Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are You the Business Owner of Tri-City Alarm Company, Inc.?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Tri-City Alarm Company, Inc.

Phone: (801) 463-3733 View Additional Phone Numbers 235 W 2950 S, Salt Lake City, UT 84115 http://www.tricityalarm.com

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Tri-City Alarm Company, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Tri-City Alarm Company, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Tri-City Alarm Company, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: February 25, 2003 Business started: 05/01/1995 Business started locally: 05/01/1995 Business incorporated: 03/31/1995 in UT
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

DOPL - Professional Licensing
160 E 300 S 4th Fl, Salt Lake City UT 84111
www.dopl.utah.gov
Phone Number: (801) 530-6628

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. David Thorpe, Vice President Ms. Holly Thorpe, Office Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. David Thorpe, Vice President
Business Category

Burglar Alarm Systems - Dealers, Monitoring & Service

Industry Tips
Burglar Alarms

Additional Locations

  • 235 W 2950 S

    Salt Lake City, UT 84115 (801) 463-3733 (877) 235-3733 +877-235-FREE

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

Industry Tips

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • +877-235-FREE(Phone)
  • (877) 235-3733(Phone)
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

5/26/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: contracted for home security and surviellance only to find out security system was not functional and did not work. contracted for over 3yrs contracted with tri city to provide security system for home. system did not function became aware when system became unplugged no notification was given system appeared to be 100% functional but in fact didn't work at all. suspected break ins but always thought no we have an alarm system. when in fact we had nothing. contacted owner only to be informed that it was my job to monitor the system yet i was paying them a monthly fee for 3yrs to monitor the system? what was i paying them for?

Desired Settlement: i would like a full refund from them they did nothing for me except give me a false sense of security. when you pay a security company for protection you are entrusting your life and your families to that company only to find out you were never secure or safe.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 9, 2014/05/14) */ Contact Name and Title: ***** ****** V.P. Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: ****@smartwatchpro.com ********** ******* contacted with Tri City Alarm Co. Inc. to provide install Digital Video Surveillance and Security System for their business. These systems were installed on 05/10/2012 as specified and customer was trained on using both the Digital Video Surveillance and Security Systems. The customer signs a service order in which they agree the systems were installed as specified and they will test there system weekly. The systems have been in for 24 months with no complaints. Then on Saturday, April 19th, 2014- ***** ******** calls Tri City and speaks with ***** ****** and informs him that he disconnected the Security Systems power supply and no one called him and he wants to cancel his monitoring agreement. I explained all Security Systems are battery backed up for 24 hours with no power supply and that the system will send a low battery signal in to the monitoring center after 24 hours. I asked him if he wanted me to send one of our technicians over to look at the system. He refused, and said again he wanted out of his monitoring agreement and if I didn't I was going to be sorry. He was calling the BBB and going to go on line and blog about our company until we released him from his agreement. I explained that we have had a great working relationship for almost two years and that we wanted to take care of him and would send a technician over to address his concerns. He refused and hung up on me. On May 9, 2014, we received a cancellation letter from ********** ******** ***** ****** Tri City Alarm Co. Inc.