Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® - Start With Trust

Are you...?

If yes, click here to learn about BBB Accreditation.

Are you...?

This business is not BBB accredited.

Clear Satellite, Inc

Phone: (877) 901-1059 Fax: (801) 763-5762 View Additional Phone Numbers 135 Mountain Way Dr, Orem, UT 84058 http://www.clearsat.tv


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Clear Satellite, Inc include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 26 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

26 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 7 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 10
Billing/Collection Issues 8
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 8
Total Closed Complaints 26

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Clear Satellite, Inc
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: April 01, 2010 Business started: 02/13/2009 Business started locally: 02/13/2009 Business incorporated 05/14/2009 in UT
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. John Hard, COO Mr. Paul Southam, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. John Hard, COO
Business Category

Cable TV, Internet & Telephone Installation Service Television - Cable, CATV & Satellite

Alternate Business Names
In Home Communications Inc

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    135 Mountain Way Dr

    Orem, UT 84058 (801) 763-8883 (877) 901-1059 (801) 692-5000 (877) 901-1066

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

2/21/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Do not buy Direct TV from anyone other than the home company. Direct TV is allowing third party sales and the representatives do NOT know the product or the specifics of what the company does and does not offer. It was misrepresented to me when they sold it to me. They told me that they would cover early termination fees and take care of notifying the other company that I had transfered to their company. They also said the I would be sent the packing boxes to send my old equipment back to the other company. NOT. Now I am told that I have to pay the fees and the bill for the month they did not cancel. I switched to them to save myself some money but now it is costing me a couple hundred dollars I don't have. I am on a fixed income and cannot afford this. Also know that ATT, Charter and Dish do cover up to 500.00 dollars in early termination fees and Direct TV seems to be the only major company that doesn't

Desired Settlement: 212.00

Business Response: We had already spoken to the customer regarding this account. When the account was set up, as we do with all of our customers, we went over the stipulations of the contract with a welcome call, done here from the call center. This phone call is recorded and was done on the original day of the sale(Nov. 28, 2014). In this phone call, the customer was asked who their previous provider was (Uverse), and was asked if they understood that they, the customer, were fully responsible to cancel the previous provider themselves, to which the customer responded "Yes". Because of this, when the customer called in caliming she did not know that she was responsible for cancelling the previous provider and that the sales rep had promised that he was going to do it for her, we referred to the welcome call, and also to the sales agreement, which neither indicated that the sales rep would be responsible for covering the previous provider, and the customer was made aware it was their responsibility, we denied their claim.

10/9/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Unable to get bill corrected. Our paperwork states a different amount than we are being billed. When calling the company, you get a real person, who then transfers you to, apparently, no one. I have called 3 times and received the same treatment each time.

Desired Settlement: Correction to our bill. We should be charged $46.99 per month for one year and not $58.96 per month.

Business Response: Contact Name and Title: Clear Satellite Inc
Contact Phone: ************
Contact Email: ***************@clearsat.tv
We have been able to contact the customer regarding their concerns with the billing price listed on the contract versus the price of their first bill. We have been able to resolve the customer's questions and ensure that their service is satisfactory and the bill is corrected. The customer did not have any further concerns for us but does have our contact information in the event that they need to get back in touch with us.

Consumer Response: (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
There take on things is amazing. I did hear from them and was given a "direct" number to call. I returned their call several times and still was not able to get to a person by "by-passing the front desk" as this didn't work as they just transfer me to either no one or give me Direct TV's number who state I need to talk to Clear Satellite who quoted the price. When I contacted Direct TV, I strongly suggested they not work with this company which is giving them a bad name. No adjustment was made to my bill by Clear Satellite. Their response to you was not accurate.

Business Response: We have spoken with the customer and the sales representative again. After finding out the sales rep had quoted a price that included a Refer a Friend discount ($10/10 months, total of $100), we contacted the sales rep during the initial complaint, and he said he was going to add on that discount. After receiving the second complaint, we found out this did not happen, instead of allowing the sales rep to deal with the account again, we have charged him the $100 total for the discount, and will be crediting that amount to the customer's DirecTV account.

Consumer Response: (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)

9/23/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: They are continuing to withdraw a charge for a warranty covering their equipment after i have told them that i have discontinued service. I changed sat. tv providers in may after one of clear sat.'s salesmen told me that i would have beter reception with direct tv & it would be cheaper but the reception wasnt better or cheaper & clear sat. charged a fee for a warranty that i was told by the salesman would fall off my bank account after everything was set up with direct tv. but later i was told it would not so i cancled the direct tv payed the early disconnect fees & returned the receiver after 2 months. I called clear sat & told them that i had done so & was told by a customer service rep that they would contact the warranty department and the charges would stop but they have not & i have called them numerous times since july 22 and have been told the same thing everytime and nothing has been done yet. My account number with them is XXXXXXX. The charges have been withdrawn on july 29 and aug 29.

Desired Settlement: I would like to receive a refund for July and August of $13.98 and for them to stop charging me for a warranty on equipment that i no longer have.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/09/12) */ Contact Name and Title: ***** ******** Director of CSC Operations Contact Phone: XXXXXXXXXX Contact Email: *************@clearsattv.com We apologize for the inconvenience of the issue. Upon reviewing *****'s account, we do the the warranty was asked to be cancelled out on 7/30 at 3:42 pm. Due to changing online merchants who help us run our Warranty, *****'s warranty was accidentally carried over to the new system. We have since found and corrected this mistake, and have credited back $13.98 to the same card that was originally charged, as seen below. Account : XXXXXXXXXXXXXXX Trx Type : Credit Order : XXXXXXX Auth : APPROVED Amount : $13.98 Tax : $0.00 Total : $13.98 The warranty has been cancelled. We attempted to contact the customer, a message was left letting the customer know they will receive their refund within 2-5 business days.

8/13/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Clearsatellite service we were sold by the salesperson does not match service we receive. And,Installer caused damage to internet provider property. A brief overview, our decision to change to DirecTV was solicited and after much consideration and many questions regarding channels we signed the contract. We do not receive the Hallmark Movie channel or the Weather channel, which are two of the three channels I wanted. In addition, we have a penalty fine for damaged the installers caused to our internet provider box (same box the old cable came into). I've had customer service survey calls and have explained that I'm dissatisfied, but nobody has attempted to resolve. I'm not interested in upgrading or paying more to receive the channels that I was promised at the time we made the commitment to DirecTV. I only wish to receive both Hallmark channels and the weather channel as I was assured I would get with the Select listing of channels we committed to pay for. I respectfully would appreciate a response. I have been in email contact with DirecTV who referred me to ClearSatellite. ClearSatellite customer service instructed me to email details, to which they have not responded. My email from DirecTV was 6/23, and my call with Clearsatellite was 6/24, and the email to Clearsatellite was sent 6/25/14. Prior to my email with DirecTV I had numerous calls (with DirecTV and ClearSat sales rep) to determine what the discrepancy is. The sales rep who solicited our business is ******** ****** and his business card has his cell ************* At first he replied when I contacted him, but I believe that when he realized that he had incorrectly informed us he chose to no longer reply. I don't feel like he intentionally misled us, but it happened and cannot be ignored.

Desired Settlement: I wish for the Clearsatellite company to pay the $50 in damages caused by their installer; of which I was charged by my local internet service.(Muscatine Power and Water) And I wish for them to provide us the channels we were told we would receive with our select package when we signed the contract. If they cannot provide the channels to us that were agreed upon then we should not be required to fulfill the contract. We did not purchase any special packages, only the basic select package which we were given a card listing each of the channels - and this was used by ******** to show us what channels we would receive. We were not informed that certain select channels would require an additional $10 HD fee to be paid monthly, which we learned from DirecTV customer service. If they cannot pay the damage penalty they caused and provide us the channels we agreed to upon commitment, then I'd prefer to have our prior cable service provider reinstated at the expense of Clearsatellite and be relieved of the 2 year contract with DirecTV. I do not have a preference who my service comes from but we are entitled to receive what we purchased and should not suffer penalties for damages cause by the installer.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/08/04) */ Contact Name and Title: ***** *** Contact Phone: XXXXXXXXXX In working with the customer and the sales representative, we have determined that there was a level of miscommunication regarding the original sale that was made. We understand what the customer was looking for in switching their television provider to DIRECTV and we want to make sure that the promise is kept; therefore, we have coordinated with the customer service department with DIRECTV in trying to meet the customer's needs and get them the channels that they want. The solution that we have come to is to help the customer upgrade their programming package and give them the proper HD programming that they need. To help offset the costs of upgrading, we are offering credits both from DIRECTV and from Clear Satellite to make sure that the monthly price that was quoted to the customer originally is the same. Recently, we have tried to contact the customer with this resolution, but have only been able to leave a message. We look forward to hearing from them.

8/11/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: **** the Clear satellite rep visited me at my home concerning switching my tv service. We did not recieve what was promised in writing. I was visited at my home by **** the represenetive from clear satellite. We discussed switching my service to Directv. We ahreed on a price and a package it was all put in writing in the work order. This was on the evening of. July 1st. The tech arrived at the agree. d upon time on July 2nd and installed the Dish and the recievers. When he was finkshed and he was packing up we informed him we did not get all the channels agreed too. He imformed us we would have to call **** to resolve that issue. When the tech left we realized he had left trash in every room he had worked in as well as left the old dish laying in the yard in pieces and screws scattered about. We called **** who appologized and told us to give hi 12 hrs to resolve the issue. When I woke up on the 3rd I called the company and was told they would call **** have him calll me and resolve the issue within 2 hrs. I waited 4 hrs called them again and got the same response. When **** did call he played dumb on the issue untill I told him I had it in writing still. He told me he would fix it and call me back which did not happen. After repeated calls to Direct and Clear satellite I still can not get what I was promised in writing. All I have ask is either give me what I was promised at tje agreed price or come back to my home and put the dish back up on my house that you removed. After several phone calls to direct I am only told to either pay $25 more a month to get what I was promised or settle for what I got for the agreed price. Bad business when you make an agreement you stick to it or you replace the other item, exspecially when you put it in writing.

Desired Settlement: Either give me what you promised in writing or put my old dish back up on the roof.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/07/24) */ Contact Name and Title: ***** *** Contact Phone: XXXXXXXXXX We have worked with the customer to be able to resolve their concern in a timely and thorough manner. We recognized the issue when the paperwork demonstrated a clear and precise promise. After contacting the customer, we have upgraded the customer to the proper programming package so that they will receive the channels promised. In doing so, the customer is satisfied and we are making sure their needs are met. The customer was satisfied with the resolution path that we have chosen. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2014/07/31) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I still do not have the programs that was promised in writing.I was told I would recieve the Nascar channel alloing me to watch in car views for select drivers. After doing some research online I find out Direct tv no longer even offers this package any longer. This was either a pure lack of knowledge on the part of the sales rep or a flat out lie to ropein customers. So it would seem that they either need to train the sales managers better or maybe they just like useing unethical business practices to bring in customer with the hope that they will get new business and that cuatomers will remain silent and accept what they do get. What happen to the days of doing business ethically telling the customer what you offer and giving it to tjem at the price you promise them.

6/13/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: This company took $25 out of my checking account, my contract stated to pay $25 to installer only. They took out an extra 25, co contacted and no help I have called this company many times and only get promises that this $25 will be refunded, latest time said 24 to 48 hours and it has been over 2 weeks. The last time I called (I believe last Thursday the rep said she would personally take this to her supervisor), no response. I feel they have not honored the contract. Please help.

Desired Settlement: Return of the $25.

6/5/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I had Direct TV installed and they contract with Clear Sattelite. When the tech had me initial and sign the paperwork, I read it. I asked why I was initialing things and I asked if I would have any charges. The tech said, "that's just stating if there's any problems with anything you can call and we'll send a tech to check things out". I said, more than once, "I'm not being charged anything am I?" and was told no. Then I have a charge for $6.99. I talked to ****** 05/21/14 and was told my contract would be cancelled and my account would be refunded within a week. It was cancelled 4 days after I had Direct TV installed. There is no reason why my account cannot be credited since it wasn't even a week. I called today and spoke to an agent named ****** who tried to tell me he was a manager and there was no one above him in the office. Then I'm transferred to ******* who happened to just magically walk in the office, and was told by ******* that ****** is just an agent. It's very unnerving the false pretenses that are given by this company. I also don't appreciate ******* stating that when people sign contracts they read and ask questions, if not, it's their stupidity. No, that's not what he said but to me, that's the insinuation. I did read and ask questions and I was given false information. This looks bad on Direct TV and I would suggest they use another company to do their installation and sales because this company is very seedy and dishonest. Product_Or_Service: Direct TV Order_Number: N/A Account_Number: N/A

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Refund They had no problem taking the money from my account, there is no reason why the funds cannot be credited back to my account in the next couple of days, especially when I was originally told that's what would happen. Plus, this seedy warranty service was only active for 4 days. I'm not denying I signed, but I did ask questions, specifically, "is anything being charged to my card" and I was told no.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/06/04) */ Contact Name and Title: ***** *** Contact Phone: XXXXXXXXXX Contact Email: ******@responseone.com We have been able to verify details provided by the customer. The paperwork for a protection plan was signed and the customer service representatives described did provide the customer with information regarding the agreement. The transaction described by the customer is considered a closed transaction and was not able to be voided or terminated at the time the customer called in. We do apologize for the experience that the customer had with our customer care team and we would like to extend a bill credit to the customer to offset the charge made. It is our intention to provide exceptional assistance and accurate information to each of our customers when they call in, as well as make customers feel appreciated and valued. Again, we do sincerely apologize if the customer feels that any of these intentions were not expressed or perceived during her interactions with our company in the past. We do intend to rectify those shortcomings and fulfill those intentions currently and in the future. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (2000, 7, 2014/06/05) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) I think that it's sad to have to take these measures. I don't know if my account will be credited or not. A bill bred it doesn't tell me much. The person I spoke to never explained anything they just stated I should have read and asked questions which I did both.

4/8/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues
3/28/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues
2/11/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: A rep from Clear Satellite guanteed us a price for Directv Service. Directv can not honor 3rd party promotions. A rep from Clear Satellite came to our house promoting Directv. He quoted us prices of $88.99 for the first 3 months then $129.99 for the remainder of the year then $149.99 for the next 2 years. I asked him several times if this included all the channels we were getting with Dish and he said yes. I made him write the prices down. He told us that even after the first year and the price increased to $149.99 it would be less than what we were paying with dish. After the first 3 months were up I got a call from Directv stating our increase to $135.00 I told them this is not what was guanteed to us. After much arguing they gave us a $20.00 discount for 6 month but I was not satisfied as this was not what was told to us. I filed a complaint against Directv with the Better Business Bureau case #XXXXXXXX. After speaking with ****** ******** with Directv she said that there was no way they could get out price down to $149.99 for the 2 years after our original credits were done. She did offer to cancel our 2 year contract which I appreciate and also give us a $20.00 a month credit for the 6 months following the first $20.00 credit. She stated that if after the 2nd 6 months were up and we wanted to leave Directv we were free to do so as we were no longer in a contract. My complaint is we were happy with Dish and would not have switched to Directv if the price was not guanteed to us. I did contact Clear Satellite and they stated that they did not know why ***** (the sales rep) would write down those prices as they do not offer promotions. I feel like ***** quoted us the prices to get the sale knowing that neither Clear Satellite nor Directv would honor those prices and thats FRAUD! When I figured what our bill will be after the credits run out our bill will be around $190.00. Thats $50.00 more than what was guanteed to us and at least $40.00 more than what we were paying with Dish. Directv suggested we remove the premium channels but when ***** quoted us the prices I asked him several times if the price was for all the channels and again he said YES. I feel like yes we could go back to Dish but the hassle of contacting them and I would have to take a day off work to have an installer come then return all Directv equipment when we would never have switched in the first place if we were not guanteed these prices. I am still not happy with this situation even after talking with Directv. The Dealer#XXXXXXX.

Desired Settlement: All I want is the prices that were guanteed to us. Nothing more but nothing less.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/12/24) */ Contact Name and Title: ***** - Operations Manager at Clear Satellite Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: ******@responseone.com We have addressed the pricing concerns with the customer and her questions regarding the second and third year prices. In coordination with DirecTv's customer service a $120 bill credit has been issued with the understanding that this credit was to alleviate any inconveniences and misunderstandings with monthly pricing. Final Consumer Response /* (4200, 11, 2014/01/03) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) The price ***** quoted was not an estimate. My husband asked him what happens when Directv raises their prices, he told him that we were locked in to the amount he quoted us. As I have stated before we have it in writing and so does Clear Satellite. We switched to Directv because we trusted what Jared told us. Final Business Response /* (4000, 9, 2013/12/31) */ Firstly, we appreciate the customer's business and in no way want to be unfair. Having reviewed the customer's inquiry into pricing for her services, we have concluded that a settlement has been reached, amending the original installation agreement. It is our policy to not provide official price quotes for monthly bills beyond the first year as they are subject to change as described on the lease agreement provided by DirecTV. As such, our installation agreement only provides space for an official quote for the first year. Any prices relating to anything other than first year services are a possible estimate but are in no way guaranteed, as base packing, lease fess, etc. are subject to change, per the DirecTV lease agreement. It is our understanding that the lump sum credit awarded to the customer's DirecTV account was given to cover any pricing discrepancies with the first year price and for inconveniences related to other possible estimates. Again, it is our intention to provide high quality customer service that is fair for both the customer as well as our company. This is by no means an act of fraud but rather a clear misunderstanding of a price quote and possible estimates once promotions associated with DirecTV new customer agreements have expired. We are not able to extend further compensation as a generous bill credit has already been applied.

1/22/2014 Billing/Collection Issues
10/29/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Complaint: I am being charged for something I did not sign up for- and cannot get a hold of anyone to stop the $5.99 fee a month! Complaint: I am being debited for a service that I didn't sign up for & am unable to get ahold of anyone to correct the issue. I recently signed up for Direct TV from a rep that was going door to door in our town. We agreed to an automatic debit to pay our monthly Direct TV bill (by doing that it is a $10 savings month). We are now being also debited $5.99 a month by "Clear Satellite" - that I am not even sure what they are. I was able to get a phone # from my bank (from the debit) & they said it was listed" In-Home Communications". I called & was not able to ever reach anyone (dead air) & after several calls was transferred to a call center where I left a voicemail that I wanted someone to contact me because I do not want this service. None has ever contacted me, they just keep debiting my checking account. I have never gotten a bill. Direct TV told me it is a 2nd party that rides in on their coat tails & is some sort of a protection plan. If I was going to purchase a protection plan it would be with Direct TV. I am pretty upset that they were able to access my debit card number & bill my account. Again, I have never received a bill from them & don't know how to even get a hold of them if I had a problem w/my equipment. My bank said there was no way to stop a payment on a charge on a debit card. I know that $5.99 a month is not a big deal, but it is if they are doing this to several people. I am sure that some just pay it because it is such a hassle to try to get resolved or they don't realize it isn't associated w/Direct TV.

Desired Settlement: I want them to refund the money they have debited my account without my permission- that to me is fraud and should be addressed as such. And I want them to quit debiting the $5.99 a month!

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/10/11) */ Contact Name and Title: **** *********** Customer Care Supervisor Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: ****@clearsat.tv We have verified that a recorded call was made that confirmed that the account holder, wanted to have the $5.99 supplemental warranty for their DirecTV system. As of right now, we cannot refund the charges made because they were authorized by the account holder on the aforementioned recorded phone call. We apologize for any inconveniences that the customer may have experienced and intend to provide exceptional customer service regarding any other concerns or questions that they may have. Given that the customer has expressed a desire to discontinue charges, we have cancelled future charges, thus suspending future coverage by the warranty.

9/26/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Salesman falsely claimed no cancellation fee if we cancelled within 70 days. Contract states there is a fee. Service is bad, installation messy, Sales rep ***** ****** told us there would no cancellation fee if we cancelled within 70 days of the installation of DirectTV. His assurance was the deciding factor in our switch from Dish. The contract, of course, states the $480 fee. We chose to trust him and did not read all the fine print. The installer left rolls of extra cable on our house roof and our garage, left the TV pulled out from the wall, and gave no instructions. When I called for assistance, I got no reply as I was promised. I spent an entire morning on the phone, being shifted from Clear Satellite to Direct Tv and back again, the upshot being neither one would admit the false claim their salesman made or offer relief from this exorbitant fee. We discovered there are many people in this little town with similar experiences. It seemed as if the claims of their salesman made no difference, and the contract was unbreakable as written. I realize our mistake was in not reading the fine print, but we definitely feel as if we were "scammed" or targeted. Acct:XXXXXXXX June 17, 2013

Desired Settlement: We will pay for the time we used the service. We will not pay the cancellation fee. We were treated by the phone personnel as if we were elderly and infirm, liars, or simply stupid. They gave no credibility to our statement of what the salesman said. We will not do business with a company who not only has inferior service, but also teats us badly.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 12, 2013/09/10) */ September 9, 2013 To whom it may concern, BBB Complaint Case # XXXXXXXX Consumer Info: ****, *** **** N ******** St Red Cloud, NE 68970 Consumer's Desired Resolution: We will pay for the time we used the service. We will not pay the cancellation fee. Company Response: We contacted the customer to resolve the issue and she was pleased with the Phone call. We explained that there was nothing that we could do because of the signed agreement. She had already paid the cancellation fee with Directv and realized that there was nothing that we could do in this case. We sent her a letter with a formal apology and she was satisfied with our efforts. ***** *** Operations Manager, Response One

9/23/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I am being debited for a service that I don't believe I siged up for & am unable to get ahold of the company I recently signed up for Direct TV from a rep that was going door to door in our town. We agreed to an automatic debit to pay our monthly Direct TV bill (by doing that it is a $10 savings month). We are now being also debited $5.99 a month by "Clear Satellite" - that I am not even sure what they are. I was able to get a phone # from my bank (from the debit) & they said it was listed" In-Home Communications". I called & was not able to ever reach anyone (dead air) & after several calls was transferred to a call center where I left a voicemail that I wanted someone to contact me because I do not want this service. None has ever contacted me, they just keep debiting my checking account. I have never gotten a bill. Direct TV told me it is a 2nd party that rides in on their coat tails & is some sort of a protection plan. If I was going to purchase a protection plan it would be with Direct TV. I am pretty upset that they were able to access my debit card number & bill my account. Again, I have never received a bill from them & don't know how to even get a hold of them if I had a problem w/my equipment. My bank said there was no way to stop a payment on a charge on a debit card, so I finally had to cancel my debit card & get a new one as it was the only way to stop them. I know that $5.99 a month is not a big deal, but it is if they are doing this to several people. I am sure that some just pay it because it is such a hassle to try to get resolved or they don't realize it isn't associated w/Direct TV. It will be interesting to see if they finally contact me now that they will not be able to debit me every month.

Desired Settlement: I would like to be refunded the $5.99 charges for July & August. They would not be able to refund (debit) it back to my account as I have cancelled the debit card that they had access to & WILL NOT give them my new card #.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/09/04) */ Contact Name and Title: ***** Account Management Supervisor Contact Phone: XXXXXXXXXXX Contact Email: *******@clearsat.tv I spoke to the customer on the phone to understand the situation. Our notes had indicated that upon install the technician had sold the warranty to the protection plan to the customer. We then set them up with the automated billing that we use for the protection plan. After speaking with the customer tonight, they informed us that they had never agreed to having the protection plan. I apologized for the miscommunication, cancelled the warranty subscription, and a $12 credit will be applied to their DirecTV account on the next bill. She was still upset with the overall situation but satisfied with our resolution.

9/23/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Contract says $29.99 being billed $43.30 I was approached @ my home by ****. Change from Dish to Direct. We agreed on $29.99/mo. My contract and called in $ 29.99. My bill is running $43.30. I've been in touch with ******* @ XXX-XXX-XXXX (X) times over the past month to get, what he says, a $100 credit to my account. It has never happened. He says he has to get an okay from **** to LET me have the $29.99 or they will just charge ****. Last phone call, I told them to cancel my account since they cannot uphold their end.. I was told they would charge me $400.00 since I am on the contract.. I told him they haven't full filled their contract.

Desired Settlement: I want to billed what I have be promised, not over billed. Please credit my account. OR let me out of my contract so I can go back to Dish, with whom I never had any trouble.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/09/04) */ Contact Name and Title: ***** - Operations Manager at Clear Satellite Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: *****@clearsat.tv We are glad that the customer was able to get in contact with us. We are crediting the customer's account $100 for the promised refer-a-friend credit from her sales representative. We are pleased with the resolution that we have reached.

9/18/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Door salesman - offered Direct tv cheaper per mo than our current DISH - signed 24 mo contract auto pay Fri June 7 0 Tech came but failed to install all the equipment needed to get our DVD & VCR players - only basic Direct tv said our tv was too old & we needed to buy a newer one for them to hook them up! Although Dishtv had a box that was able to connect & get it for us. DVD & VCR

Desired Settlement: The DISH Tech for a yr. who reinstalled DISH after cancelling Direct TV noted damage done to the TV connection he thought by the ClearSatellite Co. So he couldn't connect the DVD & VCR like DISH had done before. We now need a better TV and the autopay to our credit card cancelled & maybe money for a newer TV. (P.S. - Contract signed before tech work done 6/5 then 6/7 - work not done to connect DVD 7 VCR.)

Business Response: Business' Initial Response /* (1000, 12, 2013/09/10) */ September 9, 2013 BBB Complaint Case # XXXXXXXX Consumer Info: ****, ******* ** ***** Ln Pittsburg, KS 66762-2866 Consumer's Desired Resolution: The DISH Tech for a yr. who reinstalled DISH after cancelling Direct TV noted damage done to the TV connection he thought by the Clear Satellite Co. So he couldn't connect the DVD & VCR like DISH had done before. We now need a better TV and the autopay to our credit card cancelled & maybe money for a newer TV. (P.S. - Contract signed before tech work done 6/5 then 6/7 - work not done to connect DVD & VCR.) Company Response: We had already been in contact with the customer regarding the issue prior to receiving the complaint from the BBB. We had asked her if she still wanted money for a newer TV and we also wanted to see if there was anything else that we could do to resolve the issue; she told us that the DISH technician who was at her place had fixed the cabling issue on her TV and that they didn't need additional compensation, they were satisfied with their current DISH service. ***** *** Operations Manager, Response One

9/12/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: False advertising and taking money from debit card fraudulently. A Sales Manager named ***** ****** came to our home and pitched a sale for Direct Tv Satellite. I listened to the sales pitch and decided to switch from Dish to Direct to save some money. ***** lied about all the programming lineup, he lied about the amount of channels we were going to receive, he also lied about the amount it would cost us, and about the amount of time it would take to install. He failed to tell us it would be extra for HD Channels. Most TVs that are purchased today are already HD TVs. He also told us that no money would be taken from our account until the first bill. Two days after the installation money was taken from my account. Direct TV called and asked how everything was and I complained that they had taken money from my account for hardware. I was told it was to see if the card was valid and the money would return to my acct. in a couple days. It never did. Then 3 weeks later more money is taken from my acct. via my debit card from Clear Satellite for no reason. I have not been able to get ahold of the company. I have left messages and e-mails and have received no response. I have had to cancel my debit card. This creates a big load of paperwork on my part because I have payments coming from my acct. that has to be redone now due to cancellation of my debit card. The date of the sales pitch was on May 7, 2013. Installation was made on May 8, 2013. I was setup on autopay via debit card. This is how ***** ****** and this company got my acct. info.

Desired Settlement: I would like a refund of the $6.00 taken out of my acct.

Business Response: Business' Initial Response /* (1000, 12, 2013/09/10) */ September 9, 2013 To whom it may concern, BBB Complaint Case # XXXXXXXX Consumer Info: ***********, ***** *** E **** St. Lot *** Eudora, KS 66025 Consumer's Desired Resolution: I would like a refund of the $6.00 taken out of my acct. Company Response: We contacted the customer to resolve the issue and she informed us that she didn't know that the charge was for the protection plan for her Directv equipment. After explaining to her that the charge was a separate charge to her account, she understood the process and decided to keep the protection plan. The customer's issue was taken care of and she is satisfied. ***** *** Operations Manager, Response One Consumer's Final Response /* (2000, 14, 2013/09/11) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)

3/21/2013 Problems with Product/Service
2/12/2013 Billing/Collection Issues
10/30/2012 Advertising/Sales Issues
10/18/2012 Advertising/Sales Issues
10/11/2012 Problems with Product/Service
8/31/2012 Advertising/Sales Issues
8/17/2012 Advertising/Sales Issues
8/14/2012 Problems with Product/Service
6/27/2012 Advertising/Sales Issues