This business is not BBB accredited.

Tri-City Alarm Company, Inc.

Phone: (801) 463-3733 View Additional Phone Numbers 235 W 2950 S, Salt Lake City, UT 84115 http://www.tricityalarm.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that affect the rating for Tri-City Alarm Company, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Tri-City Alarm Company, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: February 25, 2003 Business started: 05/01/1995 Business started locally: 05/01/1995 Business incorporated 03/31/1995 in UT
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

DOPL - Professional Licensing
160 E 300 S 4th Fl, Salt Lake City UT 84111
http://www.dopl.utah.gov
Phone Number: (801) 530-6628

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. David Thorpe, Vice President Ms. Holly Thorpe, Office Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. David Thorpe, Vice President
Business Category

Burglar Alarm Systems - Dealers, Monitoring & Service

Industry Tips
Burglar Alarms

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    235 W 2950 S

    Salt Lake City, UT 84115 (801) 463-3733 (877) 235-3733 +877-235-FREE

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

5/26/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: contracted for home security and surviellance only to find out security system was not functional and did not work. contracted for over 3yrs contracted with tri city to provide security system for home. system did not function became aware when system became unplugged no notification was given system appeared to be 100% functional but in fact didn't work at all. suspected break ins but always thought no we have an alarm system. when in fact we had nothing. contacted owner only to be informed that it was my job to monitor the system yet i was paying them a monthly fee for 3yrs to monitor the system? what was i paying them for?

Desired Settlement: i would like a full refund from them they did nothing for me except give me a false sense of security. when you pay a security company for protection you are entrusting your life and your families to that company only to find out you were never secure or safe.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 9, 2014/05/14) */ Contact Name and Title: ***** ****** V.P. Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: ****@smartwatchpro.com ********** ******* contacted with Tri City Alarm Co. Inc. to provide install Digital Video Surveillance and Security System for their business. These systems were installed on 05/10/2012 as specified and customer was trained on using both the Digital Video Surveillance and Security Systems. The customer signs a service order in which they agree the systems were installed as specified and they will test there system weekly. The systems have been in for 24 months with no complaints. Then on Saturday, April 19th, 2014- ***** ******** calls Tri City and speaks with ***** ****** and informs him that he disconnected the Security Systems power supply and no one called him and he wants to cancel his monitoring agreement. I explained all Security Systems are battery backed up for 24 hours with no power supply and that the system will send a low battery signal in to the monitoring center after 24 hours. I asked him if he wanted me to send one of our technicians over to look at the system. He refused, and said again he wanted out of his monitoring agreement and if I didn't I was going to be sorry. He was calling the BBB and going to go on line and blog about our company until we released him from his agreement. I explained that we have had a great working relationship for almost two years and that we wanted to take care of him and would send a technician over to address his concerns. He refused and hung up on me. On May 9, 2014, we received a cancellation letter from ********** ******** ***** ****** Tri City Alarm Co. Inc.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Tri-City Alarm Company, Inc.
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)