This business is not BBB accredited.

Groove Satellite & Entertainment

Phone: (801) 260-9095 4141 S Highland Dr Ste 100, Salt Lake City, UT 84124 View Additional Email Addresses http://www.getgrooven.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

DIRECTV Lodging, Institution, Commercial, & Residential


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Groove Satellite & Entertainment include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 6 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

6 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 3
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 3
Total Closed Complaints 6

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on Groove Satellite & Entertainment
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: September 23, 2008 Business started: 03/16/2007 in UT Business started locally: 03/16/2007 Business incorporated 03/16/2007 in UT
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Lance Platt, Officer Matthew Soriano, Manager, Operational Development
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Lance Platt, Officer
Customer Contact: Matthew Soriano, Manager, Operational Development
Business Category

Cable TV, Internet & Telephone Installation Service Satellite Communication - Common Carrier Television - Cable, CATV & Satellite

Products & Services

Groove Satellite & Entertainment sells the following brand(s): DIRECTV

Method(s) of Payment

All Major Credit Cards

Check

Private Financing

Alternate Business Names
C3, Inc. Groove Entertainment Technologies
Products & Services

Complete home audio/video services from DIRECTV, Dish Network, Clear, Digis, Qwest and Hughesnet


Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Groove Satellite & Entertainment has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    4141 S Highland Dr Ste 100

    Salt Lake City, UT 84124 (801) 260-9095

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

10/2/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues
8/8/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Groove, operator for Direct TV, wants to charge us to fix problems with their service. TV shows constantly get interrupted with problem messages! We keep getting 771 and 775 messages on the screen saying there are problems with the dish and the satellite. The audio cuts out for 5-30 seconds at a time, or the video feed stops, or the picture digitalizes, and we miss parts of shows. This appears to happen across all channels. Most of our neighbors are having the same problems. When we call Direct TV, we are told we need to call our operator (Groove). But they are only open 8 a.m. to 5 PM. Most of us work and don't get home until after 5 PM. We leave messages, but Groove isn't very good at getting back to us. And when I finally spoke with a supervisor who said his name was ***, he said they wouldn't come out to fix anything unless we "pay a fee of $99 to roll the truck." How do we get your company to fix our issues without going to the local media? Or without going to the Better Business Bureau? Or without switching back to a Comcast?

Desired Settlement: We want the service to run as advertized, or we want to be released from the contract with Direct TV and Groove, due to the low quality of their satellite dish services, lack of decent customer service and lack of decent technical services. All they do is pass the buck between themselves, then do nothing for the customer. We would like a monetary settlement to pay us for all the aggravation we've experienced since they took over the TV contract here at Applegate condominiums.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/07/30) */ Contact Name and Title: ******* ******* - Director of Finance Contact Phone: XXXXXXXXXX Contact Email: *******@getgrooven.com Our goal is to ensure that our customers needs are met quickly and to their satisfaction. All of our products come with the standard DIRECTV warranty of 90 days to cover equipment & installation labor, which is outlined in all of our services contracts. Beyond that we do have our standard service rates which cover our operating costs. We do have an after hours phone number X-XXX-XXXXXXX, where our technical support team can be reached at any time to address any pressing service needs. I am happy to personally discuss the matter if the customer is dissatisfied, and can be reached at XXX-XXX-XXXX.

3/26/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We negotiated to return some equipment for a refund, because of incorrect information. We returned product, but its been over 8 months no refund. I worked with Groove to implement a hospitality TV system. The install went okay, but the installers (contracted by Groove) adjusted the system, and later Groove told me that your arent supposed to adjust it as it was preset by the people who engineered it, North American Cable. Basically they washed their hands of the system, once it was sold to me, even though we continue to have issues with the system. Also because Groove did not understand how some of the new equipment functioned, I negotiated to return some equipment for a refund, because of low customer acceptance. We coordinated the equipment return, but its been over 8 months and they still have not refunded the money. The only to get any response form them is to use legal action, which we are in the process of initiating. Don't do business with this company. Specifically, DCI-401 Pro-idiom set-top boxes , quantity 50 at $120 each, for a total of $6000, with no restock fee as per **** ******* on July 11, 2014. The units have been returned since August.

Desired Settlement: Refund of $6000, with no restock fee as per **** ******* on July 11, 2014. The units have been returned since August. DCI-401 Pro-idiom set-top boxes , quantity 50 at $120 each, for a total of $6000.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 7, 2014/03/07) */ Contact Name and Title: ******* *******, Manager Corporate Finance Contact Phone: XXXXXXXXXX We strive to facilitate refunds in a timely manner, and sincerely apologize whenever there is a delay in this process. We sent a refund check directly to the customer on 2/28/2013.

1/23/2014 Problems with Product/Service
12/9/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Sales Agent informed me that I would receive a premium bundle for 3 months and he would call back before 90 days to assist me in canceling the package During the initial sales call the agent informed me that the TV package I selected included premium movie channels (HBO, Shotime, Cinemax) free for 3 months. I was told that it's auto included on every new contract but not to worry because Groove Satellite would contact me back at the end of the 90 day trial to remove the premium services. I was never informed of the price as the agent assured me I would receive a call and we would remove the package before I got charge. But SURPRISE I got my 4th month bill from DirecTV and it included additional charges for 5 Movie channel packages (2 more than I was told I would be trialing for free) and my bill was astronomical. After 4 attempts to contact Groove on 3 separate days I am greeted by a message that says something along the lines of "Sorry our Sales Team is really busy at the moment, leave us a voice mail with your information and we will call you back." - I have yet to receive a phone call back and am beyond frustrated. DirecTV has removed the channels, but will not credit the charges as they are "Valid" since they are in my contract. They also informed me I never had to accept this free trial when signing up (contrary to Groove telling me it's included in all their sales contracts) I accept that from DireTV's stand point, but am frustrated with Groove Satellite as their recorded phone call proves the agent promised this, yet they failed to live up to their end of my sales agreement with their company.

Desired Settlement: I would like a refund of the additional charges of the movie channels for the company failing to live up to their agreement with me. I would also request some form of compensation for my time and efforts to resolve this since they are neglecting to assist me. The compensation for my time does not have to be monetary, but should show they are apologetic for failing to live up to their agreement and the horrible sales tactics that I assume are only to pad their profits and agent commissions.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 9, 2013/11/21) */ Contact Name and Title: ******* ******* Manager, Operational Development Contact Phone: XXXXXXXXXX Contact Email: *******@getgrooven.com We regret any perceived improper service or sales tactics, and pride ourselves on conducting business with the highest level of integrity. The sales rep mentioned in the complaint is no longer with us; our remaining sales staff has been coached on this issue, and we are confident that we will not have a repeat issue. For the inconvenience, we are happy to reach out to the complainant and discuss compensation directly.

9/3/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Business Harvested my email and spammed me to order DirecTV from UT and I'm in CA ****** ******** commercial account manager harvested our Elks Lodge email addresses from the internet and sent us advertising for DirecTV. He is in UT and I'm in CA. Harvesting email addresses is illegal and immoral and he shouldn't be doing it. Not just mine, there were at least another 100 harvested addresses, many in CA.

Desired Settlement: I want him to stop doing this.

Business Response: Business' Initial Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/08/20) */ Contact Name and Title: ******* ******** Operations Manager Contact Phone: XXXXXXXXXX Contact Email: **************@gmail.com Mr. ******** was sent an email along with other contacts in California at various local Elks' lodges. Our business has successfully benefitted other Elks' throughout the western US by providing DIRECTV service to them. The email address obtained by our sales representative was obtained from the "elks.org" website - a public website - in which Mr. ******** published his contact information. The link to this site is available for your reference here - http://www.elks.org/lodges/lodgedirectory.cfm?LodgeNumber=559 There is no indication anywhere on this page, or throughout the Elks' website that indicates that they do not wish to receive sales solicitations. Regardless, upon receiving a request from Mr ******** to cease solicitation to him, we immediately complied. Consumer's Final Response /* (2000, 11, 2013/09/03) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) At least they're thinking about changing their ways. Business' Final Response /* (4000, 9, 2013/08/30) */ We apologize to the customer for the inconvenience. We believe that we are of the belief that we were within the confines of the CAN-SPAM act. However, based on their feedback, we see this as a coaching opportunity, and will revisit the marketing techniques of our sales reps. We appreciate the opportunity to look deeper into our sales process to ensure that this will not happen again in the future.