This business is not BBB accredited.

Satellite Services Utah, LLC

Phone: (801) 210-9202 1868 N Hill Field Rd Ste 105, Layton, UT 84041 http://www.satelliteservicesutah.com ! Satellite Services Utah, LLC is Believed to Be Out of Business !


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Based on BBB files, this business has a BBB Rating of No Rating. The reason is as follows:

  • This business has no rating because BBB has information indicating it is out of business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 3
Total Closed Complaints 4

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Satellite Services Utah, LLC
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: September 14, 2012 Business started: 06/07/2011 Business started locally: 06/07/2011 Business incorporated 06/07/2011 in UT
Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mr. Chris Witt, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Chris Witt, Owner
Business Category

Cable TV, Internet & Telephone Installation Service Television - Cable, CATV & Satellite


Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    1868 N Hill Field Rd Ste 105

    Layton, UT 84041 (801) 210-9202

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

9/10/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Paid for service through partner of Satellite Services, never showed up for installation. No one answers when I or their partner calls. I am a PhD student that requires internet service. Hughesnet referred my internet install to Satellite Services who agreed to be there Friday 6/6/14 between 8 am -12 pm. They never showed up. They claim they called me at 8 am to cancel, but this is a blatant lie, I have a cell phone that logs all calls, and has caller ID. There is no call from Satellite Services. Then I was told it would be 6/12/14, an entire week late, now the case notes state it may even be 6/13 or 6/14. I cannot be without service this long in regard to my school work. Now, no one can get ahold of Satellite Services, not myself or Hughesnet, they are simply not answering the phone. Hughesnet has applied a $50 credit to my bill for the mix up on their part. Satellite Services simply blames Hughesnet, says they weren't going to be in my area, they are 6 hours away, and they are making no attempt to resolve this issue. I live in a very rural area and this is the only option for internet service I have. I feel like because they are the only option they feel they can treat me like dirt and that's ok. This is unacceptable.

Desired Settlement: I NEED MY INTERNET SERVICE INSTALLED IMMEDIATELY. I AM IN SCHOOL AND HAVE OBLIGATIONS TO MEET. I DON'T WANT A REFUND OR EXCUSES, I JUST WANT A TECHNICIAN TO MY HOUSE RIGHT NOW. I WAS PROMINSED AN INSTALL 6/6/14 BETWEEN 8AM AND 4PM, AND ANY MISCOMMUNICATION IS NOT MY PROBLEM.

9/4/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: ***** offered to buy out my Dish Network contract if allowed to install Direct TV. We agreed, but he never paid. When looking for an Internet provider, I met ***** over the phone. He could not help with Internet, but offered to buy out my Dish Network contract when I had 7 months left on it exchange for him installing Direct TV. I agreed and contacted him again with 4 months left on my contract with Dish. When I spoke with him to set up installation for Direct TV, he said he would take care of the $80 early termination fee with Dish. He said his installers would bring a check. They didn't. I had them come out again the next day because the Direct TV service wasn't working. He said the tech would bring a check. He didn't. I had ***** install Direct TV in January 2014. I have texted ***** asking for the $80 he promised. Sometimes he responds saying he forgot or that he will do it, but most of the time he ignores my texts. I think I have two or three times where he has promised to either send a check or deposit the money into my bank account. I hate to complain because I know it is hard to run a personal business, but I feel he needs to keep his word and follow through. I informed him of my decision to contact your office and hope he will come through.

Desired Settlement: I would like the promised $80.

2/13/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Advertisement for utilizing their services offered a free gift. Gift was not received. I contacted Satellite Services Utah on about 27 Aug 2013 regarding an advertisement I saw in a local flyer offering, satellite TV, internet and phone service from various providers. The advertisement stated you could choose a free electronic gift item (several were listed) and also be entered in a monthly TV give-away. When I called to arrange for the installation of a TV/phone/internet package, I stated I would like to receive an iPod mini. I was told they were out of the iPod minis but that they had a new shipment on order and he would have one shipped directly to my address in a week or so. After a week or two, nothing arrived. I may have tried calling once, to no avail. After that I went to the office on Hill Field Rd a couple of times but no one was ever there. During one of my visits,I also met another dissatisfied customer who was also having difficulty contacting any one at this office. I just sorta gave up thinking I would ever get what was promised to me. Until now. I also serious doubt that they give a TV away every month. I would like to see a list of winners with contact information regarding this TV giveaway.

Desired Settlement: I would like to receive the item that was promised, an iPod mini. Also to receive a list of monthlyTV winners.

11/20/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: They have failed to respond to repeated emails, phone calls, and voice mails. Their negligence has cost me money twice, and they won't reimburse me. Satellite Services has been an extremely frustrating company to do business with, because they are amazingly difficult to get in touch with, and they consistently fall through on what they have committed to do. About a month ago (first week of August), I realized my 6-month promotion on my Internet was expiring. So, in keeping with what I was told by the owner of the company when I signed up, I called Satellite Services to have them renew my contract in order to keep the promotional rate. When I signed up, I was told this would an easy thing to do each six months, and that is why I switched to do business with them. I was amazed when after a dozen or more phone calls and multiple voice mails left, I hadn't heard back a word from them. I began to wonder if the company still existed. Finally, on August 15, I found an email address, so I explained the situation in an email and asked for a quick response, since it was getting close to the time when my rate would be going up. I received an email back with *****'s cell phone (I later found out he is the owner), so I called and left a message. Eleven days later (on August 26), I hadn't heard anything back from him, so I called again to find the voice mail box was full so I couldn't leave a message. I tried emailing again, including in the email a request that if I was charged extra due to the difficulty I had had in resetting the account, they reimburse me the difference. I also called the company's number again on August 26, and was amazed to have someone answer the phone (his name sounded like ******** I explained the whole situation to him, and finally got him to reset my promotion. By this point, however (after 3 weeks of diligently trying to resolve things), I had been charged the non-promotional rate for my service. I mentioned this to the employee and requested reimbursement for the extra charge. He informed me that this could only be cleared by the owner. Since he didn't offer to do any more to help me, I asked him to please put me in touch with the owner. After a long pause, he agreed to leave a note, and to my pleased surprise, told me he would follow through with me the next day to make sure I got in touch with him. I didn't hear anything for a day and a half from either the owner or the employee, so I called the employee back (he had given me his cell phone), and he said he was out of town, but would be on a conference call very soon with the owner, and would mention it to him again. I heard nothing for another couple days. Finally, I got on the website to find out who the owner is, and was surprised to find he is the same ***** who I had had such frustration with earlier. I sent him an email on August 30th clearly outlining my expectation of a reimbursement, and I have heard no response whatsoever for four days. In addition to all of this, I have been waiting 6 months for a promised credit to appear on my account reimbursing me for installation charges that should not have occurred. I have been told they would be reflected on my account multiple times, and I have called in about it multiple times, and it has yet to appear.

Desired Settlement: I am expecting a credit to my account, or monetary reimbursement, in the amount of $39.96 to be applied immediately. This amount is $19.95 of wrongly charged installation fees, and $20.01, which is the promotional discount I did not receive for my Sept. payment due to their negligence. I am also expecting a reassurance that I will not have this kind of difficulty resetting the account every six months. For example, as long as I call and leave a message about needing to reset the account no more than three and no less than two weeks from the date the promotion will expire, they guarantee that if it is not taken care of in time, they will reimburse me the extra charges within one month of those charges being due.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 7, 2013/09/26) */ Contact Name and Title: Satellite services utah Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: *********************@gmail.com We are a third party dealer for century link we provide information and place the original order for service. At that point we turn everything over to century link and they schedule the install as well as complete the install. The monthly bill is billed from century link directly to the customer and in turn is paid directly to century link. At no point in time is money received by our company directly from the customer. Any dispute regarding billing or technical issues is handled directly between the customer and century link as stated on there monthly bill. Based on the complaint above it seems that the customers promotion of 29.99 for six months has expired and they wish for us to cancel there account and set up a new one so they can take advantage of the new promotion price available only to new customers. At no time was any credit promised by our company to the customer. We are not authorized nor do we have any capability to do so. Any billing disputes or credit request should be made directly to century link as they are the company providing service and collecting payment. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 9, 2013/10/01) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I am in no way satisfied with the response from Satellite Services. This is not a "dispute regarding billing or technical issues", but rather a dispute regarding their responsiveness to customers and, more importantly, their honesty with customers. I was clearly told by ***** ****, the owner, that the process they do all the time is sign up customers for the six month promotion, then every six months, cancel the account and create a new one so that the customer can receive the promotion again with no break in service. I was told that it was easy - all I had to do was call in and they would take care of everything for me with no trouble. This has clearly not been the case. I would not have signed up for service through them if I had known I would not be able to so easily reset the account as he explained. Since filing my original complaint, I have experienced further dishonesty. As explained in my complaint, on August 26, ****** went through the process with me over the phone to reset the account and assured me it was all set for the next six months. When I received my next bill, however, it was for the full amount - not the promotional rate. I called Century Link hoping it had been an error, but they told me there was no record of anything occurring to reset the account or re-apply the discount. That is another $21 I have had to pay because of their dishonesty. I now expect $60.96 in reimbursement as soon as possible. To sum up, ***** ****, the owner of Satellite Services, sold this service to me under completely false pretenses. Also, he promised the installation fee would be waived, and it wasn't. Then he promised he could work it out to be applied as credit to my account (claiming he knew someone at Century Link to call and arrange things), and that has not occurred. His employee promised me that he had reset my account, which wasn't true. I have received a string of false promises and have had tremendous difficulty in communicating with the company as described in detail in my original complaint. It is these issues of dishonesty and communication that are at the crux of my complaint against Satellite Services. It is Satellite Services' actions that have resulted in the costs in question - not Century Link's. That is why I am appealing to them for reimbursement, not Century Link.