BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Utah

BBB Business Review

What is a BBB Business Review?

Consumer Complaints

This Business is not BBB Accredited

Camperworld Trust

Phone: (801) 255-8166Fax: (801) 265-3839

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Customer Complaints Summary

22 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 14 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues5
Billing / Collection Issues6
Problems with Product / Service11
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints22

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (22)BBB Closure Definitions
05/22/2014Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We paid our assessment for the year 2014 of $466.00 on January 9, 2014We received a letter on March 17, 2014 asking for another assessment of $880.00 before April 20, 2014.It has been about ten years ago that we paid a three to four thousand special assessment, with the promise our yearly assessment would stay the same.We have invested in Camper World and now their doors are closed and the parks closed.We need to get our $466.00 back for this years assessment if we are not going to be able to use the camping facilities.

Initial Business Response
In response to the complaint, the member states they paid an assessment ten years ago for three to four thousand dollars. In 2003 we offered the members the opportunity to pay an assessment of $1,606.00. This assessment was voluntary and it was presented to the members beforehand since the money was used to purchase a new park. It also gave the participating members use at two state parks at Lake Powell. The assessment did grant the participating members assessment proof status and their dues are frozen at $466.00.


Camperworld temporarily closed the office from April 1 to April 21, & the parks (most of which were already closed for the winter) from April 1 to May 1, until we had enough money from the current assessment to open back up. We currently have 7 of 10 parks open and ready for use. Camperworld does not refund maintenance fees ($466 member is speaking of, which has not changed for the member) as the money is allocated to maintain the parks. If member wishes to use the parks they may do so and they are not required to pay the current assessment.



Please send confirmation of my response.



Thank you.




******** *****
Camperworld
4055 South 700 East Suite 101
Salt Lake City, UT XXXXX
XXX-XXX-XXXX ext. ***
XXX-XXX-XXXX Fax
********@camperworld.com

07/10/2013Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: None of the Above - Sales Complaint Issue

Complaint: Gifts were promised for attending the presentation but were not provided.
on june 6th 2013 at the Las Vegas Oasis RV Park I was appoached by a Camperword representive about attending their presentation. I was told that after the presentation I would receive 2 free nights at Oasis Rv Park and a gift from a wheel they had set up to spin. I agreed to go to the presentation gave them a refundable $20 and spun the wheel where I won a laptop computer as my third gift. After the presentation the next morning when I decided the membership left me with too many unanswered questions the sales representative would not end the meeting thus not allowing me to receive the gifts. I presentation was longer than I was told but I did stay until the end and had the financial discussion with the sales representative.

Business' Initial Response
Please note we have been in contact with our representative in Nevada- *** *****. Mr. ***** has indicated he will make sure Mr. ******* is taken care of as soon as possible. Mr. ******* may contact Mr. ***** @ phone # XXX-XXX-XXXX or e-mail @ **********@gmail.com. If Mr. ***** does not respond within the next ten days Mr. ******* should contact me (***** ********) @ XXX-XXX-XXXX ext. *** and I will be happy to assist him. Thank you, ***** ********

Consumer's Final Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
They agreed to forward the gifts

01/28/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Failure to respond to phone calls or written requests for assistance or support

Complaint: This business has refused to answer several emails and phone calls concerning my deceased fathers account.

My Father ************** passed away on May 6th 2012. In June I started to try to receive contact from Camperworld, I was seeking to cancel this membership for pro rated reimbursement or to see if it was transferable or able to be sold.
All of my emails and voicemails were never replied to.

Then toward the first of October (the statement date is 10/04) I received a bill/statement for the upcoming 2013 calendar year. This was sent to my attention at my personal mailing address. This left no doubt in my mind that they were receiveing my correspondence, so I decided to try to contact them again. After several tries, sitting on hold and pressing several function keys I was able to finally contact a real person. It was then that I was told that "*****" would return my call. Well after a week and again not receiving a reply I sent another email threatening to contact the BBB. Shortly after I finally received my first contact by a **** ******. After speaking we came on the verbal agreement that 1/2 of the fees would be reimbursed. This sounded reasonable to me and he informed me that he would have to get it passed by the Board of Directors after which he would contact me.

After a few weeks had passed and I hadn't heard from him so I emailed him inquiring about the outcome. His reply is as follows "******, Unfortunately you quite don't understand how a business works. We have approx. 100 members die or have life threatening cancers ect every single year. That adds up to 500 every 5 yrs that don't pay dues, we feel bad but we still have to run a business. The board of directors were not happy about your latest e-mail trashing camperworld and spreading negative comments around town. They said that's pretty low. mike"

I have since tried to contact Camperworld again to explore the transfer of ownership or possible sale on the open market and again they have resorted to not replying to my correspondence.

I have again received another bill/statement for the upcoming 2013 calendar year. It seems inconceivable that a business that refuses to return phone calls and emails would have the audicity to keep billing.

Well I do understand how businesses work and it is my belief that going back on an agreement and refusing to reply to correspondence is just plain bad business!

Business' Initial Response
We are responding to complaint XXXXXXXX made by ****** ******, who has indicated that he is the son of ***************.

*************** was a Camperworld member who is now deceased. Please note that both ****** ****** and ****** ****** are no longer with our company. We regret any misinformation or lack of response they may have provided. Camperworld operates eight camping resorts and obviously there are many expenses that go along with maintaining and operating the parks. Most of the expenses happen regardless of whether a member uses the parks. In this regard, please be advised that Camperworld does not refund maintenance fees. It is important to note that the membership owned by Mr. **** ******* is a valuable membership that can be sold or transferred. In other words Mr. ****** or any of his other family members can assume the membership. I suggest that Mr. ****** contact me @ XXX-XXX-XXXX and I will be happy to give him various options that can be helpful to him and his family.

Thank you,
****** ******
Vice President

10/15/2012Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Failure to honor a contract or agreement

Complaint: Camperworld have numerous times promised a service and at a latter date changed their original agreement. We are sorry to ever do business with them.
We received a packet containing Camperworld Business Trust Financial Plan (sometime in 2009)
containing:
Two Options to Choose From: Due Date - June 1, 2009

Option #1: $2200 optional payment etc.
Option #2: $600 mandatory assessment
(which we chose)
Annual dues locked in at $499 for eight (8) years, starting January 1, 2010 through December 31, 2017
Eight (8) years locked in annual dues stay with membership if sold or transferred during the eight (8) years

Background:
We purchased this membership in 2008 or prior and paid the $600 for the 2009 assessment on 6/1/2009 and received a signed letter saying we chose Option #2 and 2009 assessment was paid in full.

We paid the 2009 annual dues of $499 on 12/6/2009
We paid the 2010 annual dues of $499 on 10/22/2010
We paid the 2011 annual dues of $499 on 10/24/2011

We received the 2012 annual dues invoice on 10/4/2012, amount due of 516.96. We called Camperworld and said there must be a mistake and gave the receptionist all pertinent information. She said she knew what the board would say and that I was to write a letter. She would not let me talk to anyone, saying there was no one available, and repeated that she knew what the board would say and to write a letter. I said that I was sure several others had picked the same option that I had and she would be hearing from others. I insisted she take my name, number and account information. I hung up and decided to find out more and checked out the BBB.

I spoke to someone from the BBB and they said it would seem that I had a valid complaint, so I said I would file one.

I called Camperworld trust back to let them know that I was filing a complaint with the BBB and asked the receptionist to please also inform the board of this. I was soon called by a member of the board stating that he wanted me to send him a copy of his own packet. I said the files were not that old and he could look up his own document in his own files as I was already going to send copies to the BBB. Mr. *****, son of owner and current board member, said he would do some research and get back with me. Which is pretty much what we have been getting ever since we unfortunately joined this group.

Is there anyway you can get them to honor their agreements. (I have copies for you)

They keep changing their original agreement (Camperworld member's policy guide dated 2008) that we signed up and paid for.

And last, is there any way of selling my membership back to them for the cost of what I paid, which I believe would be beneficial for Camperworld Trust and we would be pleased not to do any future business with them.

Business' Initial Response
Contact Name and Title: ****** ******
Contact Phone: XXXXXX-XXXX
Contact Email: *****@camperworld.com

I have talked to Mrs. ****** concerning this issue and explained to her that she received an incorrect billing. We are in the process of correcting her billing and will send them a correct statement shortly. We apologize for the error. This should satisfy the ********s. Thank you, ****** ****** Pres.

Consumer's Final Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
As long as the corrected billing is for the correct and previously agreed upon amount.

Complaint Resolution: Company resolved the complaint issues. The consumer acknowledged acceptance to BBB.

07/30/2014Problems with Product / Service
Page 1 of 4
07/31/2014Billing / Collection Issues
06/06/2014Billing / Collection Issues
06/06/2014Problems with Product / Service
06/06/2014Problems with Product / Service
08/29/2012Problems with Product / Service

Industry Comparison| Chart

Campgrounds & RV Parks

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.