, pay a special assessment. In order to create a consistent member experience, we are not able to make exceptions for any members regarding this assessment. We do appreciate your understanding with this issue and hope to see you at the parks this year. Thank You. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 9, 2014/06/25) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I presently have a 2014 Camperworld membership card stating "paid through 12/31/2017". Sense paying the $2200, I have been renewing this membership card, with the "paid through 12/31/2017" printed on the card. This "paid through 2017" was based on the agreement of my $2200 payment a few years ago and not on any additional payment amount until after 2017. Now instead of the orginal 8 parks there only 4 parks open. Why in the world would I want to pay more for less. Are you kidding, who does business this way? Final Business Response /* (4000, 11, 2014/07/02) */ The annual dues on your membership have in fact been paid through 2017. The additional money you are being billed for is a special assessment that was charged to all members this year. No member is exempt from this assessment. As for the parks that are open, we have only opened 4 parks this year. We still own the other parks and when Camperworld has the finances, we will open all of the parks in full again. We do appreciate your understanding.

7/18/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Paid 5,495.00 to Camperworld for 7 campground locations and Lake Powell. Paid dues. 4 of the 7 parks are closed and park pools closed. Paid 5,495.00 to Camperworld for 7 campgrounds and 2 weeks in Lake Powell. Paid $557 dues in January to use the 7 parks and 2 weeks in Lake Powell. March 17th we received another bill for an $880 assessment fee. However, 3 of the 7 parks that we contracted for are closed. The pools and hot tubes in the parks are closed. Lake Powell that we contracted for is closed. Received a letter on May 28th that said Camperworld will confiscate our membership if we do not pay the assessment fee of $880 and we are no longer to use camperworld despite paying the $5,495 and annual dues of $557. Camperworld has violated our contract by closing the parks and amenities that we contracted. At the same time they have tripled the amount of fees due to gross mismanagement over an extended period of time. There has been no effort on Camperworlds part to negotiate with us on this issue as stated in Section 17 of our Camperworld contract. Additionally we are entitled to mediation which has not been attempted either. Effectively Camperworld is a Ponzi scheme charging more and more for less and less contracted services. They can send an assessment fee at any time and for any amount. In addition, $1437 dollars for a yearly dues and assessment to use parks and amenities that are closed is excessive and unreasonable. They took $557 dues knowing full well that they would charge an $880 assessment almost immediately thereafter. This is fraud. They have violated the contract for the facilities that we paid for. Giving us half of what we agreed to at nearly triple the price. They have violated our contract and now want to take our membership. In a letter dated May 28th, 2014 they have given us 45 days to make payment or our membership will be sold. They also said we would lose access to affiliates, (1) Coast to Coast, (2) Resort Parks International, and (3) Adventure Outdoor Resorts. We never contracted for these affiliates. Camperworld is using separate businesses entities threaten members into paying more money for less services.

Desired Settlement: Refund the price of our membership $5,495.00 or open the facilities that were agreed upon in the contract. Refund our membership dues of $557.00 paid for this year. Explain what the affiliates are in their May 28th letter. (1) Coast to Coast, (2) Resort Parks International, and (3) Adventure Outdoor Resorts. Explain what relationship Camperworld has with these affiliates and how we are involved with them.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 7, 2014/07/08) */ Contact Name and Title: ***** ***** Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: *****@camperworld.com It is understood that the assessment of $880.00 was an inconvenience to all of the members. Camperworld is dedicated to providing a camping service to all of our members and that does require money to do. We only opened 4 parks because that we what we could afford to open. We are acting within our fiduciary responsibility by only operating what we can afford to operate. We are not providing any refunds for annual dues or your membership purchase prices. The delinquency letter that you received was a generic letter sent to all members that have delinquent accounts. You are not affiliated with Coast to Coast, Resort Parks International or Adventure Outdoor Resorts. We appreciate your understanding. If you have additional questions or concerns, please contact our office and we would be happy to discuss these with you.

7/9/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Camperworld promised no reservations required and a set annual fee. They now required reservations and the annual fee has went up 400%. We purchased my wife's parent's Camperworld Membership a few years back (2000?). At that time, we paid around $2000 and they promised that our annual fees would be around $150-$175. They were that first year, but after that have continued to climb. The reason that we bought in was the promise to have a camping spot anytime we wanted without reservations. We are a busy family and enjoyed the no notice camping experience. Since then, they have jumped the fees to an unknown amount of at least $900 (could not make contact to find out what the actual fee is this year and why my paid up membership now owes $880). And now they require reservations. I can go to any commercial camp for $50 a night and so I would have to stay at least 18 nights just to break even. I was paid up last year and since last summer, I have paid $20 every two weeks and so I have paid around $520 over the past year and now I get a Notice of Delinquency for $880? I have tried numerous times to talk with someone and all I get is an answering machine that is full and cannot accept any more messages. I complained before to them but was told that I could not sell my membership. Now I see that others can. I know my in-laws paid several thousand dollars and I have added a couple myself so why can't I sell it if anyone actually wants it? A few years back, Camperworld purchased another camp located in a canyon near Nephi. At that time, they said that the members would have to buy into that camp if they wanted to use it. We declined. Since then there was a fire that destroyed the camp and it appears that we are paying for it via the increased fees for a camp we did not want. When we first joined, Camperworld was wonderful and I recommended it to many of my friends. Since then, the skyrocketing annual fee, required reservations and being able to talk with someone has reversed my opinion. Camps were very nice, but the management is very poor.

Desired Settlement: I want Camperworld to zero out my delinqency and buy back my membership at full market price. As I see it, we had a contract with them and they have continued to break it without due componsation.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 7, 2014/06/30) */ Contact Name and Title: ***** ***** Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: *****@camperworld.com It is our understanding that you are upset with the increase in annual dues. Due to the inflating costs to operate the parks and the inflation in the economy, we do require increased annual dues to operate. The $880.00 in question was in addition to the annual dues. In order to operate the parks this year, it did require an additional amount. Every member was assessed the additional $880.00. We are not currently buying back any memberships at this point in time. We apologize for this inconvenience and appreciate your understanding. If you do have additional questions or concerns, please contact the main office. We are here from 9 to 5 Monday through Friday and are answering the phones.

6/5/2014 Problems with Product/Service
5/22/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We paid our assessment for the year 2014 of $466.00 on January 9, 2014We received a letter on March 17, 2014 asking for another assessment of $880.00 before April 20, 2014.It has been about ten years ago that we paid a three to four thousand special assessment, with the promise our yearly assessment would stay the same.We have invested in Camper World and now their doors are closed and the parks closed.We need to get our $466.00 back for this years assessment if we are not going to be able to use the camping facilities.

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Refund $466.00 2014 assessment given back to camper world member

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 8, 2014/05/13) */ In response to the complaint, the member states they paid an assessment ten years ago for three to four thousand dollars. In 2003 we offered the members the opportunity to pay an assessment of $1,606.00. This assessment was voluntary and it was presented to the members beforehand since the money was used to purchase a new park. It also gave the participating members use at two state parks at Lake Powell. The assessment did grant the participating members assessment proof status and their dues are frozen at $466.00. Camperworld temporarily closed the office from April 1 to April 21, & the parks (most of which were already closed for the winter) from April 1 to May 1, until we had enough money from the current assessment to open back up. We currently have 7 of 10 parks open and ready for use. Camperworld does not refund maintenance fees ($466 member is speaking of, which has not changed for the member) as the money is allocated to maintain the parks. If member wishes to use the parks they may do so and they are not required to pay the current assessment. Please send confirmation of my response. Thank you. ******** ***** Camperworld 4055 South 700 East Suite 101 Salt Lake City, UT XXXXX XXX-XXX-XXXX ext. *** XXX-XXX-XXXX Fax ********@camperworld.com

5/14/2014 Problems with Product/Service
5/6/2014 Billing/Collection Issues
2/27/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We have a contract with CamperWorld and multiple items have been changed. In 2009 we purchased into Camperworld a private camp ground with access to 8 locations. We were told these locations were open year round with access to the ammenites during our stay. In the past couple of years things have changed we have had to go to high pressure sales meetings to improve our memebership that at the time did not need improvement. Most recently we have lost one of our locations and have been told to get a new location we have to pay a processing fee and now the private campgrounds are going public. When we call in to ask questions about how these changes will affect us no one answers the call or we are told to email in or someone will call us back. We have emailed and gotten no reply and never gotten a call back. When we finally did get someone on the phone to ask questions we were simply told that camperworld is allowed to make changes and they don't have to offer anything to us for the losses that affect us.

Desired Settlement: Refund of our original investment of $3495.00

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 7, 2013/12/26) */ Please note the following terms that are described in the contract between Camperworld and Mr. and Mrs. ********* and has been signed by them: 3. Acknowledgements and Representations. Member acknowledges and represents as follows: (a) Member had either personally visited or has examined maps or other documents describing the recreational property secured by the trust for the use of its Beneficiaries and Members, and is fully satisfied as to all matters which are material to Members with respect to the location and topography of such property and as regards all pertinent physical characteristics thereof. (b) The recreational sites acquired and retained, and the improvements upon each, will vary as the Trust may determine from time to time. 5. Membership Rights. Member shall have and be entitled to exercise all privileges of membership as set forth herein and in the Camperworld By-Laws and Policy Guide as they now exist and as they from time to time may reasonably be amended by Camperworld. 8. Receipt of By-Laws and Rules and Regulations. Member acknowledges that he has received a copy of the Camperworld By-Laws and Rules and Regulation, and that he has read them and agrees to be bound by them in their present form and as they may be amended from time to time. Member understands the rules will require the payment of dues and other assessments by the Member. Camperworld is clearly within it's rights to make changes to the program as it becomes necessary. Camperworld has offered reasonable options to the ********** for the changes that have taken place. Their request for a refund of their original purchase price is hereby denied. Thank you, ***** ********, Vice President Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 9, 2014/01/03) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) First when we try to contact the Camperworld office to discuss options we had to make 9 calls in a week before getting the office manager. She told us she is the top person we can talk to and that Camperworld had the right to make any changes they see fit and don't have to offer us anything. When we bought into Camperworld we did so because of the locations available to us and since our favorite location was closed...we only found this out by stopping into the park and not from the Camperworld office. The so called reasonable options mentioned by ***** ******** VP were to add holiday's to an over crowded park and to buy into parks to far for us to enjoy. These are in no way reasonable or acceptable. After reading some comments on the Camperworld website we have found there are several other members also upset by the changes. At the original presentation we were told the trust was set up to keep these parks in good shape and that is what our dues went to pay and it would be up to the trust to decide what upgrades would be made not to grow as a business and open up to be public parks. We are supposed to be able to drop into our parks and have a space, now reservations are recommended. Not what we signed up for. Final Business Response /* (4000, 11, 2014/01/15) */ The Camperworld Board of Directors and management staff has worked very hard to try to keep Camperworld on solid financial footing through some very difficult economic times. In that effort some changes had to be made, and of course some of those changes affected some members. All changes that were made were within the company's legal rights to do so. While we understand Mr. *********'s frustration, we have done the best we can do to try to accommodate him. We will be happy to meet with him at our office to try to resolve this. He may call me @ XXX-XXX-XXXX Ext. *** and schedule an appointment. ***** ******** Final Consumer Response /* (4200, 13, 2014/01/26) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) We have not been given any answers to complaints, we will call the office to make an appointment or discuss with *****. In the past we have been given the run around when calling in trying to discuss our concerns and been made to feel we are in the wrong by having any concern at all. We have hopes of being able to come to an agreeable resolution.

11/26/2013 Problems with Product/Service
7/10/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Gifts were promised for attending the presentation but were not provided. on june 6th 2013 at the Las Vegas Oasis RV Park I was appoached by a Camperword representive about attending their presentation. I was told that after the presentation I would receive 2 free nights at Oasis Rv Park and a gift from a wheel they had set up to spin. I agreed to go to the presentation gave them a refundable $20 and spun the wheel where I won a laptop computer as my third gift. After the presentation the next morning when I decided the membership left me with too many unanswered questions the sales representative would not end the meeting thus not allowing me to receive the gifts. I presentation was longer than I was told but I did stay until the end and had the financial discussion with the sales representative.

Desired Settlement: I only want what was promised before I attended. 2 deluxe free nights at Oasis RV park in Las Vegas and the laptop computer.

Business Response: Business' Initial Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/06/27) */ Please note we have been in contact with our representative in Nevada- *** *****. Mr. ***** has indicated he will make sure Mr. ******* is taken care of as soon as possible. Mr. ******* may contact Mr. ***** @ phone # XXX-XXX-XXXX or e-mail @ **********@gmail.com. If Mr. ***** does not respond within the next ten days Mr. ******* should contact me (***** ********) @ XXX-XXX-XXXX ext. *** and I will be happy to assist him. Thank you, ***** ******** Consumer's Final Response /* (2000, 7, 2013/07/10) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) They agreed to forward the gifts

1/29/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues
1/28/2013 Problems with Product/Service
10/15/2012 Problems with Product/Service
10/5/2012 Problems with Product/Service